Book and review 3,046 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

The Shearers' Retreat

9.7
View prices & book
From £65/€75.19/$116.34/US$90.05/CA$112.59/CHF82.83/SEK760.16/DKK559.18/NOK752.84/ISK11,393/ARS8,359.51/CLP63,291/PEN327.61/NZ$125.93/ZAR1,285.26/PLN341.94/R$503.83/CZK1,948.64/RSD8,846/HUF27,165.88/RUB6,860.92/CN¥587.04 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

The Shearers' Retreat: Great views from the pitching field

General

  • Peaceful site on a working sheep farm surrounded by woods
  • Wildlife haven with resident red kites soaring overhead
  • Campfires and barbecues allowed; supplies in Llandeilo 10 mins' drive

Escape with ease to a valley and river-baed Carmarthenshire break at Shearer’s Retreat, a serene farm site to the west of the Brecon Beacons National Park in a setting hailed as ‘stunning’, ‘beautiful’ and ‘peaceful’ by former guests.

On a working sheep farm surrounded by woodland, the retreat is a quiet but conveniently set spot for lazy holidays and Carmarthenshire sightseeing, as well as wanders through the fields to the tree-lined river of Afon Dulas flowing along the valley. Look around and up occasionally when you’re idling around on site, to see wildlife of all sorts in the surrounding fields, and buzzards and the resident red kites Kath and Kenny flitting around overhead.

Bring your own tent/trailer tent or settle down in one of the glamping options on site, such as the water-view shepherd's hut with comfy double bed already made up, and with an ensuite shower, marine flush toilet, table and chairs, hot and cold running water, LED lights and a phone charger.

Off site, there's no need for lengthy journeys whether you’re going for sightseeing or sustenance: the local pub (recommended for its food) is a couple of miles away and the independent shops, boutiques, delis, supermarket, Friday morning farmers’ market and award-winning local food suppliers of Llandeilo are a couple of miles after that.

Welsh highlights of all sorts are within a short drive too, like the National Botanic Garden of Wales (the dome of which is viewable from the farm), National Trust properties, gold mines and two castles. Carmarthen is 25 minutes’ drive away.

Please note

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Dogs are not allowed in the on-site accommodations.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.7

Overall rating based on 35 reviews

 

97% would recommend this site to a friend.

97% would stay here again.

  100% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

This little hut in a field did not disappoint. It …27/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEmma F.Confirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This little hut in a field did not disappoint. It was lovely and homely, clean and very comfortable. It had everything we needed, with beautiful views and lots of peace and quiet. Kerry & Louisa, the owners, (and their dogs) are very friendly and welcoming.

    We will definitely be going back next year and can't wait!

    Richard & Emma

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

On arrival we were greeted personally and told we could …21/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRhiain M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    On arrival we were greeted personally and told we could explore the farm. Beautiful countryside and views on our doorstep which we took advantage of.

    The accommodation was clean, compact and yet spacious and comfortable. It had everything we could need and a few lovely additional features.

    There was plenty of firewood for the log burner and firepit, we were lucky to have a clear night...the stars were incredible!

    We will definately book again and I'd recommend to others.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Everything about this stay was wonderful. Greeted by Owner which …20/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCarolyn C.Confirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything about this stay was wonderful. Greeted by Owner which was a nice personal touch. Lovely and relaxing stay in isolated spot. Just perfect.

    Disliked: 

    There really isn't anything to dislike about this place to stay.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site, clean facilities, friendly hosts01/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMelanie C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very quiet, beautiful location. Views where stunning from the hut.
    Hosts were very helpful and friendly.
    The hut was very clean and cosy.
    Little wood burner heated the hut up very well and made it feel very warm and cosy. Villages/towns around where very quaint with lovely welcoming pubs.
    We visited Pembrokeshire and the Brecon Beacons, each within an hours drive on the A40.
    Would definitely book again.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Wonderful28/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMandy P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was lovely even with storm Francis being ferocious outside. The woodburner made the retreat very warm in no time.

    Disliked: 

    None

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

excellent17/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDarren M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    quite no one around lovely location

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent accommodation with amazing views13/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDonna P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Amazing set up . Just what was needed after shielding for months . Had Whole field to ourselves. Very well equipped inside and out , (shower toilet sink ) which we wanted as didn’t want to share . Feels like your in the middle of nowhere ( but close to lovely town ) it’s that quiet you can hear yourself think . Owners are amazing too . Can’t wait to return.

    Disliked: 

    NOTHING

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Entire field to ourselves, very well equipped cabin, very friendly …04/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKatarzyna L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Entire field to ourselves, very well equipped cabin, very friendly hosts, bbq facilities.

