Book and review 2,198 RV parks and campgrounds in the USA, Europe and South America

Feefo service rating

Oakwood Farm Touring Park

7.9
View prices & book
From £20/€22.47/A$36.30/US$26.72/$34.74/CHF24.35/SEK228.26/DKK167.25/NOK237.79/ISK3,616/ARS2,156.30/CLP20,679/PEN96.47/NZ$38.30/ZAR406.61/PLN100.23/R$143.64/CZK587.30/RSD2,642/HUF8,100.63/RUB2,016.73/CN¥176.16 (for 1 night, 4 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Oakwood Farm Touring Park

General

  • Spacious family site under 10 minutes' drive from Chester
  • 15 minutes' drive from Cheshire Oaks and Chester Zoo
  • Campfires and barbecues allowed on pitches

Take a swift exit from the end of the M56 and pitch up within minutes: how’s that for easy access? And with the M53 and A55 nearby as well, Oakwood Farm Touring Park is spectacularly well located for travel from Liverpool, Manchester and north Wales.

A few miles from the fably handsome city of Chester, this site has loads of things to do nearby: a 15-minute drive will bring you to the zoo, the racecourse or a designer shopping spree. Head north a little and on a warm day (or less warm if you’re feeling brave) you can be dipping your toes in the sea at the beaches on the Wirral, half an hour’s drive away.

However you choose to spend your day you’ll no doubt welcome a restorative night’s sleep, and the quiet pitches at Oakwood Farm should aid restful slumber. There’s plenty of space around the fields, so let the kids and dogs run around till they’ve tired themselves out, then gather round the campfire until it’s time to crash out.

You’re welcome to light a barbecue to cook your dinner; a supermarket 10 minutes away if you need to stock up on sausages. If you’d like to go out, a couple of pubs are a mile or so away and a wide range of eats are available in central Chester.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

7.9

Overall rating based on 112 reviews

 

76% would recommend this park to a friend.

72% would stay here again.

  60% described as Budget/backpacker ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Never looked, arrived and left in the dark.11/24/2020

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomneil w.Confirmed

  • FHU asphalt RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Never looked, arrived and left in the dark.

    Disliked: 

    Reception advertised as open until 9pm. Arrived at 6pm, door locked. Rang the phone number on the window , no answer.
    We had to find a pitch ourselves then 10 minutes later they rang me which I missed. I rang the number back within 10 secs but no reply.
    No mention in their glowing description of the site the continuous horrendous road noise.

    Definitely one for us to avoid in the future.
    Fully serviced pitch I would expect waste drain but no.

Overall
4
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Close to attractions11/13/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDebbie C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU asphalt trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Close to attractions

    Disliked: 

    Noise on Road all the time, big pot holes on the drive onto site, lady’s shower loose tile on floor so water always underneath it, had to keep ringing site manager when we arrived for pitch number and wifi password and pin for toilets nobody gave us any information a family had dogs running around off lead and they kept chasing my little girl and barking

From the manager...

Debbie

thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. obviously we cannot do anything about road noise, but the "potholes" as you call them are part of an ongoing development at the entrance and have now been re surfaced with tarmac which was programmed in for the quiet season. The loose tile in the ladies i can only apologise for and this has now also been rectified. i am unable unless told at the time able to police all guests (regardless of nationality) but had i been told then i would certainly have done something about that.
We have contactless check in for safety ease during the current pandemic and all passwords/wifi codes/ and toilet door codes were sent to the email supplied to us via PITCHUP at 8 am on your day of arrival.

we hope you had a safe onward journey

Kind Regards

Peter

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site with clean facilities10/23/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAndrew R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU asphalt RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good size pitch clean facilities

    Disliked: 

    Deep Potholes on road on to campsite

From the manager...

Thank you for your review , we are pleased you enjoyed the site. We have had the materials delivered to address the issue on the road and we are now waiting for a confirmed date from our contractor to carry the repairs out.
Kind Regards
Oakwood Farm Team

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

We'll be back. This site is perfect for us. Do you do season passes?10/19/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPaul W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU asphalt trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Almost everything. Perfect location, clean facilities and a nice clean quiet site.

    Disliked: 

    The pot holes on the main path need filling but it didn't really take from the experience.

From the manager...

Hi Paul,
thank you for your great review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are in the process of levelling the road as we speak.
Kind Regards
Oakwood Farm Team

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

The site was absolutely fine10/13/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJohn B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU asphalt trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The gravel pitch was excellent

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi John,
thankyou for your review we would look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Oakwood Farm Team

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

good site as above very clean facilities, staff very friendly all good10/12/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU asphalt RV site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice welcome, good pitch, facilities very clean and warm.

    Disliked: 

    traffic noise from nearby road

From the manager...

