Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Westholme Estate

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.4

Overall rating based on 61 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

88% would recommend this site to a friend.

88% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for Default Avatar

Fab Weekend in a Pod!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved the idea of "camping with lights and a heater" as we have 3 yr old and and 5 month old and it was our first time as we would normally stay in a lodge. The site itself was lovely and we enjoyed dinner at Hendersons on site both nights as it turned cooler, so wasn't bbq weather as we had hoped! We were with friends also and we all agreed the hosts, food and service were great. The rest of the time we were left to enjoy our freedom and had a lovely time.
  • Disliked: Like all the other reviews the toilet block wasn't great but it was certainly useable and I have seen worse!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Mavsteriom

Pod Stay, Sept 2012

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely site. Quite. Lovely surroundings.
    Pods were clean and well located.
    Real shame they are removing the pods at the end of September otherwise I certainly would have stayed here again.
    Didnt use the restaurant so cant comment.
  • Disliked: Nothing. I know people have said about the dated toilet block and some toilets etc not being in use. However, I can understand why not all units are available if there are only a limited number of people using them i.e people staying in 6 pods, as the rest of the site has lodges with their own facilities. Suppose this cuts down on cleaning etc. Mind you, this is a moot point now if they are getting rid of the pods. Such a shame
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Lynne_V

Pod at Westholme

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: POD clean and warm. Good area for walking, local hostelry which was dog friendly
  • Disliked: Wash rooms had taps that were jammed, locks broken on washroom doors. On site restaurant was not dog friendly and only sold a'la carte food, bit strange as it was empty nearly the whole night, local pub served good food and was full.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

simply lovely

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the location, aesthetic appearance, polite and friendly staff, cleanliness. pretty much everything.
  • Disliked: i didnt dislike them but maybe the showers in the toilet facilities could do with a re-vamp. some showers didnt really work properly (2 out of 3)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

An overnight stay in a warm pod. Basic and as comfortable as you want to make it. Electric heater provided warmth as required and internal lights for after dark. No other lux

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location and cleanliness of the site.
    Friendliness of reception staff.
    Family friendly facilities on site.

  • Disliked: The ablution building is dated as stated by other visitors.
    The pricing in the bar/restaurent was prohibitive to ourselves, considered it expensive. The menu was limited.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for alan_l

excellent

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: could not fault this site - we stayed in a family pod which was adequate but a tad small for sleeping in. very clean and fresh.

    The staff were very helpful as my daughter lost her mobile and the staff kept an eye and asked us to let them know if we found it when we got home. They contacted a few days later to let us know it had been found on site and returned it by recorded post.
  • Disliked: Not big pod issues but the pods were not very well lit and although ok the toilets/showers needed some tlc as some of the taps did not work and a little grubby overall - but good by most camp sites standards
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Spent 1 night in the pods

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stayed in the pods, which were cute & warm. Really appreciated the electricity, which made them better than usual camping. Bar / restaurant was nice & surrounding area was beautiful
  • Disliked: Toilet facilities were ok, but water was very hot. Would have liked a shop on site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Julie__P

Hired 2 pods - one family member was wheelchair user

(Family with older children, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The Pods were great
    The club house was excellent with good food
    The site was lovely
  • Disliked: The toilet block was a bit sad although we understand it is due to be demolished
    The access into the pods for wheelchairs were a bit difficult although the site staff made up a ramp for us.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Julie__P

We hired two pods for two families - one with a teenager wheelchair user

(Family with older children, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The club house. the pods - they were really warm. The the site itself was lovely
  • Disliked: the toilet block - very sad looking. But we understand it's going to be demolished. The access into the pods was difficult for wheelchairs. The site, however, provided us with a make-shift ramp.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Julie__P

We hired two pods for two families - one with a teenager wheelchair user

(Family with older children, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The club house. the pods - they were really warm. The the site itself was lovely
  • Disliked: the toilet block - very sad looking. But we understand it's going to be demolished. The access into the pods was difficult for wheelchairs. The site, however, provided us with a make-shift ramp.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Stayed in the family sized pods. Me the wife and daughter. More than big enough

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The layout of the site is very good and not really overlooked by neighbours. The food in the restaraunt was very good, maybe a bit pricey for me but I like 2 for a tenner! Daughter enjoyed the park.
  • Disliked: The toilet block is dated, but we were told this on check in, so wasn't a surprise.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for staceymcalpine58

exellent camping pod

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the pod had heating and electric, although there was not a great deal on site there was lots to do in surrounding areas. On site there was a park, animals pub and restaurant all great and close by Ayesgarth waterfalls.
  • Disliked: Site stated fishing in the beck there were no fish
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

