The Old Post Office Campsite
View prices & book











/-3.371000000000004,54.40209999999995,12,0,0/376x277@2x)
- Quiet site on the western edge of the Lake District National Park
- Bordered by the River Irt for swimming and salmon or trout fishing
- Scenic picnic benches; dogs welcome; café 10 minutes' walk away
Site type
Pitches
- A cable measuring at least 10 metres is needed for the electric hook-ups.
Occupancy
- Bookings must not consist of more than 2 different households.
- Group bookings of 2 or more units travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
- Group bookings of 3 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).
- No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
- Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
- The campground/park caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.
Vehicles
- Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
Safety
- No charcoal barbecues allowed.
Dogs
- The campground/park does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dog Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).
Admission
- Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.
- Women's showers accept 50p coins only, 10 minutes use. Men's showers accept 20p or £1 coins; 20p gives 4 minutes use (maximum 16 minutes), £1 gives 20 minutes use. The on-site fishing may be impacted by weather and site conditions such as low water levels in summer and busy periods.
Languages spoken
English
Pitch types & availability
2

Fully-serviced grass and gravel campervan site
4 people maximum
Wifi at the unit/site
Ground type: Grass and gravel
Pitch size: Max 6.5m width × 6m depth (39m²)
Arrival daysFrom £77 (£77)
View prices & book5

Fully-serviced grass and gravel caravan site (super)
6 people maximum
Wifi at the unit/site
Ground type: Grass and gravel
Pitch size: Max 6m width × 9m depth (54m²)
Arrival daysFrom £77 (£77)
View prices & book9

Powered grass and gravel campervan site
6 people maximum
Wifi at the unit/site
Ground type: Grass and gravel
Pitch size: Max 6.5m width × 6m depth (39m²)
Arrival daysFrom £77 (£77)
View prices & book6

Powered grass and gravel caravan site
6 people maximum
Ground type: Grass and gravel
Pitch size: Max 7m width × 6.5m depth (45.5m²)
Arrival daysFrom £77 (£77)
View prices & book6

Powered grass and gravel motorhome site
6 people maximum
Ground type: Grass and gravel
Pitch size: Max 8m width × 8m depth (64m²)
Arrival daysFrom £77 (£77)
View prices & book2

Powered gravel caravan site
6 people maximum
Wifi at the unit/site
Ground type: Gravel
Pitch size: Max 7m width × 6.5m depth (45.5m²)
Arrival daysFrom £77 (£77)
View prices & book3

