Book and review 3,140 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Auchenlarie Holiday Park

8.9
View prices & book
From £22/€25,71/A$43,49/US$28,39/CA$38,17/CHF27,36/SEK273,97/DKK192,08/NOK267,78/ISK3 580/ARS1 761,97/CLP23 164/PEN96,48/NZ$45,42/R443,84/PLN111,43/R$127,38/CZK654,53/RSD3 020/HUF8 736,37/RUB1 915,97/CN¥198,29 (for 1 night, 8 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Entrance to park

General

  • Family park with beach access and a private cove
  • Heated indoor pool, kids' club, leisure centre and solarium
  • Bistro restaurant, takeaway and two shops on site

First-class facilities, soaringly high standards, a mile from the beach and with views over Wigtown Bay and miles of scenic Scottish countryside: there’s a lot to pick from at this gorgeous Galloway park, in an area where holidaymakers have flocked forth for generations.

Guests of all sizes will be sorted at five-star Auchenlarie Holiday Park: kids’ clubs and family entertainment are on hand for small fry; older kids and teenagers can get competitive in The Zone amusement arcade and games room, and all ages can splash safely about in the heated indoor pool, which has a separate area for smaller swimmers.

The park’s craft activities will keep mini guests busy from T-shirt printing and building their own bears to making jewellery; the kids’ club runs in high season and is mainly free, with a small charge occasionally made for some of the daily activities.

The Auchenlarie team is also rightly proud of its bang up-to-date leisure centre, which as well as the pool has a solarium for topping up tans, a sauna to unwind in, and a fully-equipped gym. Guests can pay as they go for whatever activity they want to try, or buy a daily or weekly pass on arrival for the park leisure and entertainment.

The Surfside bistro has both smashing sea views and a menu of drinks, snacks and meals, and the park also has a takeaway dishing up tasty fresh pizzas. A large, well-stocked convenience store has all the bits you need for self-catering, and there's also a smaller shop in the main complex area.

Elsewhere, have a spot of free sea fishing (bring your own equipment) down at the private cove during the day, or sashay along to the Starlight Suite later for more grownup merriment including live music nights.

AA 5 pennants

Please note

Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (excluding couples) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Leisure and entertainment facilities are subject to extra charges. For full information please read the terms and conditions under the 'Policies' tab.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.9

Overall rating based on 263 reviews

 

89% would recommend this site to a friend.

86% would stay here again.

  76% described as Spectacular scenery ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

we liked everything about our experience, even the weather, brilliant ...02/25/2020

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomstephen t.Confirmed

  • 2 bedroom mobile home
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    we liked everything about our experience, even the weather, brilliant and a great weekend, will defo do it again

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Nothing02/24/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNaveen N.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • 2 bedroom mobile home
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

    Almost everything and we wouldn't reccomend this to anybody.

    We had lot of worst experience in our stay. The staff are not friendly at all and first caravan they gave us was brand new but bo hot water or heater working in it.

    They came to fix it but couldn't.

    They gave us another caravan but frige was not working and we dont bother to report due to hassle we experienced.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Location, site layout,staff, food ,pool02/22/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomWayne M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, site layout,staff, food ,pool

    Disliked: 

    Toilet ,shower block

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Nice for a short stay whilst exploring the area,facilities not great02/22/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJenny R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Swimming pool was lovely,heated and clean. Staff were friendly,nice little beach for the children and walking the dog

    Disliked: 

    Food in the restaurant was poor and over priced for what it was! Entertainment area was a bit grim, toilets were far away, in an old building and very cold and dark!

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site with clean facilities, friendly staff & level pitches02/22/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDerek M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The staff & the area were great, the roads there were easy to drive but we didn't actually stay as there was weather warnings so I didn't chance taken our van, we went to check it out and explained the situation the reception lady asked if we would like to move our stay to another time which we have.
    We also went and had a quick scan of the site it looked very clean and we are looking forward to staying there in April.

