Book and review 5,344 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Forest Oak Farm

8.9
View prices & book
From £16/€18.96/A$29.65/US$21.99/CA$27.20/CHF20.31/SEK189.40/DKK141.07/NOK185.23/ISK2,832/ARS2,180.48/CLP18,116/PEN86.51/$31.09/ZAR321.21/PLN86.63/R$120.07/CZK481.23/RSD2,228/HUF6,825.99/RUB1,561.12/CN¥141.54 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Forest Oak Farm: Picnic Area, Lake and Dog Exercise Area

General

  • Friendly family-run farm estate next to the Forest Of Dean
  • Within easy reach of Symonds Yat Rock, Go Ape and Puzzlewood
  • Views of valley, lakes and fields and heaps of space for dogs to play

Woof woof... This peaceful lakeside retreat is a veritable pup's paradise: not one, but two large off-leash exercise areas and lead walks, a lake to paddle in and heaps of long countryside walking trails to take their humans out and about on.

Near Lydney in Gloucestershire, Forest Oak Farm is a friendly dog-centred farm estate that lies between the banks of the River Severn and the Forest of Dean, and very warmly welcomes dog owners and their canine compadres to come spend some time there; since opening in 2012, the site has been expertly cultivated by the Dodson family – who also run a fab dog training centre on the farm – to provide a scenic spacious site and a welcoming atmos to all.

Set out over 20 acres of fields, lakes and woodland filled with mature trees, this is a well-equipped park with plenty of 10-amp metered electric hook-ups and a bathroom block (added for the 2020 season with toilets, showers, accessible facilities and a laundry room). Foodwise, you can take your barbecue bits down to the smashing lakeside picnic area for an alfresco feast by the water. Two large dog-exercise areas were added to the site in 2018.

Off site, there are heaps of good places to eat out around in Lydney and a little further afield around Blakeney, Alvington, Parkend and Clearwell – just ask the Dodsons about their favourite dog-friendly food joints.

Please note

Reception is closed due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

All onsite food and drink establishments are closed due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

Bookings must not be for more than 14 consecutive nights.

Your dog must be tattooed or microchipped.

At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.

A cable measuring at least 20 metres is needed for the electric hook-ups.

The laundry facilities are currently closed due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.

Swimming in the lake is not allowed.

Please note that the toilet/shower facilities are unisex.

Owing to government regulations, groups of 6 or more people are not permitted.

Protective masks must be worn at all times in common areas.

Bookings must not consist of more than 2 different households.

Fishing is not currently available due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

Minimum spacing of 2 metres between pitches.

Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Reception is unmanned after 6 p.m.. Please inform the park while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time so that the team can provide information about your unit/site.

The site is undergoing some works. Any disruption would be minimal and purely aesthetic as no construction work will be undertaken while visitors are onsite.

Touring caravans and motorhomes will need to be self contained, the facilities are currently only available for tent pitches.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.9

Overall rating based on 95 reviews

 

87% would recommend this site to a friend.

83% would stay here again.

  80% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Frequently there was not any toilet roll, staff were not particularly.08/10/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass and gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Dog walk area and pond area

    Disliked: 

    Portaloo and showers

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, its sad to people always make comments similar to before rather than look through our excellent record of reviews.
With respect to the portaloos, they are not actually portaloos. In light of the covid pandemic we used brand new portaloo shells to installed permanently plumbed standard toilets and showers. These are easy to keep clean whilst providing comfortable facilities for our guests whilst the main block is closed. As a small site with reduced numbers of guests, these have proved ideal where we cannot have 24 hour staffing of the main block.
I do make it clear in the pitch up terms and conditions that our main block is closed. In fact we state we do not have facilities and visitors should be self contained. So these facilities are a bonus to our visitors when they arrive.
We are still using these at present as we have lost loved ones to COVID and we feel that the only safe way to help protect our customers is to be able to fog and wash down walls etc on a regular basis. Trying to restrict people in a toilet block with only one person at a time is very difficult and then to clean after use would be costly.

Customer service we strive to do everything possible to make sure customers know and understand what we are all about. My daughter spends a lot of time making sure this happens.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Lovey spaces, fantastic dog walking facilities. Looks like the site …08/10/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass and gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovey spaces, fantastic dog walking facilities. Looks like the site is being developed really nicely with the lakes and areas around.
    Useful freezer, small washing up area and laundry which were very clean. Sanitizer and viral spray always available in washing up area and portaloos.

    Disliked: 

    Very disappointed in the shower and toilet facilities. Not as pictured - they are portaloos and porta showers (which would be fine during covid lockdown times but the main facilities could be opened with social distancing and strict cleaning now).
    Very leaky inside when raining resulting in wet seats, walls and loo paper.There were no hand washing facilities although sanitizer was available.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, but it is important that you should know and understand why things are like they are.
So I would answer your ratings as follows:

Location 10: Yes the Forest is a lovely location and people come back time and time again to explore and enjoy.

