The Old Post Office Campsite

Se priser og reservér 8.9 362 anmeldelser
Taget i den nederste ende af pladsen - strømtilslutninger spredt ud over pladsen
Rolig udsigt over River Irt lige i baghaven
Smut over til The Bridge Inn, lige over for campingpladsen
Ung opdagelsesrejsende nyder en solrig dag ved River Irt

  • I den vestlige udkant af Lake District nationalpark
  • Ved siden af floden Irt, hvor man kan bade og fange laks og ørreder
  • Brusebade, toiletter, wi-fi og picnicbænke
Established in 1951, The Old Post Office Campsite is in a royally fab location for anyone after a peaceful spot to explore the Lake District. Those looking for quiet stays can deliver themselves to this compact site, just on the western border of the Lake District National Park, to enjoy the very best of the area's spectacular setting. You can be at the little village of Santon Bridge in a jiffy (it's just a one-minute walk away) and with the River Irt bordering the site, you’ll likely agree The Old Post Office has got the whole package… Swim, paddle or just bask on the banks of the calm freshwater river that flows right along one side of the site, while avid anglers can scale the choice of catches to be had with salmon, sea and brown trout floundering from the waters. The site’s first-class facilities include modern toilets and showers, a laundry room with coin-operated machines, dishwashing sinks and wifi, with well-tended pathways all around the site and timber picnic benches to take in the mountains, river and countryside views. A gift shop and café are 10 minutes' walk away. Dogs are welcome too – and with all the walking opportunities in and around the Lakes, a holiday here should really deliver the goods for all…

Pladstype

Autocamperpladser 10
Teltpladser 7
Campingpladser for kørende campingvogne 14
Åbent hele året
Åbner
Vær opmærksom på

Adgang

  • Børn under 18 år skal være i følge med deres forældre eller værge.

Arealer

  • Det kræver et kabel på mindst 10 meter at benytte de elektriske tilslutninger.

Belægning

  • Bookings must not consist of more than 2 different households.
  • Denne campingplads er kun for familier (nære familiemedlemmer) og par - Reservationer fra alle andre former for grupper vil ikke blive godtaget.
  • Gruppereservationer af 2 eller flere enheder, der rejser sammen, er ikke tilladt via Pitchup.com.
  • Gruppereservationer med 3 eller flere voksne er ikke tilladt (bortset fra par og nære familiemedlemmer).
  • Ingen polterabender er tilladte via Pitchup.com.
  • Reservationer med 3 eller flere personer af samme køn (undtaget par) er ikke tilladt via Pitchup.com.

Hunde

  • På denne campingplads er der ingen adgang for hunderacer eller krydsninger, som figurerer på listen over farlige hunde.

Køretøjer

  • Kommercielle køretøjer (køretøjer, der anvendes til arbejdsrelaterede formål, fragter gods eller betalende passagerer) og køretøjer med firmalogoer er ikke tilladte på pladsen.

Sikkerhed

  • Kulgrill er ikke tilladt.
  • Women's showers accept 50p coins only, 10 minutes use. Men's showers accept 20p or £1 coins; 20p gives 4 minutes use (maximum 16 minutes), £1 gives 20 minutes use. The on-site fishing may be impacted by weather and site conditions such as low water levels in summer and busy periods.

Talte sprog

Engelsk

Ingen ledige pladser med dine søgekriterier

Enhedstyper og tilgængelighed

Anmeldelser

  • 57 %
    10
  • 9 %
    9
  • 19 %
    8
  • 4 %
    7
  • 3 %
    6
  • 0 %
    5
  • 1 %
    4
  • 0 %
    3
  • 0 %
    2
  • 0 %
    1
Beliggenhed
9
Værdi for pengene
9
Indkvartering
9
Faciliteter/Aktiviteter
8
Kundeservice
9
Børnevenligt
9
Renlighed
9
Wi-fi
8

90% vil anbefale denne plads til en ven

85% ville overnatte her igen

Det siger kunderne

Denne velholdte campingplads ligger smukt ved floden og roses for sin fredelige atmosfære og nærhed til vandrestier og The Bridge Inn pub. Personalet beskrives konsekvent som venligt og hjælpsomt. Faciliteterne, inklusiv toiletter og brusere, er generelt rene, selvom nogle anmeldelser antyder, at de kunne trænge til en opdatering. WiFi kan være upålidelig. Populær for sin hundevenlige natur og afslappede stemning, mange gæster ønsker at vende tilbage.