    Disliked: 

    N/A

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Staff not very knowledgeable, had to wait for s/visor to resolve issue02/19/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beer prices ok

    Disliked: 

    No cash points working (told not their machines and nearest is 13 miles away!)
    Food on site not great and expensive.
    No free WiFi
    Only one toilet block which was tired and had cold showers.
    Not allowed in show bar unless you pay

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

We arrived on a wet and very windy weekend. Good ...02/18/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We arrived on a wet and very windy weekend.
    Good choice of pitches.
    Easy to find.
    Sea view.
    Lots of people considering early Feb.
    Electric hook up and fresh water.
    Swimming pool, shop, takeaway & restaurant.
    Entertainment.

    Disliked: 

    We weren't greeted very well, first impressions count!
    Couldn't get TV signal had to rent aerial.
    Shower block cubical too small if you have a child with you.
    Swimming pool was cold.
    When we vacated the wind blew our motorhome door and damaged it, when I told reception he didn't offer any help or advise.
    If you wanted to use extra facilities you had to pay should all be in the price.

From the manager...

Sorry to hear you had such a disappointing time when staying with us. I am surprised to hear you felt you weren't greeted properly, nor were given any help regarding the damage to your vehicle door.

We do make a charge for our facilities, if people wish to make use of them, but feel that for the small charge - much is included.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Excellent place to go for a bit of everything02/15/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • 2 bedroom mobile home
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beaches

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Excellent site, peaceful and clean caravans. Kids love to go swimming11/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • 2 bedroom mobile home
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Love everything about this place, so relaxing, staff are friendly and helpful. Food is good and the kids absolutely love it. Can't wait to go back.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

When we arrived at the park we were greeted by ...11/01/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJim F.Confirmed

  • 2 bedroom mobile home
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    When we arrived at the park we were greeted by the reception staff who were pleasant and informative about the site. When we went to our caravan all I can comment was that it was spotless and comfortable, just what we wanted. The site was clean and tidy and the leisure facilities on site were great. Well done to all the staff for making our stay just what we wanted, already booked twice next year.

    Disliked: 

    Couldn’t think of anything

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Bush

Hikers’ paradise

Luxury

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wildlife haven

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transportation nearby

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

Takeout

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Seasonal sites

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Amenities on park

Bath available

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Type

Large (51-200 sites)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Castle Douglas, Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland, DG7 2EX
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 54.8433°N 4.2804°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Gatehouse of Fleet: Fleet Street Bus Stop — 7.4 kilometres
Creetown (Dumfries & Galloway): Coach Stop — 9.0 kilometres
Twynholm (Dumfries & Galloway): Coach Stop — 11.6 kilometres
Train stations
Barrhill Rail Station — 42.8 kilometres
Ferry ports
Stranraer Ferry Terminal — 48.2 kilometres
Airports
Glasgow Prestwick International Airport — 77.0 kilometres

Directions


From the south (M6)
Turn off at junction 45 (Gretna) on to the A75 towards Dumfries. Approximately an hour and a half later, Gatehouse of Fleet is signposted on the right and Auchenlarie Holiday Park is a further 5 miles along. The park is signposted on the left.

From the north (M74)
Exit to Dumfries (A75) then travel to Gatehouse of Fleet along the A75.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Trad fans, pop fans, bibliophiles and foodies can indulge their passions easily in the area: many local pubs have regular traditional music sessions and the region has a good handful of festivals of all flavours including the Wigtown Book Festival and Stranraer Oyster Festival.

More folksily, tap your foot at the Galloway and Portpatrick folk festivals, both easy to get to from Auchenlarie, or go along to one of the folk clubs which meet regularly in Dalbeattie and Stranraer.

By day, dander around the rest of Dumfries and Galloway for a range of things to do like coastal strolling around Wigtown and Luce Bay, fishing, championship golf courses and blossoming at the county’s public gardens and their exotic specimens flourishing in Galloway’s mild climate.