    Disliked: 

    Absolutely nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent Site, friendly accommodating staff, clean facilities.27/07/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomShannon G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The Shepherds Hut was cosy,very clean and exceeded our expectations and had everything we needed for the duration of our stay we loved how secluded and quiet it was and that the field was ours. The staff (Kerry and Louisa) were very friendly and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for them for example our volt meter was showing a low level and turning lights on would cut out the power, a quick text and they was there in minutes and problem solved immediately. They stopped for a quick chat to ask how we were getting on any problems ECT. They recommended we visit the Lilly ponds in Bosherston so the next day we drove down and had a look around. Beautiful scenery and a secluded beach half way round and all round lovely walk excellent recommendation by both great knowledge of the area and plenty to do. The morning of our last day Louisa and Kerry drove by the hut to say goodbye and ask how our stay was and asked about the lily ponds. We left feeling very satisfied with our stay and we will definitely be rebooting for another mini break soon.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Good location. Friendly owners. Unlucky on our visit.08/01/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLaura C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The owners were incredibly friendly and the location was good was local sight seeing.

    Disliked: 

    Unfortunately, the lodge had a big problem with flies that got worse and worse over the evening. The more we removed, the more there were coming in from cracks in the wood ceiling and walls. It was so bad we decided to go home rather than stay.

From the manager...

Hi Laura, we are so sorry this happened. Since you were here we have called in the professionals, and the issue has now been resolved.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Check-in: self check-in (unattended)

Dedicated shower facility per glamping unit

Dedicated toilet facility per glamping unit

Deep cleaning of accommodation units between guests

Disinfectant sprays and wipes provided

Removal of soft furnishings (e.g. decorative cushions)

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Tents for hire

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Camping 2.0

Shepherd's huts

Themes

Peaceful

Remote location

Wild camping

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Communal fridge

Dump station

Electric car charging point(s)

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Dog walk nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Type

Farm

Tiny (1-10 sites)

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Tennis nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Seasonal sites

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Pen Hill, Broad Oak, Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire, Wales, SA32 8QS
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 51.9070°N 4.0745°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Cross Hands: Post Office Bus Stop — 12.5 kilometres
Pencader (Carmarthenshire): Square Bus Stop — 16.8 kilometres
Carmarthen: Blue Street o/s Bus Station — 17.1 kilometres
Train stations
Llandeilo Rail Station — 6.5 kilometres
Ffairfach Rail Station — 6.8 kilometres
Llandybie Rail Station — 10.7 kilometres
Ferry ports
Swansea Queens Dock Ferry Terminal — 34.3 kilometres
Airports
Swansea Airport — 33.9 kilometres

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

The farm’s river and woodland setting is within 20 minutes’ drive of several day trips to suit most tastes – perhaps to Aberglasney Gardens or the National Botanic Gardens of Wales, to the National Trust-managed traditional Carmarthenshire farmhouse at Aberdeunant, to country parks, or to two castles – Dinefwr and Carreg Cennen.

Carreg Cennen Castle is just inside the Brecon Beacons National Park and has spectacular views over its western landscape: take in your fill of these then descend to investigate what’s on offer in the Beacons; trails lead from the castle further into the park. For more sedate sightseeing, the Gwili Steam Railway (30 minutes’ drive away at Bronwydd Arms Station) chuffs along a four and a half-mile section of the former Carmarthen to Aberystwyth line.

Heading towards the seaside, the scenic beaches of Gower and Pembrokeshire are 45 minutes’ drive away, as is the Boathouse, or Dylan Thomas Writing Shed, at Laugharne, where the writer spent the last four years of his life. It’s a cinch to get to Cardiff from here too, in about an hour and 20 minutes’ drive via the M40.

Many events including musical nights, antiques fairs and family days take place throughout the year: ask the friendly and knowledgeable site team for info.

Must see

  • Aberglasney Gardens (3.1 kilometres)
  • National Botanic Garden of Wales (8.8 kilometres)
  • Carreg Cennen Castle (10.2 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Aberdeunant (5.9 kilometres)
  • Dolaucothi Gold Mines (17.5 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  3:30 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  4 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

When you arrive, please call in at the white house on the right.

The Shearers' Retreat cancellation policy

No refunds within 1 week of arrival date.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. The Shearers' Retreat will debit the balance from your card 15 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 15 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does The Shearers' Retreat have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is The Shearers' Retreat dog friendly? No View all features
  • What attractions are near The Shearers' Retreat? The farm’s river and woodland setting is within 20 minutes’ drive of several day trips to suit most tastes – perhaps to Aberglasney Gardens or the National Botanic Gardens of Wales, to … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of The Shearers' Retreat?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  3:30 p.m. –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  4 p.m. –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.

    When you arrive, please call in at the white house on the right.

    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at The Shearers' Retreat? From $116.34 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact the-shearers-retreat


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Dogs
Dogs are not allowed in the on-site accommodations.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

General
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and trunks must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Dogs
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Additional terms

Please remember this is a working farm: respect the land, the animals and take due care.

Close