Book 5,344 campgrounds, glamping sites and RV parks throughout the Americas, Europe and UK.

Feefo service rating

Giants Head Caravan and Camping Park

8.5
View prices & book
From £18/€21.22/A$33.55/US$23.98/$30.54/CHF22.12/SEK217.15/DKK157.82/NOK216.02/ISK3,120/ARS2,419.28/CLP20,238/PEN96.96/NZ$35.12/ZAR386.57/PLN99.24/R$134.33/CZK542.95/RSD2,495/HUF7,795.73/RUB1,785.67/CN¥152.79 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Giants Head Caravan and Camping Park: Grassy area for tents

General

  • Rural Dorset site eight miles from Dorchester and 16 from the coast
  • Treasure trails and countryside walks just steps away
  • Just over a mile from pubs, a tearoom and a shop in Cerne Abbas

Warning! A trip to ancient Cerne Abbas may leave you with a mammoth yearning never to leave: the Dorset village has been described as the ‘Britain’s most desirable village’ to live among the UK’s scenic many. It’s eight miles from Dorchester, within day-tripping distance of the Jurassic Coast and, most famously, is where the 180ft Cerne Abbas Giant doth dwell high up on the hillside. (Yes, the naughty giant with no sense of shyness.)

Around a 40-minute stroll from Cerne Abbas is the mightily convenient Giants Head Caravan & Camping Park, a family- and dog-friendly site over three and a half acres with grassy pitches, immense views over the Dorset countryside and thumping good access to the best of Dorset.

Countryside walks, as well as treasure trails, literally start within steps of the pitches: Giants Head has several planned walks straight from the park, and runs Treasure Trails Dorset directly from it so intrepid guests can pick up one or two of the 50+ trail packs and take off on the hunt for hidden gems. Sounds like a towering amount of fun…

As befits its location, everything at Giants Head is kept nicely natural – think mature trees, hedgerows and trim lawns; and the level or gently sloping pitches are variously secluded, shady or open (there’s also a special tail-wagging area for campers with canines). All parts of the park are well-drained and a hard road leads to pitches.

Amenities include showers, hand basins, laundry and washing-up areas; the park doesn’t have a shop, but a well-stocked village store, a tearoom and three pubs are in Cerne Abbas, a mile and a quarter away.

AA 3 pennants

Please note

Group bookings of 4 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Single-sex bookings of 10 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Group bookings of 10 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Please note that there is a £0.20 charge for the use of a hairdryer (available in the ladies' only).


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.5

Overall rating based on 127 reviews

 

80% would recommend this park to a friend.

77% would stay here again.

  65% described as Hikers’ paradise ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Very nice site, spotlessly clean. Owners lovely.09/21/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was a case of park wherever you like. Quiet site. Lovely welcome from
    the owners. Very helpful.

    Disliked: 

    Busy road, but we already new that.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Very friendly staff, reasonably priced, lovely views09/10/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPaul R.Confirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    General location, campsite owner very friendly

    Disliked: 

    Facilities clean but need updating! The road right outside is very busy from quite early (about 7.30 am) until quite late (10.00 pm). Middle of pitch a bit anarchic, with cables everywhere and people pitching up wherever they want - perhaps proper pitch markings would be better. Dorset very busy - obviously not campsite owner's fault!

From the manager...

So pleased you like our location, we are in a beautiful part of the country. We do try and make everyone feel welcome.

Our showers are quite new, and are very popular, our toilet block is quite old but we do keep it clean all the time. I think it better to be old and clean than new and grubby :).

I am sorry about the road but it was harvest time while you were here so the tractors were running up until about 10.00pm, harvesting is done now so it is quiet again.

The middle of the site may look a little muddled but this was occupied by a couple of family groups who I'd given an area to use, both groups had pitched in a circle so it did look a bit 'anarchic'.

There were some cables running from our EHU boxes but this was done so people could have more space and not be too close together. We have done this because of Covid restrictions, it will be reviewed when it is safe to do so.

