Book and review 3,037 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Adventure Camping

7.2

This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.

If you are the owner of this site, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com by adding your business details.

General

  • Laidback site for groups and families, among hill and coast views
  • The Ultimate Adventure Centre on site: zipwires, kayaking, surfing...
  • Café, firepit, climbing, assault course, laser tag and high ropes

Wheeeee! Adventure sorts, you're sorted. Adventure Camping is a site right behind the Ultimate Adventure Centre near Bideford in Devon, where there's all manner of adrenalised activities to try – and all in the scenic surroundings of comely Devon countryside and hills with views of the Devon coast.

What's promised as 'the ultimate assault course' is laid on at the adventure centre, alongside other active options like coasteering, laser tag, mountain boarding, kayaking, a surf school, climbing wall, and high ropes, low ropes and a zipwire. Kids are welcome to join in and the site is dog friendly too. Showers, toilets and washing facilities are all available to get everyone clean when the day is done.

In the evenings, stroll around the lake or sit around the barbecue or firepit to discuss/boast about your day's activities with other campers, then wake up to the spectacular views, have brekkie in the café, and get ready to do it all over again…


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

7.2

Overall rating based on 15 reviews

 

73% would recommend this site to a friend.

67% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Clean well organised site,with excellent young staff.09/06/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJason D.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Adventure Barn bunkhouse
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean well organised site,with excellent young staff.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Facilities could be cleaned more often and never any toilet roll09/02/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Octo cabin
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The pod we stayed in very close to facilities not to far from the beach and town centre

    Disliked: 

    It seemed to be ran by young people which I do not have a problem with but there organisation skills and there communication skills not the best

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Perfect campsite09/02/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomrobert f.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Perfect campsite

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Not what it said to be.08/30/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing.

    Disliked: 

    The site was completely different to what was on the description was on here. Not for anybody over the age of 50.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Great campsite which importantly accommodates groups! Clean and modern08/28/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Modern facilities including brilliant showers! Touring pitches had ample room for our vans and were close enough that the group didnt feel seperated!

    Disliked: 

    Slightly noisy road adjacent to the pitches

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Stay elsewhere and book the activities as a day visitor if you must.08/28/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The view from the hardcore based pitch. Toilet block was clean and tidy. Staff were pleasant enough.

    Disliked: 

    Booking details with all your personal details were on a table in the cafe. Staff were noware to be seen for at least 5 to 10 mins. Cant say how long they were away from their posts but dont like the idea my info could be viewed by anyone.No chemical waste. Was advised to pour it down sink.. I dont think so. Cant comment on activities as unable to book as all booked up for the next day. Didnt seem to find any activities to do unless you booked on a paid one. Map of site did not match the site. We could not see our pitches on the map. Very confusing. Locating the water tap was like a adventure. It was found near ground level on the side of toilet / shower block. Not 100%sure it was drinking water as it was not marked up. Very expensive for what you actually get. Facilities are not really motorhome friendly. Stayed the one night and moved on to a different site. We did tell the staff who basically said thank you have a good day.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

A very nice, friendly, welcoming campsite geared around “families”08/27/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Cleanliness, choice of activities, location, facilities (toilets / showers)

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

All in all a very nice campsite08/27/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The staff were friendly and the site was clean and tidy and very quiet

    Disliked: 

    Wasn't that many level spots for campervan / tent

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Top day full of adventure08/27/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomHeidi H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The assault course was amazing and so were the high ropes. Really well run with really friendly staff. It was such a good day, my small 7 year old was able to complete the course and all the activities

    Disliked: 

    The already wet wetsuits, my advice is take your own

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Poor site with no designated pitches and no staff around to assist.08/26/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomIndia K.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Hot showers

    Disliked: 

    When we arrived there was nobody around for an hour - no staff anywhere! When we finally found someone he told us we had to wait for a different person to check us in. When he arrived, he admitted it was chaotic and didnt seem to know what he was doing (which we dont think was his fault- probably poor management!) Finding a pitch was a free-for-all, there arent designated areas and it was just a mess. People had pitched up in random places, taking up loads of space making it impossible for anyone else to pitch up. We had to resort to setting up on a side area near the road - an older member of staff came and said "I've worked here for 11 years and you're the first to ever pitch up there" - we weren't happy about it either mate!! We then said there was nowhere flat to pitch up, to which he responded "well it is Devon", laughed and walked off. All the staff are kids around 17 years old apart from that one who didnt stay to help them out at all. No loo roll in the loos. We weren't able to use any of the adventure equipment because it was all booked up and because of the late check-in / early check-out. It is much smaller than it makes out to be. The only saving grace for them was that their staff are really very polite. Lewis was a young lad who had to stay over night and his customer service was excellent. We heard him talking with a colleague the next day expressing how stressful it had been and that he would "never do check-in again" - we don't blame him! It must have been awful for him and his boss should have been there supporting them all over a busy weekend!! Absolutely not worth £32 for a pitch and I would definitely not recommend it. It would be great if they refunded us!