AI-genereret opsummering af kundeanmeldelser af Pitchup.com. Senest opdateret 27.10.2026

Filtrer efter emne

Side 1 ud af 37 med anmeldelser
Ankomstdato (seneste først)

A beautiful hidden gem

Samlet

10 ud af 10
Beliggenhed
10
Værdi for pengene
10
Faciliteter/Aktiviteter
10
Kundeservice
10
Børnevenligt
Ingen bedømmelse
Renlighed
10
Wi-fi
10
Anonym

Areal til autocamper med græs og grus med elektricitet

Syntes om Really beautiful setting, river running behind was picture perfect. Friendly staff, bathrooms were immaculate and modern. Heated floor fantastic in this cold weather. WiFi great added bonus

Syntes ikke om Nothing to do with the campsite at all just a heads up for other travellers; the nearest pub has rude staff and over priced food/drinks. Please try The Woolpack in Eskdale, a much nicer welcome and you do not get charged different prices for the same drinks at the bar! Great food also.
I will 100 percent visit this campsite again there is nothing to dislike and everything to love.

Anbefal til venner Besøg igen

Lovely quiet location next to the…

Samlet

10 ud af 10
Beliggenhed
10
Værdi for pengene
10
Faciliteter/Aktiviteter
10
Kundeservice
10
Børnevenligt
Ingen bedømmelse
Renlighed
10
Wi-fi
10
Anonym

Areal kørende med græs og grus med vand, el og afløb (super)

Syntes om Lovely quiet location next to the river. Well organised site with spacious pitches and spotless facilities.

Anbefal til venner Besøg igen

Fra bestyreren: Thank you for your lovely review!

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Old Post office Campsite, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another great stay.

Great location - loved being by…

Samlet

6 ud af 10
Beliggenhed
8
Værdi for pengene
7
Faciliteter/Aktiviteter
6
Kundeservice
7
Børnevenligt
Ingen bedømmelse
Renlighed
10
Wi-fi
8

Areal kørende med græs og grus med vand, el og afløb (super)

Syntes om Great location - loved being by the River but although doable manoeuvring on the circle is tight.

Loved the underfloor heating in the loos!

Syntes ikke om Water pressure in the showers could be a bit stronger but perfectly acceptable.

Anbefal til venner Besøg igen

The first campsite I’ve been to…

Samlet

3 ud af 10
Beliggenhed
7
Værdi for pengene
2
Faciliteter/Aktiviteter
Ingen bedømmelse
Kundeservice
Ingen bedømmelse
Børnevenligt
Ingen bedømmelse
Renlighed
Ingen bedømmelse
Wi-fi
Ingen bedømmelse
Anonym

Areal kørende med græs og grus med elektricitet

Syntes om The first campsite I’ve been to that has WiFi and it worked really well

Syntes ikke om We had booked 2 pitches and when one of our pitches arrived they got told they had to wait for the other pitch as the lady stated I’m not repeating myself on rules. She was very rude and also claimed there car hadn’t been booked in and wasn’t room for it. When I later arrived and showed booking this was sorted eventually as hadn’t been booked. My mum then asked if she could use the toilet and the lady stated the code however the code didn’t work as it was raining and the rain kept landing and pressing the wrong buttons therefore she was unable to the toilets. The code on toilets continued to be a problem all weekend as it kept saying unauthorised before you could even put code in. Thirdly the showers you had to pay for which wasn’t stated they were extra on our booking we had already paid £89 per pitch per night therefore to have to pay more for facilities isn’t great.

Anbefal til venner Besøg igen

Fra bestyreren: Thank you for your review,

I feel that I must highlight a few of your points, as they are very misleading and inaccurate.

