Book and review 2,247 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Hales Hill Park

9
View prices & book
From £30/€33.24/A$54.35/US$40.40/CA$51.92/CHF35.97/SEK340.74/DKK247.40/NOK353.28/ISK5,092/ARS3,292.13/CLP30,324/PEN145.66/NZ$57.17/ZAR612.50/PLN148.45/R$208.15/CZK877.96/RSD3,908/HUF11,876.42/RUB3,005.71/CN¥263.92 (for 1 night, 14 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Looking over the Ouse towards Selby

General

  • Peaceful site on a 60-acre farm on the banks of the River Ouse
  • A 20-minute drive or 40-minute quiet bike ride from York
  • Three great village pubs within a 10-minute drive

A rural riverside stay on the banks of the Ouse – ooh, yes please… North Yorkshire site Hales Hill Park has a splendid 650 metres of river frontage as part of its 60-acre farm seven miles from York.

With that waterside setting comes a fine spot in which to settle for a bit of birdwatching or coarse fishing (seek permission from the owners before getting your kit in place), or just to set up a deckchair, pour a drink and admire some classic country views.

There’s easy access to public footpaths and bike trails too if you’d like to get out and survey your surrounds – stick to the rural lanes or pedal over to the National Cycle Network Route 65 to get up to York in 40 minutes or so (or drive it in 20 minutes if you’re a tad wobbly on two wheels).

Sixty acres gives the owners plenty of space to play with, so they’ve kindly allocated a decent chunk of it to their guests – which means scope for kids to play games, for dogs to bound around and for folk to safely set up barbecues or campfires for alfresco evenings. Rather than encroach on the peaceful space, the team here have kept facilities simple, just installing showers, toilets and an area for dealing with rubbish and waste disposal.

North Yorkshire not treating you to alfresco eating weather? Take your pick from any of the three country pubs within a 10-minute drive – the folk here give thumbs up to each and every one of them.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9

Overall rating based on 98 reviews

 

93% would recommend this site to a friend.

88% would stay here again.

  89% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Sorry but wouldn't visit again or recommend.10/27/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass and gravel pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly welcome from belle but unfortunately this was the only.positive to our stay.

    Disliked: 

    Booked hard standing but ended up.in a field of mud as pitches were flooded. Pitches very close together could actually hear conversations from neighbouring van
    No hot water in shower and the toilet/shower block was freezing no heating on.

From the manager...

We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
Thank you for your feedback; The field was not muddy as it drains very well, there were two-wheel drive cars on the field that weekend and no one got stuck.
Sorry we do not have heating in the toilet block as we are a summer only season campsite. We are addressing the hot water for next season, but it is usually ok unless someone has used it all.
There was 2 metres between you and your neighbour and you could have spread out forwards if required.
I am disappointed with the 1star awarded for 'child friendliness' since we have a play park and lots of lovely walks. I wonder if the bad weather during your stay has not helped your view of our site. I suggest you don't go camping out of season to avoid the cold and potential flooded pitch or muddy field.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Very spacious pitching loads of places to visit10/26/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnthony C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass and gravel pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very spacious pitching loads of places to visit

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

So pleased you had a lovely time with us, Thank you for your review.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Good location, friendly owner, showers and bar were a letdown10/20/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomANDREW W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass and gravel pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, Belle is really friendly, great potential.

    Disliked: 

    Mens Showers didnt work on both days different times there was another but didnt try this. The bar onsite wasnt really open, we were asked if we were members by the man behind bar at 8pm and felt a bit unwelcome so just got crisps and went back to the tents to drink. Site has huge potential, some gravelled paths to the camp would be good to save trudging throught mud.

From the manager...

Hi Andrew,
I am sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. The showers can run out of hot water if the water has been used up. Something we are going to address during the off season.
While the club house is on our site is it rented out to the water ski club and run by the members.
Our campsite is not really set up for October camping and we consciously don't want lots of gravel paths all over.
We are disappointed with out October reviews and will be closing in September next year.
Thank you for your feed back.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Wouldn't return, but it was clean.10/19/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJosh D.Confirmed

  • Electric grass and gravel pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    50 / 50 to be honest.

    Warm welcome on arrival, however quite disappointed as when I booked online it said Grass & Gravel pitch - I was in a muddy field. I also asked for a pitch close to the toilet block due to walking challenges and this wasn't actioned either.

    Nevertheless, the facilities were good and location was quiet too.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi Josh,
I am very sorry you wont be returning, as mentioned when you arrived the access to our grass and gravel pitches has become extremely muddy in the wet weather. The field is not muddy as it drains very well. We will address the access to our gravel pitches. I put you as close as I could to the loos - I am sorry you thought it was too far. I am also sorry that at £20 a night including electric and a water tap you thought us poor value for £.
Thank you for your valued feedback.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Great place to stay lovely dog walks clean and tidy10/12/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEmma E.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass and gravel pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Laid back site, everyone friendly, clean toilets and nice little pub shack!!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi Emma,
Thank you very much for your feedback, really pleased you had a great time and enjoyed the club house.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Lovely site. Lovely new park10/12/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass and gravel pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Park

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your review, so glad your liked the park!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Would go again now I know how to get there.10/01/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJohn K.Confirmed

  • Electric grass and gravel pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely quiet setting with beautiful riverside walk. Staff very nice and helpful. We were allowed to keep our pitch until 1300hrs as we had a funeral.

