Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

The Homestead

9
View prices & book
From £95/€112,38/A$164,95/US$114,49/CA$147,93/CHF108,79/SEK1 189,58/DKK835,88/NOK1 110,86/ISK15 788/ARS15 516,95/CLP102 765/PEN439,98/NZ$182,34/R1 907,08/PLN528,98/R$591,48/CZK2 758,87/RSD13 187/HUF45 354,82/RUB6 926,54/CN¥776,34 (for 1 night, 4 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

The Homestead: The Hut

General

  • Small family-run site with six acres of fields and a woodland
  • A quarter of an hour's drive from Bournemouth; Sandbanks 25 minutes
  • Fully-furnished luxury four-metre bell tents in Dorset

Tear off whichever chunk of Hampshire and Dorset you fancy… with the small, family-run site at The Homestead as your base, you’ll have easy access to a wide range of attractions across the two counties, including the New Forest National Park, Bournemouth beach and the Jurassic Coast.

Where exactly is this splendid place? Well, it’s on the edge of the small village of West Parley near Ferndown and it’s full of greenery, mature oaks, flowering plants and local wildlife. All of the site’s handy amenities are kept to a high standard, including shared toilet and shower blocks and a washing-up area.

In terms of the accommodation here, you can look forward to the chance to stay in a luxury four-metre, fully-furnished bell tent that's sure to be cosy whatever the weather. Inside, one double bed, two single convertible futon beds, a wicker table and two bedside tables are included; a water container, glasses, and a wicker basket of cutlery and crockery are also provided for when mealtimes roll around.

The Homestead is just over the road from a popular garden centre and a quarter of a mile from the nearest pub (handy for any urgent tummy grumbles). With a bus stop a few minutes' walk away, it’s also simple to leave the car behind, as there regular services into Bournemouth town centre.

Please note

No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

No naked flames are allowed inside the hired accommodation units.

At least one of the party members must be aged 18 or over.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

The park caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9

Overall rating based on 12 reviews

 

92% would recommend this site to a friend.

83% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

clean site with good facilities08/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGary R.Confirmed

  • Willow bell tent (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved everything about this, our little boy was so excited, the beds were comfortable and the site had everything we needed.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

the bell tent was spacious , the tent area was …07/29/2022

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomneville g.Confirmed

  • Willow bell tent (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    the bell tent was spacious , the tent area was well laid out , my son was able to mix with other children, friendly crowd. showers and toilet area very clean. the owners were very helpful and friendly. we would go back

    Disliked: 

    not that it mattered, we were close to the road, the planes taking off where noisy but not enough flights to worry about, my son loved watching the planes anyway lol

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Poor. No facilities. Building site. Left a day early.07/13/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Willow bell tent (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Bournemouth

    Disliked: 

    Only 2 showers. One for male and one for female. Why if exactly the same. Only 4 toilets, again marked male and female for no reason. (Not a gender thing, they are the same inside.) This is far too few for people on site. Building site next to the bell tents, RSJ's strewn about along with cladding 50 yards from us. Monday morning at 8.00. Someone starts the machines up. It's July. Peak season. Why? Crockery in tent dirty. Spider had lived and died in one cup. Tomato remains smeared on one of the plates. Mirror smeared with a dirty cloth. All used needed cleaning first. Moved rest to outside of tent. Weird long public hairs in bed. Bell tent irresponsibility let to group of around 10 teenagers Saturday night. Only met one member of staff. A clueless individual who, I'm pretty sure had something to do with the said teenagers. Have used many sites over the years and have always enjoyed our time. This is singularly the worst. Seems to exist only for the purpose of making money.

From the manager...

Dear Mr Taylor Smith,

We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay, the images you have provided are from our private fenced compound not visible from the campsite and the RSJs are being used for the construction of new facilities for our campers at much cost to us.

The teenagers were only on site for one night as my son had finished his end of year exams; this was a one-off, we do not usually allow for this. Additionally, the member of staff we had on-site supervising them told us that they were very quiet.

All tents are thoroughly cleaned and bedding changed before any new arrivals!

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

The campsite was very clean and tidy, the tents were …06/13/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Willow bell tent (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The campsite was very clean and tidy, the tents were all spread out a good amount and it was nice it was out the way of things! Staff were friendly and over all a good experience. Would go back !

    Disliked: 

    The tent wasn’t the cleanest and there was rubbish left in there, we must’ve had an ants nest near due to the amount of ants surrounding the tent and how many we found inside!

