Book 5,344 campground, glamping sites and holiday parks throughout Australia, Europe, the UK and the Americas

Feefo service rating

The Oaks Poultry Farm

9.3

This campground/park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.

General

  • Family-friendly working farm site in the South Downs National Park
  • A 10-minute drive from Ditchling Beacon and 25 minutes from Brighton
  • On-site farm shop, tearoom and kids' farm (free entry for guests)

The Oaks Poultry Farm doesn’t overcomplicate things when it comes to a breezy break away… in the South Downs National Park, this working farm site is a simple, straightforward and friendly site in the scenic Sussex countryside with a lush field where you may pick your preferred patch to plop down on.

You won’t need to sacrifice the simple pleasures of a break in the outdoors here, as the site permits small firepits and there are logs available to buy from the on-site shop (or you may bring your own). As the site is surrounded by woodlands and wildlife, you won’t able to pick your own wood there.

Meals are made pretty easy here too, as the on-site farm shop sells quality fresh meat from the farm, eggs and other essentials such as baked beans, milk and bacon. The shop is only closed on Sundays, so if you’re planning something then, the site takes orders to be collected on a Sunday.

With walks close by, you may decide to re-energise in the on-site tearoom too, where there’s tea, coffee, homemade cakes and ice creams, plus outdoor seating. The small indoor play area has a place where adults may sit down while kids muck about in the sandpit and mud kitchens or meet the small petting animals.

As a working farm, there are a number of animals including donkeys, goats, ducks, cows and poultry to see. The facilities are basic, inlcuding toilets and showers split into male and female, along with dishwashing facilities.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.3

Overall rating based on 33 reviews

 

91% would recommend this site to a friend.

91% would stay here again.

  76% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Very noisy, overbooked31/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Unpowered grass and earth tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good quality farm shop on site with range of meat produced on the farm, plus charcoal and logs available. Sand pit and animals in the indoor farm area was great for keeping young kids entertained

    Disliked: 

    Incredibly noisy site. Overbooked; it’s advertised as max 10 pitches but there were 14 pitches on one day and 12 another. The site classes group bookings of multiple tents/families as one pitch and private bookings don’t count, apparently. Loud music played by various tents until approx 10pm, not ideal for young kids trying to sleep or trying to enjoy sitting around a campfire. There were about 50 people camping in the field and only 1 shower each for male/female so inevitable queues. Toilet/shower block needs renovating & only cleaned once per day. Stayed over August Bank Holiday weekend; on Saturday there were 2 local festivals playing competing loud music until 9.30pm followed by ridiculously loud dance music in the fields behind until 5.30am and then 2.30am on Sunday, all campers were moaning about not being able to sleep. The site owner said he had thought about driving around to find out where it was coming from and calling the police, but he was too tired. At least the loud music drowned out the noise from nearby road. Site can only open for 1 month as nearby residents object to noise from site. The field has a gentle slope throughout. Very long grass, not too bad as very dry summer but would not be great when wet. Nice view of surrounding hills, somewhat spoilt by view of old caravans stored on the farm. Not much space due to so many tents crammed in. We had to complain as somebody tried to pitch literally less than 2 metres from our tent. No allocated pitches so it was a bit of a lottery on arrival. Checkout at 11am but it’s not enforced; one day someone left at 5pm which meant someone else that arrived in early afternoon was stuck having to squeeze between 2 tents.

From the manager...

