Back
Tent pitchTouring caravan pitches - not allowedMotorhome or campervan pitch - not allowed

Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch

From £22 (£22) 1 night, 2 adults

6 people maximum 8.3/10 142 reviews Wifi at the unit/pitch
One Tent or Trailer tent allowed per pitch

Additional units require additional pitches - quick book via 'Make another booking like this' after making your booking.

Pitch size

Min 6m width × 6m depth (36m²)

Ground type

Grass

0 rooms

Twin-axle vehicles not accepted

Suitable for

Tent, Trailer tent

Features

Bring a gazebo 1 included, 1 max.
Bring an awning 1 included, 1 max.
Car 2 included, 2 max.
Dog(s) allowed 2 included, 2 max.
Car parking by pitch/unit
Firepit
Wifi at the unit/pitch

Other restrictions

Pup tents not allowed

Availability

Arrive or depart on this date
Your booking From £22 (£22)
Based on 1 night, 4 people
2 adults

Choose your dates and party size to see pricing and availability.

Stow-on-the-Wold Rugby Club

View prices & book 8.3 575 reviews
Views from the camping field
Beatifully kept grass.
Blue skies and a lovely view
View from our pitch

No availability here for your search criteria

Reviews

  • 44%
    10
  • 6%
    9
  • 28%
    8
  • 1%
    7
  • 10%
    6
  • 0%
    5
  • 3%
    4
  • 0%
    3
  • 3%
    2
  • 0%
    1
Location
9
Value for money
9
Accommodation
8
Facilities / Activities
8
Customer service
8
Child friendliness
9
Cleanliness
8
Wifi
6

85% would recommend this site to a friend

82% would stay here again

What customers say

A grand spot for exploring the Cotswolds, with lovely views and a peaceful vibe. Facilities are spotless, especially the showers. Plenty of space, great for families, and near Stow-on-the-Wold. Watch out for a few sloped pitches and rare bin/loo roll top-ups.

Summary AI-generated from Pitchup.com customer reviews

Reviews page 1 of 58
Arrival date (latest first)

Nothing…

Overall

3 out of 10
Location
3
Value for money
2
Accommodation
No rating
Facilities / Activities
2
Customer service
3
Child friendliness
1
Cleanliness
2
Wifi
No rating
Samantha R.

Electric grass touring pitch

Liked Nothing

Disliked Should have read the reviews!
We booked an electric grass pitches unfortunately on arrival there was only one left and it was on such a slope even with the ramps we brought with us it just wouldn’t work.

We ended up just parking down on the non electric field even though we paid for electric pitch. As it was late and with a 15 week old and 8 year old we just wanted to settle for the night.

Only stayed the one night so was up and out first thing.

Toilet / shower was ok.

No reception for arrival but welcome email advises contact number, unfortunately due to personal reasons wasn’t available on site .

Recommend to friends Visit again

A pretty site to camp. Great…

Overall

9 out of 10
Location
10
Value for money
10
Accommodation
No rating
Facilities / Activities
8
Customer service
8
Child friendliness
No rating
Cleanliness
10
Wifi
No rating
H C.

Non-electric grass touring pitch

Liked A pretty site to camp. Great views. V reasonably priced.

Disliked Lack of a shop

Recommend to friends Visit again

It's cheapish but felt very cheap. Not for me thanks.

Overall

3 out of 10
Location
6
Value for money
2
Accommodation
No rating
Facilities / Activities
2
Customer service
1
Child friendliness
No rating
Cleanliness
1
Wifi
1
Simon O.

Non-electric grass touring pitch

Liked Close to Stow

Disliked No one to meet you.
There were no pitches, it's just a free for all.
Masses of tents, half naked kids, it felt grotty, far too busy and full of the great unwashed. Small yappy dogs running around.
Pitch slopped.
I left after 4 hours, just couldn't stay there.
Possibly the lowest class place I have stayed.

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Hi Simon, thanks for visiting us & for leaving a review. We're very sorry to hear you had a disturbed visit & didn't feel you couldn't stay. We were extremely busy over the bank holiday weekend especially with the Big Feastival happening locally & I would imagine some of our visitors were festival goers. Unfortunately we are not allowed to discriminate when taking bookings & we don't have the opportunity to vet our guests. We do ask for good behaviour & reasonable respect for other site users, & you will see from our many good reviews that normally the site is peaceful & our guests have respect for other users.
We don't have a full time staff on site as it's not viable for us to do so, however there is a contact number for our staff displayed in several locations & on your booking acknowledgment, so help was available.

Our apologies for your poor experience.

