Book and review 3,498 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Moving Mountains Basecamp

8.9
View prices & book
From £10/€11.32/A$18.27/US$12.48/CA$16.59/CHF12.45/SEK121.40/DKK84.50/NOK111.65/ISK1,548/ARS704.48/CLP8,941/PEN41.76/NZ$19.76/ZAR183.21/PLN49.10/R$51.23/CZK293.02/RSD1,330/HUF3,767.65/RUB802.36/CN¥88.47 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

View

General

  • Group-oriented activity-focused site a mile from Westerleigh
  • A 20-minute drive from Bristol and half an hour from Bath
  • Lots of on-site activities including archery, bushcraft and footgolf

Gather pals and get set for active times in the gorgeous Greater Bristol countryside… Moving Mountains Basecamp is a place that’s really geared up for groups eager to get stuck in to a stack of open-air adventures.

The secure pitching field is part of an 84-acre estate 20 minutes’ drive away from Bristol; much of the rest of the property is made up of lake, woodland and meadow, so there should be plenty of peace and quiet for a decent night’s slumber – if that’s what you’re after.

In fact, whether you’re planning an early night or a long session hanging out by the campfire it’s likely you’ll end up pretty pooped after all the activities awaiting to fill your days here. Archery, orienteering and plenty of games are all on site, along with a blindfold trail to help you assess just how much trust you can really put in those mates you’ve brought along. If you’re planning future wild expeditions, you’d do well to sign up for a bushcraft course here; if that seems unlikely the main estate also has fishing lakes, footgolf and a golf driving range.

Even if you don’t go the whole bushcraft route it’s recommended that you bring along enough outdoorsy skills to allow you to set up a barbecue for dinner (although it’s possibly handy to know that there’s a pub 15 minutes’ stroll away if such plans go awry for any reason…).

Please note

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

No cars/motorbikes by the pitch/unit. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

This site has no on-site shower facilities.

Facilities/activities including golf and fishing are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.9

Overall rating based on 7 reviews

 

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Really enjoyable stay with lots of activities close by08/30/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Orchard non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Orchard was a nice secluded place to camp and there was a great campfire circle in the woods where you gather wood from the forest

    Disliked: 

    The toilet and shower facilities left a lot to be desired. Toilets were just portaloos but were clean which was good. Shower was most disappointing as although shower was a good temperature there was nowhere to leave towel or anything without getting wet. Maybe construct a small shelter around and next to shower. Same could also be said for washing up facility, please supply a plug for sink and hot water as well as a shelter

From the manager...

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

Our off grid location and small size mean that facilities are limited on site. I'm glad that you found our portaloos clean but given this I'm unsure why you have included them as a negative point. We have had regular guest feedback that our clean portaloos are more pleasant than the fixed toilet blocks at some sites.

The washing up area is provided for guests convenience but at present the practicality of providing hot water given our off grid status would mean increasing our camping fees. There was a plug in the sink but this appears to have been removed within the last few days. The shower does have a hook above the door and a covered rail along one side to keep items dry but we are looking at ways to improve this.

We hop to welcome you back in future to see the site developing

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Fun site for a night or two but perhaps too wild for an extended stay08/26/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCraig H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Orchard non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good pitch - nicely payed out, soft and not too muddy (stayed in orchard)
    Friendly quiet atmosphere
    Allowed fires on pitch but also had a cool fire pit in the woods.
    Not overly commercial

    Disliked: 

    Long walk to toilets (portaloos) and water.
    No shop, showers or other convenience (although this added to the wild camping feel!)

From the manager...

Thanks for staying with us, and for your review.

I just wanted to clarify that we do have a shower unit in site - I'm fairly sure I explained its location when I met you last night but i apologise if I didnt. It was out of order for 2 hours last night due to a technical issue but this was resolved yesterday evening.

We pride ourselves on offering a back to basics camping experience, and as such we dont offer a shop, or any other commercial facilities on site. There is a 24 hour budgens just 5 minutes drive away.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, when hopefully you will get the opportunity to enjoy a nice hot shower as well!

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Overall, excellent scenery and location08/18/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Field non-electric grass tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quite area with limited people, meaning peaceful evenings and camp fires. In addition, great space and surrounding areas such as the carp lakes.