We are a small family run farm business looking to diversify and this our first full camping season, so we appreciate your feedback.
To follow up on your comments:
Noisy – at the time of writing, 76% of our reviews comment that the campsite is peaceful. You were incredibly unlucky to have three noisy events occurring at the same time. We have never experienced this level of disturbance before in this area, even around the bank holiday. On investigation, the local party was a weekend house party while the parents were away. You commented that I stated I was too tired to go round there to complain. We also were kept awake by the noise as we live on site and after an extremely busy day, at 2am I did feel too tired to safely drive around to investigate. I am very sorry that you felt other campers were playing music too loud in the evening. I didn’t receive any other complaints about this from other campers. As you will have seen, I go around the campsite in the evening checking on the campers, selling logs and reminding all campers to keep noise down. I also go around the farm to lock up each night about 10 to 10.30, and didn’t hear any loud music during your stay otherwise I would have been straight there to remind them to respect our campers, animals and neighbours.
Overbooked – before setting up the campsite, I took advice from other campsites and Pitch Up and they advised our set up was suitable for 12 pitches. After following up with Pitch Up I can now see that the general information page says 10 pitches and doesn’t link to the allocation page where we stated 12 pitches. We will amend this for next season when we re-open to ensure they match at 10 pitches. At least you had the whole campsite to yourself on last night.
You commented that I said we had to keep the number of days we do camping to a minimum, otherwise our neighbours would complain about the noise. This comment has been misinterpreted. The reason we stick to 28 days is because this is stipulated by UK planning rules. The neighbours voiced concerns about potential noise before we opened the campsite, but haven’t commented on any noise from our campsite this season. I walk around the campsite/farm a number of times in the evening to ensure all our guests respect our noise rules.
Check out times – on reflection we were probably too relaxed on this, but at least you were able to take advantage of this too. We will tighten up next year and ensure campers leave by the specified time.
Pitches – I was advised we had plenty of space for 12 pitches and therefore did not need to allocate pitches. We were only fully booked on the bank holiday weekend and I was surprised that no one took advantage of the acres of space in the middle of the field and everyone camped around the outside. Next year, I will amend the pitches to 10, but will continue to allow people to choose their pitch as long as they maintain a 6 metre gap from their neighbours.
Toilet block – it was thoroughly cleaned once a day, but checked regularly during the day. I spoke to all the staff that cleaned the toilets, including my wife and all commented that the toilets were never in an unhygienic state when they arrived to clean them
We have always marketed ourselves as a very basic but friendly campsite and we do try and look after our campers. We gave lifts to several campers who were unable to book a taxi to the station to visit the festivals in Brighton and as you will remember, my daughter happened to be in the camping field showing campers our new baby goats, when your son got stung by a wasp. My daughter immediately ran home to get our antihistamine cream for him and left it with you overnight so he would be more comfortable.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Clean and friendly. The children’s farm makes it.30/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Unpowered grass and earth tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The farm and indoor play area was brilliant for the children and the owners even brought around the baby goats on a lead for the human kids to hand feed. The toilet, washing up and shower facilities were basic but clean. We visited on a Sunday/bank holiday so didn’t get to experience the farm shop or cafe but we will definitely come again. Beautiful location for a walk at Ditchling Beacon. We also visited the Middleton Butterfly Gardens on the owner’s recommendation - lovely.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site for families, friendly staff. Farm animals to visit.29/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJayne S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Unpowered grass and earth tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything about the place. The farm, the field we pitched our tent in. It was lovely.

    Disliked: 

    Unfortunately there was a rave in a nearby field (nothing to do with this farm) but we couldn’t sleep until the music stopped, which was around 2.30 am. It ruined it for us and we probably won’t stay again because of this.

From the manager...

We are very sorry the local house party ruined your visit with us. You were incredibly unlucky to have three noisy events occurring at the same time. We have never experienced this level of disturbance before in this area, even around the bank holiday. On investigation, the local party was a weekend house party while the parents were away. At the time of writing, 76% of our reviews comment that the campsite is peaceful.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely family run farm with a great farm shop and clean facilities29/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLyndsey M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Unpowered grass and earth tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean facilities, animals, farm shop, quiet at night

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Friendly staff & convenient farm shop/cafe on site28/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Unpowered grass and earth tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Farm animals & play area for the children

    Disliked: 

    Not enough toilet roll left in the toilets

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Had everything we required26/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Unpowered grass and earth tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Had everything we required

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Ed and his family were so friendly and welcoming. Great …08/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCharlotte B.Confirmed

  • Unpowered grass and earth tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Ed and his family were so friendly and welcoming. Great little tea rooms and shop, with reasonable prices and all homemade. Warm showers and clean toilet/shower block. Variety of animals tom keep the children entertained. Field not over crowded so could be far enough away that you didn't hear other groups conversations.

