Book and review 3,217 RV parks and campgrounds in the USA, Europe and South America

Feefo service rating

Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

7
View prices & book
From £23.99/€28.04/A$45.14/$32.91/CA$41.70/CHF30.44/SEK284.13/DKK208.50/NOK282.81/ISK4,225/ARS3,240.60/CLP25,851/PEN135.04/NZ$46.62/ZAR486/PLN129.31/R$174.58/CZK711.75/RSD3,295/HUF9,986.26/RUB2,392.13/CN¥212.65 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Kirkconnel Hall Hotel: Our static caravan

General

  • Family-run site just off the M74, for handy stopovers or longer breaks
  • Within 15 minutes' drive of Gretna Green, Annan and Lockerbie
  • Almost four acres of grounds with gardens, play area and lawn areas

Stop off on journeys south – or further north – at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, a family-run business in a 15th-century Dumfries and Galloway house with gorgeous grounds stretching out to almost four acres and made up of gardens, lawn areas, a play area and mature trees and shrubs.

This south-west Scotland site (and its mass of greenery) is easily spotted from Junction 19 of the M74 on the edge of the country village of Ecclefechan. With access being so simple, it’s a popular place for short breaks and stopovers on longer journeys but is also ace for a longer hol exploring the Solway Firth surrounds.

Coming from the south, Kirkconnel is half an hour from the city of Carlisle and, once in Scotland, Dumfries is 30 minutes west of the hotel; use the place as a base for checking out sights like the Famous Blacksmiths Shop of Gretna Green (where clandestine nuptials used to take place) 15 minutes' drive away.

Got your own wedding to plan? This site hosts all sorts of events, from parties to business conferences, in a fancy building where Napoleon’s physician used to reside back in the 18th century (bet you didn't expect that one…).

If you’re not putting on a party, sip beers at the bar, laze in the lounge or dine in the restaurant; alternatively, get food over in Lockerbie, 10 minutes’ drive away, the closest big town for restaurants and supplies.

Other facilities on site include a wifi, a toilet block and a TV room. Pick-up from public transport’s available too – just get in touch on the booking form in advance.

Please note

The café is closed due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro) and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

Your dog must be tattooed or microchipped.

This park has no on-site toilet and shower facilities.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

7

Overall rating based on 23 reviews

 

65% would recommend this park to a friend.

65% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Excellent. Friendly and helpful staff. Great value for money09/22/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTim G.Confirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly, helpful, location. Nice and simple :-)

    Disliked: 

    No showers

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Immaculate cosy caravan. Very tranquil and had a great wee honeymoon09/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • 2 bedroom mobile home
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The location, the friendiness and quirkiness

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Would stay again08/31/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSusan G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • 2 bedroom mobile home
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The space and garden plenty of walks for the dog and not all crammed in owners nice friendly and helpful

    Disliked: 

    Gas fire not easy to light

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Level pitch, exceptionally noisy. Overpriced. Wouldn’t recommend.08/29/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomHelen B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Ground was level

    Disliked: 

    I dont think it should be offered as a camp site as it was exceptionally noisy due to the motorway to the front and a main train line to the back. Had about an hours sleep all night. We paid for 2 nights but came home early as couldnt face another night with no sleep. Toilets were locked overnight and werent open til after 7am. I think its really overpriced for what it is. It cost 48 pounds in total for a horrendous camping experience. Safe to say our first trip away in 2 years was ruined by staying here.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Although a slightly dated caravan, it was clean and spacious …08/15/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • 2 bedroom mobile home
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Although a slightly dated caravan, it was clean and spacious and provided all that we required for a relaxing weekend. The host at the hotel was friendly and welcoming and allowed us to stay on a while after check out time, without any fuss.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for the feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Amazing08/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomBARRY A.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • 2 bedroom mobile home
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location privacy owner everything

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike

From the manager...

Thank you for the top marks, it is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again.

Thank you.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent sire, great log cabin with good sized rooms. Friendly staff08/03/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKaren C.Confirmed

  • Log 3 bedroom cabin
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Owner friendly
    Good situation for exploring the Scottish Borders
    Good sized rooms
    Dog friendly
    Central heating if required
    Parking situated at door of cabin
    Comfortable and cosy

    Disliked: 

    Was a little dated but completely comfortable

From the manager...

