Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Woodbatch Camping and Glamping

9.5
View prices & book
From £24/€28.39/A$41.67/US$28.92/CA$37.37/CHF27.48/SEK300.53/DKK211.17/NOK280.64/ISK3,989/ARS3,920.07/CLP25,962/PEN111.15/NZ$46.06/ZAR481.79/PLN133.64/R$149.43/CZK696.98/RSD3,331/HUF11,458.06/RUB1,749.86/CN¥196.13 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Woodbatch Camping and Glamping: View from campsite

General

  • Rural Shropshire Hills escape five minutes from Bishop's Castle
  • Walking, horse riding and mountain biking all nearby
  • Luxury shower block with hairdryers; campers' kitchen; firebowls

Are you up for a countryside stay in a wildlife haven? How about stargazing, mountain biking or horse riding, all in the splendid scenery of the Shropshire Hills? Make your way for all this and more to the scenic site of Woodbatch Camping and Glamping.

There are quite a few little touches on this small family-run farm to make stays comfy and easy, from the luxury shower and toilet block with hairdryers, to the campers' kitchen with hot water, fridge freezer, kettle, microwave and toaster, to the most excellent firebowls for guests' use, upcycled from old washing machine drums. And everything's free to use, because Woodbatch Camping and Glamping is just that type of site...

Middlebatch is a 17th-century working farm in a wildlife, birdwatching and walking haven in the Shropshire Hills, five minutes from the friendly market town of Bishop's Castle, near Offa's Dyke Path, and in a prime and peaceful locale for hiking, mountain biking and horse riding. There's no light pollution in these parts, so the area is a hit with stargazers too.

Run expertly by Mary, the site also has a large disabled-friendly and family shower room as well as recycling facilities and a full breakfast takeaway menu.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Your dog must be tattooed or microchipped.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.5

Overall rating based on 26 reviews

 

92% would recommend this site to a friend.

92% would stay here again.

  100% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

It's a lovely, peaceful campsite on a working farm. Our …08/18/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It's a lovely, peaceful campsite on a working farm. Our son had a lovely time and could observe animals - hens, sheeps, cows and horses, and of course farm machines.
    Facilities were nice and clean, big thumb up for a bigger shower room! The camping kitchen is a lovely idea, I have never had a toast while camping before. The camping tables for each pitch mean that you don't have to bring your own table and chairs!
    Very quiet in the evening, which is lovely and peaceful (but that depends on people not campsite itself).

    Disliked: 

    The smell of manure didn't bother me too much, I understand we were on a working farm and it doesn't happen every day.
    Level pitches only on top and bottom of the site, but this also means that you're not surrounded by tents from each side.
    A smaller gate for pedestrians would be good too.

From the manager...

Thanks so much for writing this review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
There was a manure smell for a short time when you were here as we were spreading it on the fields as organic fertilizer to make the grass grow for our sheep.
We only have pitches top & bottom so the middle is free so everyone gets a good view & lots of space.
Many thanks Mary

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Beautiful, quiet campsite. Very relaxing and picnic benches and firepits …08/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLydie M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful, quiet campsite. Very relaxing and picnic benches and firepits were a nice touch.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks so much for writing this review .
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us & enjoyed using our facilities.
Many thanks Again Mary

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Fantastic site with brilliant clean facilities.07/31/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJennifer C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fantastic site, loads of space for the children to explore. Pitches are well spaced and wasn’t crowded even for summer holidays. Camping kitchen and picnic bench was a huge bonus. A lovely rural site with amazing views for a quiet and relaxing stay. We will be returning.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thanks so much for this lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Glad the children had a nice time too.
We added the picnic tables this year & its lovely to see everyone making full use of them.
Looking forward to seeing you all again sometime.
Many thanks again Mary

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Fabulous place07/12/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMariusz M.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely owners and quite place with nice clean toilets and showers. Incredible views, fire pits and picnic benches. Very good location.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks so much for this lovely review .
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us & enjoyed using our facilities.
We love the photos.
Many thanks Mary

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Kettle for quick cuppa was amazing!07/04/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCerynne B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Excellent views, super facilities

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks so much for writing this review & hope to see you again sometime.
Mary

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely peaceful site, friendly and helpful owners. we'll be going back07/02/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPhilip P.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice clean unisex toilets and showers. Campers kitchen with fridges, freezers etc. made good use of the kettle.
    Amazing rural views and in a Dark Skies Area. Large pitches with Fire pits and Picnic Benches which were great for meal times.
    Farmers breakfast was amazing but you need to be hungry, it's big.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks so much for writing this lovely review.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our breakfasts are very popular you wont need lunch if you have one.
We can always do a half sized one for smaller appetites just ask when booking.
Many thanks mary

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent facilities good location very quiet incredible views from pitch. …06/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNicola B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Excellent facilities good location very quiet incredible views from pitch. Loved the fact that every pitch had a picnic table and fire pit.

    Disliked: 

    Only complaint was pitch was on an incline

From the manager...