The pods were great

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was our first time camping in a pod instead of our normal tent and it was fantastic, they are warm, peaceful and the view in the morning was amazing!!
  • Disliked: The only thing to dislike is that from September the pods will no longer be available, as they are getting rid of them.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Catherine_R

Lovely site, camping pod was great. They need to sort out a better toilet block.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely location
    Excellent food at restaurant - expensive but high quality.
    Camping pod was great.
    Nice play area
    Quiet
  • Disliked: I'm sure the toilet/shower block is on their list of jobs to do. It was clean and usable but not great compared to the rest of the site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for michael__m

2 night stay in a camping pod

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The camping pod was fantastic and value for money. I now prefer the pod to tenting as there is little or no chance of being wet and cold if the weather is bad. The location was stunning and central for most of the attractions in the North of England.
  • Disliked: The shower blocks were dated and didn't fit with the modern lodges, caravans and pods.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Pod camping fun

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the location of the pods and its site at westholme estate. cleanliness was good, staff very friendly and helpful. tap outside each pod as well as heater, sockets and lighting inside pod. only short walk to shower block
  • Disliked: the shower block is very tired, needs updating, no soap provided and only 3 toilets working, showers not great although alternative was offered for stays over one night in the disabled showers in main reception block. if they revamped showers would give it top marks.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Hilary_P

Pods were awesome :) Toilets were disgraceful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pods were clean, tidy and faultless. As was the surroundings, restaurant and bar area.
  • Disliked: Toilets were beyond disgusting, it would really not have taken very much to make they usable however the money has obviously been spent on the lodges because there are only 5 pods using the toilet facilities. They were not even clean, out of 10 toilets 3 were usable however only 1 had toilet paper. We asked for soap however they were unable to provide it. I will not be going again because of the appalling state of the toilets which really would not take too much time or effort to sort out they just can't be bothered!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for susan_k

fantastic

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the site was in a stunning location. No complaints with the booking system or accommodation.
  • Disliked: The toilet block on the site were not up to standard. To be fair we had read the reviews prior to booking so were aware there were concerns over the toilet block.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Rachel1meadows

Loved it!

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site, extremely well kept, lodges looked beautiful (we plan to stay here next!). Pod alot bigger than expected an all round fantastic trip with a 2year old
  • Disliked: The toilet block. I had read a few bad review however the toilets were ok but i would not shower there, they need to be updated to make it a perfect site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for joanne_K

Ok for a short break

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Pod
  • Disliked: Old shower area and the restaurant which was overpriced.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

an over all good experiance

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the pods the veiw and the site as a whole
  • Disliked: restaraunt food was horrible
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

we stayed for one night at the westholme estate. when we arrived I asked if we could swap pods as I preferred to be a little closer to the trees. the lady on reception was happy to oblige and happily went over and gave it a quick Hoover.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the reception and bar staff were polite and friendly. the pod was clean and the camp itself was nicely kept. I had read many negative reviews on the Internet about the shower block so was a little apprehensive before our stay. admittedly the block was a
    little dated in comparison with the rest of the facilities but perfectly clean and acceptable for what you'd expect on a campsite. we had a great stay and would definitely go again and recommend to others.
  • Disliked: nothing!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Beautiful place

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We booked a camping pod but it when we arrived they had been overbooked. We were given a free upgrade to a timber lodge without any problem, even with the dog, which was lovely.
    The onsite bar was good, but we did not try the food here this time.
  • Disliked: Nothing!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very enjoyable short break in a camping pod

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pod was clean and cosy and the kids (aged 5 & 7) thought it was a real adventure staying in a pod. The site was lovely and peaceful and had a basic park for the children. It has a bar and restaurant on site which were nice (drinks a reasonable price). The area around the site is beautiful, with Aysgarth falls just a 10 minute walk away and a couple of pubs also in easy walking distance. Only 15 minutes drive from Forbidden Corner, which I would definitely recommend visiting with children.
  • Disliked: The drinks in the bar/restaurant on site were a reasonable price but we didn't eat there as the menu was a bit expensive for a family with young kids and the choice was limited (especially for the children)
    The toilet block was okay but situated a bit too far from the pods for my liking (you have to walk past several of the lodges to get to the toilet block and it isn't in sight of the pods so the children couldn't go to the toilet unsupervised)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Leanne__J

one night pod stay

(With friends, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Camping out and the ease of booking.
  • Disliked: The rain !!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Leanne__J

one night pod stay

(With friends, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The fact that pitchup looked at all the camp sites and chose the best ones. amazing site and no hassle booking!!
  • Disliked: The rain!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Quirky stay in a camping pod