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Absolutely everything!06/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRebecca B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • The Hut shepherd's hut (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Absolutely everything!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and found the tent very comfortable06/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomVictoria R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Willow bell tent (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice and clean facilities, beds where comfortable and warm. Good proximity to near by amenities and attractions.

    Disliked: 

    Could do with some more shower facilities, shower was cooler after being used a few times before hand in the am. Washing up facilities could be improved with hot water but not a deal breaker. Also could have done with a mini hoover or dustpan and brush provided to remove buts of leaves and dirt dragged in from outside as part of glamping rental.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A lovely site with friendly staff and exceptionally clean06/04/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTony P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Willow bell tent (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Greeting by Staff and cleanliness of Site
    Location allows easy travel to all areas of Dorset including Bournemouth and Poole beaches.
    Well supplied Tent and accessories

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Managers were very friendly and welcoming. Clean and roomy.09/01/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Willow bell tent (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Facilities, lots of space around Bell tent. Very comfortable and clean tent.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Everything08/23/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Willow bell tent (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

The owners were amazing, very friendly and helpful and really …08/01/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDeepa S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Willow bell tent (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The owners were amazing, very friendly and helpful and really welcoming, this made the stay special.

    The grounds were really great, a lovely huge field where my son enjoyed practicing his cricket skills!

    The facilities were well looked after and the tent was large and spacious, so we had enough for our needs.

    Overall, a great stay and very much recommend for a semi glamping experience :)

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Deep cleaning of accommodation units between guests

Disinfectant sprays and wipes provided

Masks/gloves available

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portable toilet

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

No dogs allowed

Camping 2.0

Bell tents

Themes

Luxury

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Electric car charging point(s)

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Dog walk nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transportation nearby

Type

Small (11-25 sites)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • 355 Christchurch Road, West Parley, Bournemouth, Dorset, England, BH22 8SH
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.7803°N 1.8704°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Bournemouth University — 4.6 kilometres
Bournemouth Station — 6.0 kilometres
County Gates — 6.8 kilometres
Train stations
Bournemouth Rail Station — 5.9 kilometres
Pokesdown Rail Station — 6.3 kilometres
Branksome Rail Station — 6.9 kilometres
Ferry ports
Tuckton Tea Gardens Ferry Landing — 8.0 kilometres
Christchurch Quay Ferry Landing — 8.4 kilometres
Wick Christchurch Ferry Landing — 8.5 kilometres
Airports
Bournemouth International Airport — 2.7 kilometres
Southampton Airport — 40.6 kilometres

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

With the coast and the New Forest National Park so close, you’ll have a big choice of activities before you. Perhaps horse riding, cycling or canoeing on the Beaulieu river in the New Forest National Park (from 15 minutes’ drive)? Swimming, sea kayaking, kitesurfing or jetskiing in Poole waters, such as Sandbanks beach (25 minutes)?

For somewhere that’s even closer by, you could tear up the go-karting tracks at South Coast Karting (five minutes) or work on perfecting your swing at the Dudsbury Golf Club (five minutes). Adventure Wonderland (five minutes) is another spot nearby with a whole load of family-friendly rides from a swinging pirate ship to spinning teacups.

With Bournemouth beach (15 minutes) and Go Ape Moors Valley (15 minutes) a short drive away, there are many more ways to break a sweat. However, for anyone keen to look back on former times, you could opt for a walk and a brew at the National Trust’s Kingston Lacy (20 minutes), a 17th-century country house that’s still going strong.

Must see

  • Adventure Wonderland (1.9 kilometres)
  • The Bournemouth Balloon (6.7 kilometres)
  • Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (7.0 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Kingston Lacy (11.9 kilometres)
  • Brownsea Island (12.0 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  6 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

The Homestead cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

Modifications are subject to a £5,00 (R105,77) fee.

Bookings cannot be amended within 14 day(s) of arrival.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. The Homestead will debit the balance from your card 2 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 2 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Visa
PayPal
Cash
Bank transfer
Apple Pay
Google Pay

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does The Homestead have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is The Homestead dog friendly? No View all features
  • What attractions are near The Homestead? With the coast and the New Forest National Park so close, you’ll have a big choice of activities before you. Perhaps horse riding, cycling or canoeing on the Beaulieu river in the … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of The Homestead?
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  6 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at The Homestead? From R1 907,08 (for 1 night, 4 people) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact the-homestead


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission

Safety

Changes to your holiday

Arrivals and departures

Changes to your holiday

Extras

Occupancy

Hired accommodation

Arrivals and departures

General

Reception

Occupancy

Admission

Hired accommodation

Close