Book and review 9,381 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Welcombe X

8.8
View prices & book
From £17/€18.99/$30.05/US$22.13/CA$29.35/CHF22.11/SEK197.04/DKK141.53/NOK182.14/ISK2,358/ARS613.70/CLP14,707/PEN72.57/NZ$32.81/ZAR299.71/PLN82.55/R$84.76/CZK492.23/RSD2,240/HUF6,202.52/RUB1,407.72/CN¥149.86 (for 1 night, 4 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Small family-run site in Welcombe, on the Devon/Cornwall border
  • Easily accessible from the A39 Atlantic Highway and next to a bus stop
  • Two miles from beaches and the South West Coast Path

Welcombe X is a small site in the village of Welcombe, on the border of Devon and Cornwall and two miles from the coast.

The site has a peaceful rural atmosphere but is well connected, with direct access from the A39 Atlantic Highway and and a bus stop outside. If you need any groceries, it's a five-minute walk to the village shop.

Facilities at the site include payable wifi and a toilet block with free hot showers.

There's plenty to do along the coast, whether you choose to stretch your legs on the South West Coast Path or take to the waves in the surfing mecca of Bude. You'll also be close to the traditional fishing village of Clovelly and lots of lovely beaches.

Other attractions within easy reach include The Big Sheep theme park and the famous Dartington Crystal factory, where you can see the glassware being made.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Bookings must not be for more than 28 consecutive nights.

Dogs are not allowed in the on-site accommodations.

No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.8

Overall rating based on 27 reviews

 

89% would recommend this site to a friend.

85% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

50% described Welcombe X as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Excellent site with clean facilities,Friendly staff, pitches great 08/07/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Karen F. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Welcombe x is a lovely site, the owners are welcoming and very polite. Lovely views and very good for money.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing at all.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

We booked in for 2 Nights stayed for just one ... 03/07/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Christopher N. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We booked in for 2 Nights stayed for just one ONLY reason my wife has terminal Cancer and was not well !
    The site was Quiet, Friendly and had what we needed large Area with Electric Hook Up Toilets & Shower Very Clean ...

    Disliked: 

    A little noisy from the Main Road but I guess a few nights more we would have got used to it !
    On the whole worth while going ...

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Very good site, great facilities, very clean and tidy good level site 18/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Andy O. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very good site, good facilities

    Disliked: 

    Nothing all good

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

This site is lovely and clean, it is a small ... 03/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom nicola_c45 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This site is lovely and clean, it is a small site, so the facilities match this, and the shower/toilets kept very clean. The owners do food onsite, the kids had chicken nuggets and chips, and there was plenty and very good price. And then the following morning we had bacon rolls and they were an absolute bargain. There is noise from the road, but when you're camping you expect noise, whether it be birds/roads/other campers. The owners haven't hid this, and it does say on their website. Very happy with our stay.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent site very clean very friendly staff and overall great week 03/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ron B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fantastic little site, and made very welcome, our thanks to the site owners who were very good to us.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Cheap for a reason!. 02/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Nicola D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Toilet block clean

    Disliked: 

    Nowhere to dispose of waste water or toilet. Waste water just dumped at the rear of pitch causing loads of flies at during stay. Right next to very busy road. Did quieten down at night.

From the manager...

We’re very sorry too learn you didn’t enjoy your stay with us , we wish you had approached us during your stay as this could have easily been solved as the two facilities you were unable to locate are situated onsite in the following areas , Elsan / chemical toilet emptying point is located at the main entrance and grey waste drain is in the first field on the left.

