The Old Post Office Campsite
Bekijk prijzen en reserveer











/-3.371000000000004,54.40209999999995,12,0,0/376x277@2x)
- Aan de westelijke rand van het Lake District National Park
- Aan de River Irt, waar je kunt zwemmen en op zalm en forel kunt vissen
- Mooie picknickbanken; honden welkom; café op 10 minuten lopen
Parktype
Bezetting
- Deze camping ontvangt alleen gezinnen (directe familieleden) en koppels; reserveringen van andere groepen worden niet aangenomen.
- Groepsreserveringen voor 2 of meer onderkomens die samen reizen, zijn niet toegestaan via Pitchup.com.
- Groepsreserveringen voor 3 volwassenen of meer zijn niet toegestaan (met uitzondering van koppels en directe familieleden).
- Het reserveren voor vrijgezellenfeesten is niet toegestaan via Pitchup.com.
- Reserveringen mogen uit maximaal 2 gezinnen bestaan.
- Reserveringen van 3 of meer personen van hetzelfde geslacht (koppels uitgezonderd) zijn niet toegestaan via Pitchup.com.
Honden
- Op deze camping zijn hondenrassen/kruisingen die in de 'lijst met hoog-risico honden op agressief gedrag' zijn opgenomen, niet toegestaan. Denk aan de pitbullterriër en tosa, Argentijnse dog en fila brasileiro.
Staplaatsen
- Voor het gebruik van de elektrische aansluitingen is een kabel van minstens 10 meter nodig.
Toegang
- Minderjarigen (18-) dienen te worden vergezeld door een ouder en/of officiële voogd.
Veiligheid
- Geen houtskoolbarbecues toegestaan.
Voertuigen
- Commerciële voertuigen (voertuigen die gebruikt worden voor werk en/of het vervoeren van goederen of betalende passagiers) en voertuigen met reclameboodschappen zijn verboden op het terrein.
- De vrouwendouches werken uitsluitend op munten van 50 pence voor 10 minuten gebruik. De mannendouches werken op munten van 20 pence of £1; met 20 pence kun je 4 minuten douchen (met een maximum van 16 minuten), met £1 kun je 20 minuten douchen. Het vissen ter plaatse kan worden beïnvloed door weers- en andere omstandigheden, zoals lage waterstanden in de zomer en drukke periodes.
Gesproken talen
Engels
Accommodatietypes & beschikbaarheid
9

Staanplaats kampeerbusje op gras en grind , met elektriciteit
6 personen maximaal
Wifi bij de accommodatie/staanplaats
Soort ondergrond: op gras en grind
Omvang staanplaats: Max. 6.5 m breed × 6 m diep (39m²)
AankomstdagenVanaf £ 77 (£ 77)
Bekijk prijzen en reserveer2

Staanplaats kampeerbusje op gras en grind volledig uitgerust
4 personen maximaal
Wifi bij de accommodatie/staanplaats
Soort ondergrond: op gras en grind
Omvang staanplaats: Max. 6.5 m breed × 6 m diep (39m²)
AankomstdagenVanaf £ 77 (£ 77)
Bekijk prijzen en reserveer6

Staanplaats voor camper op gras en grind , met elektriciteit
6 personen maximaal
Soort ondergrond: op gras en grind
Omvang staanplaats: Max. 8 m breed × 8 m diep (64m²)
AankomstdagenVanaf £ 77 (£ 77)
Bekijk prijzen en reserveer6

Staanplaats voor caravan en camper op gras en grind , met elektriciteit
6 personen maximaal
Soort ondergrond: op gras en grind
Omvang staanplaats: Max. 7 m breed × 6.5 m diep (45.5m²)
AankomstdagenVanaf £ 77 (£ 77)
Bekijk prijzen en reserveer5

Staanplaats voor caravan en camper op gras en grind volledig uitgerust (super)
6 personen maximaal
Wifi bij de accommodatie/staanplaats
Soort ondergrond: op gras en grind
Omvang staanplaats: Max. 6 m breed × 9 m diep (54m²)
AankomstdagenVanaf £ 77 (£ 77)
Bekijk prijzen en reserveer2

Staanplaats voor caravan en camper op grind , met elektriciteit
6 personen maximaal
Wifi bij de accommodatie/staanplaats
Soort ondergrond: op grind
Omvang staanplaats: Max. 7 m breed × 6.5 m diep (45.5m²)
AankomstdagenVanaf £ 77 (£ 77)
Bekijk prijzen en reserveer3

Staanplaats voor een tent op gras zonder elektriciteit
6 personen maximaal
Wifi bij de accommodatie/staanplaats
Soort ondergrond: op gras
Omvang staanplaats: Max. 4 m breed × 5 m diep (20m²)
AankomstdagenVanaf £ 77 (£ 77)
Bekijk prijzen en reserveer
Beoordelingen
90% zou deze camping aanbevelen aan een vriend
85% zou hier weer verblijven
Wat klanten zeggen
Deze goed onderhouden camping ligt prachtig aan de rivier, geprezen om de rustige sfeer en nabijheid van wandelroutes en The Bridge Inn. Personeel is vriendelijk en behulpzaam. Faciliteiten zijn schoon, maar kunnen update gebruiken. WiFi is onbetrouwbaar. Populair voor honden en ontspanning, velen willen terugkomen.