    Disliked: 

    Poor signposting coming from the west. No directions, Just a postcode which took us to the wrong place.

    Male shower flowed very hot sometimes.

From the manager...

Hi John,
Thank you for your review.
I will have a look at the shower temperature, sorry about that.
I am sorry you got lost, we are getting some signs for next season.
Hopefully see you soon.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

quite09/29/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDave C.Confirmed

  • Electric grass and gravel pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    owner very friendly,very quite we booked 2 nights and went into york park and ride
    took motor home with no problems parking.
    will return but book direct as pitchup take 15% cut!!

    Disliked: 

    nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your review Dave, so pleased you had a great time.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent friendly site with clean facilities and friendly staff09/28/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJodie B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass and gravel pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site owners were helpful and friendly. We arrived quite late and they rang to make sure we were ok and could find them. They took us to our pitch which was just next to a lovely park for our children to play on. We needed wood for our fire and they brought a bag for us. Payment was really easy, paid by card in the middle of the field!!

    Toilets and showers were spotless and the site was really well looked after.

    We absolutely would rebook!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Hi Jodie,
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have your family.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Beautiful peaceful location with clean facilities. Owner Belle was very …09/27/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJane E.Confirmed

  • Electric grass and gravel pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful peaceful location with clean facilities. Owner Belle was very helpful, as was support from Tony during the evening. Will definitely come again

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your feedback.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Capacity reduced to increase social distancing

Check-in: contactless (in person)

Extra toilet/shower facilities available

Hand sanitising stations

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Communal fridge

Gas cylinders available

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Small (11-25 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Acaster Lane, Appleton Roebuck, North Yorkshire, England, YO23 7BW
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 53.8721°N 1.1135°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
York: Askham Bar Coach Stop — 4.2 miles
York: Rail Station Coach Stop — 6.0 miles
Tadcaster Bus Station — 6.0 miles
Train stations
Ulleskelf Rail Station — 4.3 miles
Church Fenton Rail Station — 5.6 miles
York Rail Station — 6.0 miles
Ferry ports
Hull Ferry Terminal — 35.5 miles
Airports
Leeds Bradford International Airport — 22.3 miles
Robin Hood Doncaster Sheffield Airport — 27.0 miles
Robin Hood Doncaster Sheffield Airport — 27.4 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

You’ll be wanting a trip to York, yes? Or perhaps several, given how much there is to see and do around the place, and the fact that it’s only a 20-minute drive away. Start by getting to grips with the area’s history by taking a walk around the old city walls, visiting the castle and minster and checking out the exhibits at the Jorvik Viking Centre and Yorkshire Museum.

Those fascinated by things that move will certainly want to make a stop at the city’s excellent National Railway Museum; sweet-toothed types will no doubt find themselves drawn more to the tempting aromas that waft out of York’s Chocolate Story. And when it's time for a pint? It’s said there are 365 pubs within the city walls…

Take a break from city wandering with a day out cheering on the gee-gees at York Racecourse (15 minutes’ drive), admiring the landscaping at Stillingfleet Lodge Gardens (25 minutes) or meeting the menagerie at Askham Bryan Wildlife & Conservation Park (15 minutes).

Must see

  • York Racecourse (4.8 miles)
  • Clifford's Tower (5.9 miles)
  • York Castle Museum (5.9 miles)

National Trust

  • Goddards Garden (4.7 miles)
  • Treasurer's House (6.4 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  11 a.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart by:  11:30 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  11 a.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart by:  11:30 a.m.

Hales Hill Park cancellation policy

Balance refunds: no penalties

Modifications are subject to a £2.00 (€2.27) fee.

Bookings cannot be amended within 1 day(s) of arrival.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • How much is payable upfront? A 15% transferable deposit is payable when you book, with the balance payable on arrival. Read more
  • Does Hales Hill Park have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Hales Hill Park dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Hales Hill Park? You’ll be wanting a trip to York, yes? Or perhaps several, given how much there is to see and do around the place, and the fact that it’s only a 20-minute drive … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Hales Hill Park?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  11 a.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  11:30 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  11 a.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  11:30 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Hales Hill Park? From €33.24 (for 1 night, 14 people) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact hales_hill_park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 1 day(s) of arrival.

Dogs
Dogs are prohibited from main facilities and amenities.
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Changes to your holiday
Modifications are subject to a £2.00 (€2.27) fee.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Vehicles
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Dogs
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Close