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pod was an enjoyable way to camp without all the hassle of pitching your own tent, it was warm and suitable for a camp bed and two chairs.
  • Disliked: The down side is as it is for all cmaping trips- having to go to the toilet block ! However it is not too far to walk
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A perfect summer evening spent glamping in Yorkshire. It was my partners first foray into camping, hence i thought introducing him gradually via a night in a pod might be best. He loved it. The campsite is small, quiet and peaceful.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Beautiful location
    Clean pod accomodation
    Friendly, helpful staff
    Close enough to walk to the next village and the pub there!
    Dogs allowed.
  • Disliked: Shower wasn't brilliant but sufficed.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for paula_b

Excellent.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff were friendly and site and location was beautiful.
    I would love to stay again and be able to reccommend to friends if the toilet blocks were refurbished.
  • Disliked: The toilet block was a disgrace, the smell was vile and the showers were unusable even though they were free to use.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Cheryl_B

Excellent time, will defo go again :)

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Its the second time we have stayed at Westholme and would defo go back again. We stayed in the pods again and they are excellent. Love the area and the bar on site. Will make sure I stay in one of the lodges oneday as they look lush! :)
  • Disliked: No dislikes.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for leenaylor

desperatley needs the shower block renovating

(Family with young children, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the area, the pod, the quiet love the area and the pod
  • Disliked: the shower/toilets, only 2 toilets open one blocked one without paper, only 1 out of 4 showers open and very slower dribble of luke warm water, only 2 strip lights working, very grubby, cold, and dark.
    Same with the gents 2/3 occasions my husband went in they were dirty and blocked with again no paper.
    I did complain about the shower and lighting the shower still a dribble but was warmer but the next morning it was back to being a dribble and cold again... i complained again and he insisted it was me and i hadnt put it on properley!!!!!!!!!! shame as this is the second time i've stayed but it will be my last until the shower block is impooved
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for MrCurtiss

Never Again

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nothing, filthy site uner the pods and no response to our complaint.
  • Disliked: Rats under the pods,
    No Response from our letter and photos sent to manager, appalling
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely location, friendly staff

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Feb 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pods are great! Warm and convenient, good area for sitting outside (the weather was very nice to us for February!).

    Parking for each pod / lodge and roads around site were good.

    Staff were informative and friendly despite being very busy.

    We were warned that no bar food would be available in the evening when we arrived as they were fully booked. I would advise booking on-site meals in advance, it's clearly very popular.


  • Disliked: The showers, toilets and washing up area aren't as up to date as the rest of the site but are clean and perfectly usable. The hot water was very hot but I suspect the mild weather contributed.

    The map on pitchup.com was tricky to print and in rural areas, using a postcode based map can be misleading.

    The local information based on the good pub guide on pitchup.com requires login which isn't helpful. I happened to already know that the pub down the road was closed but that could have been quite disappointing if that was a factor in our choice.

    Having to choose young or mature couple on this review! I couldn't decide.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for ned180

POD CAMPING

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Nov 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed in a POD and it was fantastic. The heater maybe small but it keeps the pod very warm (i had to turn it off on the saturday night and it was very windy and rainey outside), it also has a small lamp. The reception and restuarant/bar on arrival were friendly and helpful and we booked a table for the friday night they had a set menu and we opted for 3 courses of very nice food. There are plenty of places to visit around we went to Aysgarth falls and to the creamery at Hawes.
  • Disliked: The shower block was very dated and very big this could do with a re design although clean and tidy. i did find no toilet paper on sunday morning which was a problem as the reception didnt open till 10am.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Stayed in a camping pod for one night

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Nov 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location, friendly staff, fun of staying in the pod, the fact you didn't need to pitch a tent! Excellent value for money.
  • Disliked: The shower block was dated although very clean
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good time had by all

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Nov 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pod was warm and cosy, ideal when returning wet and cold from a walk.

    heater and lamp supplied

    It is a step up for us as committed campers but it gives you a chance to extend the 'camping' season. We are converted and have booked in for new year

    The site was quiet and the facilities ok.

    Plenty of nice walking in the area
  • Disliked: Pods could do with a couple of hooks to hang wet gear
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

STAYED IN A POD

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Have used the pods a couple of times now. They are clean, comfortable with light and heat. You can stand up in them which is useful too!!

    The staff on site are all very friendly. We have eaten in Hendersons and the food was fantastic.

    The bar area is very comfortable and well stocked.