    Disliked: 

    Not many walks by foot but a short drive and you were on the South Downs, so wasn't a big issue.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Just got back from our stay with our friends, the …08/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Unpowered grass and earth tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Just got back from our stay with our friends, the site was really lovely and the owners were lovely too. They were really attentive and always on hand when we needed them and happy to help. The site has some adorable pigs and ducks and donkeys and nice coffe shop. it's in a great location with lots to do in South downs Park
    The facilities were basic with cold and hot water and shower.
    We are already planning when we can come back next year!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A lovely little place to rest your head08/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEsmé F.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Unpowered grass and earth tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    How close it is to Brighton, the farm animals, the lovely spacious field and freedom to pitch where you want. How close the toilets and water can be if needed and how friendly the staff are!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

The family that own this farm are such lovely people. …07/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSandra K.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Unpowered grass and earth tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The family that own this farm are such lovely people. They cannot do enough for you.
    The fields feels safe and friendly, fire pits and wood all available to buy and you have a butchers on site who will keep your meat for you till you want to collect.
    Added in with the animals for the kids, sandpit and the cafe with delicious home cakes it is great! Absolutely lovely!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Capacity reduced to increase social distancing

Hand sanitizing stations

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundry

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portable toilet

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

No dogs allowed

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Hikers’ paradise

Peaceful

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump point

Electric car charging point(s)

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transportation nearby

Type

Farm

Pop-up campsite

Tiny (1-10 sites)

Nearby leisure

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This campground/park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Ditchling Common, Common Lane, Ditchling, East Sussex, England, RH15 0HD
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.9383°N 0.1053°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Little Chef — 7.0 kilometres
The Castle — 7.2 kilometres
Black Lion — 8.8 kilometres
Train stations
Burgess Hill Rail Station — 2.3 kilometres
Wivelsfield Rail Station — 3.1 kilometres
Hassocks Rail Station — 3.2 kilometres
Ferry ports
Newhaven Harbour Ferry Terminal — 19.9 kilometres
Airports
Shoreham Brighton City Airport — 17.5 kilometres
London Gatwick Airport South Terminal — 24.6 kilometres
London Gatwick Airport — 24.6 kilometres

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Attractions and activities nearby include:

- Ditchling Beacon (highest point in the South Downs): 10 minutes’ drive

- Bluebell Railway (heritage steam train trips): 15 minutes

- Devil's Dyke (National Trust beauty spot with walking trails): 20 minutes

- Brighton: 25 minutes

- Leonardslee Lakes & Gardens (sculpture park, lake and gardens and wine tasting in the vineyard): 25 minutes

- Monk's House (National Trust site with the 16th-century cottage of Virginia Woolf): 25 minutes

- Rottingdean beach: half an hour

- Cissbury Ring (historic hill with a Neolithic flint mine and Iron Age hillfort): 35 minutes

- Seven Sisters Cliffs (country park with chalk cliffs): 50 minutes.

Must see

  • Sheffield Park Garden (10.5 kilometres)
  • Bluebell Railway (10.5 kilometres)
  • Preston Manor (11.1 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Sheffield Park Garden (10.5 kilometres)
  • Monk's House (14.0 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and caravan
Arrive:  noon –  6 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  noon –  8 p.m.
Depart by:  noon

The Oaks Poultry Farm cancellation policy

No refunds within 1 day of arrival date.

The campground/park is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. The Oaks Poultry Farm will debit the balance from your card 1 week before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 1 week then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking, or at any point before the due date.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Visa
MasterCard
PayPal
Cash

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Does The Oaks Poultry Farm have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is The Oaks Poultry Farm dog friendly? No View all features
  • What attractions are near The Oaks Poultry Farm? Attractions and activities nearby include: - Ditchling Beacon (highest point in the South Downs): 10 minutes’ drive - Bluebell Railway (heritage steam train trips): 15 minutes - Devil's Dyke (National Trust beauty … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of The Oaks Poultry Farm?
    Camping and caravan
    Arrive:  noon –  6 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  noon –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  noon
    Read more

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact the-oaks-poultry-farm


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission

Safety

Arrivals and departures

Safety

Arrivals and departures

General

Admission

Close