Hi, thanks for writing this review.
We are glad you loved the views etc.
Yes your pitch was on a slope as you did not pitch on the top or bottom of the field as suggested.
As you had the whole field to yourself this surprised us somewhat as we have gone to a lot of time & expense leveling the top & bottom of our field.
You chose to pitch almost right outside the shower block on the slope.
Mary

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Fantastic location, clean facilities, cheerful and helpful owners.05/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site, the owners, the views and the facilities - and fellow campers (glampers) - were wonderful! The owners were prepared to let me check in late if that became necessary (it was not, and so glad - the views in the falling dark were magical!) and the site is a gem. Yes, so there is a slope, but if you want the drama of valleys you have to box clever and pitch your tent sensibly, with a bit of padding to atone for inclines. Even with low cloud (one morning) this is a special place at the end of a narrow lane that takes you deep into the hidden depths of Shropshire.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to declare.

From the manager...

Hi, thanks for writing this lovely review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are so lucky to have such amazing dark sky views shooting stars & milky way can often be seen.
If you pitch on the top & very bottom of the field the pitches are nice & flat.
Many thanks Mary

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Worth a visit.05/03/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLinda W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly staff. Lovely rural views. Lovely clean toilets and showers.

    Disliked: 

    Disappointed with not having hot water in shower. Just a slight slope.

From the manager...

Hi, thanks for writing this review, glad you enjoyed the views and our lovely clean facilities
Regarding hot water there was plenty as always, the KNOB WAS TURNED TO COLD.
Our showers although push button you can alter the temperature to suit.
Had you just popped over i would have spotted it IMMEDIATLY & you would have had a lovely warm shower.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

You won't be disappointed. Just go.09/17/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPhil L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Remote, peaceful site in rural Shropshire. Fabulous setting with a spotlessly clean, warm amenities block. Great facilities and boiling hot water for washing up and a welcome shower after a day exploring. Dark skies, peace and quiet, firepits supplied. Fantastic site.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Deep cleaning of accommodation units between guests

We're Good To Go (VisitBritain accreditation)

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Luxury

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Communal fridge

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Small (11-25 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Tennis nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Woodbatch Road, Bishops Castle, Shropshire, England, SY9 5JT
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 52.4874°N 3.0362°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Nag`s Head Hotel — 14.9 kilometres
Nag`s Head Hotel — 14.9 kilometres
Bus Station — 19.3 kilometres
Train stations
Broome Rail Station — 12.5 kilometres
Hopton Heath Rail Station — 13.6 kilometres
Craven Arms Rail Station — 14.4 kilometres
Ferry ports
Porth Penrhyn Ferry Landing — 73.1 kilometres
Airports
Birmingham International Airport Terminal 2 — 88.7 kilometres

Directions


From Shrewsbury and the A5, take the A488 for 22 miles until you reach Bishop's Castle. At the second town sign, turn right, go past the school and just after passing the church, keep left onto Kerry Lane. Continue for about 250 yards, just past a high breeze block wall, then turn left onto Woodbatch Road. Follow the road round to the right and onto a single track road, and follow the brown signs to the farm, around 1.5 miles up the road.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

This is such an excellent area for all sorts of outdoor activities, and the views and scenery are pretty spectacular too…

Woodbatch Camping and Glamping is surrounded by an extensive network of footpaths and bridleways to wander and canter, and is close to Kerry Ridgeway, Offa's Dyke, the Jack Mytton Way, the B.C. Ring and the Long Mynd. The Shropshire Way and the Blue Remembered Hills bridleways pass through the farmyard.

Bishop's Castle, dating back to the eighth century and King Offa, is five minutes' drive or about 50 minutes' walk away: there's quite a bit to find out about local history in this locale and along Offa's Dyke, and these days the town has a busy market, large cattle and sheep market, and little shops along the high street selling local produce.

Church Stretton, Ludlow and Shrewsbury are all within easy reach, as are quite a few castles and quite a lot more splendid scenery. You could also take a look at Acton Scott Victorian Farm, Blists Hill Victorian Town, the hill of Stiperstones and the aircraft and exhibitions of the RAF base at Cosford.

Must see

  • Stokesay Castle (15.3 kilometres)
  • Powis Castle & Garden (19.9 kilometres)
  • Ludlow Castle (25.2 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Carding Mill Valley and the Shropshire Hills (15.7 kilometres)
  • Wilderhope Manor (25.1 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  4 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  noon
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  4 p.m. –  9:30 p.m.
Depart by:  noon

Woodbatch Camping and Glamping cancellation policy

No refunds within 12 weeks of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Woodbatch Camping and Glamping will debit the full amount from your card immediately. This includes a 15% non-refundable deposit.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Visa
MasterCard
Maestro
Cash
Discover
Diners Club

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Woodbatch Camping and Glamping have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Woodbatch Camping and Glamping dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Woodbatch Camping and Glamping? This is such an excellent area for all sorts of outdoor activities, and the views and scenery are pretty spectacular too… Woodbatch Camping and Glamping is surrounded by an extensive network of … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Woodbatch Camping and Glamping?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  4 p.m. –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  noon
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  4 p.m. –  9:30 p.m.
    Depart by:  noon
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Woodbatch Camping and Glamping? From €28.39 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact middle-woodbatch-farm


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission

Safety

General

Dogs

Occupancy

Arrivals and departures

Vehicles

Safety

General

Dogs

Admission

Pitches

Visitors

Pitches

Dogs

Close