Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Thorpe Farm Centre

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.2

Overall rating based on 31 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

83% would recommend this site to a friend.

80% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for iandowson316

Other than the A66.. Thorpe Farm will be missed

(Young couple, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The thick lush grass, the plentiful pitches, the shower and toilet facility with pot washing kitchen, the woodland walks around the animal enclosures, the forest section with the man made teepee and hideout. The small lake and the masses of bunnies.. everywhere... bunny bunny bunny!
  • Disliked: The noise from the A66... It just ever ended and in a tent, you have no protection from it. If I had known, I may have brought and tried ear plugs. It's going to be turned into a static home park and the tent allocation is being removed, which is probably a good idea. I just recommend you get double glazing on any static home you might purchase there, otherwise your in for a semi-rough nights sleep... unless your part deaf, in which case... no problem!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for mervyn_s

Good potential but currently lacks attention to detail

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Toilet blocks were clean and warm
  • Disliked: On arrival, there is no obvious Reception area but we found a number on the shop door to ring (it closed at 5 pm and we arrived shortly after). Fortunately we had a mobile phone with us.

    The grass was in need of a good cut, and the tent pitching area very stony under the surface.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for julieanne

single parent, child with special needs

(Family with young children, 2 reviews, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we booked for 4 nights and ended up staying for 10!!! (after our previous 1 night stay the week before!!!) and if i could of afforded it i'd have stayed on for longer, the staff are very friendly and very very helpful, a must for any visitor is to have sunday lunch at the peel house restaurant, beautiful food, and home cooked...
    some folk may be put off by the drive into the site, but it IS A WORKING farm, and tbh, it's really not that bad!!!!
    this site is the gate way for anyone wanting to visit any heritage/location, thorpe farm has easy access to the A66, also has many beautiful walks to local villages, and is less than a 10 minute drive to a supermarket, locally sourced produce is available in the peel house shop/restaurant at respectable prices. Also a visit to the reclamation shop is recommended :)

  • Disliked: NOTHING.....absolutely nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Telic

Basic but nice site, no policing of rowdy drunken groups though.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Space
    Layout of Electric tent pitches
    Price
    Clean toilets,showers, washing up facilities.
  • Disliked: Noise from drunken partying groups well after midnight
    Traffic Noise
    No Wardens to police noise beyond 12/1 am
    Overflowing bins
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for lynne_a

disappointed

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: a large,level field with plenty of space.
  • Disliked: the toilet and shower blocks were not very clean; in desperate need of a thorough clean.the showers were cold; both male and female.

    scruffy approach, not very welcoming.
    expected more for the price as it was one of the most expensive sites we have used recently.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for hannisnow

never again..

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked? The animals on the other side of the road..thats about it.!
  • Disliked: just about everything. from when we arrived seeing this rundown old farm with old disused falling to pieces buildings to the seriously dirty toilets and showers. Pond was littered with old babypool and rubbish and the bins were overfull when we arrived which was really nice to look at. got woken up by a digger every day too .went out for a nice long walk to find the site full of campers placed everywhere possible. didn't look like much organisation going on . people walking through other pitches including kids nonstop..loud music and cardoors left open to listen to the radio. left a day early which was our choice.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for geoff_g0

A nice weekend.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The new clean facilities. Clean well kept pitches with good access, no pool of standing water.
  • Disliked: The noise from the road.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Richchap

Beautiful site, great location

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was lovely and well situated just off the A66. Well maintained
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for katherine_j

Thorpe park farm EXCELLENT

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we stayed at thrope park for 1 night with our 4 year old daughter, and puppy.
    It was our first camping experiance and was a fab one, the park was spacious, clean facilities, plenty to do for children. We were very impressed.
  • Disliked: some people let there dogs off the leads even though all dogs are ment to be on leads
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Mymatemark

I like it .......I like it a lot

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very very friendly staff on arrival , friendly residents who seemed willing to help out as it was our 1st time away with our new tourer, the place is a hidden gem without doubt , some beautiful views from around the site.
    The toilet block was in a prefab building which was always kept clean and tidy with plenty of space inside the shower/toilet rooms.
    The place was always immaculate but was a pile of rubbish around the main bin area which did seem to get emptied just always seemed full when we got there.
    I will be returning this year to this site without a shadow of doubt as we loved it our little one got on great with the other kids dotted about the site and used all the free ride on toys until she was exhausted every day.
    Will be returning
  • Disliked: Bumpy track/road into the main site only draw back I would say
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Rachel_S3

Excellent campsite easy to find, enjoyed our stay

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Large area, lots of pitches, clean showers, washing up facilities, dog walks
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for jeff_a

one night stay

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: easy to find,plenty of space,well organised, toilets were always clean and tidy.
  • Disliked: nothing every thing was ok..
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Mark_L3

Great Site!

