Book and review 3,257 RV parks and campgrounds in the USA, Europe and South America

Feefo service rating

The Red Lion

9.5
View prices & book
From £12/€14.04/A$22.58/$16.48/CA$20.86/CHF15.20/SEK142.35/DKK104.40/NOK141.51/ISK2,130/ARS1,623.78/CLP12,992/PEN67.80/NZ$23.27/ZAR240.92/PLN64.75/R$87.07/CZK356.25/RSD1,654/HUF4,997.89/RUB1,198.15/CN¥106.38 (for 1 night, 4 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

The Red Lion: East to West view

General

  • Quiet and peaceful back-to-basics site at a 450 year old country pub
  • Food made from scratch using local produce where possible
  • Just off the Icknield Way and 15 minutes' drive from Newmarket

Sometimes escaping to the country is just the thing to do... come and do it at The Red Lion in Cambridgeshire, on a back-to-basics site with an acclaimed Grade II-listed pub a few minutes away.

The pub is known in the area for its food, with almost everything made from scratch using the freshest of produce, local or home-grown where possible. Packed lunches and drinks are available if you're here to walk the Icknield Way, and if you'd like a hot breakfast before you move on to your next stop, the team can do that too. For eating in, just let them know if you'd like to book for lunch or dinner.

The Red Lion is a peaceful site in a wildlife haven, with ducks and moorhens on the pond, a resident owl flitting over the adjacent field, and pheasants and partridges hanging out in the front garden (go to see for yourself: the garden is free for guests to use at all times). Pitch up in the quiet area among trees and hedges behind the pub, to listen to the wood pigeons at dusk and drift off to sleep in a remote and rural setting.

The site is at the far end of a small village, under 15 minutes' drive from Newmarket and half an hour from Cambridge. It's dog friendly: the entire property is fenced and chicken wired.

Please note

No cars/motorcycles at the site. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Guests under the age of 18 are not allowed on site.

This park has no on-site shower facilities.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro) and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Reception is unmanned after 9 p.m.. Please inform the park while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time so that the team can provide information about your unit/site.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


This listing accepts adults only (defined as age 18+)
Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.5

Overall rating based on 47 reviews

 

98% would recommend this park to a friend.

94% would stay here again.

  89% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Great hosts nothing was to much trouble and excellent food …09/23/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great hosts nothing was to much trouble and excellent food lovely quiet would highly recommend and will stay again

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely place and gardens, field well-spaced out. Owner very hospitable …09/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomStuart N.Confirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely place and gardens, field well-spaced out. Owner very hospitable and helpful, food and drink very good.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Very friendly service and all the basic facilities available08/31/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly service and all the basic facilities available

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

I don't think we have ever met a more helpful host.08/30/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great location, great host

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Everything! The hosts Morris and Gwen are very accommodating; being …08/16/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything!
    The hosts Morris and Gwen are very accommodating; being located in the grounds of the Red Lion pub was great - we ate there for dinner Saturday night and brunch on Sunday morning, and the food (and drinks!) were excellent, I thoroughly recommend to dine at the pub.
    The location is great, very quiet and a scenic spot with fields on most sides.
    We travelled as a group of 4 friends, and are very much hoping to return for another stay this summer.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Beautiful, historic, quiet place to stay.08/16/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely place to stay, very handy for Cambridge. Excellent local beers on draught. Dinner was very good. Morris was very knowledgeable about the local area and kind enough to point out a nice town for breakfast. The building itself was stunning too and full of history. The toilet was very clean.

    Disliked: 

    I think its an excellent place if you're looking for a very quiet stay but if you're a group looking to have a few drinks and relax you will probably end up feeling like you are in the wrong place and disturbing people so don't think just because it's a pub it's a lively place to stay.

From the manager...

Thank you for everything you have written - positive and negative. It has been food for thought. We had several conversations with one of our four neighbours on FB, and some other campers too, very early on the Sunday morning. We had one the previous week with a camnper unhappy someone was talking at 9:15 p.m.

Had we pitched all of you elsewhere you would not have had anyone complaining at 1 a.m. about 'noise.' You were in our front garden until 12:45. I was in the restaurant 15-20 feet away with windows open and never heard a sound from your group. Apparently this neighbour sleeps at the rear of their house and had the windows open in summer. We didn't know that.

Pub or campsite, and with other campers here - music or noise at 1:00 a.m. will never be OK. Your group really didn't make any noise. We want you to know that normal we are going to go to bed see you tomorrow talk, isn't noise, and we're sorry you had that interaction with our neighbour and it damped your weekend with us.

We'll have all of you back at any time since you were a great group and we will site you better, as we will with any multiple tent bookings in future. Again - thank you for this.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Pitch was ideal and so quiet, lovely hosts and great food!08/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLouise R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved the host, the environment was so quiet and the food was amazing!

