Book and review 4,045 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Stuarts Wood

9.9
View prices & book
From £28/€32,67/A$52,18/US$38,52/CA$48,43/CHF35,38/SEK333,73/DKK242,96/NOK340,10/ISK4 841/ARS3 712,97/CLP28 841/PEN151,97/NZ$55,28/R565,46/PLN148,98/R$200,54/CZK837,05/RSD3 843/HUF11 679,04/RUB2 844,37/CN¥249,22 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Stuarts Wood: Tent pitches

General

  • Nearly wild site in an oak woodland on a working country farm
  • Five-minute drive to Stock and 10 minutes to Hanningfield’s bird hide
  • Campfires allowed; 35 minutes from Southend-on-Sea beaches

Flock to the forest for a secluded stay amid the towering oak trees at Stuarts Wood. This pretty much wild site is set on the 800-acre Apps Estate, a working arable farm, and is a top place for a wildlife-watching weekend away as it’s a 10-minute drive from the bird hide at Hanningfield Nature Reserve.

The park is also peaceful – guests drop cars 200m away from the pitches, carrying their belongings to and fro in the provided wheelbarrows so vehicle noise doesn’t disturb the ambience.

Continuing the laidback vibes, campfires are permitted on base and, when not building blazes, visitors can wander around the woodland trails or on the historical Pilgrims Way route in the surrounding countryside. The coast is also close enough for a day trip – check out the beaches around Southend-on-Sea 35 minutes away.

If you’d like to have food prepared by others, walk towards one of the pubs near the park – there are a few within a half an hour’s amble. Alternatively, fill a bag up with local produce at the farm shop in Stock (five minutes’ drive) and cook it alfresco at your pitch.

As you’ve probably already realised, Stuarts Wood is a simple sort of site, so expect long-drop loos in the woods and not much else but a warm welcome and running water. The park operates a ‘love the farm, leave no trace policy’, so please take what you bring with you back home at the end of your stay.

Please note

No cars/motorcycles at the site. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

At least one of the party members must be aged 21 or over.

This site has no on-site shower facilities.

No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

The car park is located about 200m from the pitches. You will be provided with wheelbarrows to transfer your gear to your pitch.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.9

Overall rating based on 77 reviews

 

99% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

  94% described as Bush ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Great back to basics site....pitches are just what you need....toilets …07/21/2021

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomglenn n.Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great back to basics site....pitches are just what you need....toilets kept really clean. Great owners, very helpful. chilled relaxed....what else do you want. Going back in a fortnight.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your review Glenn.
We are glad you enjoyed camp isolation.
You left it spotless which means a lot to us.
See you in a couple of weeks.
Ken and Sonya

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A really rare find, back to basics camping with amazing hosts07/19/2021

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomben s.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The hosts, the setting, and the pitches

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind words Ben.
We are glad you liked the woods.
Thank you for leaving the pitstop spotless.
Ken and Sonya

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Beautiful woodland site07/19/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJune H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Being in the woods for a couple of days, off-grid, was a salve for the soul. This is a beautiful spot: lovely plots which afford plenty of privacy, and great facilities. Sonya and Ken were amazing hosts - thank you! Sonya’s craft session went down a treat with the seven year old (who wants to live in Stuart’s Wood, if only). Plenty of places to visit nearby, but no need when there are woods to play/relax in.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Woodland Bliss07/13/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGary B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely chilled back to nature site. With nice footpaths in the area including a walk via St Peters Way through to the Three Compasses pub.
    Ken and Sonya are the perfect hosts, friendly and helpful and kept the two composting loos clean and surprisingly fresh smelling.
    The four little piggies were a nice addition, will definitely return with my 8 year old.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind words and pictures Gary. Camp isolation and you, were a perfect match. Thank you for leaving it spotless.
Ken and Sonya

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Amazing vibe to the site. Loved the back to nature …07/12/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChiara G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Amazing vibe to the site. Loved the back to nature and zen approach. Ken and Sonya were amazing hosts, they have set up a little utopia.
    The pigs were so lovely to see.
    Great pitch, lovely and private with fantastic views.
    The toilet and sink facilities were absolutely spotless.
    Definitely will be back. Thanks for an amazing stay.

    Disliked: 

    ..can't control the rain unfortunately.

From the manager...

Wow, now that is a beautiful sunset.
St Louis hotel at its finest. We loved meeting you and hope to see you again.
Thank you so much for leaving your pitch spotless. It really means a lot to us.
Ken and Sonya

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Everything you need for a stripped back night of camping …07/12/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTom H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything you need for a stripped back night of camping . My girls loved it as did I. Ken and Sonya were fantastic hosts and were brilliant with my girls . Made the night even more special for them. Especially getting to feed the pigs . Will definitely be returning.
    Thanks

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review, it was a real pleasure to meet you and the girls they were excellent campers, we are happy our curly tailed friends brought some joy.
Thank you for loving the woods and leaving no trace.
Ken and Sonya

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Pitch was perfect, the woods were lovely and peaceful, and …07/12/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pitch was perfect, the woods were lovely and peaceful, and the pigs super cute. Ken and Sonja bent over backwards to make everything perfect despite the British summer weather. Will be coming back again for sure.