Dear Guest
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and really hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Oakwood Farm Team

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

All Good09/29/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJerry W.Confirmed

  • FHU asphalt trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    All Good

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi Jerry,
thanks for the great score, this is always our aim.
Kind Regards
Oakwood Farm Team

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Really nice place to stay. definitely recommend, definitely stay again09/28/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSuzanne L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely small area. Clean and looked after. Toilet and shower facilities were clean. Lovely staff. Well looked after pitches. Near a petrol station, spa and Co op, pub.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi Suzanne,
thank you for your positive review , please come and stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Oakwood Farm Team

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Would definitely go back. Clean facilities and friendly staff.09/28/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTom W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • FHU grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Small site, clean warm shower/toilet block. Friendly staff. Quick car ride to Chester and Aldi just a couple of miles away.

    Disliked: 

    Traffic noise and very rocky ground (under the surface so a couple of bent tent pegs)

From the manager...

Hi Tom,
we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and really hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Oakwood Farm Team

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site with clean facilities, friendly staff and level pitches …09/27/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKevin S.Confirmed

  • FHU grass tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Excellent site with clean facilities, friendly staff and level pitches
    with easy bus link to Chester

    Disliked: 

    Closeness of the major roads
    Some of the groups that were booked in ( young groups )

From the manager...

Hi Kevin

Thank you for your excellent review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Oakwood Farm Chester

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Utilities

Charging facilities

Communal fridge

Dump station

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Public transportation nearby

Type

Small (11-25 sites)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Seasonal sites

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Parkgate Road, Saughall, Chester, Cheshire, England, CH1 6EY
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 53.2408°N 2.9543°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Chester Zoo Bus Terminal — 4.6 kilometers
Ellesmere Port: Bus Station — 5.3 kilometers
Chester: Bus Exchange — 6.7 kilometers
Train stations
Capenhurst Rail Station — 2.3 kilometers
Little Sutton Rail Station — 5.0 kilometers
Overpool Rail Station — 5.2 kilometers
Ferry ports
Woodside Birkenhead Ferry Terminal — 17.5 kilometers
Birkenhead Ferry Terminal — 18.5 kilometers
Liverpool Pier Head Ferry Terminal — 18.5 kilometers
Airports
Liverpool John Lennon Airport — 12.6 kilometers
Manchester Airport Terminal 2 — 47.1 kilometers
Manchester Airport — 47.4 kilometers

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Oakwood Farm's location puts it within easy reach not only of major cities but also lots of family-friendly attractions.

A perennial favourite is Chester Zoo, 10 minutes' drive away – the 125-acre park is home to more than 15,000 animals, many of them exotic and endangered species, so there's plenty to keep you entertained for a full day. For animal life of the marine variety, head to the Blue Planet Aquarium, four miles away, where you can walk through a tunnel of sharks or sign up to don a wetsuit and get in the tank (advance booking required).

Walking around the city of Chester, four miles away, makes a most agreeable day out too: stroll on the city's ancient walls, visit the cathedral's falconry exhibit, take a boat trip on the River Dee and admire the famed black and white buildings in Chester Rows.

Half an hour's drive and you're on the Wirral and its beaches: go for Red Rocks beach for birdwatching or head to the North Wirral Coastal Park to climb among the sand dunes. Also on the Wirral is Port Sunlight, a village built for local factory workers in the late 19th century: there's lots to see here including a park, museum, art gallery and heritage tours.

Must see

  • Chester Zoo (5.4 kilometers)
  • Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet (5.5 kilometers)
  • Chester Cathedral (6.8 kilometers)

National Trust

  • Speke Hall, Garden and Estate (11.8 kilometers)
  • Mr Hardman's Photographic Studio (17.7 kilometers)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

RV, trailer and tent sites
Arrive:  noon –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Oakwood Farm Touring Park cancelation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancelations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Oakwood Farm Touring Park will debit the balance from your card 2 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 2 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted at the park

Bank transfer
Cash
PayPal
Visa
MasterCard

Terms and conditions

Park booking terms and conditions

  • Does Oakwood Farm Touring Park have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Oakwood Farm Touring Park dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Oakwood Farm Touring Park? Oakwood Farm's location puts it within easy reach not only of major cities but also lots of family-friendly attractions. A perennial favourite is Chester Zoo, 10 minutes' drive away – the 125-acre … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Oakwood Farm Touring Park?
    RV, trailer and tent sites
    Arrive:  noon –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Oakwood Farm Touring Park? From $34.74 (for 1 night, 4 people) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact oakwood_farm_touring_park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Vehicles
No vehicle movement between 11:30 p.m. and 6 a.m..
Only one car is to be parked at the site. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Reception
Reception is open from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. between 01/01 and 31/12.

General
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Dogs
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

Taxes
This area is not subject to city tax.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Visitors
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.

Sites
You must follow management instructions when setting up your tent/rig and related equipment.

Close