Thank you ever so much for the kind review and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Thank you.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Would tell nice very friendly and helpful people.07/27/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The people where very friendly, and helpful. About all I can say about it. Very disappointed.

    Disliked: 

    Not a camp site, just a back green ( grass not even short). Pitches not level No showers. toilets closed at night, had to go looking for another way in, Right beside a rail way line. Trains going by at 6.30 in the morning.

From the manager...

We apologise for the issues you have experienced however the toilet facilities are available 24/7, but we acknowledge the issues we have regarding location and unfortunately that is something we cannot address.

We are sorry to hear you would not visit us again.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

The quirkiness07/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomkaren g.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The quirkiness

    Disliked: 

    no plug too charge my phone and no shower and couldnt get in to the toilet in the morning. I think its overpriced for what you get.

From the manager...

We apologise for any issues you may have encountered at our site but the access to the toilet facilities is available 24/7.

As you were in a tent clearly no electrical socket is available as part of your booking, however if you had asked a member of staff w could have directed you to an area we allow campers to use which has this facility.

Thank you.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Not a great deal.06/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDaryl M.Confirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Not a great deal.

    Disliked: 

    Trapped between the motorway and west coast mainline and over priced for what it was.

    Not a great deal going for this site.

From the manager...

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay with us and we wish you had brought this to our attention and we could have recommended an alternative site in the area.

Thank you for the review.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Hand sanitizing stations

Masks/gloves available

More frequent emptying of bins

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Themes

Peaceful

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Electric car charging point(s)

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transportation nearby

Type

Tiny (1-10 sites)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Ecclefechan, Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland, DG11 3JH
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 55.0724°N 3.2650°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Police Station — 4.9 miles
High Street — 4.9 miles
Market Square — 5.9 miles
Train stations
Lockerbie Rail Station — 5.0 miles
Annan Rail Station — 6.1 miles
Gretna Green Rail Station — 9.3 miles
Ferry ports
Leaplish Ferry Landing — 29.9 miles
Airports
Edinburgh Airport — 60.7 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Seeing as you're staying in Scotland, you might want to wander around a whisky distillery while on your trip – and you should do so in Annan (15 minutes' drive), where you can have a little look round a museum documenting the town's past while you’re in the area.

For more history in this region that’s rich with it, travel to Carlyle's Birthplace (five minutes) to peer at the childhood home of the writer, or hike up to Repentance Tower at Hoddom Castle (10 minutes) – a nine-hole golf course is here as well, if you just so happen to have the clubs in the boot…

The ruins of another castle are in Lochmaben (15 minutes) and there’s yet another old building – the 16th-century Gilnockie Tower house – in Langholm (half an hour) if you’ve still more appetite for admiring age-old architecture.

Must see

  • World Famous Old Blacksmith's Shop Centre (9.3 miles)
  • Robert Burns Centre (13.9 miles)
  • Carlisle Castle (17.6 miles)

National Trust

  • Wordsworth House and Garden (28.5 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

RV, trailer and tent sites
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  11:30 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.
On-park accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  11:30 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Kirkconnel Hall Hotel cancelation policy

Balance refunds: no penalties

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancelations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

The remainder is payable direct to Kirkconnel Hall Hotel on arrival.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

Payment methods accepted at the park

Cash
Cheque
Visa
MasterCard
Maestro

Terms and conditions

Park booking terms and conditions

  • How much is payable upfront? A 15% transferable deposit is payable when you book, with the balance payable on arrival. Read more
  • Does Kirkconnel Hall Hotel have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Kirkconnel Hall Hotel dog friendly? No View all features
  • What attractions are near Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? Seeing as you're staying in Scotland, you might want to wander around a whisky distillery while on your trip – and you should do so in Annan (15 minutes' drive), where you … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Kirkconnel Hall Hotel?
    RV, trailer and tent sites
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  11:30 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    On-park accommodation
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  11:30 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? From $32.95 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact kirkconnel-hall-hotel


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Coronavirus
The café is closed due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro) and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.
Your dog must be tattooed or microchipped.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and trunks must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
This park has no on-site toilet and shower facilities.

Occupancy
No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.
Open fires are prohibited.

Sites
You must follow management instructions when setting up your tent/rig and related equipment.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Close