    Disliked: 

    Amentities were limited but the hosts have made provisions for this.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

I cannot recommend highly enough. Beautiful spot, beautiful owners!08/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCaroline B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Morris…. The most helpful, accommodating person I have ever met. After my booking, he called me to help arrange transport to and from the racecourse; he went above and beyond to help.

    Disliked: 

    There is nothing to dislike!!!!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Hosts are fantastic, pub is lovely. Food was amazing08/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMark S.Confirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Hosts are fantastic, pub is lovely. Food was amazing

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Morris and Gynn are perfect hosts, they really can’t do …08/02/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPaul M.Confirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Morris and Gynn are perfect hosts, they really can’t do enough for you, to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I was the only one there the first night and they both took time out to have a conversation with me. The food was excellent, I would thoroughly recommend a visit.

    Disliked: 

    It did feel weird being able to enter the pub to use the toilet in the middle of the night, but they were perfectly happy for us to use there facilities like that

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

24+ hour ventilation between accommodation guests

Capacity reduced to increase social distancing

Check-in: contactless (in person)

Check-in: one group at a time

Check-in: self check-in (unattended)

Digital food/drink menus

Disinfectant sprays and wipes provided

Extra spacing in seated areas

Hand sanitizing stations

Meal delivery to unit/pitch/outdoor seated area

More frequent emptying of bins

Shared spaces: daily deep cleaning

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Tents for hire

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Adults only

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Gastronomic delight

Hikers’ paradise

Peaceful

Remote location

Wild camping

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Electric car charging point(s)

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Type

Pub campground

Tiny (1-10 sites)

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Restaurant nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • High Street, Brinkley, Newmarket, Cambridgeshire, England, CB8 0RA
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 52.1682°N 0.3762°E

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Horse Racing Museum — 5.3 miles
Horse Racing Museum — 5.4 miles
Parkside — 10.8 miles
Train stations
Dullingham Rail Station — 2.3 miles
Newmarket Rail Station — 5.0 miles
Kennett Rail Station — 9.0 miles
Ferry ports
Brightlingsea Ferry Landing — 37.3 miles
Airports
Cambridge Airport — 9.1 miles
London Stansted Airport — 19.8 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

If you're here for some history (Cambridge is within easy reach), there are plenty of National Trust properties in the area, such as Anglesey Abbey Gardens and Lode Mill 15 minutes' drive away, and Ickworth, the Theatre Royal Bury St Edmunds and Wimpole Hall within 35. Slightly further afield, have days out at Melford Hall (40 minutes), Lavenham Guildhall (50 minutes) or Houghton Hall (55 minutes).

The National Trust's oldest nature reserve Wicken Fen, half an hour from the site, is a famed wetlands area home to over 9,000 species. Head here for wildlife watching, a 14-mile circular cycle trail, the eight-mile Lodes Way and regular events including den building and pond dipping.

Equine enthusiasts have the famed horse racing centre and racecourse of Newmarket wtihin easy reach, for days at Palace House and the National Horseracing Museum, summer meets and The National Stud just outside town. The racecourse has concerts in summer.

Must see

  • Newmarket Racecourses (4.3 miles)
  • The National Stud (4.4 miles)
  • Anglesey Abbey, Gardens and Lode Mill (7.5 miles)

National Trust

  • Anglesey Abbey, Gardens and Lode Mill (7.5 miles)
  • Wicken Fen National Nature Reserve (10.5 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

RV, trailer and tent sites
Arrive:  noon –  8:30 p.m.
Depart by:  noon

The Red Lion cancelation policy

No refunds within 1 week of arrival date.

Bookings cannot be amended within 1 day(s) of arrival.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancelations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. The Red Lion will debit the balance from your card 1 week before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 1 week then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted at the park

Cash
Visa
MasterCard

Terms and conditions

Park booking terms and conditions

  • Does The Red Lion have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is The Red Lion dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near The Red Lion? If you're here for some history (Cambridge is within easy reach), there are plenty of National Trust properties in the area, such as Anglesey Abbey Gardens and Lode Mill 15 minutes' drive … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of The Red Lion?
    RV, trailer and tent sites
    Arrive:  noon –  8:30 p.m.
    Depart by:  noon
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at The Red Lion? From $16.48 (for 1 night, 4 people) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact red_lion


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 1 day(s) of arrival.

Admission
All guests spending the night at the park must present their ID at the reception desk and sign registration forms.
Guests under the age of 18 are not allowed on site.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro) and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

Extras
Motorcycle(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
This park has no on-site shower facilities.

Hired accommodation
Your unit must be left clean and tidy; a fine of £25.00 ($30.70) will be charged for unclean units upon departure.

Occupancy
No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Reception
Reception is open from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. and from 5 p.m. to 9 p.m. between 08/01 and 10/31.
Reception is unmanned after 9 p.m.. Please inform the park while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time so that the team can provide information about your unit/site.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.
Open fires are prohibited.

Taxes
This area is not subject to city tax.

Vehicles
No cars/motorcycles at the site. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Visitors
Visitors must leave the premises by 9 p.m..

Close