Book and review 4,115 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Wheeldon Farm

8.6
View prices & book
From £15/€17.61/A$28.36/US$20.93/CA$26.05/CHF18.98/SEK179.32/DKK130.95/NOK183.76/ISK2,592/ARS2,020.57/CLP15,910/PEN82.12/NZ$29.91/ZAR305.75/PLN80.58/R$106.35/CZK449.13/RSD2,072/HUF6,314.51/RUB1,535.48/CN¥135.23 (for 1 night, 4 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Wheeldon Farm: Pitch Photo

General

  • Family-oriented park between Dartmoor and the south Devon coast
  • A 15-minute drive from Totnes and half an hour from Plymouth
  • Indoor MTB and BMX tracks on site catering for all ages

Wheeldon Farm is a holiday park in the stunning south Devon countryside geared towards families looking for action-packed motorhome or campervan breaks. Active holidays are easy to come by here: you're roughly equidistant between Dartmoor National Park and the the splendid south Devon coast.

With miles of green lanes to explore starting from your pitch, this is a particularly fine spot for push bicycle, mountain bike and e-bike riders – and you're covered whatever the weather as kids (and big kids too) can spend hours zooming around the farm's all-weather indoor tracks. It's all free to use, so bring your bikes along if you'd like to get pedalling.

Modern toilets and showers are available for all guests, and there's also a lounge area with an outside terrace where you can sit back, relax and take advantage of the far-reaching views over the local countryside. Other features include a coffee machine, a vending machine where you can pick up essentials like bread, eggs and milk and a coin-operated laundry room. Need to stock up? Totnes (15 minutes' drive) is on hand to cover all your food-related bases.

Well-behaved pets can expect a warm welcome here, with daily walks (or swims) provided by the river Avon. This peaceful spot is just at the end of the green lane that crosses the site, while further afield in the South Hams there's a range of dog-friendly beaches and trails to explore.

Please note

Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, customers can amend their dates with the campsite/holiday park free of charge for all stays up to, and including, 06/12/2021.

Units longer than 8.5 metres are not allowed.

All onsite food and drink establishments are closed due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.

Tents are not accepted at this park.

Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.

No cars/motorbikes by the pitch/unit. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

The laundry facilities are currently closed due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

Protective masks must be worn at all times in common areas.

Please note that the toilet/shower facilities are unisex.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.6

Overall rating based on 34 reviews

 

76% would recommend this site to a friend.

76% would stay here again.

  88% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Needs attention urgently.07/30/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric gravel and hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Views

    Disliked: 

    Bench required in shower instead of stool.
    Rubble pitches unsafe for disabled.
    Not enough bins and not marked for recycling.
    Poor chemical/toilet waste disposal, not emptied.
    Toilets not cleaned regularly, lack of toilet roll and hand wash.
    Lounge area not good enough. Poor.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Very friendly staff and farm dogs, clean basic facilities. Lovely …07/27/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric gravel and hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly staff and farm dogs, clean basic facilities.
    Lovely walks starts at the site and take you down into the valley and along the river.

    Great biking facilities for all.

    Disliked: 

    No wi-fi,
    Narrow lanes for 3.5 miles from the main road so it is better to have a car for day trips.
    Pitches are just on concrete so feels like you are sitting in a car park.

From the manager...

Good evening Anonymous,
Thank you for your review.
The staff always try and ensure all the facilities on site are suitable for our visitors.
The walk to the river and along its track is very popular with all our guests and the indoor bike track is a really big success with our guests.
As for your comment about the concrete well I would point out that the site description very clearly states that it is concrete and gravel all weather pitches and you selected your site to stay on.
Kind regards

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Absolutely loved it. So peaceful!! my son had his birthday …07/24/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLindsey l.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric gravel and hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Absolutely loved it. So peaceful!! my son had his birthday whilst we we’re staying and did the motor-cross. From the beginning to the end was very fun and professional for them as the big kids decided to also do it. Worth every penny !! My son enjoyed the indoor track doing jumps on his jump bike as well during the days, Lovely walk down to a little river area. We will definitely be coming back. If you want a peaceful break I’d definitely recommend booking 😁

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Good morning Lindsey,
We are all delighted that you all enjoyed your holiday at Wheeldon Farm.
The site as you say is very peaceful and very much family oriented.
The weather for your group was amazing and obviously contributed to your well earned break.
Yes the boys had a good time on the bikes both indoors and outdoor.
We look forward to welcoming your family back here again soon.
Kind regards

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

We absolutely loved this campsite, it was in a perfect …07/18/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJames H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric gravel and hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We absolutely loved this campsite, it was in a perfect place of being out of a busy town but close enough to everything.

    The views over the fields were amazing and the couple who own the site were lovely. They were really friendly and took the time to speak to us.

    Showers and toilet facilities were great, they were kept clean.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi James,
Thank you for your excellent review which we all very much appreciate.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all the local beaches, villages and tourist attractions.
Please come back and see us again soon
Kind regards

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

It was a very nice location with superb views, clean …07/18/2021

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomgraham r.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric gravel and hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was a very nice location with superb views, clean and very helpful staff

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Good afternoon Graham,
Thank you for your great review and kind comments.
The team always do our best to ensure all our visitors enjoy their stay with us.
As we are a relatively new site we are still in the process of adding better facilities for all.
Glad you arrived home safe and please ensure you return to us soon
Kind regards

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Most of the basics are there but access is difficult for larger vans.07/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChristopher G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric gravel and hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    View from the edge of the site. Showers were hot and powerful.

