Book 5,344 campsites, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Woolton Farm

8.1

This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.

General

  • Scenic east Kent site set on a working fruit farm
  • Canterbury 15 minutes by car; 25 minutes to Whitstable
  • Rural scenery with peaceful orchards and a 16th-century thatched barn

The folk down at Woolton Farm know a thing or two about this stretch of land – they've been working it for over 100 years. The Mount family who run the place turn out some of the finest fruit, ciders and English wines around and are well-known in the trade. They also do a nice little sideline in outdoor accommodation and have some high-end tents set up on one of the loveliest bits of their farm…

The tents are located at the back of the fruit garden – where most of the varieties grown by the Mounts are on display – next to a row of cobnut trees. They're spaciously spread out over the green surrounds, with views of the fruit garden and the site's gorgeous 16th-century thatched barn. Birds of prey like buzzards can regularly be spotted circling overhead (in the evening they can be heard mewing in the skies above).

Inside, the accommodation is equipped with coconut matting, comfy mattresses, a central table and a powerful rechargeable torch. It's a short walk from here to the well-maintained toilets, showers and disabled washroom. A washing-up area, with fridges and a freezer, is also available to help with meal prep. Secure charging lockers for mobile phones and other small gadgets are available free of charge.

On selected days the friendly site team set up an open-air bar where you can sample Woolton Farm's own wine and award-winning cider. Other local booze and soft drinks are for sale here, as are ice creams and strawberries (farm-grown, of course). A barbecue is organised throughout the afternoon on some weekends (check with site staff for details).

This well-connected site is 15 minutes' drive from the cathedral city of Canterbury and 25 minutes from top coastal spots like Whitstable beach and Sandwich.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.1

Overall rating based on 22 reviews

 

73% would recommend this site to a friend.

64% would stay here again.

  81% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Beautiful but poorly managed site09/20/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPolly C.Confirmed

  • Barn Garden bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It’s beautiful and has a generally nice atmosphere. We did have a good time. The staff in general were super helpful and warm. The cider is great and the menu looked lovely.

    I think there are an abundance of nice campsites and glamping locations nearby so would probably head for one of those next time!0

    Disliked: 

    Unfortunately, the lady running the place was really rude and unpleasant. We took a car to the wrong place and were rudely reprimanded. We were genuinely sorry, it was a misunderstanding and we apologised profusely, but she just kept telling us off like children! We were told twice, once when I called ahead to check and once when we checked in, that our own BBQ was ok as long as it was on the stones. However the horrible boss lady had other views and made us put ours out just as we were about to cook for 6 hungry children. We were instructed to use the gas bbq which was dirty, had no cleaning equipment available AND had a gas leak so didn’t work. The lovely man who worked there fixed it for us very patiently (we’d seen him suffer her wrath too) but it did mean quite a delay for hungry kids. It also meant that we felt anxious about getting told off for the rest of our stay.

    We couldn’t cook everything we’d brought in this way so went to the bar for food, but they had run out of almost everything. The staff were really apologetic and said they had just had an unexpectedly busy day, but they had also run out of food for brunch at 11am the next day, so I’m tempted to think it was poor planning.

    The toilets were not cleaned during our stay (the sign on the door said they had been cleaned at 11am the day we arrived and the floor was really dirty by the time we left). The staff do not wear masks when preparing or serving food so there were not really any signs of Covid safety precautions.

    Other glampers have noted the thin mattresses and limited facilities, but to be fair this is all clear from the booking info and it’s cheaper than more luxurious glamping options.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Very pretty venue, clean facilities and friendly staff.08/31/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGrace W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very pretty venue, clean facilities, Barn is lovely.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Slope needs to be levelled. Other than that it is an excellent site.08/27/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Barn Garden bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved location, peaceful setting, barn, toilets, friendly staff. Everything great except slope in tent.

    Disliked: 

    Slope in tent 6 made sleeping difficult. Would stay again if they levelled the tent sites.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

We'll definitely go there again!08/22/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSergiy S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Barn Garden bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful and quiet location, very friendly helpful staff, great food and drinks at the barn, BBQ.

    Disliked: 

    Sleeping mats in the bell tent were a bit too firm for some.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

A beautiful place with lots of potential. Hopefully they will improve.08/02/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRachel R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Barn Garden bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The campsite, tent was lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful. BBQ to use was awesome.

    Disliked: 

    Shower and toilet facilities could do with improvements and more regular cleaning.
    Need to improve the kitchen area with more plug sockets as the phone charger socket was used for everything and so not much charging going on.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Definitely shouldn't be described as 'glamping '!. I expected a bed as07/12/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Barn Garden bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    scenic, really friendly and helpful staff

    Disliked: 

    sleeping accommodation

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent experience with friendly staff and delicious cider06/28/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomHayden M.Confirmed

  • Barn Garden bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We had an excellent stay at Woolton Farm. The staff were extremely friendly, helping us with numerous requests to make our stay more pleasant (mostly for working the BBQ). The facilities were exactly what you want for a camping experience. The tents were roomy and easily fit our group. I would recommend taking a duvet to sleep with as it provides a bit more comfort to go with the camping mattresses. "The Barn" itself served a range of fresh, produced on site cider - all of which were a great drop. The food from the café was delicious, notably the sausage rolls. They even had the Euros playing in The Barn itself. Overall, I definitely recommend Woolton Farm.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Super friendly staff who couldn’t do enough to make you feel welcome.06/28/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDavid N.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Barn Garden bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Staff and cleanliness

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Overall a great experience. Think cider barn with somewhere to crash.06/28/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Barn Garden bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely surroundings in the garden of this Cider Farm. The Barn itself was a great focal point and kept us dry from the rain during inclement weather. Lots of lovely local drinks and produce to try.

