9.3

Overall rating based on 24 reviews

 

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

  89% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Lovely and peaceful, not too busy which was great. Great …02/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJoe N.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely and peaceful, not too busy which was great. Great facilities, good little shop on site which was a life saver! Really enjoyed our stay

    Disliked: 

    –

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A beautiful spot, not far from Dartmoor on the top …01/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPhilip L.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A beautiful spot, not far from Dartmoor on the top of a hill. We received a warm welcome and had no difficulty finding a quiet, fairly flat location to pitch the tent. There is plenty of room for tents. The ground is grassy and holds tent pegs well. The latter is important, as it is quite exposed and seems often to be windy there. The facilities block has adequate washing-up basins, loos, showers and hand-washing troughs, which are quite new and kept clean each day. It also has some USB charging points, two fridges and a freezer for communal use. The children obviously find the swings etc. to be a major attraction. The camp-site also runs a small shop with bread, milk, eggs, sausages, spare pegs etc. for half an hour each morning and evening, which we found useful occasionally. In all, it is a fine campsite, far from the noise of modern life (and not easy to find!), and we enjoyed what it had to offer.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing major, but for us there was insufficient space for our freezer blocks in the one communal freezer - a second or third freezer would be needed. At the time we were there (late July), also, the three male loos and three female loos were a bit minimal for the number of campers. One of the ladies' loos did not latch properly.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent value31/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRichard B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site was very clean, toilets etc were spotless. Charging facilities for phones etc.
    The owners are very friendly and the site shop is handy for bacon eggs etc
    Ideally placed for touring South Devon 30-40 minutes drive to most places of interest. Salcombe, Plymouth Torquay etc.
    Would I visit again definitely

    Disliked: 

    Nothing really

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Facilities are really clean. Owners are really friendly30/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGediminas A.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very quiet, surrounded by beautiful views. Can sid down and watch sunset, sun disappearing in mountains, so beautiful. Facilities was clean, hosts was really friendly and very helpful. A lot of beaches around 30 minutes away from camp.

    Disliked: 

    We left our food in fridge and someone managed to open a new pack of meat and eat half of it....
    Drinking water had a different taste, and my and my gf had diariea for couple of days. Until we stopped drinking that water.

From the manager...

Thank your for comments, the fridges and freezer we supply our communal use and i am sorry to hear that someone has taken your food.

The water is supplied by South West Water, which has to passes the controls and test they have for supplying drinking water to our local area. We have received no other reports of upset stomachs on site.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Facilities Simplicities The Hosts! The shop The view Location22/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSarah B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Facilities
    Simplicities
    The Hosts!
    The shop
    The view
    Location

    Disliked: 

    One screaming child!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Very friendly owners, quiet, peaceful place to camp22/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice and quiet place, facilities block was absolutely spotless!

    Disliked: 

    –

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Everything was as I expected19/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPaula K.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything was as I expected

    Disliked: 

    –

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Lovely and peaceful with lovely views02/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely and peaceful with lovely views

    Disliked: 

    Not so much disliked but it was very windy

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

I highly recommend.30/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLeonard S.Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great off the beaten track just what I wanted. Louise is very helpful and works hard to please everyone, this year more than ever with COVID still around hygiene is top priority, the shower block was spotless.
    After staying through two storms Louise checked up on everyone to make sure they were okay. Their meat is first class.
    I will certainly be going back.

    Disliked: 

    The weather. You take what’s given to you.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great location, great value, great people. will definitely go back!27/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKevin J.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Really relaxed and calm campsite, very spacious with great views of Dartmoor. Great to be able to relax around a fire in the evening. Louise who runs the campsite was incredibly helpful and very friendly. During Storm Ellen she checked on everybody and ensured that we were all alright. Putting up with 55mph winds was a challenge in a tent, but she ensured that we were all safe and if we needed anything she would help out, even moving her car to provide some extra protection was great! It was great to see everyone on the campsite helping each other and very friendly and supportive during the storm. The facilities were good, and during this difficult time were clearly well organised and sanitised. If you wanted some additional food, eggs, bacon, burgers this was available at a good price!
    The location was ideal to go for walks in Dartmoor. Nearby shops and pubs easily accessible with a short drive.

    Disliked: 

    –

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)