You arrived on your day of arrival within 4 minutes of each other, yes i have checked the cctv, a car arrived first and as i do with all my customers i go out to greet them, at this point there was only a gentleman in the car as the lady had already got out and wondered in the direction of the toilets. I welcomed him and asked him for the name of the booking, while talking to the gentleman the women then tipped back up and asked “whats the code to the toilets” of which i informed her of the code, she then disappeared again, my conversation was solely with the gentleman of the booking, there was no hello, no thank you, or no please from the women, just what's the code to the toilets, after my conversation with the gentleman, the women of the booking appeared back at the car and sat in the car for the entire time, the women did not speak or inform me that she could not get in the toilets or that she had trouble with the locks, neither did anyone else throughout the entire stay. Therefore to my knowledge everything was ok. I was not rude at all throughout my conversation so to say this quite frankly is a bit of a shock. Our staff are onsite daily to help with customers needs, at any point throughout your stay if you were struggling with anything, had you spoken to a member of staff they would have been more than happy to help.

I was confused with the booking as you had booked two touring pitches and a car arrived on its own, i was informed by the gentleman that arrived in the car that a campervan and touring caravan were on their way, I mentioned to the gentleman that he may have to pay for an extra car if there is a car towing a caravan and a campervan, but not to worry we can sort it out when your family arrive, i did not say anything about not having room for a car, the sight was half empty over your stay, i asked how far behind his family were and he said a couple of minutes of which i asked would you like me to give you a site layout now or wait for your family as it was pouring with rain, he said he would wait as you were only a couple of minutes away, ( a sight layout is not a set of rules) 4 minutes later you arrived so i then went back out to greet you all.
You arrived with a campervan towing a caravan, immediately I apologised for the confusion and informed you that there would be no extra charge, you did not show me your booking confirmation at any point throughout this conversation. After this conversation I then took 3 of you through the site layout so you would know where everything is.

Yes you are correct Showers are an extra cost however it clearly states this on all our booking platforms.

You did not pay £89.00 per pitch per night, you paid £38.50 per pitch per night, this was for 2 adults electric hookup, and £2 for your dogs of which you had 3.

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, resulting in this review, and we wish you the best of luck for all your future camping trips.

location…

Samlet

9 ud af 10
Beliggenhed
9
Værdi for pengene
8
Faciliteter/Aktiviteter
8
Kundeservice
9
Børnevenligt
Ingen bedømmelse
Renlighed
9
Wi-fi
4

Areal kørende med græs og grus med vand, el og afløb (super)

Syntes om location

Anbefal til venner Besøg igen

Fra bestyreren: Thank you for your lovely review!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another great stay.

AWFUL…..never again

Samlet

1 ud af 10
Beliggenhed
2
Værdi for pengene
1
Faciliteter/Aktiviteter
1
Kundeservice
2
Børnevenligt
Ingen bedømmelse
Renlighed
2
Wi-fi
1

Areal kørende med græs og grus med vand, el og afløb (super)

Syntes om Nothing

Syntes ikke om Journey(no help and advice re best route in)
No basic goods available (nearest shop miles away)
No lights in ladies and the toilet blocks were from the 80’s
Stung for a caravan awning “EXTRAS”apparently
Cost was top end site fees….need to rethink its no where near top end

Anbefal til venner Besøg igen

Fra bestyreren: Thank you Mr Morgan for leaving not one but 2 reviews as you promised.

I would just like to highlight a few points on your reviews.

On our booking platforms it has all the information you need to know about the site. If you had read the information when making your booking you will have seen that under site info and maps it does indeed tell you what routes to avoid and the best road to come in on. We did not receive a phone call or email requesting further information.

It also tells you what we do and don't have onsite and a shop is something we do not have. The nearest shop is approximately 4 miles away.

I can only apologise for the ladies toilet lights, during your stay they had tripped one evening, due to wind and heavy rain however the problem was rectified immediately, unfortunately occasionally problems do occur.

Extras... you will have seen the extras tab when making your booking that is how you managed to add your dog to the booking, you were also asked by a member of staff on your arrival if you had any other extras and you had said you had an awning and you were unsure whether you were going to put it up, you were informed then that there is an extra cost for awnings of which your reply was i wont bother putting it up then, however you did put it up so therefore you were charged for it. You expressed your unhappiness quite clearly the following morning, i was shocked in the manner in which you spoke to me which then lead to me sending you an email expressing the fact and attaching screenshots of the extras tab showing awnings and where to book the extras on pitchup, hopefully this would clear things up, I did not appreciate being spoken to in the manner in which you did and you are very lucky that i did not ask you to leave the site. I would have been more than happy to explain everything to you face to face had I managed to get a word in.

