Book and review 2,803 RV parks and campgrounds in the USA, Europe and South America

Feefo service rating

Grange Pony Trekking Centre

7.6
View prices & book
From £12/€13.95/A$22.65/$15.55/CA$20.36/CHF15.33/SEK149.90/DKK104.20/NOK142.06/ISK1,943/ARS909.71/CLP11,301/PEN52.04/NZ$24.31/ZAR229.49/PLN59.64/R$64.45/CZK356.73/RSD1,640/HUF4,601.17/RUB991.15/CN¥110.05 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Take a walk on Twmpa mountain

General

  • Secluded site at a riding centre in the Brecon Beacons National Park
  • On the Cambrian Way a mile and a half from Offa's Dyke Path
  • Breakfasts, packed lunches and evening meals available on site

Young or not so young, experienced horse wrangler or first time in the saddle – all are welcome at family-run Grange Pony Trekking Centre, in rural Monmouthshire. A friendly bunch of Welsh cobs and ponies reside here, waiting to take guests out into the northern stretches of the Brecon Beacons National Park in the company of expert instructors.

Actually (whisper it…) not that fussed by horses? You’re equally welcome too, as this is a gorgeous base for any sort of peaceful break – a stream flows past the site, and the surrounding hills and mountains provide a scenic backdrop for your breakfasts and barbecues. The local wildlife agrees that it’s a fab place to hang out too, so you’ll most likely spot birds and beasts going about their business.

Once you've viewed it from afar, there are plenty of ways to get out for a closer look at the scenery. A hike perhaps? The site is on the Cambrian Way, a mile and a half from the Offa’s Dyke Path and has its own access to Hatterrall Hill. It’s also next to the path that climbs up Chwarel y Fan, and is a quarter of a mile from National Cycle Route 42. There’s secure storage for bikes, and the folk on site are happy to dry boots and sort laundry if you get wet and mucky as you roam.

Abergavenny’s about half an hour away for foodie foraging, but if you're too whacked after your day's activities to contemplate cooking, the folk on site can sort you with three-course evening meals, plus cooked breakfasts and packed lunches to get you set up for a day out.

Finally, if you're here near Hay to go to the Hay Festival, the friendly Grange Pony owners can give you a lift there.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Facilities/activities including pony ridding and pony trekking are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

No cars/motorcycles at the site. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

There is a compost toilet in the camping field. Showers and flushing toilet are available in the house.

Trekking trips are only available 01 April - 31 October.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

7.6

Overall rating based on 10 reviews

 

80% would recommend this park to a friend.

80% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

A nice quiet and remote campsite next to a stream ...09/03/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A nice quiet and remote campsite next to a stream in the Black Mountains but make sure the camp site owner puts her trekking ponies in fields away from the campers as the only other person there one night had his tent trashed by a pony. Camp site owner took immediate action when told about this.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

We loved camping by the stream and washing in it. ...09/02/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNatalie B.Confirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We loved camping by the stream and washing in it. Very peaceful with great views of the mountain. The owners were friendly and helpful.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Friendly owners and beautiful site but lots ofsheep mess in our field08/28/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly owners

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Sorry about the sheep mess in the field. It is disappointing to hear. We don't even keep sheep, they are the neighbours sheep and should not even be in there.Thank you for letting us know your feelings and we very much value your feed back. Glad you enjoyed gte site in general.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

excellent for a rustic hide away break.08/27/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    remoteness, quiet, peaceful, basic, compost loo! no signal, no wifi, amazing scenery, wildlife, fire pit, veranda, wood burner (not used but it looked lovely) starry skies, I dont feel like a mature or a young couple! I'm in the middle - he's ageless ;-)

    Disliked: 

    no working shower available for us in the morning, bedding fabrics felt like 100% nylon (manmade - not linen or cotton)

From the manager...

Glad you had a nice visit. Sorry the shower was not working very well. We are on a spring and we did have alot of people staying in the camp site and guestshouse over bank holiday and we haven't had any rain for quite some time. The water was being used faster than it could come in. Thank you for bringing to our attention and glad to say it is all working again as normal.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Loved the location of the tent pitches, right next to ...08/27/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved the location of the tent pitches, right next to the stream, it was so peaceful :)

    Disliked: 

    The shower facilities were not very good, shower was not powerful at all so really had to have a proper wash (especially as a female with longer hair). Also wasn’t a fan of the cat beds and food in the shower area, felt a bit unclean.

From the manager...

Glad you had a nice visit, sorry the shower was not working very well. We did have alot of people staying in the guest house and camping over the bank holiday and we are on a spring for water and it was being used faster than it was coming in to the tanks. It is all back to normal now thats why it wasnt very powerful. I will take note of the other things you said about the shower and act acordingly. I think the kittens are big enough to live outside now. Thank you.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely staff, perfect location08/26/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRich N.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location very rustic!

    Disliked: 

    Toilet/Shower facilities need up dating

From the manager...

Thank you for the lovely photos and glad you had a lovely visit. I will take note on your comment about the updating and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Really disappointing- poor admin and response from the management08/26/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLauren W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We loved the look of the pod so were disappointed that they had double booked us.

