8

Overall rating based on 145 reviews

 

79% would recommend this park to a friend.

74% would stay here again.

  60% described as Budget/backpacker ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Pitch toilets cafe09/07/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomElizabeth W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU asphalt trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pitch toilets cafe

    Disliked: 

    Difficult to follow directions

From the manager...

Hi Elizabeth

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay

Kind Regards

Oakwood Farm

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

The parks that were only a short drive away from …08/30/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDenise l.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU asphalt trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The parks that were only a short drive away from the park .

    Disliked: 

    The noise of traffic from the nearby roads and motoway was bad, the pathway into the site was appauling, big massive pot holes that could easily have been filled in . Nowhere for the kids to burn off energy as advertised in the information about the site. There was actually a crash at the entrance the day we arrived , and a further one at the back road adjacent to the back of our van at 3 o'clock in the morning, could have been very nasty if he'd have gone through the campsite fence instead of the field opposite. (Not the campsites fault but the road is still to near to the site) all in all not worth 25 pound a night.

From the manager...

Dear Visitor

Thank you for your review, as quite rightly said we cant control someone driving poorly on a country lane at the rear of the campsite and in the 7 years i have been here that is the first that i have been aware of. i am also not aware of any crashes at our entrance so that is news to me and my office faces the entrance.
The potholes which you describe on the site as you turn into the touring park from the former farm yard were due to be concreted this year in time for easter, however, Covid has forced all programs (across the country not just here ) to be put back 6 months so this 30 foot portion of track around the site is due to be done in November of this year, but we do accept that it could be better and in fact will be.
We are unable to guarantee your children burning off energy and i am not aware of us advertising that, if you can point that bit out to me please as i would like to remove it, as i feel the responsibility for entertaining the children should remain with the parents.

we trust you had a good onward journey

Kind Regards

Peter

Overall
4
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent site loved our stay there08/30/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomShane B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU asphalt RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely friendly place

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay

Kind Regards

Peter

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Adequate for an overnight stay. Easy access off main route …08/29/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU asphalt RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Adequate for an overnight stay. Easy access off main route to Wales. Close to Chester, with bus stop outside site. Arrived late but was guided to pitch over telephone with use of CCTV cameras.

    Disliked: 

    Shower asked you to leave as found.But found them to be dirty, with dirty water in bucket and filthy floor, that had not been cleaned for a while.

From the manager...

Hi
Thank you for your review, we are a little disappointed as we pride ourselves on good clean facilities, as i am sure you are aware we clean them every two hours
BUT
when the campsite is muddy as it was during your extremely wet stay. it is almost impossible for me to ensure that the person before you has left the shower clean and UNREALISTIC for me to change the mop bucket water after each and every use by a camper especially during a wet/ muddy time !!!

(THERE IS HOWEVER A TAP AND DRAIN ADJACENT WHICH COULD BE USED BY ANY INDIVIDUAL IN THE INTERIM TO CHANGE THE WATER IN THE BUCKET IF THEY WERE MINDED TO DO SO)

That being said, we hope you had a pleasant onward journey

Kind Regards

Peter
(Owner)

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Good site with clean facilities.08/29/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMichelle H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    All pitches had water and electric hookup. All facilities were clean and functional. Good customer service and speedy responses to questions. The on site cafe was amazing.

    Disliked: 

    A bit of road noise.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay

Kind Regards

Peter

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Small and quiet, big pitch size08/28/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Small and quiet, big pitch size

    Disliked: 

    Toilets and sinks area were dirty and smelly, drains need looking at and sinks had to be cleaned before and and after washing dishes due to other campers leaving them dirty, road leading to pitches still needs to be fixed this big holes are dangerous

From the manager...

Hi
Thank you for your review, we are a little disappointed as we pride ourselves on good clean facilities, as i am sure you are aware we clean them every two hours
BUT
when the campsite is muddy as it was during your extremely wet stay. it is almost impossible for me to ensure that the person before you has left the shower clean and UNREALISTIC for me to change the mop bucket water after each and every use by a camper especially during a wet/ muddy time !!!

Also,
we leave signage up and hope people leave the sinks as they would expect to find them and as we clean them approximately every 2 hours during the day, we cannot account for a camper immediately before you not leaving the area suitable for use by the next camper.

Kind Regards

Peter

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
Default avatar

Chester zoo08/26/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMarie C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU asphalt trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Chester zoo

    Disliked: 

    Facilities were unclean/dirty.
    Very noisy main road.

From the manager...

Dear Guest,
we are sorry you found our facilities not up to standard, we can assure you the shower/toilet block is thoroughly cleaned daily and checked hourly through our busiest times, the weather does have a significant impact on how clean the floors can be and we have had some unseasonal rainfall therefore mud and wet does get walked into the communal areas all day long, at this time we also provide cleaning sprays and blue roll along with signage asking guests to clean round after they they have used the facilities, our welcome letter/email also asks guests to leave the facilities as they would wish to find them and although the majority of guests do this it is not practical for us to be checking after every guest use, any problems at all with the facilities if reported in between times will be dealt with by the team on site as promptly as possible.
Once again we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay that is not our aim at all.
Kind Regards
Oakwood Farm Team

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
Default avatar

Friendly staff and clean site08/25/2020

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomemmy w.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU asphalt RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly staff and clean site

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Oakwood Farm Team

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Overall was good for 1 night. Toilets needed an upgrade.08/25/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU asphalt trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pitching was good

    Disliked: 

    Only 2 toilets & 1 shower.

From the manager...

Dear Visitor,

I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay overall.

We do have one shower and 2 toilets per male and female and an extra 2 unisex toilets on the end of the shower block unit. Our facilities are cleaned on a daily basis and inspected and cleaned regularly throughout the day. We do hope that visitors will leave the showers and wash area as they would expect to find them but sadly that is not always the case and if you have gone into a shower or used the wash sinks after such a guest then I can only apologise.

We hope you had a pleasant onward journey

Kind Regards

Oakwood Farm

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Close proximity to Chester On site cafe was good08/23/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSusie H.Confirmed

  • FHU asphalt RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Close proximity to Chester
    On site cafe was good

    Disliked: 

    Too tightly packed in. We had pitch 18 which didn’t have any grass, as did all other pitches. We think the tents on the next pitch had used our allocated grass.

From the manager...

Dear Visitor

Thank you for your review. We hope you had a pleasant onward journey

Kind Regards

Oakwood Farm

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)