Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Camping at Cardewlees

8.9
View prices & book
From £23/€26.70/A$41.19/US$27.81/CA$37.27/CHF26.31/SEK290.18/DKK198.93/NOK274.72/ISK3,917/ARS4,597.06/CLP25,647/PEN107.76/NZ$44.52/ZAR475.20/PLN125.46/R$150.45/CZK651.46/RSD3,132/HUF10,923.21/RUB1,682.46/CN¥199.52 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Camping at Cardewlees: Each pod has its own enclosed garden

General

  • Family-run site with scenic views across farmland and fells
  • A 15-minute drive to the city of Carlisle and 30 to the Lake District
  • Supermarkets, restaurants and a swimming pool a 25-minute walk away

For views of fells, farmland and fields make Camping at Cardewlees your next base for a break – this family-run site looks out over splendid Lake District scenery including Carrock Flat Top, High Pike and Skiddaw…

Whether you plan on having hardy hikes or gentle jaunts over the hills, they’re easy to reach as the park is about a 30-minute drive from the northern end of the Lakes. It’s also a 25-minute walk to the small but perfectly formed village of Dalston if you’re not wanting to amble far for a supermarket and restaurants, and as the community’s a regular Cumbria in Bloom winner there are sure to be a fair few flower displays to ooh and ahh over…

The village’s play areas and public swimming pool mean you might even be able to tempt kids along for a wander too – the river setting is excellent for rambling. The Cumbria Way ends at Carlisle and runs through Dalston, so you could join the 70-mile long-distance trail here (or just stop off for a stay at Camping at Cardewlees during an epic walk from one side to the other).

Cycle paths are also strewn through the local landscapes for long or short rides. Before you head off for the day, fill up on breakfast prepped by the site’s owners; just check it’s available when you arrive.

Amenities include a shower and regularly cleaned unisex toilets.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

The pods have their own shower/toilet block comprising of two toilets and a shower, located 10 metres from the pods.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.9

Overall rating based on 107 reviews

 

91% would recommend this site to a friend.

88% would stay here again.

  89% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Chose where you want to park, left to yourself but …11/10/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMartine B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fully-serviced grass and gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Chose where you want to park, left to yourself but yet owners reachable at all times. Showers are toilets we're in great order, clean fresh easy accessible. Quiet site we went on a very windy night, be mindful where you park if wanting to be in open and having an awning up but I guess that's common sense 😅 would defo be back if up this area again in summer.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

A well run site with a remote feel but good facilities and access10/18/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNick T.Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good farm-based site that offers wonderful views and has a remote feeling whilst being very close to quite a lot of amenities and is very accessible. The facilities kept very clean, nice wash area and all means of waste facilities, and the ground nice to pitch a tent on and good to be able to hire an electric supported pitch but at the far side of the field.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing - note just to those pitching that the field has amazing views as it is exposed and so for winter camping we had a SSW force 7 and so make sure you pitch accordingly facing away from the wind and don't be tempted to pitch for the views - we have a tent that is rated to take that sort of weather, but we have seen others this year turning up ill prepared.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Open space around the pod with the Pennines and Lakes …10/10/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Carrock View camping pod (two person)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Open space around the pod with the Pennines and Lakes as a background.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely little pod in a great location. Friendly owners too. …10/03/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRobert W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Skiddaw-view camping pod (two person)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely little pod in a great location. Friendly owners too. The pod was nice and cosy and had a lovely outside sitting area. I loved that it was on a farm in the countryside, peaceful and relaxing.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing, enjoyed my time there and will return when next in the area.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Private. Fenced area for dog and toddler to run around. …09/23/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSamantha B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • High Pike camping pod (three person)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Private. Fenced area for dog and toddler to run around. Pod was warm. Heater was sufficient. Pod was immaculately clean.

    Disliked: 

    Mattresses was literally sleeping on springs didn’t sleep a wink.

From the manager...

Thanks for your review and photos!
Really sorry to hear you didn't sleep.
We wish you would have mentioned this as we would have happily sorted something for you.
We have a futon that we could have brought down.
New mattresses have been ordered though.
So please come again.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Would definitely stay again clean facilities09/22/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomConor B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • High Pike camping pod (three person)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very nice accommodation with own private garden, lovely location and friendly staff on the farm

    Disliked: 

    Uncomfortable beds only downside.

From the manager...

Thanks so much for your review.

New mattresses have been ordered.

So please come again soon.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

The privacy and how we were left to our own …09/16/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJo V.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Skiddaw-view camping pod (two person)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The privacy and how we were left to our own devices but we could contact people easily if needed. The jacket potatos were also lovely!

