Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Camping Cuevas Mar

6.1

This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.

General

  • Family-friendly site 500 metres from a golden sandy beach
  • Within 15 minutes' drive of Vera
  • Pool, restaurant and garden with sun loungers

Is your perpetual fear booking a hol only for it to start raining the second you arrive? (No one wants those gloating photos from home of clear blue skies while you’re sat next to the pool in a hoody, holding an umbrella…)

Head off disaster with a stay at Camping Cuevas Mar, a family-friendly site less than five minutes’ walk from the centre of Palomares village in the Andalusian province of Almeria – this is Europe’s only desert climate, so you’re pretty much guaranteed sun, warmth and not a speck of rain.

As it's set between the mountains and the sea, there’s plenty near the site to keep rugged adventurers and laidback beach buffs happy. The closest beach is a mere 500 metres' amble away; more are five minutes’ drive away at Playas de Vera (complete with a naturist beach for those who dare to bare), and there are a full 17 kilometres of fab sandy stretches at Mojácar, 40 minutes away. The spectacularly craggy Sierra Cabrera range is a little under an hour away for mountainy types, so pile into the car and head this way for precipitous drives, hikes and mountain biking trails.

After your hillside treks and beachy days, head back to home base for a cooling dip in the pool (open from April to September), then lay back on a lounger in the garden. Once you feel like you’ve earned yourself some dinner (all this soaking up the sun is hungry work), wander restaurantwards for grub or venture into the outside world to try local cuisine at the nearby eateries.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

6.1

Overall rating based on 14 reviews

 

43% would recommend this site to a friend.

43% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Awful site, we didn’t stay the 2nd night even though we’d pre payed05/01/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMichelle T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The toilet block looked poor but inside it was clean and functional with hot water
    It had really good Wi-Fi

    Disliked: 

    The pitches and grounds were poor and neglected. The pitches were overgrown , some with chopped branches just left blocking the pitch. There was dog poo all over. It felt neglected. Lots of car movement at night and I felt unsafe.
    The immediate area is also run down.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent04/22/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJulie B.Confirmed

  • Electric optional gravel and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location as we wanted to visit Palomares.
    Good clean facilities.
    Easy access to water, grey water waste and chemical toilet waste.
    Very helpful and friendly staff
    Very peaceful.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

The site is well laid out , choose your own …03/24/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDavid E.Confirmed

  • Electric optional gravel and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site is well laid out , choose your own pitch around 10 minute walk to the beach , one restaurant close by nothing much else apart from the fact that half of the camp is naturist so go with an open mind.

    Disliked: 

    6 amp electric not much good if you want to boil a kettle.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Very disappointed. Bring your own food to cook.06/14/2021

Reviewer's country: SpainJoanna B.Confirmed

  • Electric optional gravel and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Shower/toilet facilities clean but tired

    Disliked: 

    Pool closed, no warning of this
    Bar/restaurant closed, no warning of this
    Reception told us there were two chiringuitos on the beach. We walked there and they were both closed.
    One restaurant bar within walking distance, very mediocre

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Definitely not WYSIWYG06/07/2021

Reviewer's country: SpainSimon J.Confirmed

  • Electric optional gravel and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The size of the plot was the only positive although it was poorly maintained with many weeds growing through the gravel.

    Disliked: 

    What we received was nothing like what was advertised. There was no pool, it was empty, presumably being refurbished and was not advertised as such. There was no bar or entertainment as advertised. The sinks and toilets were tied up with wire and poorly maintained and many toilet seats were missing. The whole place looked as if it had been totally neglected and not maintained, possibly due to Covid but not acceptable to be charged full price for what we received.

From the manager...

Dear Mr. Simon,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on his stay at our campsite.
Apparently you live in a world that is not the real one. I do not know if you know something about the regulations that exist in Spain with respect COVID-19 (I imagine it will be very similar to the one you have in the UK).
In Spain, swimming pools and part of the hotel industry such as bars, restaurants are totally restricted and closed ... that was the reason you found the pool and our bar closed, not because of our desire to spoil your vacation, it seems that it gives me the impression that everything is open in your country and there is no type of control (which I don't think so). The toilets you found one open and the other closed due to the COVID -19 regulation in Spain, it is not because they were dirty.
When you arrived, you were not told to camp on a certain plot. You choosed the plot that you like the most.
Why did you choose a plot with some herbs if you don´t wanted then? We have 179 plots!!
Why didn't you go to reception to inform us that the plot you chosed had some herbs and that it was the plot where you wanted to spend your holidays and no another one? I think it was the most suitable thing, don't you think so? Why didn´t you asked about the reason you found the bar and the swimming pool close? We would have been happy to explain the reasons!
Apparently, what you were looking for was a resort campsite without anti-COVID-19 measures. Please find out before traveling about the COVID-19 regulations so that you can decide what to do.
Best regards

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Quiet, convenient location, showers etc clean and well maintained.05/28/2021

Reviewer's country: SpainAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet, convenient location, showers etc clean and well maintained.

