Crows Nest Caravan Park
View prices & book











/-0.3355287460327645,54.23154814489289,12,0,0/376x277@2x)
- Dog-friendly park five miles from Scarborough and 2.5 from Filey
- Award-winning amenities block, family bathroom and launderette
- Indoor heated pool, lounge bar, family bar, play area and supermarket
Campground type
Tourist board rating
- The campground/park does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dog Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).
- Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
- No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
- All units: access to the swimming pool is not included in the rate and is charged GBP3.00 ($6.23) per person per session.
- The grocery shop is open between 29/03 and 28/09.
- The indoor swimming pool is open between 29/03 and 28/09.
- At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.
- Touring caravan: the maximum size allowed is 26ft. Group bookings of 4 or more people (excluding couples) where over 50% of the guests are same sex are not permitted via Pitchup.com. The takeaway is open daily during high season. Pup tents are only suitable for up to children aged 14 or younger. Trailer tents, folding campers (or similar) require a grass tent pitch. They will not be allowed access to a caravan pitch.
Languages spoken
English
Open from Sat, 1 Mar to
This site is a member of Crows Nest Holidays group.

Site types & availability
Unpowered grass tent or motorhome site
10 people maximum
Ground type: Grass
Site size: Unlimited
Arrival daysFrom GBP 60 (GBP 60)
View prices & bookLower area fully-serviced gravel caravan site (super)
10 people maximum
Ground type: Gravel
Site size: Max 3m width × 8.5m depth (25.5m²)
Arrival daysFrom GBP 70 (GBP 70)
View prices & bookUnpowered grass tent or motorhome site (overflow)
10 people maximum
Ground type: Grass
Site size: Unlimited
Arrival daysFrom GBP 70 (GBP 70)
View prices & bookUpper area fully-serviced gravel caravan site (super)
10 people maximum
Ground type: Gravel
Site size: Max 3m width × 8.5m depth (25.5m²)
Arrival daysFrom GBP 76 (GBP 76)
View prices & bookEconomy 2 bedroom static caravan (pet friendly)
6 people maximum 2 bedrooms
Dimensions: 32ft width × 12ft length
Arrival daysFrom GBP 202 (GBP 202)
View prices & bookDeluxe 2 bedroom static caravan (pet friendly)
6 people maximum 2 bedrooms
Dimensions: 32ft width × 12ft length
Arrival daysFrom GBP 218 (GBP 218)
View prices & bookDeluxe 3 bedroom static caravan (pet friendly)
8 people maximum 3 bedrooms
Dimensions: 35ft width × 12ft length
Arrival daysFrom GBP 230 (GBP 230)
View prices & bookSuperior 2 bedroom static caravan (pet friendly)
6 people maximum 2 bedrooms
Dimensions: 32ft width × 12ft length
Arrival daysFrom GBP 234 (GBP 234)
View prices & book
Reviews
86% would recommend this campground to a friend
83% would stay here again
What customers say
A ripper spot with awesome sea views & coast path access. Clean loos, showers & pool generally get a thumbs up. Great tucker from the chippy & shop. Kids love the playground & shows. Friendly vibe & handy for exploring, but can get a bit hectic & noisy during peak season.
Summary AI-generated from Pitchup.com customer reviews




















Staff happy to accommodate a pitch…
Unpowered grass tent or motorhome site (overflow)
Liked Staff happy to accommodate a pitch request. The site is in an amazing location, so be prepared for it to be very busy. Everything you need is on the site, a great place to keep everyone entertained.
Disliked I didn’t realise it was such a large field with so many pitches. It’s great for those looking for a bustling holiday but we prefer quiet. Luckily they were very happy to let us pitch up away from all the fun. Also as so many people it was hard for the cleaning team to keep on top of the showers and toilets.
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you for your review. We’re glad the team were able to accommodate your pitch request and that you enjoyed the location and facilities. Bank Holiday is our busiest time of year, which does make the park feel lively, but we’re pleased you were able to find a quieter spot to enjoy your stay.
Grate first camp at crows nest
Unpowered grass tent or motorhome site (overflow)
Liked Lots of room on the overflow. Great little shops and bar. Really enjoyed our stay.
Disliked Too many people let in the pool and once. Need more toilets/showers.
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you Nicola for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your first camping trip with us and made the most of the facilities. The pool can be very popular at peak times, and the overflow field is only used on our busiest weekends, which can make the facilities feel busier. We’re pleased you still had a great stay.
Disappointing stay, can't see us returning
Unpowered grass tent or motorhome site (overflow)
Liked The area was ideal as it was a short journey to Scarborough. Supermarket on site was reasonably priced and staff were friendly.