    Disliked: 

    The rain

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.
We can control many things however the weather is not one of them.
Once your camp was set up in diesels rest you guys looked pretty dry.
Thank you for leaving your pitch spotlessly clean.
Ken and Sonya

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent wild camping experience for family and friends07/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMatt P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Off grid pitch, very secluded, could only hear the fire crackling and the local wild life.
    Very friendly welcome on arrival

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind words Matt.
You pitch was perfect for sitting around a fire.
We hope the little fella liked it and turns in to a life long camper.
Thank you for leaving your pitch sparkly clean.
Ken and Sonya

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Location, staff07/05/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJohn D.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, staff

    Disliked: 

    Nothing!

From the manager...

Thank you for your review John.
We are really happy you loved camp isolation.
It's our new pitch and is very popular.
Thank you for loving the woods and leaving no trace.
Ken and Sonya

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

The hosts were extremely friendly and the facilities although basic …07/05/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMark P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The hosts were extremely friendly and the facilities although basic were clean and well maintained. Each campsite is also nice and private.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your review Mark, we are happy you enjoyed staying in Bons place.
Thank you for leaving it spotless. Well done for missing the rain.
Ken and Sonya

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Check-in: one group at a time

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

No dogs allowed

Themes

Bush

Peaceful

Remote location

Wild camping

Utilities

Charging facilities

Communal fridge

Dump station

Electric car charging point(s)

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Dog walk nearby

Type

Farm

Tiny (1-10 sites)

Nearby leisure

Fishing nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Great Preston Lane, Stock, Essex, England, CM4 9RN
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 51.6591°N 0.4762°E

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Stock (Essex): War Memorial Coach Stop — 2.2 kilometres
Billericay: The Chequers Coach Stop — 5.3 kilometres
Chelmsford Bus Station — 8.6 kilometres
Train stations
Billericay Rail Station — 5.2 kilometres
Wickford Rail Station — 5.7 kilometres
Ingatestone Rail Station — 6.4 kilometres
Ferry ports
Wallasea Island Ferry Landing — 22.4 kilometres
Burnham on Crouch Ferry Landing — 24.0 kilometres
Tilbury Ferry Terminal — 24.4 kilometres
Airports
London Southend Airport — 18.6 kilometres
London Stansted Airport — 29.7 kilometres
London City Airport — 34.2 kilometres

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Check out Chelmsford (15 minutes’ drive) from this park – the city’s a historical haven with hotspots including the 18th-century Hylands House’s multiple acres of parkland and the medieval Chelmsford Cathedral.

The Essex Regiment Museum, showcasing military bits and bobs including weapons, uniform and medals, is also nearby (15 minutes) to excite folk who find poking around in the past the most satisfying way to spend some time.

A little out of the city is the RHS Garden Hyde Hall (20 minutes), just the place for glimpsing views from the hilltop setting or to rove around the rose-filled green areas. For a wilder landscape, head to Hanningfield Nature Reserve (10 minutes), an 870-acre reservoir edging old woodland that’s covered in bluebells during springtime.

And for a change of scenery? Set off for the busy beachside resort of Southend-on-Sea for bucket and spade sessions or hours at the machines in the amusement arcades.

Must see

  • RHS Garden Hyde Hall (6.8 kilometres)
  • Dickens World (28.9 kilometres)
  • The Historic Dockyard Chatham (29.7 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Rainham Hall (25.3 kilometres)
  • Coggeshall Grange Barn (27.1 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart by:  noon

Stuarts Wood cancellation policy

No refunds within 1 week of arrival date.

Changes cannot be made once you have booked.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Stuarts Wood will debit the balance from your card 2 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 2 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does Stuarts Wood have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Stuarts Wood dog friendly? No View all features
  • What attractions are near Stuarts Wood? Check out Chelmsford (15 minutes’ drive) from this park – the city’s a historical haven with hotspots including the 18th-century Hylands House’s multiple acres of parkland and the medieval Chelmsford Cathedral. The … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Stuarts Wood?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  noon
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Stuarts Wood? From R565,46 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact stuarts-wood


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
At least one of the party members must be aged 21 or over.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Changes to your holiday
Changes cannot be made once you have booked.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.

Reception
If the reception is closed on arrival, please check in at the hay barn.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.

Extras
Motorcycle(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

Occupancy
No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Vehicles
No cars/motorcycles at the site. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Please pick any available site on arrival.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 10 p.m. and 8 a.m..

Reception
Reception is open from 8 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. between 31/07 and 31/08 and between 31/07 and 31/08.

General
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
This site has no on-site shower facilities.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Visitors
Visitors are not permitted on site.

Additional terms

The car park is located about 200m from the pitches. You will be provided with wheelbarrows to transfer your gear to your pitch.

Close