From the manager...

India,

Thank you for your comments, I'm sorry your experience was what you were expecting.

We don't have designated camping pitches. As an outdoor adventure centre we have several areas for camping but yes, it is a little different to a traditional campsite with designated areas.

Our Ultimate Day Out has been incredibly busy this season and we do advise all customers to book in advance as it sells out quickly and we cannot accept bookings on the day.

I apologise for the comments you received from one particular member of staff, I will investigate that personally. I will pass on your kind comments to Lewis.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transportation nearby

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

Takeout

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Amenities on park

Bath available

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Scouts welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Hikers’ paradise

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wild camping

Camping 2.0

Bell tents

Type

Large (51-200 sites)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • The Ultimate Adventure Centre, Abbotsham Road, Bideford, Devon, England, EX39 5AP
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 51.0175°N 4.2418°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Westward Ho!: Nelson Rd Coach Stop — 2.5 kilometres
Bideford: Quay Coach Stop — 2.6 kilometres
Westward Ho!: Holiday Centre Coach Stop — 3.1 kilometres
Train stations
Barnstaple Rail Station — 14.0 kilometres
Chapelton (Devon) Rail Station — 15.2 kilometres
Umberleigh Rail Station — 18.3 kilometres
Ferry ports
Bideford Ferry Landing — 2.6 kilometres
Appledore Ferry Landing — 5.4 kilometres
Instow Ferry Landing — 5.6 kilometres
Airports
Swansea Airport — 66.2 kilometres

Directions


By bus
The only bus which passes The Ultimate Adventure Centre is the 319 Stagecoach bus from Barnstaple town centre to Hartland. The nearest bus stop is outside the church in Abbotsham, which is approximately 2- 3 minutes' walk from the site. However, if you ask the driver nicely, they usually stop outside the car park to drop you off.

By train
The nearest train station is Barnstaple, approximately 10 miles away. From here, a taxi will cost around £20, or you can take the 319 bus which stops outside of the train station (details above).

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Adventure Camping is in the small village of Abbotsham, niftily placed for the best of Devon attractions and the nearby beaches of day trips to Croyde, Woolacombe, Westward Ho! and other Devon beaches.

Less than half an hour's drive will see you at Saunton Sands, the eminently suitable surfing beach, and Braunton Burrows, the eminently spectacular sand dune system that's the biggest in England. Botany and nature buffs will find over 400 species of vascular plants and several rare species here; take a guided walk for the easiest way to spot.

Closer to home, on the edge of the Taw Torridge Estuary and in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Northam Burrows Country Park is a smaller but still very viewsome option for nature walks among its sand dunes, salt marsh and grassland. Access it from the beach at Westward Ho! and drop in at the visitor centre at the northern end of the beach, open to the public in summer.

Heavenly hikes on the South West Coast Path are just a mile away, and nearby Bideford has two of Devon's toppest attractions for kids and families, the Milky Way Adventure Park and The Big Sheep.

See also the fishing village of Clovelly along the coast to the south west, a day out among the greenery of RHS Rosemoor, another among the waves of surfing spot Woolacombe, or a drive to Dartmoor for yet more outdoorsy activities: you're on an adventure, after all…

Must see

  • RHS Garden Rosemoor (11.1 kilometres)
  • Castle Drogo (46.8 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Arlington Court and the National Trust Carriage Museum (23.0 kilometres)
  • Heddon Valley (31.1 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Video

  • Does Adventure Camping have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Adventure Camping dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Adventure Camping? Adventure Camping is in the small village of Abbotsham, niftily placed for the best of Devon attractions and the nearby beaches of day trips to Croyde, Woolacombe, Westward Ho! and other Devon ... Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Adventure Camping?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  3 p.m. –  10 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  3 p.m. –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    Read more

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Adventure Camping


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 30 day(s) of arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.

Extras
Facilities/activities including coasteering, laser tag, body zorbing, mountain boarding, kayaking, a surf school, climbing wall, high ropes, low ropes and a zipwire. are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

General
Music in speakers are not permitted.

Occupancy
No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Vehicles
No cars/motorcycles at the site. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Vehicles
No vehicle movement between 10 p.m. and 8 a.m..

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 11 p.m. and 8 a.m..

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Close