Unpowered grass tent site
6 people maximum
Wifi at the unit/site
Ground type: Grass
Pitch size: Max 4m width × 5m depth (20m²)
Arrival daysFrom £77 (£77)
View prices & book
Reviews
90% would recommend this site to a friend
85% would stay here again
What customers say
Stunning riverside spot, praised for peace and local walks. Friendly staff. Toilets/showers generally clean but could do with a refresh. WiFi iffy. Dog-friendly and chilled out – guests keen to return.
Summary AI-generated from Pitchup.com customer reviews.
Last updated 27/10/2026
Filter by topic
A beautiful hidden gem
Powered grass and gravel motorhome site
Liked Really beautiful setting, river running behind was picture perfect. Friendly staff, bathrooms were immaculate and modern. Heated floor fantastic in this cold weather. WiFi great added bonus
Disliked Nothing to do with the campsite at all just a heads up for other travellers; the nearest pub has rude staff and over priced food/drinks. Please try The Woolpack in Eskdale, a much nicer welcome and you do not get charged different prices for the same drinks at the bar! Great food also.
I will 100 percent visit this campsite again there is nothing to dislike and everything to love.
Recommend to friends Visit again
Lovely quiet location next to the…
Fully-serviced grass and gravel caravan site (super)
Liked Lovely quiet location next to the river. Well organised site with spacious pitches and spotless facilities.
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you for your lovely review!
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Old Post office Campsite, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another great stay.
Great location - loved being by…
Fully-serviced grass and gravel caravan site (super)
Liked Great location - loved being by the River but although doable manoeuvring on the circle is tight.
Loved the underfloor heating in the loos!
Disliked Water pressure in the showers could be a bit stronger but perfectly acceptable.
Recommend to friends Visit again
The first campsite I’ve been to…
Powered grass and gravel caravan site
Liked The first campsite I’ve been to that has WiFi and it worked really well
Disliked We had booked 2 pitches and when one of our pitches arrived they got told they had to wait for the other pitch as the lady stated I’m not repeating myself on rules. She was very rude and also claimed there car hadn’t been booked in and wasn’t room for it. When I later arrived and showed booking this was sorted eventually as hadn’t been booked. My mum then asked if she could use the toilet and the lady stated the code however the code didn’t work as it was raining and the rain kept landing and pressing the wrong buttons therefore she was unable to the toilets. The code on toilets continued to be a problem all weekend as it kept saying unauthorised before you could even put code in. Thirdly the showers you had to pay for which wasn’t stated they were extra on our booking we had already paid £89 per pitch per night therefore to have to pay more for facilities isn’t great.
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you for your review,
I feel that I must highlight a few of your points, as they are very misleading and inaccurate.
You arrived on your day of arrival within 4 minutes of each other, yes i have checked the cctv, a car arrived first and as i do with all my customers i go out to greet them, at this point there was only a gentleman in the car as the lady had already got out and wondered in the direction of the toilets. I welcomed him and asked him for the name of the booking, while talking to the gentleman the women then tipped back up and asked “whats the code to the toilets” of which i informed her of the code, she then disappeared again, my conversation was solely with the gentleman of the booking, there was no hello, no thank you, or no please from the women, just what's the code to the toilets, after my conversation with the gentleman, the women of the booking appeared back at the car and sat in the car for the entire time, the women did not speak or inform me that she could not get in the toilets or that she had trouble with the locks, neither did anyone else throughout the entire stay. Therefore to my knowledge everything was ok. I was not rude at all throughout my conversation so to say this quite frankly is a bit of a shock. Our staff are onsite daily to help with customers needs, at any point throughout your stay if you were struggling with anything, had you spoken to a member of staff they would have been more than happy to help.
I was confused with the booking as you had booked two touring pitches and a car arrived on its own, i was informed by the gentleman that arrived in the car that a campervan and touring caravan were on their way, I mentioned to the gentleman that he may have to pay for an extra car if there is a car towing a caravan and a campervan, but not to worry we can sort it out when your family arrive, i did not say anything about not having room for a car, the sight was half empty over your stay, i asked how far behind his family were and he said a couple of minutes of which i asked would you like me to give you a site layout now or wait for your family as it was pouring with rain, he said he would wait as you were only a couple of minutes away, ( a sight layout is not a set of rules) 4 minutes later you arrived so i then went back out to greet you all.
You arrived with a campervan towing a caravan, immediately I apologised for the confusion and informed you that there would be no extra charge, you did not show me your booking confirmation at any point throughout this conversation. After this conversation I then took 3 of you through the site layout so you would know where everything is.
Yes you are correct Showers are an extra cost however it clearly states this on all our booking platforms.
