Book and review 2,179 RV parks and campgrounds in the USA, Europe and South America

Feefo service rating

The Inn At Brough

7
View prices & book
From £20/€22.41/A$36.39/US$26.57/$34.79/CHF24.21/SEK229.11/DKK166.92/NOK239.72/ISK3,610/ARS2,134.87/CLP20,306/PEN95.45/NZ$38.34/ZAR409.45/PLN100.18/R$142.96/CZK590.71/RSD2,635/HUF8,073.72/RUB2,025.13/CN¥174.39 (for 1 night, 6 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Pretty views

General

  • Motorhome pitches in the grounds of a Brough 18th-century inn
  • A five-minute drive to the Eden Valley Railway and Kirkby Stephen
  • Pub with darts, restaurant area and well-stocked bar

The Inn At Brough is a top-rated 18th-century coaching inn on the banks of Swindale Beck in the small Cumbria market town of Brough, around five minutes’ drive north of Kirkby Stephen.

The motorhome pitches here are well located for walks within the surrounding Eden Valley or just a little further afield in the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales and North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty; several other days out aren’t far off either, including wanders by Hadrian’s Wall, rides on the Eden Valley Railway and visits to places like Barnard Castle and the Bowes Museum.

Guests staying at this site (which welcomes kids and dogs) will have access to shower facilities and toilets in the pub and other bits including a drying room (which can occasionally come in handy for the climes of north-west England…)

And of course the best thing about staying the grounds of an inn is easy access to food and drink – all you need do for such things is head inside to the restaurant to pick something from the regularly changing menu, or take a table in the bar for a glass of something (local ale, cider, premium lager, malt whisky or wine perhaps?) and a game of darts if you’re feeling competitive.

Please note

Tents are not accepted at this park.

Protective masks must be worn at all times in common areas.

At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.

Please note that the toilet/shower facilities are unisex.

No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

The shower and toilet facilities are available only during pub opening hours.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

7

Overall rating based on 10 reviews

 

60% would recommend this park to a friend.

70% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Ok for a quick hook up and nice village10/27/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCarole Z.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered gravel RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location

    Disliked: 

    No lock on bathroom facilities

From the manager...

Good Afternoon Carole,
I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and have some lovely pictures there of the local area!
Just a quick note there is a hook on the door as oppose to a twisty lock.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
The Inn at Brough Team

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Rubbish site10/24/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomBrian S.Confirmed

  • Powered gravel RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

    There was no water tap, nowhere to empty the toilet. There was only two electric sockets, they were both on one post and situated right outside an holiday cottage. All the area for parking near to the sockets were covered in dog mess. It was absolutely disgusting. We had a job to connect our electric cable to the post because there was so much dog mess, and the power would not stay on even with just one item on. We had to keep going out in the dark with a torch to put the trip switch back on, but it would not stay on. It was a rip off at £20. Worst one night stay we have ever had in eighteen years of motorhoming. Never again.

From the manager...

Good Afternoon,
We do indeed have 2 water taps that are available to use, these are attatched to the main building and if you had only asked we could have pointed you in the right directing. We do not have a holiday cottage where you park up is infact next to our fabulous disability friendly section of the inn.
We do allow pets however we do also assume that the owners of the animals are responsible and pick up their mess, I do however not agree that you should write faulse facts about there being lots of dog mess as we go up there regularly with a poop scoop to keep our car park in tip top condition so there is no way it could have been as you discribed.
We test our points regularly and neither ourselves or any of the many happy campers have mentioned anything about any faults or the power going off so not sure what happened there with your camper.
Kind regards,
The Inn at Brough Team

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

A electric gravel hookup in a pub car park.10/01/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJason L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered gravel RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great location

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your positive scores and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Manager

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Plenty of space to park in quiet location09/30/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomBruce K.Confirmed

  • Powered gravel RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Plenty of space to park in quiet location

    Disliked: 

    No support upon arrival and so access to paid for facilities was poor. We managed to find the electric hook up in the dark but no toilet facilities.

    Given that there are pubs who allow you to stay for free as long as you dine in the pub, we felt we paid heavily for little return.

    Really quite disappointed.

From the manager...

Good Afternoon,
I’m sorry to hear there was nobody to help upon arrival, as it states in the information provided last arrival time is 9pm and with the new Covid restrictions we have to shut our bar and restaurant at 10 so if you arrived after that then the majority of the staff would have gone home. There is however a member of staff available 24/7 so if you had knocked on the door we would be more than happy to help.
If you did arrive before 9 there are ample staff to help at reception.
Kind regards,
Manager

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Not crowded with use of a proper bathroom. You are in a pub carpark.09/29/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAlison L.Confirmed

  • Powered gravel RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Just two EHU so there was only the two vans. We had the use of a bathroom with a bath and shower. Staff at The Inn helpful.