    Disliked: 

    As the pod is on a farm, when it is sunny there is an insane amount of flies. The pod was provided with a spray to kill them, but it was hard to breathe in the pod when this was sprayed and it really affected my asthma. As well as filling the pod with dead flies! We got a citronella candle and this was much more effective. The garden also wasn’t 100% sure enough for both of our dogs, so we kept one on a longline, which wasn’t necessarily an issue but I was expecting it to be more secure.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.
I see that although you wouldn't visit again you gave us an eight which is a little confusing!
We are sorry you had an issue with the flies, this actually isn't something we have had an issue with this year. If you had advised us of this we would have done our best to rectify it.
As for the fencing, we are sorry that you did not feel this was secure, we are pleased to hear that it was suitable for one of them.
Pleased you liked the jacket potatoes.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Able to have a campfire, nice large pitches.09/11/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDianne S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Able to have a campfire, nice large pitches.

    Disliked: 

    Lack of hot water in toilets to wash hands, no hand dryer or paper towels to dry hands. Unable to have a decent shower as kept going hot and cold.

From the manager...

We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.
There is hot water in the middle toilet and we are aware of the difficulties with drying your hands.
We did use to provide paper towels but unfortunately, people were placing them down the toilet.
We are waiting for our electrician to visit to install hand dryers and hot water.
As a small business owner can I just say we would always prefer you to raise these issues with us prior to leaving?
I can't remedy issues such as the shower when we aren't made aware of it.
Our lovely Sue is here every morning and the campsite phone number is scattered around the site on various signs.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Facilities where nice and clean, recycling facilities would be good09/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fully-serviced grass and gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful views from site

    Disliked: 

    No dog walk or access to walking from site

From the manager...

Please keep checking our social media in relation to dog walks.
Although there are lots in the village about a mile away we have plans for facilities on site.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Lovely views, peaceful, local shops close to where we stayed, …09/07/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • The Paddock non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely views, peaceful, local shops close to where we stayed, clean shower an toilets.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you!
We always appreciate a 10!!! 😂😂😂

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Check-in: self check-in (unattended)

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Tipis, yurts, or wigwams

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Lake and/or mountain

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Small (11-25 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Water hook-up points for tourers

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Cardewlees Farm, Dalston, Carlisle, Cumbria, England, CA5 6LF
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 54.8483°N 3.0076°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Bus Station — 7.0 kilometres
War Memorial — 22.5 kilometres
War Memorial — 22.5 kilometres
Train stations
Dalston (Cumbria) Rail Station — 1.2 kilometres
Carlisle Rail Station — 6.7 kilometres
Wigton Rail Station — 10.3 kilometres
Ferry ports
Pooley Bridge Ullswater Ferry Landing — 28.9 kilometres
Keswick Ferry Landing — 29.5 kilometres
Nichol End (Derwentwater) Ferry Landing — 29.7 kilometres
Airports
Newcastle International Airport — 85.8 kilometres

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

If you’re keen on history, you could be learning about Carlisle’s in a jiffy – it’s a 15-minute drive from Camping at Cardewlees. The Great Border City also has a castle where Mary Queen of Scots spent a stint behind bars and a cathedral that was founded in 1133. For a flutter on the horses, a racecourse serves the local area too.

To go further back in time – think close to 2,000 years – Hadrian’s Wall, the most visited Roman ruin in the whole of Britain, is a 40-minute drive from the site. The Walltown Crags section’s a stellar place to start your journey to a couple of millennia ago: this stretch of the original wall has eye-popping views over the patchwork of fields below.

Not tired out after your epic journey along the Cumbria Way? Set off along the 84-mile Hadrian’s Wall Path, which runs from one side of England's coast to the other.

Must see

  • Carlisle Castle (6.8 kilometres)
  • World Famous Old Blacksmith's Shop Centre (17.8 kilometres)
  • Mirehouse Historic House and Gardens (25.6 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Wordsworth House and Garden (31.0 kilometres)
  • Acorn Bank Garden and Watermill (34.3 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Camping at Cardewlees cancellation policy

No refunds within 12 weeks of arrival date.

Changes cannot be made once you have booked.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Camping at Cardewlees will debit the balance from your card 12 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 12 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking, or at any point before the due date.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Video

  • Does Camping at Cardewlees have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Camping at Cardewlees dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Camping at Cardewlees? If you’re keen on history, you could be learning about Carlisle’s in a jiffy – it’s a 15-minute drive from Camping at Cardewlees. The Great Border City also has a castle where … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Camping at Cardewlees?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Camping at Cardewlees? From €26.70 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact camping_at_cardewlees


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission

Safety

Changes to your holiday

Dogs

Safety

Dogs

General

Arrivals and departures

Extras

Arrivals and departures

Safety

General

Admission

Arrivals and departures

Additional terms

The pods have their own shower/toilet block comprising of two toilets and a shower, located 10 metres from the pods.

Close