Samenvatting (gemaakt door AI) van klantbeoordelingen op Pitchup.com.
Voor het laatst bijgewerkt op 27-10-2026
Filteren op onderwerp
A beautiful hidden gem
Staanplaats voor camper op gras en grind , met elektriciteit
Ik was blij met Really beautiful setting, river running behind was picture perfect. Friendly staff, bathrooms were immaculate and modern. Heated floor fantastic in this cold weather. WiFi great added bonus
Ik was niet blij met Nothing to do with the campsite at all just a heads up for other travellers; the nearest pub has rude staff and over priced food/drinks. Please try The Woolpack in Eskdale, a much nicer welcome and you do not get charged different prices for the same drinks at the bar! Great food also.
I will 100 percent visit this campsite again there is nothing to dislike and everything to love.
Aanbevelen aan vrienden Opnieuw bezoeken
Lovely quiet location next to the…
Staanplaats voor caravan en camper op gras en grind volledig uitgerust (super)
Ik was blij met Lovely quiet location next to the river. Well organised site with spacious pitches and spotless facilities.
Aanbevelen aan vrienden Opnieuw bezoeken
Van de manager: Thank you for your lovely review!
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Old Post office Campsite, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another great stay.
Great location - loved being by…
Staanplaats voor caravan en camper op gras en grind volledig uitgerust (super)
Ik was blij met Great location - loved being by the River but although doable manoeuvring on the circle is tight.
Loved the underfloor heating in the loos!
Ik was niet blij met Water pressure in the showers could be a bit stronger but perfectly acceptable.
Aanbevelen aan vrienden Opnieuw bezoeken
The first campsite I’ve been to…
Staanplaats voor caravan en camper op gras en grind , met elektriciteit
Ik was blij met The first campsite I’ve been to that has WiFi and it worked really well
Ik was niet blij met We had booked 2 pitches and when one of our pitches arrived they got told they had to wait for the other pitch as the lady stated I’m not repeating myself on rules. She was very rude and also claimed there car hadn’t been booked in and wasn’t room for it. When I later arrived and showed booking this was sorted eventually as hadn’t been booked. My mum then asked if she could use the toilet and the lady stated the code however the code didn’t work as it was raining and the rain kept landing and pressing the wrong buttons therefore she was unable to the toilets. The code on toilets continued to be a problem all weekend as it kept saying unauthorised before you could even put code in. Thirdly the showers you had to pay for which wasn’t stated they were extra on our booking we had already paid £89 per pitch per night therefore to have to pay more for facilities isn’t great.
Aanbevelen aan vrienden Opnieuw bezoeken
Van de manager: Thank you for your review,
I feel that I must highlight a few of your points, as they are very misleading and inaccurate.
You arrived on your day of arrival within 4 minutes of each other, yes i have checked the cctv, a car arrived first and as i do with all my customers i go out to greet them, at this point there was only a gentleman in the car as the lady had already got out and wondered in the direction of the toilets. I welcomed him and asked him for the name of the booking, while talking to the gentleman the women then tipped back up and asked “whats the code to the toilets” of which i informed her of the code, she then disappeared again, my conversation was solely with the gentleman of the booking, there was no hello, no thank you, or no please from the women, just what's the code to the toilets, after my conversation with the gentleman, the women of the booking appeared back at the car and sat in the car for the entire time, the women did not speak or inform me that she could not get in the toilets or that she had trouble with the locks, neither did anyone else throughout the entire stay. Therefore to my knowledge everything was ok. I was not rude at all throughout my conversation so to say this quite frankly is a bit of a shock. Our staff are onsite daily to help with customers needs, at any point throughout your stay if you were struggling with anything, had you spoken to a member of staff they would have been more than happy to help.