    Disliked: 

    We were in the pub car park with gravel. A few cars came in and out. Could be busy in height of the season.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site, friendly staff and great food09/27/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMarie C.Confirmed

  • Powered gravel RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fantastic food, great price. We were first in the car park so pitched outside the bungalows where there is a communal bathroom with shower and bath. Electric available for £20 on a gravel pitch. Lovely walks all around.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Central Brough, friendly staff, nice hotel09/27/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRichard T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered gravel RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Central Brough, friendly staff, nice hotel

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Perfectly fine overnight stay.09/23/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLouise H.Confirmed

  • Powered gravel RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good sized car park. Mainly quiet. Not quite level but blocks sorted easily.
    Doesn’t advertise waste disposal but there is a toilet they allow you to use in the bungalow accommodation.

    Disliked: 

    Can hear A1 in distance, but really not bad.
    Stayed in September (shooting season) so people arrived to park quite early to set off on shoot. Other times of year probably fine.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Nothing09/19/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered gravel RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

    I don't expect to to pay £20 to stay on a pub carpark.
    To connect to EHU needed 30mtr of lead. No toilet or grey waste disposal. RIP OFF.

From the manager...

Good Morning,
I am very shocked by this review, for starters there are 6 toilets available between the hours of 7am until 11pm at least! There is also a bath and shower available. We do not advertise that we have a waste disposal unit and are very specific about not advertising that we do. The hook ups are very easily accessed, you can park right in-front of them so I am not sure what that comment relates to.
Regards,
JoJo
Manager

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

The bathroom you get to use is spotless09/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United Kingdompeter g.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered gravel RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Staff were amazing and were so helpful when we had a problem with our motorhome on arrival .

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Good Morning,
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad to help and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
JoJo
Manager

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Hikers’ paradise

Luxury

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Utilities

Charging facilities

Communal fridge

Dump station

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transportation nearby

Type

Pub campground

Tiny (1-10 sites)

Nearby leisure

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Golf nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Main Street, Brough, Cumbria, England, CA17 4AX
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 54.5264°N 2.3178°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Brough (Cumbria): Bypass Coach Stop — 0.3 kilometers
Kirkby Stephen: Market Square Coach Stop — 6.2 kilometers
Barnard Castle: Galgate Coach Stop — 25.5 kilometers
Train stations
Kirkby Stephen Rail Station — 8.6 kilometers
Appleby Rail Station — 12.5 kilometers
Garsdale Rail Station — 22.8 kilometers
Ferry ports
Pooley Bridge Ullswater Ferry Landing — 34.2 kilometers
Howtown Ullswater Ferry Landing — 35.6 kilometers
Glenridding Ullswater Ferry Landing — 40.6 kilometers
Airports
Durham Tees Valley Airport — 57.3 kilometers

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Attractions and activities nearby include:

- Brough Castle: 10 minutes’ walk

- Eden Valley Railway: five minutes’ drive

- Stainmore Railway Company: 10 minutes

- Cumbria Classic Coaches (heritage tours): 15 minutes

- The Bowes Museum: 20 minutes

- Barnard Castle: 20 minutes

- Penrith Castle: half an hour

- High Force Waterfalls: 35 minutes

- Hadrian’s Wall: an hour.

Must see

  • High Force Waterfall (16.3 kilometers)
  • Barnard Castle (25.8 kilometers)
  • The Bowes Museum (26.0 kilometers)

National Trust

  • Acorn Bank Garden and Watermill (22.7 kilometers)
  • Sizergh Castle and Garden (40.0 kilometers)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

RV, trailer and tent sites
Arrive:  noon –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  10 a.m.

The Inn At Brough cancelation policy

No refunds within 1 week of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancelations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. The Inn At Brough will debit the balance from your card 1 week before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 1 week then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted at the park

Visa
MasterCard

Terms and conditions

Park booking terms and conditions

  • Does The Inn At Brough have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is The Inn At Brough dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near The Inn At Brough? Attractions and activities nearby include: - Brough Castle: 10 minutes’ walk - Eden Valley Railway: five minutes’ drive - Stainmore Railway Company: 10 minutes - Cumbria Classic Coaches (heritage tours): 15 minutes … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of The Inn At Brough?
    RV, trailer and tent sites
    Arrive:  noon –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  10 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at The Inn At Brough? From $34.79 (for 1 night, 6 people) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact the-inn-at-brough


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.
Guests are advised to bring a good quality torch with them as parts of the site are unlit.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Occupancy
No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Safety
Open fires are prohibited.

General
Please note that the toilet/shower facilities are unisex.

Coronavirus
Protective masks must be worn at all times in common areas.

General
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and trunks must be closed quietly.

Coronavirus
Tents are not accepted at this park.

General
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Additional terms

The shower and toilet facilities are available only during pub opening hours.

Close