Value for money 6: £20 per night in August is very low. I wonder how much you get paid for a hours work as the minimum wage is nearly £10 per hour and you stayed for 24 which works out at £0.83 per hour. Can you find a car park with showers toilets and dog walking areas for such little costs. Just mowing the dog areas every week costs us £35.

Quality of accommodation 8: I am sorry that your accommodation that you came with was not up to such a high standard; perhaps you should consider an upgrade.

Facilities/Activities 4: Gosh such a low rating for a peaceful lovely spaces. Supplying freezer washing area and toilets as you said all very clean. Activities we don’t advertise swing etc. just peace and quite with time to relax.

Customer service 10: Thank you we try very hard to make sure people are happy with the site.

Child Friendliness 8: We don’t advertise any facilities for children so fair comment. The parents spend time playing games with the children.

Cleanliness 6: Really not sure why a 6 as you have said the site facilities are very clean. Not sure how we can improve on very clean.

Wi-Fi 2: Well we live in the country and Wi-Fi is very poor in lots of rural areas and on a good day we can get 3 meg and we would agree its poor but if you used your mobile you can get 20 meg.

Dislikes: Yes we do have temporary toilets and showers, which under normal times are used when we have large field events. However COVID 19 bought many challenges and many people have lost friends and family. We can talk from experience on this one as we have lost close family. With this in mind we decided to make our site as safe as possible for everyone who comes. These units allow us to wash down walls etc. reducing the risk to customers. When it’s raining they don’t leak at all you must have used the facility just after being cleaned.

We are sorry that you would not come again but hope that you do visit the Forest area. Thank you Steve

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

would visit again, excellent site07/16/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDaniel P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful site, well maintained. Loads of space.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Great location07/12/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass and gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peace and quiet, in a wonderful setting. Nice pitch size in a lovely location. Didn’t use the showers or toilets so unable to comment on these but it all looked very clean and tidy. Would stay again!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A fantastic area to stay to get out and about …07/05/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomToni H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A fantastic area to stay to get out and about exploring the Forest of Dean. The site was clean and tidy and had plenty of space to take a morning or evening stroll with the dog ready for bed 😊

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

• very friendly staff • beautiful grounds • clean and …06/28/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJessica J.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    • very friendly staff
    • beautiful grounds
    • clean and tidy
    • large, spacious pitches (we booked a large)
    • lots of space for children to play (safe, enclosed but lots to look at)
    • close to a Tesco Superstore for supplies
    • close to local attractions etc

    We will definitely be returning to Forest Oak Farm - a wonderful site in a beautiful location.

    Disliked: 

    N/A

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Clean, tidy, large spaces, nice views, defo return06/28/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDavid S.Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass and gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Had a lovely little stay across 3 pitches with family, mix off tourer, camper van and tent, all together in neat row, next door neighbours.
    Great views
    Close to activities in Forest of Dean
    Quiet
    Easy to find
    Plenty of work being done to lake and grounds, but no noise or interruptions
    Clean kitchen area with freezer for campers and ice blocks
    Defo go back, no reasons not to ;-)

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

The staff were very helpful . Good dog walking areas06/05/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The staff were very helpful . Good dog walking areas

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great location !!06/05/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSarah H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The staff were very friendly

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Perfect canpsite06/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAbbie B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely campsite. Family run and totally friendly

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Capacity reduced to increase social distancing

Check-in: contactless (in person)

Check-in: one group at a time

Deep cleaning of accommodation units between guests

Disinfectant sprays and wipes provided

Extra spacing in seated areas

Hand sanitizing stations

Individual rooms in toilet/shower/basin facilities

More frequent emptying of bins

No cash accepted on site

Shared spaces: daily deep cleaning

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Scouts welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Bush

Lake and/or mountain

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Electric car charging point(s)

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transportation nearby

Type

Farm

Medium (26-50 sites)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Seasonal sites

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Purlieu, Lydney, Gloucestershire, England, GL15 4LN
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 51.7413°N 2.5038°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Bus Station — 16.4 kilometres
Bus Station — 16.7 kilometres
Merrywalks — 19.7 kilometres
Train stations
Lydney Rail Station — 3.6 kilometres
Cam & Dursley Rail Station — 10.3 kilometres
Stonehouse Rail Station — 15.5 kilometres
Ferry ports
Sharpness Old Docks — 2.3 kilometres
Lydney Harbour — 3.5 kilometres
Bristol Docks Ferry Landing — 29.8 kilometres
Airports
Gloucestershire Airport — 29.2 kilometres
Bristol International Airport — 42.0 kilometres

Directions


Please be aware there are a number of farms using the same postcode. Do not turn off the A48 as the site entrance is on the main road. Keep going until you see a large white house between Lydney and Blakeney Village, called 'The Willows', with white painted stones around the driveway and garden. The site is directly opposite that house.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Forest Oak Farm is in a splendid spot for easy access to the Forest of Dean, the Wye Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and the wider Gloucestershire, south Wales and south-west England areas.