I was confused with the booking as you had booked two touring pitches and a car arrived on its own, i was informed by the gentleman that arrived in the car that a campervan and touring caravan were on their way, I mentioned to the gentleman that he may have to pay for an extra car if there is a car towing a caravan and a campervan, but not to worry we can sort it out when your family arrive, i did not say anything about not having room for a car, the sight was half empty over your stay, i asked how far behind his family were and he said a couple of minutes of which i asked would you like me to give you a site layout now or wait for your family as it was pouring with rain, he said he would wait as you were only a couple of minutes away, ( a sight layout is not a set of rules) 4 minutes later you arrived so i then went back out to greet you all.
You arrived with a campervan towing a caravan, immediately I apologised for the confusion and informed you that there would be no extra charge, you did not show me your booking confirmation at any point throughout this conversation. After this conversation I then took 3 of you through the site layout so you would know where everything is.
Yes you are correct Showers are an extra cost however it clearly states this on all our booking platforms.
You did not pay £89.00 per pitch per night, you paid £38.50 per pitch per night, this was for 2 adults electric hookup, and £2 for your dogs of which you had 3.
I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, resulting in this review, and we wish you the best of luck for all your future camping trips.
location…
Staanplaats voor caravan en camper op gras en grind volledig uitgerust (super)
Ik was blij met location
Aanbevelen aan vrienden Opnieuw bezoeken
Van de manager: Thank you for your lovely review!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another great stay.
AWFUL…..never again
Staanplaats voor caravan en camper op gras en grind volledig uitgerust (super)
Ik was blij met Nothing
Ik was niet blij met Journey(no help and advice re best route in)
No basic goods available (nearest shop miles away)
No lights in ladies and the toilet blocks were from the 80’s
Stung for a caravan awning “EXTRAS”apparently
Cost was top end site fees….need to rethink its no where near top end
Aanbevelen aan vrienden Opnieuw bezoeken
Van de manager: Thank you Mr Morgan for leaving not one but 2 reviews as you promised.
I would just like to highlight a few points on your reviews.
On our booking platforms it has all the information you need to know about the site. If you had read the information when making your booking you will have seen that under site info and maps it does indeed tell you what routes to avoid and the best road to come in on. We did not receive a phone call or email requesting further information.
It also tells you what we do and don't have onsite and a shop is something we do not have. The nearest shop is approximately 4 miles away.
I can only apologise for the ladies toilet lights, during your stay they had tripped one evening, due to wind and heavy rain however the problem was rectified immediately, unfortunately occasionally problems do occur.
Extras... you will have seen the extras tab when making your booking that is how you managed to add your dog to the booking, you were also asked by a member of staff on your arrival if you had any other extras and you had said you had an awning and you were unsure whether you were going to put it up, you were informed then that there is an extra cost for awnings of which your reply was i wont bother putting it up then, however you did put it up so therefore you were charged for it. You expressed your unhappiness quite clearly the following morning, i was shocked in the manner in which you spoke to me which then lead to me sending you an email expressing the fact and attaching screenshots of the extras tab showing awnings and where to book the extras on pitchup, hopefully this would clear things up, I did not appreciate being spoken to in the manner in which you did and you are very lucky that i did not ask you to leave the site. I would have been more than happy to explain everything to you face to face had I managed to get a word in.
I am actually quite amazed that you found the cleanliness to be 2 stars, in the years that I have worked here. That is something we are always commended on.
I wish you the best of luck with all your future camping trips and my advice would be to make sure you read all the information before booking.
Showers
Staanplaats voor caravan en camper op gras en grind volledig uitgerust (super)
Ik was blij met Location was excellent right beside the river,pub over bridge.
Well managed and maintained, showers and toilets clean.
Gemma and Marcus very welcoming and helpful,lovely stay
Ik was niet blij met Extra charges for showers!!!
If the showers were top notch eg power showers ,modern etc happy to pay,however 50p for 10mins for a lady washing hair ,with poor pressure ,stressful and shower 1 seems to run down quicker,they go from freezing to hot by time you got temperature right your against the clock.
Wi-fi is very patchy ,TV freezes all the time
Aanbevelen aan vrienden Opnieuw bezoeken
Van de manager: Thank you for your lovely review!
We are glad to hear you had a great stay at The Old Post office campsite, we will take on board your points regarding the showers to see how we can improve in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.