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We booked two pitches at Thorpe Farm for my family and my brothers; both with young children. We were shown to our pitches which were spacious and flat in a lovely part of the site; there is a pond on site (which unfortunately has an alge bloom going on at the moment) which we requested to be located away from due to the children.
    Although the site was pretty full over the weekend we stayed there was no excessive noise and a regular patrol from the proprietor. The toilets are clean and spacious - no requirement to que for showers over the whole weekend.
    There is a small play area on site and another next to the farm shop which has trampolines, the farm shop is nice but quite expensive so ensure you get all your essentials before you arrive (there is a Morrisons in Barnard Castle)
    Only 5 mins down the road is the lovely town of Barnard Castle and there plenty to do in the surrounding area some nice walks with farm animals along the way.
    There is also a great pub within walking distance.
  • Disliked: Small amount of road noise but nothing major.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great location.good hospitality

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good location .great place for walking which u can do for hours .
  • Disliked: The price of food in the cafe which by the way was very nice .no food served after 4pm and it all closes at 5pm ....
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for julieanne

only stayed one night, but have booked to go back in a couple of days

(Family with young children, 2 reviews, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: my friend and I booked for 1 night on the site with our 5 year old boys, one has behaviour problems due to a b/t, the other has severe broad spectrum autism, so i decided to play safe, stay local and book 1 night, i wish i had booked longer. It was lovely to see the boys have a wander over to the small play are and sand pit on their own, but within eye shot for us anxious mammys, giving us time for some relaxation and a cuppa!!!! We where taken to our pitch and not just told where to go, and when i told the lady about our boys she said she would keep an eye out for them if they went to the games room, or if she saw them out and about, giving us reassurance, there where lot's of kids on site but you would never have known it, plenty of spacing between pitches and water taps close by.before we left we visited the restaurant and when we explained the kids behaviour (both also have tourettes outbursts) the young man at the counter was fantastic. I couldn't fault the site and I have booked to return on friday (we left wednesday) so i can have some qt with my son :) and i will say it is the best sleep/ longest they have slept forever they managed a whole 6 hours!!! which has never been known!!!!on our visit to the toilet/shower block, aswell as the games room we'd been told about, we discovered microwave facilities, with multi-plug sockets, a room with a t.v and facilities to charge phones etc, also brilliant disabled facilities. I honestly think that nobody could not like thorpe farm centre, staff are always at hand, you are in beautiful surroundings, and the site is welcoming and accessible by all. I can't wait to get back and neither can my little boy, he's packed and ready to go again :)
  • Disliked: NOTHING
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for hardcore_campers

Good value for money

(Family with older children, 3 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Warden was brilliant, very helpful. He drove around the site and checked you were ok.
    We stayed on the bottom field, plot was very spacious.
    Showers were very spacious and nice and hot.
    Very good idea with the games room for older children.
    Brilliant dog walk with animals to see on way around.
    Good cleaning facilities.
  • Disliked: Play area was very small for children.
    Was not enough of day to day things to buy in shop, if you had forgotten anything probably have to leave site.
    No taps around site for fresh water.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great atmosphere, really relaxing campsite in beautiful setting

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Booked one night as a trial to see if our three year old boy would enjoy camping. He loved it! We loved the freindly welcome and there was more than enough to keep the boy occupied. Will be coming back again as one night isn't really enough.
  • Disliked: Nothing, excellent value for money.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Site and facilities
  • Disliked: Bit crowded, and map initially misleading as to location
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for NicTonyPeacock

Felt at home!! Clean, friendly & welcoming. Nic & Tony Peacock

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Spacious pitches.
    Vast fields & walks for us & our 3 dogs.
    Great facilities.
    Friendly Staff & a warm atmosphere.

  • Disliked: NOTHING!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

alright but needs improvement!

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The friendliness of the site staff, the site was also very level mostly grass pitches.
  • Disliked: The toilet/shower block was not nice at all although the showers were hit and free the building could have been cleaner and better maintained. The taps for fresh water and waste disposal area were tucked away behind the toilet block and not easily accessed with a motorhome.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Family friendly, clean and tidy, lovely site!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Don't be put off by the drive through the the derelict farmyard to get into the site as we nearly were! Once your on the site it's lovely and you wouldn't know you were right next to the A66. There's plenty of playing areas and space for kids to have some freedom and play and the toilet/shower block is new and clean. The owners were very friendly and the onsite cafe and farm shop are excellent quality. A top recommendation is to take the 20min walk to The Morritt which is in the nearby village of Greta Bridge. It has a gorgeous beer garden in mature gardens with a play area and the food is great too. Will def return!
  • Disliked: Nothing!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Perfect Place For The Weather

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: - The tea room/cafe on site was lovely, the food was expensive but it was delicious and most definitely value for money.
    - The staff in tea room were very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area.
    - The numerous walks available (ideal for us with our dog)
    - The facilities block was spacious, very clean and centrally heated on the night time.
    - The spaces between pitches were good, considering it was the hottest day of the year and exceptionally busy you had plenty of space and were not crammed on top of each other.
    - The location of the site is excellent, very scenic and beautiful with great links to the main roads to explore in the car.
    - The staff were seen to be driving round the site which was nice if you had any problems etc.
    - Finally it has a real outdoors feel with all of the near by farm animals which could be heard during the night.