Disliked Stayed two nights for bank holiday weekend from the Saturday. Straight away you could see the overflow was overcrowded. There was 8-10 porta-loos which were absolutely disgusting. Often no toilet roll, left in a mess, the smell was over bearing, only seen them cleaned once a day. By evening they were that bad you couldn't use them.
Bar was rowdy and very busy, drinks were limited. Fish and chips shop ran out of food by 7 we were told to go back at 8.30.
The site was noisy late at night, especially Sunday night with loud music blasting. Shouting from other parties. The noise from the main road was also very loud (even though we weren't anywhere near the sides of the site)
Kids didn't get a chance to go to the pool as it was full .. Too many people in at once it was hectic.
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you Toni for your review. Bank Holiday is our busiest weekend of the year and the overflow field is used to accommodate demand. The toilets are cleaned multiple times per day, though of course they can be left untidy in between by users. The pool was particularly busy on the Sunday morning and a one-in, one-out system was in place to ensure safety, but it remained open throughout. Our fish and chip shop cooks food fresh to order, which can mean waiting times, but it did not run out of food at any time. We’re pleased you found the shop reasonably priced and staff friendly.
The stay was nice and good…
Unpowered grass tent or motorhome site (overflow)
Liked The stay was nice and good entertainment on a night
Clean facility’s
Disliked Bit of a treck to the shower block
Swimming pool was over crowded and was no limit on how many was going in and the amount of chlorine in the water was stinging your eyes
Recommend to friends Visit again
Fab stay with clean facilities and family feel!
Unpowered grass tent or motorhome site (overflow)
Liked We loved the pool and how well stocked the on site shop was! The bar was also fab for an evening drink with the biggest variety of crisps I think we have ever seen!
Disliked The porta-loos were as clean as they could be but didn’t have any opportunity to wash hands. The foot pumps didn’t generally work either. They were always stocked up with toilet roll which was great!
Recommend to friends Visit again
Had a fabulous 2 nights stay. Busy and very friendly.
Unpowered grass tent or motorhome site (overflow)
Liked On site entertainment to suit everyone's needs which is clearly timetabled. Huge site with lots of spaces to pitch up. ( We were non hook up). It has a small shop on site which caters for almost everything you've forgotten to pack. Situated between bays you can take a lovely coastal stroll to Cayton Bay, Filey or Scarborough but if you don't want to walk or drive there's a reliable bus service too . It has an excellent Fish and Chip shop..the best I've had in absolute ages.
Disliked Although there are plenty of porta loos they can get into abit of a state. However this is not down to lack of maintenance but guests inabilaties to toilet properly.
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you Sarah for your lovely review. We’re delighted you enjoyed the entertainment, facilities and coastal walks, and that you rated our fish and chips so highly. The portaloos are cleaned regularly, though as you say it does depend on how they are left by other guests. We’re so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
We do love the site and will be back
Unpowered grass tent or motorhome site (overflow)
Liked We’ve loved this site returning for a second time the views are amazing and it’s location ideal for visiting both Scarborough and Filey.
Disliked Having come on a bank holiday weekend it was extremely busy and we felt it needed more toilet and shower facilities for the number of people. We were in the overflow tent field and the portaloos weren’t the best.
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you Jane for your review and for returning to stay with us. We’re delighted you love the views and location. Bank Holiday weekends are our busiest time, which is why the overflow field is used, but we’re glad this hasn’t stopped you planning to return again.
Would consider staying again in the future.
Unpowered grass tent or motorhome site (overflow)
Liked Good Facilities to be used on the proper site. Park was decent for children, the dog park isn't very big but its enough (we have two labs), excellent location to scabrough/filey. The on site shop is fantastic and normally priced which was surprising.
Disliked Toilets for overflow are portaloos and not the best. The swimming pool is good enough but if remotely sensitive to chlorine I'd advise not to go. Walk from overflow to main site is a quite a distance for someone who isn't as mobile.
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you Aaron for your review. We’re pleased you enjoyed the facilities, shop and location, and that your children and dogs made the most of the parks. The overflow field is only used at the busiest times and does mean a longer walk to the main facilities, but we’re glad you still had an enjoyable stay.
Very busy and pretty noisy but good facilities and clean toilets!
Unpowered grass tent or motorhome site (overflow)
Liked The facilities are good, having a shop on site is helpful and the showers were pretty good. Really organised and easy check in.
Disliked Way too busy, hardly any room to pitch tent specially if you want to be best friends, was very noisy on an evening.
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you Hayley for your review. We’re glad you found the facilities, showers and check-in helpful. The overflow field is only used at peak times, and August Bank Holiday is the busiest weekend of the year when the park is full at maximum capacity. We’re pleased you still enjoyed your stay.