    Disliked: 

    Facilities: bar, social areas not available.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Never again park.up.on beach next time.loads of motorhomes there09/01/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDarren F.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Shaded pitch and pool area although we didnt use it

    Disliked: 

    Majority of pitches full of dog mess.we were on 134 pitch opposite pitch full of dog mess ..few spanish caravans there with dogs off leads fouling and never picked up..showers were guess the one with pressure 2 in womens and 2 in mens trickled out ..no shop on site not even for small things and about 20 to 30min walk nearest plus bar is wait for ages before someone turns up to serve.booked for 3 nights left 2nd day absolute terrible place..needs to close for 2 weeks and be cleaned all around the place

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to comment about our campsite. Correct you about what he says that MOST of the plots are full of dog poop, it is not like that. If you had that problem around the pitch that you chose, we do not understand how you did not notify us about the incident, it would have been solved immediately. Sometimes it happens that there are uncivil dog owners and we don't always realize it in time. Regarding the bar, there is a clearly visible sign to notify us at reception if there is no one at the bar. Thank you

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Reviews in other languages appear below.

Camping muy tranquilo y cerca de la playa08/20/2022

Reviewer's country: FranceRafael L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    El camping era muy tranquilo, había muy buen ambiente, con parcelas amplias, cerca de la playa y la piscina estaba muy bien.
    El precio era muy bueno.
    Había wifi en todo el camping.
    Los recepcionistas y el hombre de mantenimiento eran muy atentos.

    Disliked: 

    Había muchas moscas en las parcelas a pesar de que tenían bolsas insecticidas en los árboles, en la piscina había muchas avispas, me picaron 3 a mí y una a mi hija pequeña.
    Las duchas habría que renovarlas y limpiarlas más a menudo.
    Nos faltó un parque y actividades para los niños.

    Translate (Powered by Google Translate)
Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Instalaciones limpias, personal amable, parcelas muy grandes08/14/2022

Reviewer's country: SpainSandra L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Me gusto mucho las parcelas grandes, sombreadas, la piscina estaba bastante bien, los baños, las playas sin tener que coger el coche, en general me gustó mucho

    Disliked: 

    Que le faltaba un parque infantil

    Translate (Powered by Google Translate)
Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Personal amable07/09/2022

Reviewer's country: SpainFina R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • 1 bedroom cottage / chalet / bungalow
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Personal amable

    Disliked: 

    Falta de limpieza, mal equipados, moscas en la piscina

    Translate (Powered by Google Translate)
Overall
2
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Hand sanitising stations

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Cycle hire nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Carretera Garrucha a Villaricos, Palomares Bajo, Cuevas del Almanzora, Almeria, Spain, 04617
  • Timezone Europe/Madrid +0200 (GMT+02:00)   GPS 37.2376°N 1.7984°W

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

If you love a good Sunday afternoon Spaghetti Western, a jaunt into the Tabernas Desert is an absolute must. The desert was the setting for many a Wild West showdown in the Hollywood heyday of dusty shoot-em-ups, and the Western towns of Fort Bravo, Oasys and Western Leone, built specifically for the movies and all about an hour away, are now theme parks.

Those more comfortable in the big wide open should make tracks for one of the nearby Natural Parks: Cabo de Gata-Nijar, an hour and 15 minutes from the site, is a top destination for anyone who wants to dive below the waves, while Sierra de María-Los Velez (an hour) has plenty to entice twitchers and history buffs (find your way to Cueva de los Letreros for millennia-old cave paintings).

For an urban experience, make the hour-long drive to Almeria to poke around museums (the Museo Refugio de la Guerra Civil and Casa del Cine come highly recommended), to wander the scenic streets and burn a hole in that credit card.

Kids not up for traipsing around the city? Opt instead for a stop at AquaVera waterpark or an evening’s adrenalin rush at the go-karting circuit in Garrucha.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  9 a.m. –  9:30 p.m.
Depart by:  noon
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  1:30 p.m. –  9:30 p.m.
Depart by:  noon

Camping Cuevas Mar cancellation policy

No refunds within 3 days of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Camping Cuevas Mar will debit the balance from your card 1 week before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 1 week then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking, or at any point before the due date.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Visa
MasterCard
Cash
Bank transfer
Postal order

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Camping Cuevas Mar have a swimming pool? Yes View all features
  • Is Camping Cuevas Mar dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Camping Cuevas Mar? If you love a good Sunday afternoon Spaghetti Western, a jaunt into the Tabernas Desert is an absolute must. The desert was the setting for many a Wild West showdown in the … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Camping Cuevas Mar?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  9 a.m. –  9:30 p.m.
    Depart by:  noon
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  1:30 p.m. –  9:30 p.m.
    Depart by:  noon
    Read more

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact camping_cuevas_mar


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission

Safety

General

Dogs

General

Safety

General

Extras

Arrivals and departures

Vehicles

Pool

Safety

Pool

General

Pool

General

Vehicles

General

Pool

Dogs

Taxes

Vehicles

Admission

Arrivals and departures

Visitors

General

Pitches

Dogs

Close