    Disliked: 

    Poor customer service, staff did not greet up at the main entrance or inquire about our stay.

From the manager...

Hi. Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had a good time.

As a small site, we don't have a permanent manned reception - we do however provide a phone number on the reception door which customers are welcome to ring with any enquiries. Whilst we always aim to drop in and visit customers at some point during their stay, we don't always manage to meet.

We hope that you will visit us again, and we will make extra sure to come and say hello!

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Clean facilities08/12/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSarah M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Orchard non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was perfect for what we wanted for the night, had lovely fields to walk around and the lake was beautiful. We were also able to have a campfire.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks for your kind review - i'm glad you enjoyed our site and had nice enough weather to enjoy an evening campfire.

We look forward to welcoming you back any time!

Dan (Owner)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Basic facilities, as described. Very relaxed site. Would go again.06/28/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Orchard non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly staff, very relaxed and helpful. Beautiful site, nice and quiet.

    Archery and orienteeing are available.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great site, basic facilities, lots of outdoor activities.06/03/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKristina B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Orchard non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great site, basic facilities, lots of outdoor activities.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent site with all the basics required for a nice quiet weekend05/07/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChristopher M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Orchard non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pease and quiet, location and all the activities that there were to do there

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Tents for hire

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Peaceful

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Tennis nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Tiny (1-10 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Oakleigh Green Farm Lane, Westerleigh, Bristol, Greater Bristol, England, BS37 8QZ
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 51.5089°N 2.4474°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Keynsham: High St Bus Stop — 6.8 miles
Bristol: Marlborough Street Bus Station — 7.1 miles
Bristol University: Queens Rd Coach Stop — 7.8 miles
Train stations
Yate Rail Station — 2.3 miles
Bristol Parkway Rail Station — 4.1 miles
Filton Abbey Wood Rail Station — 5.0 miles
Ferry ports
Temple Meads Station Ferry Landing — 7.0 miles
Temple Bridge (Bristol) Ferry Landing — 7.1 miles
Castle Park Ferry Landing — 7.1 miles
Airports
Bristol International Airport — 14.2 miles
Gloucestershire Airport — 29.3 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

For a break from all the madcap antics on site you could simply wander out for a walk in the rural surrounds – for starters, the site is close to the 100-mile Cotswold Way and the rather more manageable nine-mile Dramway Path. There are four golf courses within 15 minutes’ drive if you fancy carrying on the spirit of competition, and a swimming pool 10 minutes away in Yate if you’d rather cool off a bit.

Set out on foot to get to Dyrham Park in a couple of hours or drive over there in 15 minutes; either way, it’s worth a trip to this impressive country pile with its own deer park and elegant gardens. For more pretty sights, try Westonbirt Arboretum (25 minutes’ drive), Lacock Abbey (35 minutes) or the bird-filled wetlands of WWT Slimbridge (40 minutes).

Aiming for something more urban? Make a break for Bristol (20 minutes) for the SS Great Britain and the excellent M Shed and We The Curious museums, or head to Bath (half an hour) for stunning architecture and the famed Roman baths.

Must see

  • The Bristol Hippodrome (7.5 miles)
  • Bristol Museum & Art Gallery (7.7 miles)
  • At-Bristol (7.7 miles)

National Trust

  • Dyrham Park (3.7 miles)
  • Horton Court (5.9 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  Anytime
Depart by:  noon
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  Anytime
Depart by:  noon

Moving Mountains Basecamp cancellation policy

No refunds within 1 week of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Moving Mountains Basecamp will debit the balance from your card 1 week before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 1 week then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Visa
MasterCard
Maestro
PayPal
Cash
Bank transfer

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Moving Mountains Basecamp


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.

Extras
Facilities/activities including golf and fishing are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.

Dogs
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Extras
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

Vehicles
No cars/motorbikes by the pitch/unit. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 10:30 p.m. and 7:30 a.m..

Reception
Reception is unmanned after 7 p.m.. Please inform the site while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time, so that the team can provide information about your unit/pitch.

Dogs
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

Taxes
This area is not subject to city tax.

General
This site has no on-site shower facilities.

Arrivals and departures
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Visitors
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Close