I am actually quite amazed that you found the cleanliness to be 2 stars, in the years that I have worked here. That is something we are always commended on.

I wish you the best of luck with all your future camping trips and my advice would be to make sure you read all the information before booking.

Showers

Samlet

9 ud af 10
Beliggenhed
10
Værdi for pengene
6
Faciliteter/Aktiviteter
6
Kundeservice
10
Børnevenligt
Ingen bedømmelse
Renlighed
10
Wi-fi
5

Areal kørende med græs og grus med vand, el og afløb (super)

Syntes om Location was excellent right beside the river,pub over bridge.
Well managed and maintained, showers and toilets clean.
Gemma and Marcus very welcoming and helpful,lovely stay

Syntes ikke om Extra charges for showers!!!
If the showers were top notch eg power showers ,modern etc happy to pay,however 50p for 10mins for a lady washing hair ,with poor pressure ,stressful and shower 1 seems to run down quicker,they go from freezing to hot by time you got temperature right your against the clock.
Wi-fi is very patchy ,TV freezes all the time

Anbefal til venner Besøg igen

Fra bestyreren: Thank you for your lovely review!

We are glad to hear you had a great stay at The Old Post office campsite, we will take on board your points regarding the showers to see how we can improve in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

Excellent

Samlet

9 ud af 10
Beliggenhed
10
Værdi for pengene
10
Faciliteter/Aktiviteter
10
Kundeservice
10
Børnevenligt
Ingen bedømmelse
Renlighed
10
Wi-fi
6

Areal kørende med græs og grus med vand, el og afløb (super)

Syntes om Brilliant touring site.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Facilities very clean and tidy in all weathers.
Just thd right place for walking and hiking and there's a pub 3 minutes walk away that does a brilliant Sunday dinner and a fantastic steak pie.
Had a very good stay.

Syntes ikke om Tight parking for a novice like me with a large caravan, as my motor mover was not working.

Anbefal til venner Besøg igen

Fra bestyreren: Thank you for your lovely review!

We are glad to hear you had a great stay at The Old Post Office Campsite and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another great stay. :-)

Well kept site and nice setting…

Samlet

7 ud af 10
Beliggenhed
8
Værdi for pengene
5
Faciliteter/Aktiviteter
Ingen bedømmelse
Kundeservice
Ingen bedømmelse
Børnevenligt
Ingen bedømmelse
Renlighed
Ingen bedømmelse
Wi-fi
7
Anonym

Areal til autocamper med græs og grus med elektricitet

Syntes om Well kept site and nice setting next to the river. Bridge inn good for food

Syntes ikke om Given a pitch next to a tent that had to pitch on the grass between the hard standings making it very close to us not ideal when the site was not full and there where other pitches available

Anbefal til venner Besøg igen

Fra bestyreren: Thank you for taking the time to write a review,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the site.

We do encourage customers to speak to a member of staff whilst on site if they have any problems during their stay, this way they can be dealt with immediately, all the staff are approachable and friendly and if they can help they will, if you were unhappy that a tent was pitched next to your motorhome and had you spoken to a member of staff they would of gladly helped, or potentially moved you providing that your motorhome would have fitted in any of the other pitches that were available at the time of your booking. as per our booking platforms the 3 motorhome pitches are the only pitch types that we allow small tents on.

Lovely camp ,clean , friendly staff…

Samlet

10 ud af 10
Beliggenhed
8
Værdi for pengene
8
Faciliteter/Aktiviteter
6
Kundeservice
10
Børnevenligt
Ingen bedømmelse
Renlighed
10
Wi-fi
7

Areal kørende med græs og grus med vand, el og afløb (super)

Syntes om Lovely camp ,clean , friendly staff , very helpful full

Syntes ikke om No shop , could do with a little shop , bread milk, eggs , tea coffee , would off been great

Anbefal til venner Besøg igen

Fra bestyreren: Thank you for your lovely review!

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay while visiting The Old Post Office Campsite, we will take on board your comment regarding a shop on site to see how we can improve in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another great stay.