Excellent
Staanplaats voor caravan en camper op gras en grind volledig uitgerust (super)
Ik was blij met Brilliant touring site.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Facilities very clean and tidy in all weathers.
Just thd right place for walking and hiking and there's a pub 3 minutes walk away that does a brilliant Sunday dinner and a fantastic steak pie.
Had a very good stay.
Ik was niet blij met Tight parking for a novice like me with a large caravan, as my motor mover was not working.
Aanbevelen aan vrienden Opnieuw bezoeken
Van de manager: Thank you for your lovely review!
We are glad to hear you had a great stay at The Old Post Office Campsite and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another great stay. :-)
Well kept site and nice setting…
Staanplaats voor camper op gras en grind , met elektriciteit
Ik was blij met Well kept site and nice setting next to the river. Bridge inn good for food
Ik was niet blij met Given a pitch next to a tent that had to pitch on the grass between the hard standings making it very close to us not ideal when the site was not full and there where other pitches available
Aanbevelen aan vrienden Opnieuw bezoeken
Van de manager: Thank you for taking the time to write a review,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the site.
We do encourage customers to speak to a member of staff whilst on site if they have any problems during their stay, this way they can be dealt with immediately, all the staff are approachable and friendly and if they can help they will, if you were unhappy that a tent was pitched next to your motorhome and had you spoken to a member of staff they would of gladly helped, or potentially moved you providing that your motorhome would have fitted in any of the other pitches that were available at the time of your booking. as per our booking platforms the 3 motorhome pitches are the only pitch types that we allow small tents on.
Lovely camp ,clean , friendly staff…
Staanplaats voor caravan en camper op gras en grind volledig uitgerust (super)
Ik was blij met Lovely camp ,clean , friendly staff , very helpful full
Ik was niet blij met No shop , could do with a little shop , bread milk, eggs , tea coffee , would off been great
Aanbevelen aan vrienden Opnieuw bezoeken
Van de manager: Thank you for your lovely review!
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay while visiting The Old Post Office Campsite, we will take on board your comment regarding a shop on site to see how we can improve in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another great stay.
Voorzieningen
Honden toegestaan
Activiteiten op de camping
Afhaaldienst Avondprogramma Bar of clubhuis Binnenzwembad Buitenzwembad Fietsverhuur Fitnesscentrum Kinderclub Restaurant/café op de camping Speeltuin Spelletjeskamer Tennis Tv-ruimte Vissen WatersportenVoorzieningen op de camping
Afwasruimte Bad aanwezig Boodschappenwinkel Composttoilet Douche aanwezig Draagbaar toilet Droogruimte Gezinsbadkamer Gratis wifi Hondenpark Internetaansluiting Openbare telefoon Toiletgebouw Toiletten in pub Transferservice naar openbaar vervoer Vriezer voor koelelementen Wasserette WifiGroepen welkom
Bijeenkomsten welkom Familievriendelijk Mannen/vrouwengroepen welkom Motorrijders welkom Schoolgroepen welkom Studentengroepen welkomRegels
Barbecue voorzien Barbecues toegestaan Bedrijfswagens toegestaan Honden het hele jaar toegestaan Honden toegestaan Kampvuur toegestaanCamping 2.0
Extra grote staanplaatsThema's
Afgelegen Budget/backpacker Meer en/of berg Natuurparadijs Spectaculaire omgeving WandelparadijsFaciliteiten
Afvoerpunt chemische toiletten Gasflessen aanwezig Groene energie Oplaadpunt aanwezig Oplaadpunt(en) voor elektrische auto's RecyclingType
Middelgroot (26-50 staanplaatsen)Voorzieningen in de buurt
Bar in de buurt Boodschappenwinkel in de buurt Hondenuitlaatplaats in de buurt Openbaar vervoer in de buurtToegankelijkheid
Badkamers: rolstoeltoegankelijk toilet Badkamers: rolstoeltoegankelijke doucheActiviteiten in de buurt
Fietsen in de buurt Fietsverhuur in de buurt Golfen in de buurt Kanoën/kajakken in de buurt Klimmen in de buurt Mountainbiken in de buurt Paardrijden in de buurt Restaurant in de buurt Tennis in de buurt Vissen in de buurt Zeilen in de buurtCaravans en Campers
Afvoer voor caravans Camperservicepunt Caravanstalling Wateraansluiting voor caravansLocatie
The Old Post Office Campsite
Santon Bridge
Wasdale
Holmrook
Cumbria
Engeland
CA19 1UY
Tijdzone
Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)
GPS
54,4021°N
3,371°W
Routebeschrijving
Dichtstbijzijnd vervoer
Let op: Alle afstanden op deze pagina zijn hemelsbreed berekend – controleer daarom de werkelijke afstand, afhankelijk van hoe je reist, door op de knop 'Ga naar routebeschrijving' hierboven te klikken.