  • Disliked: - At about 2am there was shouting, singing and music blaring somewhere on site which seemed to take a while to be sorted.
    - The actual shop was very expensive charging approximately 90p for a chocolate bar.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Christina_D

Will definitely visit again :-D

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Customer Service was fantastic, were met promptly and taken to our pitches. All facilities available were advised about and also the locations. Pitch sizes were huge, the facilities were great including plenty to do for the children. All in all a good night out. Especially as it was our first time camping in a tent.
  • Disliked: No dislikes
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A very good site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The friendly staff who more than happy to help out where they could. The site was very clean and tidy with good all round facilities.
    Plenty for kids to do with bikes, go karts and other toys available for free to play on.
  • Disliked: The site is a little exposed in places and when we camped it was too windy where we were and didnt get much sleep.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for phillip_p

Cracking campsite, with friendly staff

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was very clean and tidy, refuse bins scattered about for use and emptied twice a day. The warden was very friendly and helpfull. Toilet/shower blocks were spotless and well maintained but lacked a mirror over the sinks. the noise from the A66 was not over bearing if you think its going to bother you Top Tip take ear plugs!, there is a dog walk where the dog can run free, but please use common sense!, there are animals for the kids to pet, Donkeys and lamas, and sheep. various walks available from 1 mile to 8 miles, maps can be collected from the main shop. we would definitely visit again!
  • Disliked: The weather but its not the farms fault, never been in a tent in minus conditions. the shop was a tad expensive, Barnard castle is a few miles away probs a best choice. i can imagine it would be pretty noisy during busy periods. but the warden would probs be on top of that!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

good clean facilities and friendly staff

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: very scenic and tranquil, excellent dog walks. spotless facilities, staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely farm shop and cafe that served tasty food. close to local ameneties
  • Disliked: how windy and exposed to the weather the site seemed to be
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Nice site although very near A66

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The lake.
    kids play area and various tractors, go karts, space hoppers etc
    Friendly staff
    Well maintained site.

  • Disliked: The constant noise from the A66
    Unfortunately pitched next to a couple intent on swearing at each other till the early hours.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for gavfry93

Great value for money, not far away!

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: * Great value for money.
    * Nice surroundings.
    * Plenty to do in the local area.
    * Not far from the Lake District.
    * Clean toilets and showers.
    * Friendly staff.
  • Disliked: * We were placed in the corner of the field even when there was plenty of nice, un-used spots near the lake.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Really Nice

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Brand new toilet facilities - opened the same week we arrived.
    The staff were very friendly and the warden was always around making sure everything was ok, emptying bins etc and keeping a general eye on things.
    The location was great - there are plenty of off road walks for both dogs and children alike, and plenty of farm animals for them to pet if they want to.
    The village together with dog-friendly pub is just a 15-20 min walk away.
    The entrance at the moment has a lot of building work going on but dont let this put you off. This site is going to be great.

  • Disliked: The shop although good was a good distance to walk from the campsite.
    The site is quite close to the busy A66 and can be a bit noisy if your a light sleeper.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Robert_G1

There appeared to be a lot of on-going work at the site and the work to date must be applauded. Its still early days for this site and they’re definitely going in the right direction.

(Family with young children, 3 reviews, 18 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff were very extremely helpful and polite.

    The site was well marshalled with any excessive rowdiness or unacceptable behaviour being controlled immediately.

    There were rubbish bins and water points well positioned throughout the site.

    The toilet/shower and washing up areas were kept immaculate at all times.

  • Disliked: On the negative side the shower changing area only had one small coat hook for your belongings and would have benefited from something to sit on which would double up as an extra place to put your belongings.

    The shop carried the very minimum and catered more for the day visitor. I would advise visitors to carry everything they need for their stay otherwise it’s a four mile trek into Barnard Castle.

    There were an adequate amount of activities for children in fine weather and the site would benefit hugely from an indoor area.

    The fishing pond seemed a bit overpriced at £5 per day and the anglers I spoke to, claimed there were more fish in shower block.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for joanne_b

good value site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: loved new toielt and shower block just opened, diability toilet complete and shower room about to be completed.
    family room with games in good, awaiting opening of new family room to be open.
    lovely play area for children.
    fishing lake too.
    friendly staff.
    site kept extrememly clean.
    bins placed all over site, emptied about 6 times a day.
    water outlets all over site.
    if anything required just need to ask staff,
    see if u can find lugless.
    farm shop prices not bad at all.
    morrisons is just up in barnard castle so not to far if needed.
    no question no small for them to give u an answer,
    would highly recommend to others.
    close to barnard castle.
    seriously no quiere to small for staff.
    thank you for a lovely stay.
    one request can we order the sun shine next time please......
  • Disliked: nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Thorpe Farm Centre