    Disliked: 

    Chemical toilet emptying.

From the manager...

Good morning Chris,
On behalf of the team at Wheeldon Farm we would like to thank you for your review and custom.
We note your comments regarding our temporary chemical waste disposal point.
This matter is in hand and being sorted as I reply.
Kind regards

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Host very friendly, level pitches, clean utilities07/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJenny B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric gravel and hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet location at night

    Disliked: 

    Shop not open due to COVID-19

From the manager...

Good morning Jenny,
Thank you for your kind review which is appreciated by all the team.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you will recommend the site to friends and come back again.
Sorry but do not know what shop you are referring to as we do not have a shop!!!
Hope to see you again soon

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

The BMX track was perfect, the boys spent all day …07/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric gravel and hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The BMX track was perfect, the boys spent all day on there as it was under shelter so perfect for the rubbish weather we had. Everyone was super friendly and very helpful, lovely dog walk that was pretty sheltered so we didn't get too wet. Will definitely be back.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi,
Thank you for your kind comments and review.
We are a new site and deliberately set up the indoor BMX track for all our guests to use.
It has been a huge success with lots of adults and children taking advantage of the free facilities.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site clean facilities and level pitches07/04/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPaul E.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric gravel and hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Family run very friendly, nice and peaceful and we’re met with cows in field next to plot. Toilets and showers clean. Very very reasonable fees.

    Disliked: 

    Only booking the one night.

From the manager...

Good morning Paul,
We are all delighted that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and pleased that you found our facilities up to standard.
The children that visit our site do enjoy meeting the cows in the adjacent field.
We look forward to welcoming your family back again soon for a longer stay
Kind regards

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

I liked it very much07/03/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric gravel and hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I liked it very much

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Good morning,
Thank you for your kind and overall review of Wheeldon Farm and its facilities.
We are pleased you liked it very much and we hope to welcome you back again soon
Kind regards

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Coronavirus

Activities/entertainment run in smaller groups

Hand sanitising stations

More frequent emptying of bins

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Staggered showering times

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Communal fridge

Electric car charging point(s)

Gas cylinders available

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Type

Farm

Pop-up campsite

Small (11-25 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Water hook-up points for tourers

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Wheeldon Farm, Halwell, Devon, England, TQ9 7JY
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.3769°N 3.7669°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Opposite Royal Seven Stars Hotel — 5.3 miles
Opposite Tourist Information Centre — 5.3 miles
BP Garage — 6.8 miles
Train stations
Totnes Rail Station — 5.3 miles
Ivybridge Rail Station — 6.2 miles
Paignton Rail Station — 9.8 miles
Ferry ports
Totnes Ferry Landing — 5.1 miles
Kingsbridge Ferry Landing — 6.6 miles
Dittisham Ferry Landing — 7.6 miles
Airports
Exeter International Airport — 28.9 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Local attractions and activities include:

- Woodlands Family Theme Park: 10 minutes

- Totnes Castle: 15 minutes

- Blackpool Sands beach: 20 minutes

- Dartmouth Castle: 25 minutes

- Paignton Zoo: 30 minutes

- National Marine Aquarium: 30 minutes

- Hoe Park, Plymouth: 30 minutes

- Devonport Naval Heritage Centre: 30 minutes

- Salcombe: 30 minutes

- Haldon Forest Park: 35 minutes

Must see

  • Buckfast Abbey (8.0 miles)
  • Paignton Zoo Environmental Park (8.8 miles)
  • Dartmoor Zoological Park (10.2 miles)

National Trust

  • Greenway (8.0 miles)
  • Compton Castle (9.9 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  10 a.m.

Wheeldon Farm cancellation policy

No refunds within 1 week of arrival date.

Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.

Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, customers can amend their dates with the campsite/holiday park free of charge for all stays up to, and including, 06/12/2021.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Wheeldon Farm will debit the balance from your card 4 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 4 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
American Express
PayPal
Visa
MasterCard

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Can bookings for Wheeldon Farm be amended free of charge? Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, customers can amend their dates with the campsite/holiday park free of charge for all stays up to, and including, 06/12/2021. Read more
  • Does Wheeldon Farm have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Wheeldon Farm dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Wheeldon Farm? Local attractions and activities include: - Woodlands Family Theme Park: 10 minutes - Totnes Castle: 15 minutes - Blackpool Sands beach: 20 minutes - Dartmouth Castle: 25 minutes - Paignton Zoo: 30 … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Wheeldon Farm?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Wheeldon Farm? From €17.61 (for 1 night, 4 people) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact wheeldon-off-road-centre


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Coronavirus
All onsite food and drink establishments are closed due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

Admission
At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.

Coronavirus
Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, customers can amend their dates with the campsite/holiday park free of charge for all stays up to, and including, 06/12/2021.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.
Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Vehicles
No cars/motorbikes by the pitch/unit. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Safety
Open fires are prohibited.

General
Please note that the toilet/shower facilities are unisex.

Coronavirus
Protective masks must be worn at all times in common areas.

General
Public areas are non-smoking.

Coronavirus
Tents are not accepted at this park.
The laundry facilities are currently closed due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus outbreak.

Vehicles
Units longer than 8.5 metres are not allowed.

Close