Book and review 10,201 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Ötscherland Camping

8.4

This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.

If you are the owner of this site, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com by adding your business details.

General

  • Family-run riverside and mountain site in the foothills of the Alps
  • Within a 15-minute walk of the Lunzersee and Lunz am See village
  • Big communal room with TV; guest kitchen; spacious play area

How green is that Lunz am See? This spectacular Lower Austria setting is what surrounds lush Ötscherland Camping, a family-run site near the popular mountain village of Lunz am See, in the Mostviertel region in the foothills of the Alps.

Waterside pitching up is here too: Ötscherland is on the banks of the Ybbs river, and is about 15 minutes' strolling distance from the Lunzersee or Lunzer Lake, the clear blue swimming and fishing waters at the foot of Dürrstein mountain.

Skiing? Lackenhof am Ötscher is a 15-minute drive away; for hiking, several trails ranging across all abilities start from Lunz am See, within a quarter of an hour's walk. And after all that, the heated saltwater pools and spa area with sauna of Göstling can be sunk into within a 10-kilometre drive.

The site's central building has a TV room, a kitchen with dishwasher, fridge, microwave and coffee machine, and a launderette with washing machine, tumble dryer and drying room. Washrooms have individual showers and facilities for baby changing.

A play area is also on site.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.4

Overall rating based on 5 reviews

 

80% would recommend this site to a friend.

80% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

I wouldnot stay again, when I book I expect the booking to be honoured 08/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom IAN B. Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced asphalt and grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean showers and toilet block

    Disliked: 

    We booked a motorhome pitch well in advance, and paid the deposit as required. we found on arrival there was no proper pitch allocated to us. It appeared that the last pitch had been given to another couple just before us ( they were running to reception while we parked) It was getting late and we were offered the chance to parked basically at the side of the road inside the campsite. We did not wish to travel further looking for a site (that's why we had pre-booked) so we accepted the road side. The fact that we were given a slightly lower price (1.6 euro less) did not really compensate. After sorting out the motorhome we wandered off to the Hotel in the village had a couple of beers and a nice meal.

From the manager...

Hello Mr. Boundy and Mrs. Wright!

We are very sorry about that place you got in our campsite. Unfortunately we overlooked your booking! You got a shortage place in our campsite with electricity.

When you take a look at your receipt, you'll see that we charged only the price for the persons (2 x Eur 8,00) in this price the taxes are included (2 x Eur 1,60). So in total we charged less Eur 8,00 (=price for the campervan).

We strive to satisfy our guests and we wish you the best!

Best regrads, Ötscherland Camping

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Best camping experience I've had so far (beginner) 08/07/2018

Reviewer's country: Russian Federation Raul G. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The camp is simply amazing. Seems to have a magical energy around it.
    The river is amazing, the waterfall noise is so relaxing. Our daughter loved the simple playground. Can't recommend enough. Will try to be back as soon as possible.

    Disliked: 

    -The wifi wasn't working. However, it was really beneficial (and good) for me to detox from the digital world for a while (stating it just because it was listed as an available option and it didn't work)
    -Important Suggestion: Define a smoking area. Guests smoke anywhere impacting the surroundings (ie. tents, playground, communal areas). When camping, normally people look for nature's and fresh air within a healthy environment. Cigarette's smoke contradicts that.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Lovely site in a beautiful area 08/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Piri B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site is in a beautiful area right by a stream, surrounded by lush green hills. It is absolutely amazing. We opted to stay in the wooden hut instead of our tent as it was rather late and raining. We were very happy with the accommodation, which was spacious and clean. The lady who greeted us was very friendly and helpful. The whole site was very clean and we felt safe. Unfortunately we only stayed for one night but we are very keen to come back and explore the Lunz area a bit more.

    Disliked: 

    We needed 1 euro coins to use the showers which became a bit of a problem. I would rather pay a bit more and not worry about using coins.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Friendly, accessible, safe for kids 06/18/2018

Reviewer's country: Hungary Kevin B. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly, accessible, safe for kids

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Reviews in other languages appear below.
Anonymous user

sauberer und gepflegter platz, saubere sanitäranlagen 09/10/2018

Reviewer's country: Austria Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    sehr unklomplizierte anreise und abrechnung! ruhiger campingplatz

    Disliked: 

    extra kosten für duschen

    Translate (Powered by Google Translate)
Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

Takeout

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

FHU sites

Gray water hook-up for RVs/trailers

Hard standings

Motorhome service point

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Bush

Hikers’ paradise

Lake and/or mountain

Peaceful

Remote location

Wild camping

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transportation nearby

Type

Large (51-200 sites)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Zellerhofstraße 23, Lunz am See, Scheibbs, Austria, 3293
  • Timezone Europe/Vienna +0200 (GMT+02:00)   GPS 47.8621°N 15.0362°E

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Launch yourself into the Ybbs river from its setting directly along Ötscherland Camping, where the waters from its pebble beaches are suitable for swimmers and paddlers of all sizes.

More swimming is at the clean and clear mountain waters of the spectacularly scenic Lunzersee, or you can hire pedalos for a gentle afternoon's exploring. Stick around too into the evening to bop along to performances on the lakeside stage, an award-winning construction that's flooded and sunk for a rest during winter.

Local town Lunz am See has the Hammerherrenmuseum, the Renaissance Amonhaus and the handsome Töpperbrücke bridge, as well as the starting point for the vintage Ötscherland-Express railway, running during the summer through lush landscapes between Kienberg and Göstling.

You could also go swimming, fishing and rafting in the many rivers and lakes around Lunz am See, or use the village as a base for hikes through green valleys or climbing high peaks. Short easy walks as well as longer and more demanding trips are among the several routes starting from the village; other local options are the Ötscher-Tormäuer Nature Park, nicknamed the Grand Canyon of Austria, or the woods of the Mendling Valley.

Slip a winter holiday in around here too, to slide around the several cross-country ski runs in Lunz am See, and the ski resorts of Lackenhof am Ötscher and Hochkar a short drive from the site. And at any time of the year, take the kids on the Bürgeralpe cable car from Mariazell, to reach the Holzknechtland amusement park.

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Ötscherland Camping


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Extras
A charge of €1,00 (R16,09) applies for the use of the shower.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
All guests spending the night at the park must present their ID at the reception desk and sign registration forms.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Extras
Motorcycle(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

Occupancy
No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Vehicles
No cars/motorcycles at the site. All cars must be parked in the designated area.
No vehicle movement between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m..

Safety
Open fires are prohibited.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between noon and 2 p.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and trunks must be closed quietly.

Vehicles
The car is only included in the rate if you are travelling with a camper, trailer tent or tent. Cars are not permitted when travelling with a motorhome/RV.

General
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Sites
Units should not be left unoccupied unless previously agreed with the management. Please speak to reception when the need arises, a fee may be charged for unsupervised units.

Arrivals and departures
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Admission
Unsupervised minors must have a letter of authorization from their parents or legal guardian.

Visitors
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Close