Book 5,344 campground, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout Australia, Europe, the UK and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Claylands Caravan Park

9.3
View prices & book
From GBP22/EUR25.54/$39.07/USD26.63/CAD34.33/CHF25.54/SEK275.29/DKK189.98/NOK265.42/ISK3,557/ARS3,342.38/CLP24,836/PEN101.93/NZD43.47/ZAR438.57/PLN119.94/BRL142.01/CZK632.11/RSD2,998/HUF10,216.72/RUB1,512.64/CNY178.45 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Claylands Caravan Park: Stunning views from Stepping Stones conservatory

General

  • Family-owned park on the banks of the River Wyre
  • Carefully landscaped wildlife haven with over 5000 trees
  • Four well-stocked and well-maintained fishing ponds

If you're a sucker for a place with a bit of family heritage, have a look at Claylands Caravan Park. The Robinsons have owned Claylands for more than 50 years, when it was a simple 14-acre farm; since then, it’s been transformed into a landscaped holiday park, while keeping an edge of wilderness.

This lush place is on the banks of the River Wyre, surrounded by more than 5000 indigenous trees and in a haven for wildlife and birdwatching: look out for squirrels, foxes, deer, rabbits and around 85 different species of bird. On site are carefully pruned hedges, shrubs and trees, loads of green space, and excellent amenities including a modern shower and toilet block, a laundry room, and drinking water taps and waste water disposal points all around.

Anglers will be well chuffed with the four well-stocked and well-maintained fishing ponds, abundant with roach, carp and tench: to be in with your fishing chance, arrive with your kit and the appropriate licence, and pick up a day ticket from the family team. Other facilities on site include a handy shop for the essentials, as well as a kids' adventure playground swish enough to make grownups green with envy.

Light snacks and homemade meals can be had at Stepping Stones Riverside Bar and Restaurant, just adjacent to the park (open Tuesday-Sunday all year round), which has a takeaway service, pretty views from inside the restaurant and a spacious garden for dining outside.

Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award AA 4 pennants

Please note

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro) and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

Continental touring caravans (caravans built with the door on the right-hand side) are not permitted.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

The restaurant is open between 27/12 and 24/12.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.3

Overall rating based on 90 reviews

 

96% would recommend this site to a friend.

94% would stay here again.

  71% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Would return and recommend to family and friends.26/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDavid S.Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced concrete slab caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Neat and tidy site, spotless toilet and shower facilities. Large and even pitches . Quiet location, lovely walks, Staff very friendly. Meals in Stepping stones lovely and generous portion sizes.

    Disliked: 

    Dog walking area was not very well marked on site map, most walked dog along side of river at bottom of site. Told shop sold basic essentials, milk, eggs, crisps, ice-cream and cheap biscuits......no bread or potatoes !!!!! Card machine in stepping stones down quite a few times so if you had no cash , you could not purchase anything. No entertainment mid week and closes early.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Clean facilities, helpful and friendly staff25/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJan R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fully-serviced concrete slab caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fishing

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site everything perfect no complaints at all25/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomBarry H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered concrete slab caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything about the park

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

restaurant, bar area21/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomStephen W.Confirmed

  • Powered concrete slab caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    restaurant, bar area

    Disliked: 

    Overhead high voltage electric cables, pitches had very small scaly gravel that got everywhere.Too many yappy dogs that were"nt on leads.Needless to say you wont see me their again.

From the manager...

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us as we do aim for our guests stay to be as pleasant as possible. We do have a policy that dogs need to be on leads, had we been aware of that problem we would have addressed it at the time, unfortunately we cannot do anything about them barking. We do however wish you well for your future holidays.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Fantastic stay16/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDavid G.Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced concrete slab caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean and tidy site.
    Fishing was excellent.
    Toilet and shower block were fantastic.
    Friendly and reception were very helpful.
    Cracking pub onsite.
    Will definately return.

    Disliked: 

    Pitches a tad small but not a big issue.

From the manager...

We welcome your review and look forward to seeing you again

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Lovely site with friendly staff and clean facilities08/06/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Fully-serviced concrete slab caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The beautiful lake next to the site. The club house. The relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your review we look forward to seeing you again

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely meal in the pub on site. Staff were very …27/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnn J.Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced concrete slab caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely meal in the pub on site. Staff were very helpful

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

We welcome your review and look forward to welcoming you back to the site

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely stay with nice clean facilities24/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGareth D.Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced concrete slab caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice clean tidy site great facilities Pub and restaurant was good with nice views at the rear any staff we dealt with helpful and friendly plenty of recycle bins and options
    All in all we had a lovely stay and will book again

    Gareth & Dawn

    Disliked: 

    Nothing really

From the manager...

