Powered concrete and grass caravan site
From £35 (£35)
Additional units require additional pitches - quick book via 'Make another booking like this' after making your booking.
Pitch size
Max 10m width × 8m depth (80m²)
Ground type
Concrete and grass
Twin-axle vehicles not accepted
Suitable for
Caravan, Campervan, Motorhome
Features
Extras
Firepit (1 max) | £5 (£5) per night | |
Log basket (max unlimited) | £5 (£5) per item |
You will be able to choose extras on the booking page.
Availability
Your booking From £35 (£35) | |
Based on 1 night, 6 people | |
2 adults |
Choose your dates and party size to see pricing and availability.
Brickyard Farm
View prices & book







/-2.215585497375485,51.01392549770368,12,0,0/376x277@2x)
Reviews
0% would recommend this site to a friend
0% would stay here again
Not suitable for families
Powered concrete and grass caravan site
Liked Great views and very private campsite. The saving grace for us was that were the only party in the field and so could choose our pitch
Disliked The thistles! The whole field is full of thistles. With 3 young children (2 crawling) this was a real problem. Even with shoes on the thistles got in our feet. The website states even meadow suitable for families however this is not the case. There are also a lot of crevices in the field which mean the ground was very uneven and a few of us tripped and rolled our ankles on these.
The gate with coded entry is set too far forward which means in the narrow lane outside campsite you have to stop to open gate, leaving your camper/caravan in the lane which is only wide enough for one vehicle and would be dangerous should a car come the other way. Easily rectified by moving the gate back
No facilities at all other than an Elsan point and very small bin although we were aware of this at time of booking.
Recommend to friends Visit again
Completely unable to pitch up on grass as covered in thistles
Powered concrete and grass caravan site
Liked Not a lot
Disliked After saying when booking that we had 3 young children, 2 of them non walking babies and the other a football mad 6 year old and asking if we could go on the grass together as a group we arrived last Friday and were so shocked as there was absolutely no way we could pitch up on the grass as the whole campsite was completely covered in thistles!!
We had travelled for over 4 hours after being stuck in bank holiday traffic and the 2 babies (15 months old) were hot, grumpy and hungry so the first thing we needed to do was feed them, change their nappies and let them crawl about but that was impossible with all the thistles. You told us there were a few thistles on the hard standing edges and to bring a ground sheet for the babies which isn’t practical at all but as I said we didn’t want the gravel pitches.
We were all so disappointed and didn’t know what to do as we had already paid nearly £400 to camp and knew on a bank holiday weekend we would never get into another campsite so we looked around and found an area by the Bell tent that didn’t have as many thistles but the ground was so uneven with holes everywhere it was dangerous but we didn’t have any choice but to set up there as it was better than leaving. This was a family group, myself, 3 daughters, son in law and 3 grandsons who hadn’t met up for a while so we were really looking forward to spending quality time together playing football and rounders and seeing the babies crawling around on the grass.
It was ruined by you not telling us how bad the site was and not even having the decency to come and see us to check things were ok! Felix was very polite and brought us wood over but nobody came on our last night so we never had any wood for the fire pit.
We will be sending a complaint to pitch up too as on their website the ground is listed as a ‘meadow’ which is ridiculous!!
I would like a reply to this complaint within a few days as I feel very strongly that we should all receive some sort of refund. I will await your reply
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: We are very sorry you are so disappointed with your stay.
You booked a hand-standing pitch with grass along side.
On arrival you to choose not to stay in the flat area we have set up for caravans but further down the hill, on a slope.
Due to unusually dry weather all summer, no grass or meadow has grown, but the thistles have, which was explained in communications with your group before your arrival.
You requested fire wood two nights of your stay which we delivered, but no fire wood was requested for the final night.
We tried to be accommodating by allowing you to stay in whichever area of the field you choose, away from the allocated caravan space. We checked for the first three days that everything was OK, you did not mention any of your concerns during your stay.