Logan Botanic Garden on the Rhins of Galloway is filled with southern hemisphere plants and palm trees; take a hike up the park’s hill afterwards for views to take your breath away over the Rhins to the Galloway Hills.

Red deer, wild goats and red kites are a few sights to see in nearby Galloway Forest Park to the north of Auchenlarie, Britain’s biggest forest park at 300 square miles, and with forest trails, lochside cycle paths, wildlife centres, horse-riding and mountain biking all to hand/hoof.

The 24-mile Red Kite Trail around Loch Ken is level enough for cycling and has six outdoor viewing points, four hides and a visitor centre with CCTV open in summer; if you’d like to look skywards by night, Galloway Forest Park is the only Dark Sky Park in the UK and one of only four in the world.

Dazzle your little darlings at the award-winning Creetown Gem Rock Museum, a jewel of an attraction near Newton Stuart with gemstones, crystals, rocks and fossils on display, interactive exhibits and the glow of the Crystal Cave. It’s one of several museums in Dumfries and Galloway including the Museum Newton Stewart, telling the history of the county, and the Robert Burns Centre in Dumfries, telling the story of the bard.

To see historical sights on site, there are castles, abbeys and vintage buildings all around, such as Cardoness, Carsluith and Threave castles, Dundrennan Abbey, the motes of Mark and Urr, and towers at Drumcoltran and Orchardton.

Must see

  • John Paul Jones Cottage Museum & Visitor Centre (44.8 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  Anytime
Depart by:  noon
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  4 p.m. –  11 p.m.
Depart by:  10 a.m.

Auchenlarie Holiday Park cancellation policy

No refunds within 4 weeks of arrival date.

Holidays may be postponed to another date subject to management decision.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Auchenlarie Holiday Park will debit the balance from your card 4 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 4 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Cheque
Visa
MasterCard
Maestro

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Auchenlarie Holiday Park have a swimming pool? Yes View all features
  • Is Auchenlarie Holiday Park dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Auchenlarie Holiday Park? Trad fans, pop fans, bibliophiles and foodies can indulge their passions easily in the area: many local pubs have regular traditional music sessions and the region has a good handful of festivals ... Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Auchenlarie Holiday Park?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  Anytime
    Depart by:  noon
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  4 p.m. –  11 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Auchenlarie Holiday Park? From R443,84 (for 1 night, 8 people) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Auchenlarie Holiday Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.

Occupancy
Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (excluding couples) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

General
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Arrivals and departures
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Additional terms

There are charges for entertainment and for the use of the leisure facilities:
£2 refundable deposit for golf equipment and round of mini golf charged at £3.20 for adults and £1.85 children. Swimming is free of charge (at peak times a 45-minute session limit will apply). There is a £1 non-refundable charge for the swim locker.

Use of the gym is charged at £3.95 per session (over 16s only).

The solarium is charged at 80p per minute (over 18s only).

The soft play is free for under sevens.

The kids' club in high season is free of charge; however some of the daily activities may incur a small fee.

Pool Hire: £31.00
Pool Party: £36.00

Entertainment passes:

Low season (includes 10/02/17 - 02/04/17, 14/04/17 - 29/06/17, 02/09/17 - 12/10/17):
Adult (17+): daily £4.20, short break (up to 4 days) £7.30, weekly £9.85, fortnightly £11.40
Child (4 - 16): daily £2.65, short break £3.90, weekly £5.25, fortnightly £5.50
Children under 4 years of age go free.

High season (includes 03/04/17 - 13/04/17, 30/06/17 - 01/09/17, 13/10/17 - 31/10/17):
Adult (17+): daily £5.25, short break £8.30, weekly £10.35, fortnightly £12.95
Child (4 - 16): daily £3.30, short break £4.75, weekly £6.00, fortnightly £6.80
Children under 4 years of age go free.

Please note that the electric sockets on site are the standard 16-amp blue type. Adapters are available for both touring caravans and the three-pin used by tents; please ask at reception. A deposit of £25 is required for each adapter.

Close