Thanks for the review, see you again

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site with clean facilities, friendly staff and level pi24/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJoanne C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered concrete slab caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Site was clean and helpful staff

    Disliked: 

    Free wi-fi didn't work, distance to showers etc

From the manager...

Thanks for your review, we are sorry the you had problems with the WIFI, management will look into this. We look forward to seeing you again

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Friendly staff, level pitches, services worked as expected20/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomBarry H.Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced concrete slab caravan site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The location and the serviced pitched.

    Also liked the on site restaurant.

    Disliked: 

    The pitch we had , Number 6, was next to the lake , which was nice , but the absence of a strip of grass between the pitches made it seem like you were pitched in the car park.

    The heavy rain that we experienced one night flooded the awning, so the pitch doesn't drain well, but it had dried out by the following day.

From the manager...

We welcome you reviewing our site and note your comments which have been passed to the management team for consideration. We wish you all the best for future holidays

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundry

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Scouts welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Hikers’ paradise

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump point

Electric car charging point(s)

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Dog walk nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transportation nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 sites)

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Caravan storage facilities

Drainage hook-up points for caravans

Seasonal sites

Water hook-up points for caravans

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This campground/park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Cabus, Preston, Lancashire, England, PR3 1AJ
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 53.9295°N 2.7684°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Crossroads — 7.1 kilometres
University Underpass — 9.1 kilometres
Bus Station — 13.6 kilometres
Train stations
Lancaster Rail Station — 13.5 kilometres
Heysham Port Rail Station — 14.9 kilometres
Bare Lane Rail Station — 16.7 kilometres
Ferry ports
Heysham Ferry Terminal — 15.0 kilometres
Knott End-On-Sea Ferry Landing — 15.0 kilometres
Fleetwood for Knott End Ferry Landing — 15.6 kilometres
Airports
Liverpool John Lennon Airport — 66.1 kilometres

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

You’ll find postcard-worthy surroundings all about Claylands. Water fans can meander along the winding banks of the River Wyre (so winding in fact, this is how the river got its name) and take a stroll on the river’s footpaths; Lancaster Canal is also nearby for lazy waterside ambles.

The good news is that the river really is right on the doorstep at Claylands, so all you have to decide is which way you want to go. (If you’re really stuck, the staff on site will be more than happy to point you in the right direction, and reception is full of information leaflets and people ready to share their local knowledge.)

Or you could just amble about snapping shots of this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty... The market town of Garstang, five minutes' drive from Claylands, is an excellent option for this latter, as its whitewashed cottages, uneven streets and country drinkeries may make the imaginative feel like they're in a Jane Austen novel.

Further afield, Blackpool is half an hour away, and both the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales are reachable in under 40 minutes.

Must see

  • Beacon Fell Country Park (9.0 kilometres)
  • Lancaster Castle (13.6 kilometres)
  • Forest of Bowland (20.0 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Cartmel Priory Gatehouse (32.5 kilometres)
  • Rufford Old Hall (32.6 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and caravan
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  Anytime
Depart by:  noon

Claylands Caravan Park cancellation policy

No refunds within 1 week of arrival date.

Up to 22 days before arrival - full refund of balance of payment
21-8 days before arrival - 50% refund of balance of payment

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Claylands Caravan Park will debit the balance from your card 3 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 3 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Sites: a £20.00 ($36.59) deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure when returning the gate badge/barrier pass/toilet keys.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Visa
MasterCard
Maestro

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Claylands Caravan Park have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Claylands Caravan Park dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Claylands Caravan Park? You’ll find postcard-worthy surroundings all about Claylands. Water fans can meander along the winding banks of the River Wyre (so winding in fact, this is how the river got its name) and … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Claylands Caravan Park?
    Camping and caravan
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  Anytime
    Depart by:  noon
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Claylands Caravan Park? From $39.07 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact claylands-caravan-park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
Continental touring caravans (caravans built with the door on the right-hand side) are not permitted.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.

Vehicles
Only one car is to be parked at the site. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Safety
Open fires are prohibited.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 11 p.m. and 9 a.m..

Reception
Reception is open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. between 20/07 and 01/09 and between 01/11 and 01/04.

Sites
Sites: a £20.00 ($36.59) deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure when returning the gate badge/barrier pass/toilet keys.

Vehicles
The car is only included in the rate if you are traveling with a camper, trailer tent or tent. Cars are not permitted when traveling with a motorhome/RV.

General
The restaurant is open between 27/12 and 24/12.

Dogs
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro) and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

Additional terms

There is a charge of £6 per person per day to fish; a licence (available from the post office) is required and you must have your own fishing equipment.

Close