    Disliked: 

    We booked and paid on Thursday to go on Saturday, for my partner’s birthday. We bought equipment to stay and travelled from Bristol on the day. We bought food on the way to cook on the fire pit. When we were close to arriving, at 17.15, we had a call from the manager explaining that they had no room for us. She explained that she wasn’t sure why we had been able to book and wasn’t sure how to refund us. We explained that we were close, with all of our stuff with no where to stay. Her attitude was quite blasé, her only solution was to ask if we had a tent with us (we didn’t as we were booked to stay in a pod)

    We came off the phone and searched for somewhere else to stay but unfortunately, with it being such late notice and a sunny bank holiday weekend, there was nowhere available which meant we had to drive home, disappointed about our ruined trip, having wasted time and money on travelling, equipment and food.

    Apparently our refund has been processed but I have not received any response from the manager to my email asking for assurance that this will not happen to other people and for compensation for our wasted journey. Really disappointing.

From the manager...

Sorry about your visit and like I said I have never had to give a refund as this has never happened before but as you told me on the phone you had got a full refund and pitchup do take a few days to processes this. We look forward to welcoming you on 28th September as arranged. FREE of charge as way of our compensation to you. Hope you enjoy your visit. Talk again soon. Thank you and see you in a few weeks.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Amazing location right next to babbling stream and under the ...08/11/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJackie D.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Amazing location right next to babbling stream and under the mountains, right away from the modern world. If you like to get away from it all this could be perfect- but remember there's no mobile phone signal and it is a few mins walk uphill to the shower and toilets, so it's probably not everyone's idea of a perfect campsite. The pony trekking is fabulous too. We absolutely loved it here!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so very much for your kind comments and glad you all had a nice memorable visit and we would be most pleased to welcome you again.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Great experience, fantastic location, lovely family run business.08/06/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The camping was next to a river at the bottom of the Black Mountains.
    The horses and sheep on the site made it feel like a real escape from the city.
    Very friendly family that run the campsite and horse riding centre.
    The option to go horse riding in the Black Mountains was a real spontaneous treat. It’s a must if you didn’t plan on going riding. You don’t need any extra gear, they have you covered!

    Disliked: 

    Unfortunately you can’t have your car next to the tent. There is a designated car park for this, which means carrying your gear from the car park to your camp spot.
    The facilities could have been cleaner but it’s not a problem if that does not bother you.

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments about The Grange. Lovely photos and thank you for this. Sorry you didn't camp near your car. We do have another place for people to camp next to their cars it is a bit further from the facilities. I should have mentioned this to you when you booked it. Looking forward to welcoming you both again. You look comfortable on the horse he does like to be at the front. Thank you once again.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

The highlights were the warm welcome and the absolutely fabulous ...07/16/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJohn M.Confirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The highlights were the warm welcome and the absolutely fabulous meals. I just felt a bit guilty I could not finish all the food provided in the three courses! The setting is absolutely magnificent.

    Disliked: 

    The place is rustic which suited me fine but the facilities are less 'polished' than some campers might be used to. The camping field itself was on quite a slope but I managed to find a fairly level part for my tent.

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed the home cooked food and went on your way well feed and feeling happy.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

Takeout

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

No dogs allowed

Themes

Hikers’ paradise

Lake and/or mountain

Wild camping

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Scouts welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Type

Farm

Small (11-25 sites)

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Shepherd's huts

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Capel-y-Ffin, Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Wales, NP7 7NP
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 51.9765°N 

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Hay on Wye: Castle Bus Stop — 6.8 miles
Pontrilas: Telephone Exchange Coach Stop — 9.4 miles
Abergavenny Bus Station — 11.3 miles
Train stations
Abergavenny Rail Station — 11.6 miles
Ebbw Vale Parkway Rail Station — 15.8 miles
Rhymney Rail Station — 17.2 miles
Ferry ports
Newport (S Wales) Ferry Terminal — 28.9 miles
Airports
Gloucestershire Airport — 40.4 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

If you’ve still got some energy once you’ve hiked, biked and trotted around the local area, perhaps you’d like to take to the waters of Llangorse Lake (45 minutes’ drive) for sailing, windsurfing and other aquatic activities.

And of course you can’t come to this part of the world without taking in a castle or two… stick to the Welsh side of the border to ramble around the ruins of Grosmont Castle or Crickhowell Castle, or skip over Offa's Dyke into England to Longtown Castle. Whichever you pick, you’re looking at a drive of around 40 minutes or so.

Dipping a toe into urban life shouldn’t involve too much of a wrench from your rural surrounds: Abergavenny (half an hour) is packed with independent shops to poke about in (with a particularly fine line in local foodie treats) and Hay-on-Wye (25 minutes) is a must-do for anyone who loves a good bookshop browse.

Must see

  • Blaenavon Ironworks (13.8 miles)
  • Blaenavon World Heritage Centre & Tourist Information Centre (14.1 miles)
  • Big Pit: National Coal Museum (14.2 miles)

National Trust

  • Cwmmau Farmhouse (12.3 miles)
  • The Weir (13.4 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

RV, trailer and tent sites
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.
On-park accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Grange Pony Trekking Centre cancelation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancelations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Grange Pony Trekking Centre will debit the balance from your card 4 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 4 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted at the park

Cash

Terms and conditions

Park booking terms and conditions

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Grange Pony Trekking Centre


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Extras
Facilities/activities including pony ridding and pony trekking are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 10:30 p.m. and 7:30 a.m..

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.
Open fires are prohibited.

Sites
You must follow management instructions when setting up your tent/rig and related equipment.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
No cars/motorcycles at the site. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Additional terms

There is a compost toilet in the camping field. Showers and flushing toilet are available in the house.

Trekking trips are only available 01 April - 31 October.

Close