Book and review 2,805 RV parks and campgrounds in the USA, Europe and South America

Feefo service rating

The Quiet Site

9.5

This park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.

If you are the owner of this park, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com by adding your business details.

General

  • Peaceful site for pod, tent and van dwellers
  • On-site pub converted from a 17th-century barn
  • Outdoor playground and indoor games room available for kids

Guests here will be lulled by the lovely views of Ullswater at The Quiet Site, which huddles in scenic seclusion in the fells above a lake.

You’ll find a tiptop selection of facilities here, including family-sized bathrooms, an on-site shop and a large playground, but the thing that really sets The Quiet Site apart is its pub: dictionary dude Samuel Johnson was surely thinking of the Quiet Bar when he stated, 'There is nothing which has yet been contrived by man by which so much happiness is produced as by a good tavern or inn.'

Not only is it a splendid 17th-century barn with an absurdly well-provisioned cellar, but it has its own games room (with table football, pool, air hockey, and table tennis), and – for the ultimate in parental pleasure – an upstairs playhouse and softplay centre for the kids.

Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award

Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.5

Overall rating based on 214 reviews

 

96% would recommend this park to a friend.

95% would stay here again.

  79% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Staff very friendly. Good hot food sold on site10/15/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU gravel trailer site (2 adults and 4 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We booked 3 pitches. All were together. Near to play area (good for Gran-kids), near to dog walk (good for dogs).

    Disliked: 

    Nothing about the sites

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Clean, quiet as it says excellent facilities never had a ...09/20/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChristine D.Confirmed

  • Powered grass and gravel campervan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean, quiet as it says excellent facilities never had a bath while camping but just the job after a day out walking. Beautiful old pub, very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent dog wash facilities with a special bath tub for the pooches which was very welcome for muddy paws. Would recommend this site to anyone and have already done so. Oh not to forget the beautful views.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Beautiful site, shame about the hard standing.09/20/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGeraldine B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass and gravel tent site (2 adults and 4 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The cleanliness, the quietness, the view, the onsite bar was fabulous, free wifi, camping kitchen was invaluable as our tent blew down and we had nothing to make coffee and breakfast the next day.

    Disliked: 

    Allocated pitches. We were allocated a pitch on the top level, opposite the hobbit holes.
    We had trouble knocking the pegs into the hard standing and we had planned to rectify any loose pegs the next day. Unfortunately, that evening we had the tail end of storm Doris and as we were on the top level and completely unsheltered, at 3am our 6 birth tent blew down.
    We happened to be in a position to shelter the tent next to us and on the levels below, so they remained standing. After trying to recover our belongings and calm our 3 year old we decided to call it a day and left the next morning.
    We would return to the site as the amenities were excellent, however we would ring ahead and try to choose our own pitch.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.
All our tent pitches have a pea gravel centre to prevent them from becoming muddy.
Our ground is well drained and can become hard - but metal pegs will always penetrate. Rock pegs and mallets are available to borrow or buy. I am sorry that your tent blew down - but this is not altogether surprising as not all your pegs were being used. We trim hedges and trees so as not to be tall and dangerous.
Hopefully you will experience better weather if you decide to return.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Quiet and peaceful site. The bar is great and all ...09/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomBrian F.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU gravel trailer site (2 adults and 4 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet and peaceful site. The bar is great and all staff were helpful.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Nice pitches all with nice view09/05/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPaul D.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass and gravel campervan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean well appointed site with fantastic views. Good showers and even two full bathrooms if needed. Shop on site and a great pub with a log fire. Just what we needed after walking as the weather was a bit wet.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Everything09/04/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChris B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU gravel trailer site (2 adults and 4 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

    Pitch should be marked out

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Can't wait to come back.09/03/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The camping pods were very cosy, warm because of the heater and definitely a step up from camping in a tent. The site was well laid out, all accomodation was close together but felt private with the position of trees and bushes acting as partitions.
    The staff were very friendly. The showers were lovely and warm. I made a note of the two family bathrooms as I have two young children I'd like to bring with me next time. Even the dogs had a shower room available.
    The campsite had a nice friendly feel about it and felt safe.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Excellent site level pitches stunning views08/30/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Powered grass and gravel tent site (2 adults and 4 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great flat pea gravel pitch. Fantastic views from most pitches and large enough for privacy. Clean toilets and great family bathroom or shower rooms.Very friendly helpful staff. Child friendly. Very quiet after 10pm. Magician and female singer entertaining in pub.