If we were to have 'proper pitch markings' we would not be able to cater for the larger tents without having to charge double pitch fees. We run a very informal site, which most people seem to like and is why we have a 70% return rate of visitors.

Dorset, like most areas during the summer holiday is busy, it is a lot quieter now the children have gone back to school.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Very friendly ....great location....nothing was too much trouble09/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJoan H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly ....great location....nothing was too much trouble

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us, we do try and make everyone feel welcome.
We do live in a great part of the country, we are in a good position to explore most of Dorset within an hours drive.
We do want to make sure that everyone has a wonderful time with us, so nothing is too much for us.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

The owners09/04/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The owners

    Disliked: 

    The very noisy road

From the manager...

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, if you had a problem you only had to say and I would have done my best to deal with it.

The road can be busy it times, some people don't notice it but unfortunately some do.

We do appreciate that we cannot please everyone all the time.

Overall
4
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely site, would stay again09/04/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPaul W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely area, helpful owner and large/clean showers

    Disliked: 

    Close to fast/busy road

From the manager...

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay wit us, we do our best to make sure everyone has a good time while with us.

The road can be a little busy in the morning and afternoon, we find that the locals do tend to use this road, which is only a C road instead of the main A352 through the village.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great site run by a friendly owner08/31/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAlan R.Confirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    What a great find, we had a lovely stay at Giants Head Caravan and Camping Park. On arrival we were shown to our allocated pitch, however as we were a late-ish booking our pitch was quite close to the road. We asked if we could move and Caroline facilitated this for us the next day. Once settled in to our new pitch, we had an amazing holiday. Our neighbours were really friendly, with children of a similar age to ours so they were all playing together. The facilities are perfectly adequate for the size of the site, the scenery is absolutely stunning, with some breathtaking (in more ways than one) walks in the local area. Cerne Abbas is a beautiful little village, which can be explored fully by taking part in the free murder mystery trail supplied in the camp welcome pack.

    The pitches on the site are slightly sloping, but with chocks under the wheels this was no issue whatsoever.

    We'll definitely be back

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

I am so pleased you had an amazing holiday, your neighbours on site are regulars and are great fun to be around, they are a really nice family. It was lovely to see all your children playing together.

I am so sorry about your pitch for your first night, it wasn't helped with all the tractors going by late into the evening. Next time (if there is a next time !) you book just let me know where you would lime to pitch and I can reserve this for you, a lot of regulars do this.

The area is beautiful, Cerne Abbas is a really friendly village with some great pubs and fantastic shop and tearooms. And glad you enjoyed our Treasure Trails, you will have to try some near your home, I do actually write the Trails in your home area as well as here in Dorset.

There are a few sloping pitches but as you say easily rectified with some chocks.

Look forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely site in a beautiful area. Great site staff really help & friend08/29/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRichard K.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We had a wonderful time at Giants Head. From the moment we arrived Caroline made us feel very welcome. The site is located in a beautiful part of Dorset. There are lots of beautiful local villages nearby and some am amazing walks from the site.
    Andy is also part of the site team who has time to talk to everyone and has great recommendations on local attractions.
    The day we arrived our hook up lead didn’t work and so Caroline lent us a lead immediately. My only other issue was a flat battery on my car and again Caroline was there again to immediately help out.
    We also noted most of the campers here are regulars. There was complete respect for quiet times with minimal noise after 10pm. Our girls made some lovely friends on the first day and we did manage to put together a bit of a cricket club which the kids seemed to enjoy.
    Thank you Caroline and Team for a lovely holiday.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you had such a good time with us. We are in a beautiful area here, the countryside and villages are great, and like you said - some amazing walks from the site.

We are always here to help and will do whatever we can to make sure everyone has a good time,

A lot of our guests have been here before, many have been coming for years, there is respect here for each other, we do get the odd 'newbie' that may make a bit of noise but they soon blend in with the regulars :).

