Book and review 4,121 RV parks and campgrounds in the USA, Europe and South America

Feefo service rating

Thornton Hall Farm Country Park

8.3
View prices & book
From £20/€23.41/A$37.64/$27.83/CA$34.82/CHF25.15/SEK238.70/DKK174.18/NOK244.11/ISK3,433/ARS2,693.36/CLP21,374/PEN113.30/NZ$39.73/ZAR399.63/PLN106.57/R$144.05/CZK597.39/RSD2,755/HUF8,313.46/RUB2,026.62/CN¥179.91 (for 1 night, 4 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Thornton Hall Farm Country Park: Grassy pitches on a peaceful site

General

  • Family-run site on a working farm between the Dales and Ribble Valley
  • Farm park and playground on site (tickets must be prebooked)
  • 20 minutes' drive to Skipton Castle and Pendle Hill; 30 to Malham Cove

Get back to the land on this friendly working farm: Thornton Hall Farm Country Park lies on the borders of Lancashire and Yorkshire, a landscape of stone bridges and deep forests, wild moors and hills.

You're welcome to bring barbecues and sizzle your sausages while the sun sets and the cows settle to sleep; for other supplies, the café (open from 10am to 4pm) sells hot and cold food, snacks, desserts and hot and cold drinks (just as well, as you'll need a full tank for what's in store).

Unlike the farmer, you don't have to get up at dawn to milk the cows, but you can help out with feeding them later on, as well as feeding the lambs and meeting the llamas. There's a packed schedule of daily activities in the farm park too, from collecting eggs to handling rabbits and guinea pigs. Outdoor and indoor playgrounds ensure the Pennines weather never interferes with plans, and anyone still chasing thrills after descending the 18-foot slide can churn up some mud on the quad bikes.

(Please note that the farm park and play areas are separate from the campsite and are subject to extra charges; tickets must be prebooked online.)

Please note

Facilities/activities including The Farm Park and Playground are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

Reception is unmanned after 5 p.m.. Please inform the park while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time so that the team can provide information about your unit/site.

Twin axle vehicles are not permitted on site.

Bookings must not be for more than 5 consecutive nights.

The washing-up area is not in operation due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

The park caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Dogs are permitted on the site but not allowed on the farm park site.

The farm park and play areas are separate from the campsite. Should you wish to use these areas, an additional charge will be applied. Tickets much be booked before arrival.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.3

Overall rating based on 145 reviews

 

85% would recommend this park to a friend.

81% would stay here again.

  66% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Daughter loved the farm itself and activities08/05/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDaniel A.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice flat pitch area very clean

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

I loved the close proximity of the farm, just on …08/04/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSasha C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I loved the close proximity of the farm, just on the door step and provides plenty of entertainment for the children. Fairly small campsite as well so doesn’t get to busy.

    Disliked: 

    They have policies in place but don’t act upon anything if they are broken. A group was playing music until 1am when everything should be off by 8pm. I rang the emergency number several times and no answer so just had to put up with it. When speaking to a member of staff the next morning we was told that there’s nothing they would of done anyway and we should of approached them ourselves. We have young children and don’t know how people could potentially react plus we’ve paid for a service. So no we should not have approached them ourselves.

    The facilities where also always a mess. I’m glad we brought our own portable toilet because I would not of liked to use them. I don’t fully blame the site as there was a lot of children messing around in them but still not nice.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great site, clean and friendly08/03/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEmma G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great toilet and shower block, well maintained. All staff were very friendly. Already booked again!

    Disliked: 

    Noise from guests leaving wedding

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely site with great, clean facilities, helpful staff and beautifulv08/02/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEmma K.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pretty much everything! The campsite was lovely, the shower block/toilets were regularly cleaned and the showers were lovely and hot - which we needed as the weather wasn’t the best! The staff were lovely and helpful, providing an extension for the electric hookup as we couldn’t get close enough to the point.
    We spent a day in the farm park on one of the days - both kids had a great day. We have an 11 year age gap but there was plenty to keep each entertained. The food from the on-site cafe was gorgeous too!!