I am sorry you misunderstood, but this year we are only offering caravan/campervan camping and not general field camping.
Features
Dogs allowed
Campfires allowed
Leisure on site
Bar or club house Cycle hire Evening entertainment Fishing Fitness centre Games room Indoor swimming pool Kids' club On-site restaurant/cafe Outdoor swimming pool Play area TV room Take away Tennis WatersportsAmenities on site
Bath available Composting toilet Dog park Drying room Food shop Free wifi Ice pack freezing Internet access Laundry Parent & baby washroom Pick-up from public transport Portable toilet Pub toilets Public telephone Shower available Toilet block Washing-up area WifiGroups welcome
Family friendly Motorcycle friendly Single-sex groups welcome Student groups welcomeRules
Barbecue provided Barbecues allowed Campfires allowed Commercial vehicles allowed Dogs allowed Dogs allowed all yearThemes
Wild campingUtilities
Charging facilities Dump point Electric car charging point(s) Gas cylinders available Recycling available Renewable energyNearby amenities
Bar nearby Convenience store nearby Dog walk nearby Public transport nearbyType
Tiny (1-10 sites)Accessibility
Uneven terrain; gravel or loose mudNearby leisure
Horse riding nearby Indoor pool nearby Outdoor pool nearby Restaurant nearby Tennis nearbyLocation
Brickyard Farm
Calves Lane
Shaftesbury
Dorset
England
SP7 8GU
Timezone
Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)
GPS
51.01393°N
2.21559°W
Nearest transport
Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.
Local attractions
Water quality at nearby bathing waters
Name | Distance | Type | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 |
---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Poole Harbour Rockley Sands | 35 km | Estuary | N/A | Excellent | Excellent | Excellent |
Poole Harbour Lake | 35.9 km | Estuary | N/A | Excellent | Excellent | Excellent |
Poole Branksome Chine | 40.4 km | Sea | N/A | Excellent | Excellent | Excellent |
Bournemouth Alum Chine | 40.5 km | Sea | N/A | Excellent | Excellent | Excellent |
Poole Canford Cliffs Chine | 40.5 km | Sea | N/A | Excellent | Excellent | Excellent |
Data source: European Environment Agency
Must see
Stourhead House and Garden 12.7 km
Longleat 19.7 km
Haynes International Motor Museum 24.2 km
Kingston Lacy House and Gardens 25.7 km
Wilton House 26.1 km
National Trust
Stourhead 12.5 km
Philipps House and Dinton Park 17.8 km
Little Clarendon 18.1 km
White Mill 25.6 km
Kingston Lacy 26 km
Cycle routes
Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.
Other
Shaftesbury – Kingsettle Wood – Motcombe - Shaftesbury 1.6 km
Duncliffe Wood 3.6 km
Todber - Fifehead - Stour Provost - Todber 6.5 km
The Donheads - Wincombe - Gutch Common - Barkers Hill 6.8 km
Donhead St Andrew and the Wardour Castles 6.8 km
Local events
- Dorset County Show (Saturday, 6 September 2025 – Saturday, 6 September 2025)
Dorchester, England 35.6 km
Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.
Want to know more about camping in Dorset?
Frequently asked questions
- Does Brickyard Farm have a swimming pool? No View all features
- Is Brickyard Farm dog friendly? Yes View all features
- What attractions are near Brickyard Farm? Local attractions and activities include: - Shaftesbury: 20 minutes’ walk/five minutes’ drive - Duncliff Woods (walking): 10 minutes - Compton Abbas Airfield: 15 minutes - Stourhead (gardens): 20 minutes - Old Wardour … Read more
- When can I check in and check out of Brickyard Farm?
Camping and caravan Arrive: noon – 9 p.m. Depart by: 11:30 a.m. Please call 01747 440808 on arrival.
Read more - How much does it cost to stay at Brickyard Farm? From $80.20 (for 1 night, 6 people) - prices may change depending on your dates and party.