It was lovely to read your comments after having a few comments from the wet weather whingers!!!!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Location08/24/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDanuta S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location

    Disliked: 

    Tired toilets

From the manager...

We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us, we are in a great location.

Our toilets are quite dated but we do keep them clean at all times, our showers a fairly new though .

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Nearby village was nice and not far to beach. Good …08/22/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nearby village was nice and not far to beach. Good ice cream van came round.

    Disliked: 

    Everyone pitched very close together partly to avoid pitching on the slopes. The space we were allocated for three tents was not really enough and way smaller than any other site I’ve visited over the years. Adjoining groups basically guy line to guy line. 3m between tents per fire guidelines not met.
    Toilets need a refurb and sinks weren’t that clean.
    Showers ok.

From the manager...

This is your second review.
You were pitched close together but mainly because you did not utilise the full space allocated to your family group, one pitch behind your large tent was not used at all, if it had been used there would have been plenty of room for your group, it remained empty the whole time you were here.. You also booked in three tents and arrived with one caravan and awning.
I do agree with you, one tent did pitch a little too close to your group and you made them quite aware that they had done so. I should have noticed they were too close when they erecting their tent, however they offered to move their tent over but you said that wasn't necessary, as you were leaving the next day. The other family were quite happy to move slightly, this would have rectified the issue quite simply.
Our toilet block is quite dated but they are cleaned regularly throughout the day, and are kept clean, which you already stated in your first review…..
Strange, in your first review you also say our showers are mouldy, but in this one they are OK.
I am really sorry you had such an awful time, we are a rural camp site and most campers come here because of this.
Like I said in your first review - We must be doing something right, we have been here for over 50 years and we have a 70% guest return rate.

Overall
4
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely homely site, clean facilities, lots of hot water!08/22/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomClare T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely host, helpful, friendly and welcoming. Great dog walking area. This site is perfectly placed to explore the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try and make everyone feel welcome and will help out as much as we can.

The area is great for walking with dogs or no dogs, the countryside is lovely around here.

Hope to see you again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Hand sanitizing stations

Masks/gloves available

More frequent emptying of bins

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

We're Good To Go (VisitBritain accreditation)

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Scouts welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Hikers’ paradise

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Electric car charging point(s)

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Dog walk nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Type

Farm

Medium (26-50 sites)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Old Sherborne Road, Cerne Abbas, Dorchester, Dorset, England, DT2 7TR
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 50.8245°N 2.4627°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
South Station — 13.0 kilometers
Greenhill — 14.5 kilometers
Coldharbour — 14.6 kilometers
Train stations
Maiden Newton Rail Station — 9.0 kilometers
Chetnole Rail Station — 9.0 kilometers
Yetminster Rail Station — 11.1 kilometers
Ferry ports
Weymouth Ferry Terminal — 24.1 kilometers
Poole Ferry Terminal — 35.5 kilometers
Poole Quay Ferry Landing — 35.9 kilometers
Airports
Bournemouth International Airport — 44.8 kilometers

Directions


The site is situated on the Old Sherborne Road (C12), two miles north of Cerne Abbas and eight miles from Dorchester.

From Dorchester Bypass
Follow the A37, fork right onto the A352 Sherborne Road, through Charminster. After 500 yds take a right-hand turn signposted Charlton Down. At the T-junction go right past Forston Clinic; at the next T-junction go left onto the Old Sherborne Road. Giants Head is 5 miles from here.

From Dorchester
At the Top O Town Roundabout take the Sherborne Road. After 500 yds go right at the large petrol station. The shop Lidl will be on your right. Giants Head is 8 miles from here along this road.

From Sherborne
Take the A352 to Dorchester. At Middlemarsh take the left fork off of the A352; the road is signposted 'Dorchester Alternative Route'. Giants Head is 3 miles from here.