    Disliked: 

    We didn’t dislike anything really, the only comment I would make is perhaps offering a small discount on park entrance for those staying on the campsite. Our day at the farm park including meals and extras cost us around £90 which is quite a hefty price, so a discount on entry would have helped.
    Also, a space to wash dishes in, like a sink area would be helpful.
    But honestly, they’re the only comments we can make.
    We’re already making plans to come back!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

4 weeks before phone call to tell use they no longer had an electric p07/27/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomClaire S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

Overall
2
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

negative, unhelpful, disrespectful owners.07/26/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDebbir S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, views

    Disliked: 

    Management of site

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

As above07/24/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSusan a.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very clean. Lots of space between tents. Lovely views of the countryside. Would definitely recommend

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely 10/10 review - Visitors often comment on our spacious pitches, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. THCP

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Disappointing stay when it could be lovely.07/24/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJames C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Stunning views

    Disliked: 

    Toilet block not large enough (we were lucky it was very quiet)
    Electric hook up points too far from pitches
    Toilet block not cleaned regularly and not to a good standard (nearly 24 hours with no toilet roll and 48 hours with no hand wash) - despite telling them.
    Got placed on hardstanding pitch when booked grass
    Noisy group of 3 tents there as a family until 2am and only 1 piece of paper with wardens number.
    No one available until 10am or after about 4.30pm

From the manager...

James, We are sorry to read you had a disappointing stay with us - We strive to provide a welcoming experience with good facilities in our beautiful setting. I hope to address some of the issues raised below.

I have spoken to my colleagues regarding the issues raised with the toilet block and asked why they were not addressed when brought to our attention. I have been informed that the toilets were attended to promptly and the hand wash checked whilst you were present and it was found to be working.

With regards to the hard standing placement, we are sorry you were not happy with the allocation and would have been happy to offer you an alternative pitch had this have been mentioned at the time of check in.

I'm sure you will appreciate James that we can not control other campers however we do have a no noise after 8pm rule. If there are issues on site, as you mention there is a telephone number on the welcome sheet for you to call so it can be dealt with.

For openings: Someone is on site from 8am - 6pm. The main office is open from 9am-5pm and there is a contact telephone number provided for out of hours.

THCP.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Overall nice site with friendly staff.07/20/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Primitive grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely campsite in a really nice area and staff were very pleasant

    Disliked: 

    Blocked and overflowing toilets. Not enough toilets and showers for the amount of campers however they did try to keep them clean but unfortunately due to the amount of footfall it was a losing battle.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our lovely setting and friendly staff. We are however sorry to read you experienced problems with our newly installed toilet and shower facilities. They are cleaned and attended to twice a day and we would welcome any issues to be brought to the attention of a member of staff where they would be dealt with promptly. I have made a note of your comments for future improvements, we always welcome feedback. Thank you. THCP.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Fab first time camping with the kids, will be hard to beat07/20/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRomy S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Amazing location, views are stunning, can tell the camp is new very clean and tidy, toilets cleaned twice a day, the farm is also fantastic, very friendly staff,

    Disliked: 

    Hard to tell the children when you arrive that they can't go on the park, washing up facilities would be excellent

From the manager...

We are thrilled you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the facilities on offer, thank you for your 10/10 review. I have noted your suggestion of washing up facilities for future improvements. With regards to the play park, we are sorry for any disappointment caused - It is specified on the confirmation of booking and again on arrival information that the park is not available for use unless visiting the farm park as these are separate businesses. We hope to see you again soon. THCP

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Check-in: contactless (in person)

Check-in: one group at a time

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Scouts welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Spectacular scenery

Utilities

Charging facilities

Communal fridge

Dump station

Electric car charging point(s)

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transportation nearby

Type

Farm

Pop-up campsite

Small (11-25 sites)