Clean facilities but site is on a slope

Overall

7 out of 10
Location
8
Value for money
8
Accommodation
No rating
Facilities / Activities
7
Customer service
1
Child friendliness
No rating
Cleanliness
7
Wifi
5
Anonymous

Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch

Liked Toilet, shower, water and washing up facilities all clean and good

Disliked Plenty of space on the non electric pitches but that's because it's just a field with no markings or designated pitches so people set up wherever they wanted. The site is on a hill so all non electric pitches are on a slope

Recommend to friends Visit again

Quiet good clean toilet and bathroom…

Overall

6 out of 10
Location
5
Value for money
6
Accommodation
No rating
Facilities / Activities
1
Customer service
1
Child friendliness
No rating
Cleanliness
10
Wifi
1
Jasbir S.

Non-electric grass touring pitch

Liked Quiet good clean toilet and bathroom

Disliked Human interaction with an office

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Hi Jasbir, thanks for visiting & leaving a review.

Unfortunately it's not financially viable to have a full time reception operating at the club, we just don't have the numbers visiting to make it viable. There is a contact number on the welcome board at the entrance & also in the clubhouse lobby where the site info is located, & its also detailed on your booking acknowledgment, so there was someone to contact if needed.

Kind regards,

Paid £50 for two nights and left a day early as not impressed

Overall

2 out of 10
Location
8
Value for money
2
Accommodation
No rating
Facilities / Activities
1
Customer service
1
Child friendliness
No rating
Cleanliness
2
Wifi
1
Ben J.

Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch

Liked Good location to Stow town centre

Disliked Slopes site
Very basic toilet and shower facility, not well serviced, showers & toilets not cleaned and bins spilled over
Over-priced given poor facilties

Recommend to friends Visit again

normally quiet campsite everything there and…

Overall

5 out of 10
Location
8
Value for money
8
Accommodation
No rating
Facilities / Activities
9
Customer service
No rating
Child friendliness
No rating
Cleanliness
No rating
Wifi
2
Nigel P.

Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch

Liked normally quiet campsite everything there and club house

Disliked this time was very busy and the music at night was bass and had to move ended up in car park

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Hi Nigel, thanks for leaving a review. We're sorry you had a disturbed visit, we have been extremely busy over the bank holiday due to the local Feastival & unfortunately some of our guests have been inconsiderate to others. We're pleased you feel you would come again, hopefully your next visit will be the usually peaceful one.

Kind regards,

Decent place to stay.

Overall

7 out of 10
Location
8
Value for money
7
Accommodation
No rating
Facilities / Activities
5
Customer service
5
Child friendliness
No rating
Cleanliness
10
Wifi
1
Heath B.

Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch

Liked Loads of space

Disliked Not the fault of the site but the people in the tent behind us were morons. Soo loud and playing LOUD music till 4am. Unacceptable and selfish without a care in the world for other campers. Just unlucky to pitch next to these people. No staff on site to sort these people out unfortunately

Recommend to friends Visit again

From the manager: Hi Heath, thanks for staying with us & for your review. We're sorry you had a disrupted stay, we were extremely busy over the bank holiday weekend especially with the local Big Feastival, & it appears some of our guests were not very respectful to the others on site. We don't have full time staff on site as it's not financially viable to do so but there is a number on the booking acknowledgment & displayed in the clubhouse for our staff who would have visited site if called.

Apologies again for the disturbed stay, we hope you can visit us again in the future & experience our usually peaceful atmosphere.

Great overall

Overall

9 out of 10
Location
10
Value for money
10
Accommodation
No rating
Facilities / Activities
8
Customer service
10
Child friendliness
No rating
Cleanliness
7
Wifi
10
Anonymous

Non-electric grass touring pitch

Liked Excellent location beautiful views and excellent staff

Disliked Sadly I don’t like to be picky but loos were lacking in bin emptying and tlc. Wouldn’t put me off coming back but just could do with a bit more attention more frequently

Showers same really just a more frequent refresh

Also noise from couple of campers on site this weekend until 2am playing music

Recommend to friends Visit again

Step up your game and employ young to keep the place clean

Overall

2 out of 10
Location
7
Value for money
2
Accommodation
No rating
Facilities / Activities
1
Customer service
1
Child friendliness
No rating
Cleanliness
1
Wifi
No rating
Anonymous

Non-electric grass touring pitch

Liked Not a lot after paying £23.00.
The Rugby club is spacious and is close to Stow on The Wold are the only two things I could say that are positive.

Disliked Would not consider the toilet facilities or washing are very clean.
Raw sewage seeping out of the septic tank next to the shower block. One late night party that went on until 5am and nobody around to control movements.
This camping site is runs by amateurs and is so evident by the lack of personnel picking up trash or cleaning the shower and toilet block, yet there must be at least 100 teenagers in the club looking to make some pocket money for the summer.