Faciliteter

Fritidsaktiviteter på stedet

Aftenunderholdning Bar eller klubhus Børneklub Cykelleje Fiskeri Fitnesscenter Fjernsynsrum Indendørs swimmingpool Legeplads Restaurant/Bar på pladsen Spillerum Takeaway Tennis Udendørs swimmingpool Vandsport

Faciliteter på stedet

Afhentning fra offentlig transport Bad til rådighed Bruser til rådighed Familietoiletter Fryser med køleelement Gratis wi-fi Hundepark Internet-adgang Komposttoilet Købmandsbutik Møntvaskeri Offentlig telefon Offentlige toiletter Opvaskeområde Portabelt toilet Toiletblok Tørrerum Wi-fi

Grupper er velkomne

Familievenlig Grupper af samme køn velkomne Grupper af studerende velkomne Motorcyklister velkomne Skoleklasser velkomne Stævner velkomne

Regler

Bål tilladt Erhvervskøretøjer tilladt Grill kan lånes Grill tilladt Hunde tilladte Hunde tilladte hele året rundt

Camping 2.0

Ekstra store pladser

Temaer

Afsides beliggenhed Lavpris/backpacker Naturparadis Paradis for vandringsfolk Spektakulært landskab Sø og/eller bjerg

Service

Gasflasker til rådighed Genbrug tilgængeligt Grøn energi Kemisk bortskaffelse Ladestationer til elbiler Opladningsfaciliteter

Faciliteter i nærheden

Bar i nærheden Butik i nærheden Hundevenligt område Offentlig transport i nærheden

Type

Mellem (26-50 arealenheder)

Tilgængelighed

Badeværelser: kørestolstilgængeligt bad Badeværelser: kørestolstilgængeligt toilet

Fritidsaktiviteter i nærheden

Cykelleje i nærheden Cykling i nærheden Fiskeri i nærheden Golf i nærheden Kano/kajak i nærheden Klatring i nærheden Mountainbike-ruter i nærheden Restaurant i nærheden Ridning i nærheden Sejlads i nærheden Tennis i nærheden

Campingvogne og autocampere

Autocamper Servicestation Campingvogns-opbevaringsfaciliteter Spildevandstilslutning for campingvogne Vandtilslutning for campingvogne

Beliggenhed

The Old Post Office Campsite

Santon Bridge

Wasdale

Holmrook

Cumbria

England

CA19 1UY

Rutevejledning

Tidszone

Europe/London +0000 (GMT+00:00)

GPS

54,4021°N
3,371°V

Rutevejledning

Some Satnvas will suggest a route via Wrynose Pass and Hardknott Pass. These routes are not suitable for large vehicles such as caravans, motorhomes and campervans. Avoid them at all costs; they are not recommended in the dark or adverse weather conditions for cars either. The main road around Westlakes that will take you within six miles of the campsite is the A595.

Nærmeste transport

Bus
21,7 km Tangier Street
23,7 km Lakeside House for Dove Cottage
23,7 km Daffodil Hotel for Dove Cottage
Jernbane
5,5 km Drigg Rail Station
5,7 km Ravenglass Rail Station
7,4 km Seascale Rail Station
Færge
20,1 km Torver (Coniston) Ferry Landing
20,2 km Coniston Ferry Landing
20,4 km Sunny Bank (Coniston) Ferry Landing

Vær opmærksom på: Alle afstande på denne side er udregnet i fugleflugtslinje - Tjek venligst den faktiske afstand alt efter din rejseform via knappen Få rutevejledning øverst på siden.

Lokale seværdigheder

Pull on your comfiest boots and walk yourself to merriment around these Cumbrian parts: just over five miles away in Wasdale is one of Britain’s tiniest churches, St Olafs, with its timber beams thought to have been made from Viking ships. Hikers, hotstep to the mighty heights of Scafell Pike and Great Gable (both about seven miles away) and Red Pike (approximately 20 miles north of the site). At the Wasdale Valley, as well as nurturing peaks aplenty, canoeists, kayakers and windsurfers alike will rapidly make their way to Wast Water, just five minutes from the site, the deepest lake in the UK. Cycling and walking routes around the lakes and mountains are plentiful, as are the chances for boating and fishing, but if you really want to go off-piste, you could try abseiling, climbing, a high ropes course, or even flying: hot air balloon and paragliding experiences are available for those who want to soar even higher than Scafell.
(inden for 10 km)
Slot, Akvarium, Forlystelsespark, Zoo og Hæveautomat (inden for 16,1 km)