From Cerne Abbas
Take the road through the village passing the village stores on your left towards Buckland Newton.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

If you have giggling kids along with you – and even if you don’t – a trip to the well-endowed and world-famed Cerne Abbas Giant is most visitors’ first stop, if only to buy a postcard (it’s been noted that postcards of the Giant are the only images of a naked man that can be sent via the Post Office). The man himself is now tended by the National Trust, which has a waymarked circular trail around the site from Cerne Abbas village.

Dorchester is an excellent early stop for urbanites and heritage-heads: here you’ll find history-dedicated days out as varied as the Dinosaur Museum, Dorchester Museum, Teddy Bear Museum, Tutankhamen Exhibition and the Roman Amphitheatre; take the Durnovaria Town Walk for an outdoorsy overview of the city’s main sights.

Thomas Hardy’s Cottage is at Dorchester too and the literary can book into their schedule the Thomas Hardy Trail, a six-mile circular walk within the Dorset Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Elsewhere around the area, take the enormous amount of things to see and do in your stride: from castles to dinosaurs, theme parks to heritage railways and historic houses to tank museums, the coast to countryside have whopping opps for days out (and in; dash to Dorchester’s West Dorset Leisure Centre on a rainy day when the kids need to let off steam).

Historic houses and gardens like Kingston Lacy, Athelhampton House and Minterne House and Gardens should suit the sedately inclined, while the less sedate (hello kids) will no doubt prefer chattering at the likes of Monkey World in Wareham, Adventure Wonderland at Christchurch or Sea Life near Weymouth. Both sorts should have a tanking good time at Bovington’s Tank Museum, the second biggest collection of armoured vehicles on the planet.

Head for the coast, half an hour's drive away, to fossil hunt or take a guided fossil tour at Lyme Regis or Charmouth; soak up sun and sights at seaside towns such as Weymouth, Swanage and Christchurch; float on a boat to the Channel Islands or potter around glorious Poole Harbour and epically beaut Brownsea Island, also managed by the National Trust.

The award-winning Swanage Railway is a gently relaxed way to see some of the sights of Dorset (including Famous Five inspiration Corfe Castle) and holds regular events including driving experiences and special days for children.

Must see

  • Hardy's Birthplace (11.7 kilometers)
  • Mapperton House & Gardens (17.5 kilometers)
  • Abbotsbury Swannery (20.8 kilometers)

National Trust

  • Hardy's Cottage (11.7 kilometers)
  • Max Gate (13.2 kilometers)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

RV, trailer and tent sites
Arrive:  noon –  8 p.m.
Depart by:  noon

Giants Head Caravan and Camping Park cancelation policy

Balance refunds: no penalties

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancelations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

The remainder is payable direct to Giants Head Caravan and Camping Park on arrival.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

Payment methods accepted at the park

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Cash
Cheque
Bank transfer
Postal order

Terms and conditions

Park booking terms and conditions

  • How much is payable upfront? A 15% transferable deposit is payable when you book, with the balance payable on arrival. Read more
  • Does Giants Head Caravan and Camping Park have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Giants Head Caravan and Camping Park dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Giants Head Caravan and Camping Park? If you have giggling kids along with you – and even if you don’t – a trip to the well-endowed and world-famed Cerne Abbas Giant is most visitors’ first stop, if only … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Giants Head Caravan and Camping Park?
    RV, trailer and tent sites
    Arrive:  noon –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  noon
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Giants Head Caravan and Camping Park? From $30.57 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact giants-head-caravan-camping-park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 10 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).
Group bookings of 4 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Extras
Motorcycle(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

Occupancy
No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

General
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and trunks must be closed quietly.

Occupancy
Single-sex bookings of 10 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Vehicles
The car is only included in the rate if you are traveling with a camper, trailer tent or tent. Cars are not permitted when traveling with a motorhome/RV.
The car is only included in the rate if you are travelling with a camper, trailer tent or tent. If you wish to bring a car along with your motorhome/RV, please select the extra.

General
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Sites
You must follow management instructions when setting up your tent/rig and related equipment.

Close