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Restaurant nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Church Road, Thornton-in-Craven, Skipton, North Yorkshire, England, BD23 3TS
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 53.9293°N 2.1505°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Bus Station — 5.1 miles
Bus Station Stand 8 — 5.7 miles
Broadway — 6.9 miles
Train stations
Gargrave Rail Station — 3.9 miles
Colne Rail Station — 5.3 miles
Skipton Rail Station — 5.5 miles
Ferry ports
Heysham Ferry Terminal — 31.9 miles
Airports
Leeds Bradford International Airport — 20.5 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Miles of circular path steeped in the mystery of the Pendle witches and the romance of the Brontë sisters, the Pendle Way passes through the farm. If you don't fancy the 45-mile full monty, sections of trail take you up Pendle Hill, or through Wycoller, the inspiration for Jane Eyre. You can also walk a chunk of the Pennnine Way from Thornton village, passing over Elsack Moor and down into the old village of Lothersdale.

Skipton (15 minutes' drive) has a 12th-century castle that's hung onto its roof and dungeon through centuries of strife. The adjacent wood is the remnant of the ancient forests that once covered all of Yorkshire – it's full of trails and if you're lucky you'll spot kingfishers, herons and buzzards. Skipton is a handy spot for hiring bikes and taking boat trips down the Leeds-Liverpool Canal.

Head to the Pendle Heritage Centre in Barrowford (20 minutes) to uncover the murky legends and the even murkier truths of the 17th-century Pendle Witch trials. Wizard fans should be sure to visit Malham Cove (half an hour), the massive cliffs featured in Harry Potter films. Finish off by following the trail to Janet's Foss, a waterfall said to be home to the Queen of the Fairies. Out here, it's not hard to believe it.

Must see

  • Bronte Parsonage Museum (10.4 miles)
  • Gawthorpe Hall (10.5 miles)
  • East Riddlesden Hall (NT) (11.6 miles)

National Trust

  • Gawthorpe Hall (10.7 miles)
  • East Riddlesden Hall (11.6 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

RV, trailer and tent sites
Arrive:  noon –  6 p.m.
Depart by:  noon
On-park accommodation
Arrive:  noon –  5 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Thornton Hall Farm Country Park cancelation policy

No refunds within 6 weeks of arrival date.

Changes cannot be made once you have booked.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancelations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Thornton Hall Farm Country Park will debit the balance from your card 12 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 12 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted at the park

Cash
Visa
MasterCard
Maestro
Apple Pay
Google Pay

Terms and conditions

Park booking terms and conditions

Video

  • Does Thornton Hall Farm Country Park have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Thornton Hall Farm Country Park dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Thornton Hall Farm Country Park? Miles of circular path steeped in the mystery of the Pendle witches and the romance of the Brontë sisters, the Pendle Way passes through the farm. If you don't fancy the 45-mile … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Thornton Hall Farm Country Park?
    RV, trailer and tent sites
    Arrive:  noon –  6 p.m.
    Depart by:  noon
    On-park accommodation
    Arrive:  noon –  5 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Thornton Hall Farm Country Park? From $27.87 (for 1 night, 4 people) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact thornton_hall_farm_country_park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Changes to your holiday
Changes cannot be made once you have booked.

Coronavirus
The washing-up area is not in operation due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
The park will send you further check-in information 1 day(s) before your arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.

Extras
Facilities/activities including The Farm Park and Playground are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

General
Bookings must not be for more than 5 consecutive nights.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 10 p.m. and 7:30 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and trunks must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
The park caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Reception
Reception is unmanned after 5 p.m.. Please inform the park while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time so that the team can provide information about your unit/site.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Firearms are not permitted.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
Only one car is to be parked at the site. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.
Twin axle vehicles are not permitted on site.

Additional terms

Dogs are permitted on the site but not allowed on the farm park site.

The farm park and play areas are separate from the campsite. Should you wish to use these areas, an additional charge will be applied. Tickets much be booked before arrival.

Close