Adventurers can test their mettle on the high ropes course at Go Ape, five miles from base, and over at Puzzlewood, eight miles away, there's a walking trail that meanders through an ancient 14-acre forest filled with towering trees and rugged rock formations. At Clearwell Caves, right next door to Puzzlewood, explore its sprawling natural cave system and learn all about the forest's 4,500-year iron ore and ochre mining history.

The Forest Of Dean, around half an hour's walk from the park, is full to the brim with woodland walks, cycle tracks, lakes and secluded valleys. Be sure to bring your binoculars, because the forest is home to wild boar and deer that can (and should) be admired from afar.

The smashing Symonds Yat Rock is a mere 25-minute drive away from Forest Oak Farm and provides visitors with plenty of fun outdoorsy and sightseeing opps; take one of the many waymarked trails that link it with the River Wye and a number of circular walks into the surrounding forest, visit the ancient Iron Age hill fort and – if you're there between April and August – point your trusty binoculars towards the nearby cliffs to spot the peregrine falcons that nest and hunt around them.

Canoeing, kayaking, paddleboarding and mountaineering are available around the village of Symonds Yat too.

Must see

  • Berkeley Castle (6.7 kilometres)
  • WWT Slimbridge Wetlands Centre (6.9 kilometres)
  • Chepstow Castle (16.0 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Westbury Court Garden (11.0 kilometres)
  • The Kymin (14.9 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  3 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Please stop at the Reception Hut and ring the doorbell for assistance. It may take a few moments for someone to get to you.

Forest Oak Farm cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Forest Oak Farm will debit the balance from your card 4 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 4 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Forest Oak Farm have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Forest Oak Farm dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Forest Oak Farm? Forest Oak Farm is in a splendid spot for easy access to the Forest of Dean, the Wye Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and the wider Gloucestershire, south Wales and south-west … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Forest Oak Farm?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  3 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Forest Oak Farm? From $31.37 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact forest_oak_farm


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Sites
A cable measuring at least 20 metres is needed for the electric hook-ups.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.

Coronavirus
All onsite food and drink establishments are closed due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

Admission
At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.

General
Bookings must not be for more than 14 consecutive nights.

Coronavirus
Bookings must not consist of more than 2 different households.

Dogs
Dogs are prohibited from main facilities and amenities.
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.

Coronavirus
Fishing is not currently available due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Safety
Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.

Reception
If the reception is closed on arrival, please check in at the call the Guest Info Line and wait in your vehicle outside the reception and someone will come and meet you..

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Coronavirus
Minimum spacing of 2 metres between pitches.

Extras
Motorcycle(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

Occupancy
No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Vehicles
No vehicle movement between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m..

Safety
Open fires are prohibited.

Coronavirus
Owing to government regulations, groups of 6 or more people are not permitted.

Safety
Please do not touch or feed the animals.

Sites
Please note, pup tents are to be used for storage purposes only. Guests may not use them for sleeping.

General
Please note that the toilet/shower facilities are unisex.

Coronavirus
Protective masks must be worn at all times in common areas.

General
Public areas are non-smoking.
Quiet hours must be respected between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and trunks must be closed quietly.

Coronavirus
Reception is closed due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

Reception
Reception is open from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. and from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m. between 28/03 - 30/04 and 03/09 - 31/10.
Reception is unmanned after 6 p.m.. Please inform the park while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time so that the team can provide information about your unit/site.

Occupancy
Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Safety
Swimming in the lake is not allowed.

Vehicles
The car is only included in the rate if you are traveling with a camper, trailer tent or tent. Cars are not permitted when traveling with a motorhome/RV.

General
The fishing lakes are stocked with carp, tench.

Coronavirus
The laundry facilities are currently closed due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

General
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Arrivals and departures
There is no reception at this site. Please check in at the Call Guest Info Line instead.

General
The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

Arrivals and departures
The site will send you further check-in information 2 day(s) before your arrival.

General
This park Does have a catch-and-return fishing policy in place.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Sites
Units should not be left unoccupied unless previously agreed with the management. Please speak to reception when the need arises, a fee may be charged for unsupervised units.

Arrivals and departures
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Visitors
Visitors are not permitted on site.

Sites
You must follow management instructions when setting up your tent/rig and related equipment.

Dogs
Your dog must be tattooed or microchipped.

Close