Just to clarify to we do have grey waste water disposal and Elsan / chemical toilet emptying point onsite, we have photos showing these in our gallery here on pitch up.
( These facilities are required in order to obtain a campsite license, which we do hold )

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Fabulous campsite, very friendly and extremely helpful (nothing to much ... 30/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom jane h. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fabulous campsite, very friendly and extremely helpful (nothing to much trouble) Large pitches and electricity didn't fuse once as in lots of campsites we have stayed previously. The toilets/showers were immaculate, felt like home from home as one of them is a complete bathroom with toilet, shower and basin.
    Breakfast baps were amazing.
    We had a terrible thunder storm one night with a huge amount of rain but the field didn't flood.
    We were given lots of advice on the area and because of this we found amazing beaches, forests, supermarkets etc.
    My husband took his mountain bike and was told of a forest with tracks next to the campsite, he loved it and took our labrador for a run every morning. Cannot comment on Wifi as we wanted a chill out and didn't need it.
    Stunning area of outstanding beauty and the campsite is situated in a great place to visit north and south villages and towns.
    We will definitely be staying here on our next visit to Devon/Cornwall.
    Highly recommend it.
    Jane and Carlos

    Disliked: 

    Cannot fault a single thing.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely site, lovely owners! Everything perfect! 30/05/2018

debi_h685655 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We loved our 4 night stay, the owners are Wonderful and so welcoming! We can’t wait to come again!

    Disliked: 

    Coming home

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Everything! Lovely site owners very friendly 29/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jess W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything! Lovely site owners very friendly

    Disliked: 

    Nothing!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

ok for a few nights, staff were very nice 12/04/2018

john_f284051 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    liked surrounding area

    Disliked: 

    a bit close to main road, quite noisy, toilet block was small with no heating.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

Takeout

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Nearby leisure

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Restaurant nearby

Surf school nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Scouts welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Public transportation nearby

Type

Tiny (1-10 sites)

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Gypsy wagons

Shepherd's huts

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Long Acre, Meddon, Bideford, Devon, England, EX39 6HD
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.9350°N 4.4716°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Bude: Strand Coach Stop — 12.9 kilometres
Westward Ho!: Nelson Rd Coach Stop — 20.1 kilometres
Bideford: Quay Coach Stop — 20.9 kilometres
Train stations
Barnstaple Rail Station — 32.6 kilometres
Chapelton (Devon) Rail Station — 32.7 kilometres
Umberleigh Rail Station — 35.0 kilometres
Ferry ports
Bideford Ferry Landing — 21.0 kilometres
Appledore Ferry Landing — 23.8 kilometres
Instow Ferry Landing — 24.1 kilometres
Airports
Newquay St Mawgan Airport — 66.1 kilometres

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Attractions and activities nearby include:

– Welcombe Mouth beach: 2 miles

– South West Coast Path: 2 miles

– Clovelly (fishing village and traditional harbour): 7 miles

– The Gnome Reserve and Wild Flower Garden: 8 miles

– The Milky Way adventure park: 10 miles

– Holsworthy Golf Club: 14 miles

– The Big Sheep amusement park: 15 miles

– Dartington Crystal: 20 miles.

Must see

  • RHS Garden Rosemoor (23.5 kilometres)
  • Tintagel Castle (35.9 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Lundy (28.8 kilometres)
  • Lawrence House (33.9 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart:  noon
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart:  10 a.m.

Welcombe X cancellation policy

Balance refunds: no penalties

Bookings cannot be amended within 1 day(s) of arrival.

Modifications are subject to a <strong>£10.00</strong> ($17.85) fee.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Visa
MasterCard
Maestro
PayPal
Cash
Cheque
Bank transfer

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Welcombe X


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 1 day(s) of arrival.

General
Bookings must not be for more than 28 consecutive nights.

Dogs
Dogs are not allowed in the on-site accommodations.
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.

Dogs
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.

Changes to your holiday
Modifications are subject to a £10.00 ($17.85) fee.

Occupancy
No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Vehicles
Only one car is to be parked at the site. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Safety
Open fires are prohibited.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and trunks must be closed quietly.

Reception
Reception is open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. between 01/01 and 31/12.

Occupancy
Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

General
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Dogs
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Sites
Units should not be left unoccupied unless previously agreed with the management. Please speak to reception when the need arises, a fee may be charged for unsupervised units.

Visitors
Visitors must leave the premises by 10 p.m..
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.

Sites
You must follow management instructions when setting up your tent/rig and related equipment.

Hired accommodation
Your unit must be left clean and tidy, a fine of £50.00 ($88.82) will be charged for unclean units upon departure.

Close