You did not pay £89.00 per pitch per night, you paid £38.50 per pitch per night, this was for 2 adults electric hookup, and £2 for your dogs of which you had 3.
I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, resulting in this review, and we wish you the best of luck for all your future camping trips.
location…
Fully-serviced grass and gravel caravan site (super)
Liked location
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you for your lovely review!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another great stay.
AWFUL…..never again
Fully-serviced grass and gravel caravan site (super)
Liked Nothing
Disliked Journey(no help and advice re best route in)
No basic goods available (nearest shop miles away)
No lights in ladies and the toilet blocks were from the 80’s
Stung for a caravan awning “EXTRAS”apparently
Cost was top end site fees….need to rethink its no where near top end
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you Mr Morgan for leaving not one but 2 reviews as you promised.
I would just like to highlight a few points on your reviews.
On our booking platforms it has all the information you need to know about the site. If you had read the information when making your booking you will have seen that under site info and maps it does indeed tell you what routes to avoid and the best road to come in on. We did not receive a phone call or email requesting further information.
It also tells you what we do and don't have onsite and a shop is something we do not have. The nearest shop is approximately 4 miles away.
I can only apologise for the ladies toilet lights, during your stay they had tripped one evening, due to wind and heavy rain however the problem was rectified immediately, unfortunately occasionally problems do occur.
Extras... you will have seen the extras tab when making your booking that is how you managed to add your dog to the booking, you were also asked by a member of staff on your arrival if you had any other extras and you had said you had an awning and you were unsure whether you were going to put it up, you were informed then that there is an extra cost for awnings of which your reply was i wont bother putting it up then, however you did put it up so therefore you were charged for it. You expressed your unhappiness quite clearly the following morning, i was shocked in the manner in which you spoke to me which then lead to me sending you an email expressing the fact and attaching screenshots of the extras tab showing awnings and where to book the extras on pitchup, hopefully this would clear things up, I did not appreciate being spoken to in the manner in which you did and you are very lucky that i did not ask you to leave the site. I would have been more than happy to explain everything to you face to face had I managed to get a word in.
I am actually quite amazed that you found the cleanliness to be 2 stars, in the years that I have worked here. That is something we are always commended on.
I wish you the best of luck with all your future camping trips and my advice would be to make sure you read all the information before booking.
Showers
Fully-serviced grass and gravel caravan site (super)
Liked Location was excellent right beside the river,pub over bridge.
Well managed and maintained, showers and toilets clean.
Gemma and Marcus very welcoming and helpful,lovely stay
Disliked Extra charges for showers!!!
If the showers were top notch eg power showers ,modern etc happy to pay,however 50p for 10mins for a lady washing hair ,with poor pressure ,stressful and shower 1 seems to run down quicker,they go from freezing to hot by time you got temperature right your against the clock.
Wi-fi is very patchy ,TV freezes all the time
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you for your lovely review!
We are glad to hear you had a great stay at The Old Post office campsite, we will take on board your points regarding the showers to see how we can improve in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.
Excellent
Fully-serviced grass and gravel caravan site (super)
Liked Brilliant touring site.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Facilities very clean and tidy in all weathers.
Just thd right place for walking and hiking and there's a pub 3 minutes walk away that does a brilliant Sunday dinner and a fantastic steak pie.
Had a very good stay.
Disliked Tight parking for a novice like me with a large caravan, as my motor mover was not working.
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you for your lovely review!
We are glad to hear you had a great stay at The Old Post Office Campsite and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another great stay. :-)
Well kept site and nice setting…
Powered grass and gravel motorhome site
Liked Well kept site and nice setting next to the river. Bridge inn good for food
Disliked Given a pitch next to a tent that had to pitch on the grass between the hard standings making it very close to us not ideal when the site was not full and there where other pitches available
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you for taking the time to write a review,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the site.
We do encourage customers to speak to a member of staff whilst on site if they have any problems during their stay, this way they can be dealt with immediately, all the staff are approachable and friendly and if they can help they will, if you were unhappy that a tent was pitched next to your motorhome and had you spoken to a member of staff they would of gladly helped, or potentially moved you providing that your motorhome would have fitted in any of the other pitches that were available at the time of your booking. as per our booking platforms the 3 motorhome pitches are the only pitch types that we allow small tents on.
