Book 5,344 campgrounds, glamping sites and RV parks throughout the Americas, Europe and UK.

Feefo service rating

Dunwell Farm

8.3

This park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.

If you are the owner of this park, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com by adding your business details.

General

  • Peaceful Devon farmstead at the gateway to Dartmoor National Park
  • A short drive to Dartmoor Zoological Park and Plymouth Ski Centre
  • Walks through the surrounding countryside direct from the site

A peaceful farm, right outside Dartmoor, and with spectacular views over the South Downs… you'll have dun well if you've bagged a break here.

This smashing little site is Dunwell Farm, set on a a dairy, beef and sheep farm overlooking Dartmoor National Park among south Devon countryside, and under 10 miles from the Devon seaside at both Mothecombe and Bigbury-on-Sea. There are stunning views from this quiet and rural spot, along with a friendly vibe, loads of green open space, and walks aplenty straight from the grounds… you could say you'll stay here happily heifer after…

The site is a mile and a half outside the village of Ugborough and its two pubs; two and a half miles from the shops and supermarket of Modbury, and three and a half from Wrangaton and a bike rental service. Those hankering after yet more hikes should traverse the four and a half miles to Ivybridge, for access to the many miles of Dartmoor as well as the scenic strolls of the 102-mile Two Moors Way.

Amenities at Dunwell include a block with two showers, two toilets and a baby changing facility, alongside an indoor washing-up area and a small communal fridge.

Groups are welcome. Friendly dogs are allowed too, but since Dunwell is a working farm, the site owners require them to be kept on leads at all times.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.3

Overall rating based on 6 reviews

 

83% would recommend this park to a friend.

67% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

I like a nice quiet place and this was perfect. …09/07/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomHelen B.Confirmed

  • Primitive grass trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I like a nice quiet place and this was perfect. A field with a small loo and shower block (closed at present due to Covid) water tap, fire bowl and a couple of pub style benches and tables. The owners very kindly left me some kindling and a bag of logs for the evening. I have the small field to myself and enjoyed the calm and tranquility

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Views09/06/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChris P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Views

    Disliked: 

    no facilities at all, aware of all the covid issues but we was only people on site and the facilities (on looking) were very small, couldn't they have been maintained so people could actually go to toilet... closest toilet miles away...£15 to stay in a field...

From the manager...

Hi,

We’re so disappointed to receive this feedback.

Our site advert states that our facilities aren’t open at this time, and it is also stated in your confirmation email. I also made a point of emailing you in addition to this to make sure you were aware that the facilities block was closed which you agreed was fine.

It is impossible for us, as a small business to afford to keep the facilities block cleaned to a covid secure standard for self-contained campers due to the work it entails and we would never compromise safety so have taken the decision to keep the block shut this summer.

We’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy the peaceful nature of our site, we think it’s a selling point, but understand it’s not everyone’s cup of tea. Please accept our apologies if our campsite was not what you were expecting on booking.

Best wishes,
Dunwell Farm

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi

Beautiful setting08/24/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLisa K.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful setting

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Plain simple very rural07/28/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomShaun p.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet

    Disliked: 

    Hill

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Quiet area07/22/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomStefan I.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet area

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Fantastic facilities - including fridge, kettle, washing up liquid etc …07/24/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDuncan R.Confirmed

  • Primitive grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fantastic facilities - including fridge, kettle, washing up liquid etc for all to share; recycling; really clean

    Lots of space - massive field!!! Easy to get pegs in!

    Disliked: 

    Not easy to find - please can you put an old fashioned pdf of a map on your web sites, because the postcode isn't helpful.

    Campers - look out for small pink signs at road turnings - these are helpful but very small!!! There are road signs to Dunwell (which point the right way) but they were hidden by trees!

    The camping is in a huge field. If you bring young children, they will have a field to play in - football, frisbees - but no play area.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

No cash accepted on site

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Scouts welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Hikers’ paradise

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Electric car charging point(s)

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Type

Farm

Small (11-25 sites)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Golf nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Restaurant nearby

Surf school nearby

Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Water hook-up points for caravans

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Ugborough, Ivybridge, Plymouth, Devon, England, PL21 0HL
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 50.3753°N 3.8663°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
BP Garage — 2.5 miles
Town Hall — 2.5 miles
Opposite Royal Seven Stars Hotel — 9.0 miles
Train stations
Ivybridge Rail Station — 2.1 miles
Totnes Rail Station — 8.9 miles
Plymouth Rail Station — 12.2 miles
Ferry ports
Cockleridge Ham Ferry Landing — 6.5 miles
Bantham Ferry Landing — 6.7 miles
Kingsbridge Ferry Landing — 7.6 miles
Airports
Exeter International Airport — 31.6 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Venture out on walks and bike rides through the surrounding countryside direct from the site, or to the edge of Dartmoor National Park, around an hour from Dunwell Farm if you're hoofing it rather than driving.

Beaches are within easy reach too, such as Mothecombe, 20 minutes' drive away – a long and sandy stretch that's generally peaceful even in high season as it's privately owned (it's open to the public on Wednesdays, Saturdays and Sundays). Also meander along to Bigbury-on-Sea (25 minutes) for tractor boat rides out to Burgh Island, also accessible via a causeway at low tide, and Challaborough (also 25 minutes), a splendid spot for surfing.

Also within 25 minutes, see big cats at feeding time at Dartmoor Zoological Park, or zip along to the Plymouth Ski and Snowboard Centre for skiing and snowboarding on the longest artificial slope in the south west.

Must see

  • Dartmoor Zoological Park (6.1 miles)
  • Buckfast Abbey (9.1 miles)
  • National Marine Aquarium (11.7 miles)

National Trust

  • Saltram (9.5 miles)
  • Salcombe: Thurlestone to Torcross (9.5 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

  • Can bookings for Dunwell Farm be amended free of charge? Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, customers can amend their dates with the campground/park free of charge for all stays up to, and including, 09/30/2021. Read more
  • Does Dunwell Farm have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Dunwell Farm dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Dunwell Farm? Venture out on walks and bike rides through the surrounding countryside direct from the site, or to the edge of Dartmoor National Park, around an hour from Dunwell Farm if you're hoofing … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Dunwell Farm?
    RV, trailer and tent sites
    Arrive:  noon –  10 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    Read more

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact dunwell_farm


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 2 day(s) of arrival.

Coronavirus
Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, customers can amend their dates with the campground/park free of charge for all stays up to, and including, 09/30/2021.
Minimum spacing of 5 metres between pitches.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 10:30 p.m. and 6 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and trunks must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Firearms are not permitted.
Open fires are prohibited.

Sites
You must follow management instructions when setting up your tent/rig and related equipment.

Visitors
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.

Close