Mad og drikke

  • Bridge Inn 0,1 km
  • Bower House Inn 2,4 km
  • The Strands Inn 2,7 km
  • Screes Inn 2,8 km
  • King George IV Inn 4,2 km
  • Gosforth Hall Inn 4,4 km
  • Lion & Lamb 4,8 km
  • The Globe Inn 4,8 km
  • Victoria 5,5 km
  • Ratty Arms 5,7 km

Dagligvarer

  • Co-op Food 7,2 km

Parker og legepladser

  • Seascale Beachfront Playpark 7,5 km

Familieudflugter

  • Owl Centre Turistattraktion 5,2 km
  • Muncaster Castle Slot 5,3 km
  • The Weapons Hall Turistattraktion 5,5 km
  • Signal Box Turistattraktion 5,8 km

Offentlig transport

  • Bridge Inn (W bound) 0,09 km
  • Santon Cottages 1,2 km
  • The Lodge-Irton Hall 1,2 km
  • Nether Wasdale Car Park 2,8 km
  • Road End for Irton Road R&ER 3 km
  • Greengarth Hall (S bound) 3,4 km
  • Greengarth Halll (N bound) 3,4 km
  • Outward Bound School 3,5 km
  • Blackbeck Bridge 3,7 km
  • road to Eskdale Green Station 3,9 km

I området

  • Eskdale Golf Course 4,1 km
  • Seascale Golf Club 7,9 km

Lokale tjenester

  • Cumberland Building Society Hæveautomat 13,5 km
  • Egremont Post Office Hæveautomat 13,6 km
  • Holmrook Service Station Tankstation 3,7 km
  • Seascale Health Centre Læge 7,1 km
  • Seascale Pharmacy & Veg shop Apotek 7,1 km
  • Mill Garage Tankstation 8,3 km

© OpenStreetMap contributors

Bør opleves

Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway 5,6 km

Dove Cottage and the Wordsworth Museum 23,6 km

Beatrix Potter Gallery 24,2 km

Whinlatter Forest & Visitor Centre 25,2 km

Rydal Mount and Gardens 25,6 km

National Trust

Wasdale, Eskdale and Duddon 2,8 km

Buttermere and Ennerdale 16,9 km

Gondola' 20,1 km

Coniston and Tarn Hows 20,7 km

Grasmere and Great Langdale 22,9 km

Cykelruter

Find lokale ruter på det nationale cykelnet - over 19,000 kilometer cykelruter.

Andet

Eskdale Green - Muncaster Fell - Muncaster Head - Eskdale Green 3,3 km

MUNCASTER CASTLE 5,4 km

High Gillerthwaite - Red Pike Ridge Traverse - High Gillerthwaite 12,9 km

Seathwaite - Scafell Pike - Seathwaite 16,3 km

The Gables from Honister Pass 16,3 km

Vær opmærksom på: Alle afstande på denne side er udregnet i fugleflugtslinje - Tjek venligst den faktiske afstand alt efter din rejseform via knappen Få rutevejledning øverst på siden.

Ofte stillede spørgsmål

  • Er der en pool på The Old Post Office Campsite? Nej Se alle funktioner
  • Er The Old Post Office Campsite hundevenlig? Ja Se alle funktioner
  • Hvilke attraktioner er der i nærheden af The Old Post Office Campsite? Pull on your comfiest boots and walk yourself to merriment around these Cumbrian parts: just over five miles away in Wasdale is one of Britain’s tiniest churches, St Olafs, with its timber … Læs mere
  • Hvornår kan jeg tjekke ind og ud af The Old Post Office Campsite?
    Telt- og campingpladser
    Ankomst:  13:00 –  17:30
    Afrejse senest:  11:00

    From 27 October to 29 March arrivals are only permitted until 5pm.

    Læs mere
  • Hvor meget koster det at bo på The Old Post Office Campsite? Fra 687,14 kr. (for 2 overnatninger, 2 voksne) - priserne kan ændre sig afhængigt af dine datoer og gruppe.