Lovely camp ,clean , friendly staff…
Fully-serviced grass and gravel caravan site (super)
Liked Lovely camp ,clean , friendly staff , very helpful full
Disliked No shop , could do with a little shop , bread milk, eggs , tea coffee , would off been great
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you for your lovely review!
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay while visiting The Old Post Office Campsite, we will take on board your comment regarding a shop on site to see how we can improve in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another great stay.
Features
Dogs allowed
Leisure on site
Bar or club house Cycle hire Evening entertainment Fishing Fitness centre Games room Indoor swimming pool Kids' club On-site restaurant/cafe Outdoor swimming pool Play area TV room Take away Tennis WatersportsAmenities on site
Bath available Composting toilet Dog park Drying room Food shop Free wifi Ice pack freezing Internet access Laundry Parent & baby washroom Pick-up from public transport Portable toilet Pub toilets Public telephone Shower available Toilet block Washing-up area WifiGroups welcome
D. of E. welcome Family friendly Motorcycle friendly Rallies welcome Single-sex groups welcome Student groups welcomeRules
Barbecue provided Barbecues allowed Campfires allowed Commercial vehicles allowed Dogs allowed Dogs allowed all yearCamping 2.0
Jumbo tent sitesThemes
Budget/backpacker Lake and/or mountain Remote location Spectacular scenery Walkers' paradise Wildlife havenUtilities
Charging facilities Dump point Electric car charging point(s) Gas cylinders available Recycling available Renewable energyNearby amenities
Bar nearby Convenience store nearby Dog walk nearby Public transport nearbyType
Medium (26-50 sites)Accessibility
Bathrooms: Wheelchair accessible shower Bathrooms: Wheelchair accessible toiletNearby leisure
Canoeing/kayaking nearby Climbing nearby Cycle hire nearby Cycling nearby Fishing nearby Golf nearby Horse riding nearby Mountain biking nearby Restaurant nearby Sailing nearby Tennis nearbyTouring and motorhomes
Caravan storage facilities Drainage hook-up points for caravans Motorhome service point Water hook-up points for caravansLocation
The Old Post Office Campsite
Santon Bridge
Wasdale
Holmrook
Cumbria
England
CA19 1UY
Timezone
Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)
GPS
54.4021°N
3.371°W
Route directions
Nearest transport
Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.
Local attractions
Food and drink
- Bridge Inn 0.1 km
- Bower House Inn 2.4 km
- The Strands Inn 2.7 km
- Screes Inn 2.8 km
- King George IV Inn 4.2 km
- Gosforth Hall Inn 4.4 km
- Lion & Lamb 4.8 km
- The Globe Inn 4.8 km
- Victoria 5.5 km
- Ratty Arms 5.7 km
Groceries
- Co-op Food 7.2 km
Parks and play
- Seascale Beachfront Playpark 7.5 km
Family days out
- Owl Centre Visitor attraction 5.2 km
- Muncaster Castle 5.3 km
- The Weapons Hall Visitor attraction 5.5 km
- Signal Box Visitor attraction 5.8 km
Public transport
- Bridge Inn (W bound) 0.09 km
- Santon Cottages 1.2 km
- The Lodge-Irton Hall 1.2 km
- Nether Wasdale Car Park 2.8 km
- Road End for Irton Road R&ER 3 km
- Greengarth Hall (S bound) 3.4 km
- Greengarth Halll (N bound) 3.4 km
- Outward Bound School 3.5 km
- Blackbeck Bridge 3.7 km
- road to Eskdale Green Station 3.9 km
Other nearby
- Eskdale Golf Course 4.1 km
- Seascale Golf Club 7.9 km
Local services
- Cumberland Building Society Cashpoint 13.5 km
- Egremont Post Office Cashpoint 13.6 km
- Holmrook Service Station Fuel station 3.7 km
- Seascale Health Centre Doctors 7.1 km
- Seascale Pharmacy & Veg shop 7.1 km
- Mill Garage Fuel station 8.3 km
Must see
Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway 5.6 km
Dove Cottage and the Wordsworth Museum 23.6 km
Beatrix Potter Gallery 24.2 km
Whinlatter Forest & Visitor Centre 25.2 km
Rydal Mount and Gardens 25.6 km
National Trust
Wasdale, Eskdale and Duddon 2.8 km
Buttermere and Ennerdale 16.9 km
Gondola' 20.1 km
Coniston and Tarn Hows 20.7 km
Grasmere and Great Langdale 22.9 km
Cycle routes
Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.
Other
Eskdale Green - Muncaster Fell - Muncaster Head - Eskdale Green 3.3 km
MUNCASTER CASTLE 5.4 km
High Gillerthwaite - Red Pike Ridge Traverse - High Gillerthwaite 12.9 km
Seathwaite - Scafell Pike - Seathwaite 16.3 km
The Gables from Honister Pass 16.3 km
Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.
Want to know more about camping in The Lake District and Cumbria?
- Mountain Biking in the Lake District
- Cycling in the Lake District
- Wildlife in the Lake District National Park
- 8 Scenic Cumbria Walks To Try
- Lake District Area Guide
- Our 8 Top Things To Do In Cumbria
- 5 Best Beaches In Cumbria To Visit
- Must-Visit Lake District Peaks
- North West England Area Guide
- The Ultimate North West England Camping Guide
- Essential camping checklist
- Pitchup.com's camping guide
Frequently asked questions
- Does The Old Post Office Campsite have a swimming pool? No View all features
- Is The Old Post Office Campsite dog friendly? Yes View all features
- What attractions are near The Old Post Office Campsite? Pull on your comfiest boots and walk yourself to merriment around these Cumbrian parts: just over five miles away in Wasdale is one of Britain’s tiniest churches, St Olafs, with its timber … Read more
- When can I check in and check out of The Old Post Office Campsite?
Camping and caravan Arrive: 1 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. Depart by: 11 a.m. From 27 October to 29 March arrivals are only permitted until 5pm.
Read more - How much does it cost to stay at The Old Post Office Campsite? From $182.88 (for 2 nights, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party.