Location…
Unpowered grass tent or motorhome site (overflow)
Liked Location
Disliked Over sold on the pitches. After going into the reception we then drove around the over flow area to find no spaces whatsoever. A very disappointing experience and after travelling 2 hours there so see an over crowded field was not our idea of our holiday weekend. I totally understand that it’s bank holiday weekend in the summer but they need to stop selling when full. They classed that as 75% full with more people arriving the next day! NO THANK YOU! Such a shame as it could have been lovely and they could have had returning custom from us.
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you for sharing your feedback. When you arrived there was plenty of space available, and many guests who checked in after you had no issues finding a pitch. You chose to camp in the overflow field during the busiest bank holiday of the year - the very fact it is called an overflow field should have been a clear hint that the park would be busy. Being at capacity is not the same as being oversold, it simply means the park is full. This is not the right time to camp if you are looking for extra space and quiet. We are not concerned about losing return custom from guests who should not be booking a commercial coastal park in the first place.
Features
Dogs allowed
Leisure on site
Bar or club house Cycle hire Evening entertainment Fishing Fitness centre Games room Indoor swimming pool Kids' club On-site restaurant/cafe Outdoor swimming pool Play area TV room Take away Tennis WatersportsAmenities on site
Bath available Car parking by site/unit Composting toilet Dog park Drying room Food shop Free wifi Ice pack freezing Internet access Laundry Local produce Parent & baby washroom Pick-up from public transport Portable toilet Pub toilets Public telephone Shower available Toilet block Washing-up area WifiGroups welcome
D. of E. welcome Family friendly Motorcycle friendly Single-sex groups welcome Student groups welcomeRules
Barbecue provided Barbecues allowed Campfires allowed Commercial vehicles allowed Dogs allowed Dogs allowed all yearThemes
Spectacular scenery Walkers' paradiseUtilities
Charging facilities Dump point Electric car charging point(s) Gas cylinders available Recycling available Renewable energyNearby amenities
Bar nearby Convenience store nearby Dog walk nearby Public transport nearbyType
Very large (over 200 sites)Nearby leisure
Fishing nearby Golf nearby Horse riding nearby Indoor pool nearby Restaurant nearby Surf school nearby Watersports nearbyTouring and motorhomes
Drainage hook-up points for caravans Motorhome service point Water hook-up points for caravansLocation
Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire
England
YO14 9PS
Timezone
Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)
GPS
54.23155°N
0.33553°W
Nearest transport
Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.
Local attractions
Water quality at nearby bathing waters
Name | Distance | Type | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 |
---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Cayton Bay | 2.3 km | Sea | N/A | Excellent | Excellent | Excellent |
Filey | 4.2 km | Sea | N/A | Good | Good | Good |
Scarborough South Bay | 6.8 km | Sea | Poor | Poor | Poor | Poor |
Scarborough North Bay | 8.3 km | Sea | N/A | Excellent | Good | Good |
Reighton | 8.9 km | Sea | N/A | Excellent | Good | Good |
Data source: European Environment Agency
Must see
Burton Agnes Hall 19.8 km
Dalby Forest Visitor Centre 23.3 km
North Yorkshire Moors Railway 28.8 km
Flamingo Land Theme Park and Zoo 30.9 km
Whitby Abbey 33.6 km
National Trust
Yorkshire Coast 21.4 km
Bridestones, Crosscliff and Blakey Topping 21.4 km
Nunnington Hall 41.7 km
Cycle routes
Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.
Other
Cleveland Way, Stage 1 - Filey to Scarborough 3.7 km
VALLEY GARDENS & SOUTH CLIFF GARDENS 6 km
PEASHOLM PARK 8.1 km
Scarborough - Cloughton - Scalby - Peasholme Park 8.2 km
Bonhomme Richard 8.5 km
Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.
Want to know more about camping in North Yorkshire?
Frequently asked questions
- Does Crows Nest Caravan Park have a swimming pool? Yes View all features
- Is Crows Nest Caravan Park dog friendly? Yes View all features
- What attractions are near Crows Nest Caravan Park? Leave the car behind: buses running between Scarborough and Bridlington pick up from the end of the Crows Nest Caravan Park drive and discount day tickets are available to keep more money … Read more
- When can I check in and check out of Crows Nest Caravan Park?
Camping and caravan Arrive: noon – 6 p.m. Depart by: noon On-site accommodation Arrive: 2 p.m. – 6 p.m. Depart by: 10 a.m. - How much does it cost to stay at Crows Nest Caravan Park? From $124.45 (for 2 nights, 4 people) - prices may change depending on your dates and party.