    Disliked: 

    It is just like camping in a big back garden. The toilet/shower block is clean but very limited and if the site has been busier then there would have been lots of waiting for turns. No where “dry” in the shower/toilet to leave clothes, and no where to sit when getting dressed.

    The camping mats were relatively short and not especially comfortable. This was not glamping but just ready pitched tents.

    Staff had ideas about walking locally but “hadn’t actually done it” themselves and weren’t aware that some routes were on busy roads with no footpaths, unsuitable for kids.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely area, safe for kids. Needs more practical thought & effort06/12/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKathryn S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Barn Garden bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely area, really pretty and camping area very safe for children. Good area for day trips

    Disliked: 

    Too few facilities for too many people. Toilets/shower not cleaned regularly. Often without soap or toilet roll.
    Shower very difficult with small children - no hooks or shelves to put products of dry clothes and no dry area to then dress.
    Ground under tents needs levelling and flattening - very bumpy and sloped so everyone just kept sliding off in the night. - not fun.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Coronavirus

Check-in: contactless (in person)

Deep cleaning of accommodation units between guests

Distance markers in shared facilities

Extra spacing in seated areas

Hand sanitizing stations

No cash accepted on site

Removal of soft furnishings (e.g. decorative cushions)

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Staggered showering times

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

No dogs allowed

Camping 2.0

Bell tents

Themes

Gastronomic delight

Hikers’ paradise

Peaceful

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Electric car charging point(s)

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Type

Farm

Tiny (1-10 sites)

Nearby leisure

Cycle hire nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Canterbury, Kent, England, CT4 5EA
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 51.2696°N 1.1393°E

Nearest transport

Coach stations
New Dover Road Park and Ride Terminal — 2.8 kilometres
Bus Station — 4.1 kilometres
Bus Depot — 11.3 kilometres
Train stations
Bekesbourne Rail Station — 0.9 kilometres
Sturry Rail Station — 3.7 kilometres
Canterbury East Rail Station — 4.5 kilometres
Ferry ports
Folkestone Eurotunnel Terminal — 19.3 kilometres
Ramsgate Ferry Terminal — 20.2 kilometres
Dover Eastern Docks Ferry Terminal — 20.7 kilometres
Airports
Kent International Airport — 17.5 kilometres
Lydd London Ashford Airport — 37.9 kilometres
London Southend Airport — 45.1 kilometres

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Local attractions and activities include:

- Canterbury Golf Club and Driving Range: five minutes' drive

- The Beaney House of Art and Knowledge: 15 minutes

- Canterbury Cathedral: 15 minutes

- Whitstable: 25 minutes

- Shepherd Neame Brewery: 25 minutes

- Sandwich: 25 minutes

- Margate: 40 minutes

- Joss Bay: 40 minutes

- Turner Contemporary (art gallery): 40 minutes

Must see

  • Howletts Wild Animal Park (0.6 kilometres)
  • St Augustine's Abbey (3.7 kilometres)
  • Canterbury Cathedral (4.0 kilometres)

National Trust

  • The White Cliffs of Dover (20.7 kilometres)
  • South Foreland Lighthouse (21.6 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Woolton Farm cancellation policy

No refunds within 3 days of arrival date.

Bookings cannot be amended within 14 day(s) of arrival.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Woolton Farm will debit the balance from your card 2 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 2 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Hired accommodation: £100,00 (R2 310,18) damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

Refunds within the indicated cancelation period are only possible if the park is able to relet your unit/site.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Visa
MasterCard

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Woolton Farm have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Woolton Farm dog friendly? No View all features
  • What attractions are near Woolton Farm? Local attractions and activities include: - Canterbury Golf Club and Driving Range: five minutes' drive - The Beaney House of Art and Knowledge: 15 minutes - Canterbury Cathedral: 15 minutes - Whitstable: … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Woolton Farm?
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact woolton-farm


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
At least one of the party members must be aged 21 or over.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 14 day(s) of arrival.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.

Coronavirus
Guests must bring their own duvets, pillows, sheets and towels when staying in rental accommodation. You will not be allowed to stay if you do not bring these items.

Hired accommodation
Hired accommodation: £100,00 (R2 310,18) damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Coronavirus
Minimum spacing of 6 metres between pitches.

Occupancy
No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Vehicles
No cars/motorcycles at the site. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Coronavirus
Protective masks must be worn at all times in common areas.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 11 p.m. and 8 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and trunks must be closed quietly.

Reception
Reception is unmanned after 5 p.m.. Please inform the park while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time so that the team can provide information about your unit/site.

General
Refunds within the indicated cancelation period are only possible if the park is able to relet your unit/site.
The bar is open between 01/04 and 03/10.

Arrivals and departures
The park will send you further check-in information 2 day(s) before your arrival.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Visitors
Visitors must leave the premises by 7 p.m..

Close