Recommend to friends Visit again


Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house Cycle hire Evening entertainment Fishing Fitness centre Games room Indoor swimming pool Kids' club On-site restaurant/cafe Outdoor swimming pool Play area TV room Take away Tennis Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available Car parking by pitch/unit Composting toilet Dog park Drying room Food shop Free wifi Ice pack freezing Internet access Launderette Parent & baby washroom Pick-up from public transport Portable toilet Pub toilets Public telephone Shower available Toilet block Washing-up area Wifi

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome Family friendly Motorcycle friendly Rallies welcome Single-sex groups welcome Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided Barbecues allowed Campfires allowed Commercial vehicles allowed Dogs allowed Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful Remote location Spectacular scenery Walkers' paradise Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities Chemical disposal Electric car charging point(s) Gas cylinders available Recycling available Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby Dog walk nearby Nearby farmers' market

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby Fishing nearby Golf nearby Horse riding nearby Indoor pool nearby Mountain biking nearby Outdoor pool nearby Restaurant nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Location

Stow-on-the-Wold Rugby Club

Oddington Road

Stow-on-the-Wold

Cheltenham

Gloucestershire

England

GL54 1JJ

Directions

Timezone

Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)

GPS

51.92842°N
1.68975°W

Route directions

Continue out of Stow-on-the-Wold on the A436 for approximately 1.5 miles and look out for signage for Stow on the Wold Rugby Club. Continue down the drive and past the clubhouse. The site is located in the paddock at the rear of the building.

Nearest transport

Coach
25.5 km Bus Station
25.7 km Garden Road
25.7 km Garden Road
Rail
5.1 km Kingham Rail Station
7.1 km Moreton-in-Marsh Rail Station
9.7 km Shipton Rail Station
Airport
28.1 km London Oxford Airport
32.4 km Gloucestershire Airport

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Sort the kids out first, with rare-breed animal encounters at Cotswold Farm Park, home of Adam Henson of ‘Countryfile’ fame (15 minutes’ drive), raptor flying displays at Cotswold Falconry Centre (20 minutes) and flamingos and penguins at Birdland Park and Gardens (15 minutes). Vintage cars are displayed at Cotswold Motoring Museum in pretty Bourton-on-the-Water (15 minutes), where you can also picnic by the Windrush river. Once the kids are happy, you could go stately pile bagging at National Trust-owned properties including Chastleton House (10 minutes), with tours of sumptuous Jacobean interiors, or the Arts and Crafts mansion at Hidcote (30 minutes), which is surrounded by lavender-filled gardens. And of course, monumental Blenheim Palace (30 minutes) is a day trip in itself, with Capability Brown-designed parkland to wander, fine apartments to explore and all manner of outdoor activities. There are loads of delightful, mellow-stone Cotswold villages to nose around, including Chipping Campden (20 minutes), Broadway and Burford (both 25 minutes). If you feel like you've earned a beer (as you surely have), Hook Norton Brewery (20 minutes) is open for guided tours and craft-beer tastings, while Diddly Squat Farm Shop is a quarter of an hour away.

Must see

Chastleton House 4.9 km

Cotswold Farm Park 10.7 km

Snowshill Manor & Garden (National Trust) 14.3 km

Hidcote Manor Garden (National Trust) 17.7 km

Sudeley Castle Gardens and Exhibition 18.4 km

National Trust

Chastleton House 4.8 km

Snowshill Manor and Garden 14.3 km

Lodge Park and Sherborne Estate 15 km

Hailes Abbey 17.2 km

Hidcote Manor Garden 17.6 km

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Other

Broadwell - The Oddingtons 2.1 km

ADLESTROP PARK AND HOUSE 3.1 km

Adlestrop - Chastleton 3.3 km

Donnington - Longborough 3.3 km

ABBOTSWOOD 3.5 km

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Want to know more about camping in Gloucestershire?

Frequently asked questions

  • Does Stow-on-the-Wold Rugby Club have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Stow-on-the-Wold Rugby Club dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Stow-on-the-Wold Rugby Club? Sort the kids out first, with rare-breed animal encounters at Cotswold Farm Park, home of Adam Henson of ‘Countryfile’ fame (15 minutes’ drive), raptor flying displays at Cotswold Falconry Centre (20 minutes) … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Stow-on-the-Wold Rugby Club?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  Anytime
    Depart by:  noon

    Guests staying on electric pitches go to the right and those on non-electric pitches can set up on the acre field.

    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Stow-on-the-Wold Rugby Club? From €25.47 (for 1 night, 4 people) - prices may change depending on your dates and party.