Lokale bezienswaardigheden
Eten en drinken
- Bridge Inn 0,1 km
- Bower House Inn 2,4 km
- The Strands Inn 2,7 km
- Screes Inn 2,8 km
- King George IV Inn 4,2 km
- Gosforth Hall Inn 4,4 km
- Lion & Lamb 4,8 km
- The Globe Inn 4,8 km
- Victoria 5,5 km
- Ratty Arms 5,7 km
Boodschappen
- Co-op Food 7,2 km
Parken en speeltuinen
- Seascale Beachfront Playpark 7,5 km
Gezinsuitjes
- Owl Centre Toeristische attractie 5,2 km
- Muncaster Castle Kasteel 5,3 km
- The Weapons Hall Toeristische attractie 5,5 km
- Signal Box Toeristische attractie 5,8 km
Openbaar vervoer
- Bridge Inn (W bound) 0,09 km
- Santon Cottages 1,2 km
- The Lodge-Irton Hall 1,2 km
- Nether Wasdale Car Park 2,8 km
- Road End for Irton Road R&ER 3 km
- Greengarth Hall (S bound) 3,4 km
- Greengarth Halll (N bound) 3,4 km
- Outward Bound School 3,5 km
- Blackbeck Bridge 3,7 km
- road to Eskdale Green Station 3,9 km
In de buurt
- Eskdale Golf Course 4,1 km
- Seascale Golf Club 7,9 km
Lokale voorzieningen
- Cumberland Building Society Geldautomaat 13,5 km
- Egremont Post Office Geldautomaat 13,6 km
- Holmrook Service Station Tankstation 3,7 km
- Seascale Health Centre Doktoren 7,1 km
- Seascale Pharmacy & Veg shop Apotheek 7,1 km
- Mill Garage Tankstation 8,3 km
Populaire bezienswaardigheid
Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway 5,6 km
Dove Cottage and the Wordsworth Museum 23,6 km
Beatrix Potter Gallery 24,2 km
Whinlatter Forest & Visitor Centre 25,2 km
Rydal Mount and Gardens 25,6 km
Nationaal Beheer
Wasdale, Eskdale and Duddon 2,8 km
Buttermere and Ennerdale 16,9 km
Gondola' 20,1 km
Coniston and Tarn Hows 20,7 km
Grasmere and Great Langdale 22,9 km
Fietsroutes
Vind lokale routes op het National Cycle Network - bijna 20.000 kilometer aan fietsroutes.
Anders
Eskdale Green - Muncaster Fell - Muncaster Head - Eskdale Green 3,3 km
MUNCASTER CASTLE 5,4 km
High Gillerthwaite - Red Pike Ridge Traverse - High Gillerthwaite 12,9 km
Seathwaite - Scafell Pike - Seathwaite 16,3 km
The Gables from Honister Pass 16,3 km
Let op: Alle afstanden op deze pagina zijn hemelsbreed berekend – controleer daarom de werkelijke afstand, afhankelijk van hoe je reist, door op de knop 'Ga naar routebeschrijving' hierboven te klikken.
Wil je meer weten over kamperen in The Lake District and Cumbria?
Veelgestelde vragen
- Heeft The Old Post Office Campsite een zwembad? Nee Bekijk alle faciliteiten
- Is The Old Post Office Campsite hondvriendelijk? Ja Bekijk alle faciliteiten
- Welke attracties liggen in de buurt van The Old Post Office Campsite? Trek je meest comfortabele stappers aan en wandel vol vreugde door dit gedeelte van Cumbria. Op iets meer dan 8 kilometer bereik je in Wasdale een van Engelands kleinste kerkjes, St Olafs, … Lees meer
- Wanneer kan ik in- en uitchecken bij The Old Post Office Campsite?
Tent, caravan en camper Aankomst: 13:00 – 17:30 Vertrek voor: 11:00 Van 27 oktober t/m 29 maart is aankomst alleen mogelijk tot 17.00 uur.
Lees meer - Hoeveel kost een verblijf bij The Old Post Office Campsite? Vanaf € 91,93 (voor 2 nachten, 2 volwassenen) - prijzen kunnen veranderen afhankelijk van je datums en gezelschap.