    Disliked: 

    Needed more stock of essentials in shop as nearest shops are pooley bridge. Lovely pub on-site but too many dogs inside and log fire burning even in very warm evening made sitting inside uncomfortable although can appreciate some people would like that.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Views were lovely and facilities were good.08/27/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLisa L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass and gravel tent site (2 adults and 4 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Views were lovely and facilities were good.

    Disliked: 

    The pitches were muddy and the layout of the site meant you couldn’t park next to your pitch. By the time we got there it was packed and we had to park far from our pitch. The site did try to help but couldn’t get gravel until the next day.

    We were surrounded by a strange selection of people who shouted more than talked until late. And then we’re up early in the morning.

    The pitches have pea gravel which makes it at times impossible to hammer pegs in. Also was awful to walk on.

    For double the price we normally pay it just was not worth it. Was really disappointed. We wouldn’t return.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. To put things into context, after 21 consecutive days of rain, we were the only park still able to offer good quality camping pitches as the other 9 Ullswater parks were no longer taking tents due to waterlogged ground. Our camping bases have been pea gravel for the last decade and are regularly topped up with fresh stone. The mud you mention will be from the grass surrounding the pea gravel centres. On a bank holiday Monday we did run out of gravel to top up the access path to your pitch, which I apologise about. Gravel was with you at 9am the next day.
We were disappointed in the way that you had left the pitch, having constructed a stone heap at one end.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely site, very friendly staff and well maintained facilities, well08/24/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMichelle W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass and gravel tent site (2 adults and 4 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The bar which is a 17th century converted barn is a must.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely review.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

Takeout

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Restrooms

Shower available

Tents for hire

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

FHU sites

Gray water hook-up for RVs/trailers

Hard standings

Motorhome service point

Seasonal sites

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Hikers’ paradise

Lake and/or mountain

Luxury

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Scouts welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Public transportation nearby

Type

Large (51-200 sites)

Camping 2.0

Bell tents

Camping pods

Jumbo tent sites

Microlodges

Pre-erected tents

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Ullswater, Penrith, Cumbria, England, CA11 0LS
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 54.6047°N 

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Troutbeck (Cumbria): Hotel Bus Stop — 3.4 miles
Penrith: Rail Station Coach Stop — 6.4 miles
Penrith Bus Station — 6.8 miles
Train stations
Penrith North Lakes Rail Station — 6.4 miles
Langwathby Rail Station — 10.8 miles
Lazonby & Kirkoswald Rail Station — 12.4 miles
Ferry ports
Pooley Bridge Ullswater Ferry Landing — 2.3 miles
Howtown Ullswater Ferry Landing — 2.4 miles
Glenridding Ullswater Ferry Landing — 4.9 miles
Airports
Newcastle International Airport — 55.6 miles

Directions


Travelling from the M6, Junction 40 (at Penrith)
Take the A66, signposted Keswick, for 1 mile and then take the A592 signposted Ullswater for 4 miles. Turn right when you see the lake in front of you, still on the A592, signposted Windermere. After approximately 1 mile, you will see the Brackenrigg Inn on your righthand side; there is a road to the right directly after the Inn. Drive up here for 1.5 miles. You will see The Quiet Site on the righthand side. Turn right and book in at the shop.

If your caravan or motorhome is very large, please ignore the Brackenrigg Inn turn. Instead, continue on to the next right turn, which is by the telephone box. Turn right here and follow the lane up the hill past the church and take the first turn on the right. The site is on the left.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

This being the Lake District, there are oodles of things to do nearby: walks and bike rides; pony trekking; steam trains to steam boats, paddling and rowing, and pretty much everything water-based in between. Landlubbers of a historical bent will find no shortage of castles, Roman forts and stately homes to tempt them.

The locals laugh in the face of drizzly days (well, they see quite a few) and have set up a vast array of coping mechanisms: visit one of the multifarious museums in the area, which feature everything from James Bond to pencils, or perhaps take a trip to an aquarium, Ice Age caverns filled with stalactites, or even a slate mine.

Must see

  • Dalemain Historic House & Gardens (3.3 miles)
  • Ullswater Steamers (4.9 miles)
  • The Rheged Centre (5.0 miles)

National Trust

  • Acorn Bank Garden and Watermill (11.7 miles)
  • Grasmere and Great Langdale (12.8 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact The Quiet Site


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Dogs
Dogs are not allowed in the on-site accommodations.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 2 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).
Group bookings of 2 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Additional terms

Please note that this is a quiet site and all guests are expected to avoid any noise or nuisance that may disturb other guests. Groups of four or more adults are required to pay a refundable noise bond of £50 on arrival. This will be refunded on departure should no noise or nuisance be caused.

The maximum unit length allowed is 7 metres.

Close