    The toilet shower block is dated but always very clean so no problems really.

    The only thing that could improve the stay as far as i am concerned is if Hendersons opened for breakfast or at least teas and coffees!!.
  • Disliked: No dislikes really but if I had to mention anything it would be lack of breakfast facilities.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great value, fun in a pod

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: location was great, clean, peaceful, staff were very friendly. The pod was great, had all we needed, heat and light, extra socket. you get the whole camping experience whilst keeping dry and warm.
    all you need is your airbeds, and camping stove. good idea to take a torch with you when you head to toilet in night.
    Hendersons bistro and bar, looks lovely although we did not use it on our visit.
    will certainly be heading back
  • Disliked: toilets a little outdated, in need of some tlc, but basic and do the job i guess.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for samantha_p

Stayed in a POD

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We both loved the Westholme Site and the Pod was fantastic, it takes camping to a whole new level, it was comfortable and warm.
    The site was truly lovely, it was quiet and tranquil everthing you want a modern camp site to look like.
  • Disliked: The toilets and showers are in need of an upgrade, however, they are clean, with hot running water and given that they have already gone through a massive transformation on the site, its a case of possibly the last thing to upgrade and nothing to be concerned about.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Clairet123

Camping Pod

(Solo traveller-female, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Beautiful setting, quiet and peaceful, nice walks, friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked: Nothing really, other reviews have commented on the toilet block, it was clean and had showers so I didnt see any issues
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Lucy152

Great stay in a Pod

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Staff were all wonderfully friendly, the site is lovely with stunning views, the pods are great - lovely and warm and fantastic value! The food in the restaurant was lovely (and huge portions, great after a day walking!)
    Although we didnt have any children with us the site looked fantastic for kids - a great playpark and plenty to do!
    As other visitors have mentioned, the shower/toilet block is a bit dated, but the site is well aware of this and it is kept prefectly clean and is entirely adequate for a few nights camping - we have both seen alot worse!!
  • Disliked: The pods are quite close together which wasnt a problem for us because we were the only ones there, but if it was busy it could feel slightly cramped, although they dont overlook one another, so is probably just me being picky of the fantastic site!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Highly recommend the camping pods at this site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: An extremely well run site. Plenty of space around the pods for a family with a dog. The site is within easy reach of many Places to visit.
  • Disliked: The shower block is a bit tired.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Pod Stay - Easy Camping, site well positioned for walking

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Liked the peacefulness of the site, when we visited as only 5 pods all the rest of the site is lodges. Site still needs work due to all of the lodges being bulit but no noise for us over the bank holiday weekend. Pods were great, clean, warm and had own tap. Beautiful countryside and will be great when all finished.
  • Disliked: The pod could do with some hooks or something to hang items on. Also some hardstanding for your car - as with the rain it is interesting getting a car parked on grass on a hill off. Toilet block could do with freshening up and some of the toilets and showers fixing, as only 1 out of 4 showers working and 3 out of over 10 toilets working. Wasn't a problem as only 5 pods so not busy but shame the shower block doesn't match the level of the lodges and pods.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

good site in a nice location

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: location
    clean
    restaurant
    friendly staff
    peacefull
  • Disliked: building works although they won't be there forever
    children' s meals a little dear
    taps in the toilets difficult to get water out of.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for charlwooduk

Great camping pod and area.

(With friends, 4 reviews, 4 photos)

  • Date stayed: May 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Free showers.
    Dogs allowed in the bar area.
    Fantastic views.
    Camping pod much bigger than expected.
    Great base for exploring.
    Lovely staff.

  • Disliked: Toilet block needs updating.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

"Pod 1" for 1 night only

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I stayed here with my boyfriend for one night in August. We wanted somewhere easy, comfortable and ideally located for walking in the dales - we were not disappointed! The pod was fantastic! Within an hour we had the airbed up and the BBQ going. The toilet and shower block was less than a minute walk away and parking was right outside our Pod. The staff were very polite and in the morning the kind man even stopped his morning chores to make us a cup of coffee. Absolutely ideal for what we wanted and have rebooked to go again in September!! Thank you Westholme!!
  • Disliked: I liked everything!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Work in progress!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Camping pods- cosy, nice decking area.
    Beautiful location.
    Good base to explore Yorkshire Dales.
    Friendly staff.
    Decent little play area.
    Peaceful.
  • Disliked: Buiding work was a little intrusive and potentially dangerous for small children. Would have been nice to have been informed of this before we booked with the offer of a discount.
    Nettles and thistles need uprooting at the side of the pods.
    Toilet block needs taps and cubicle door latches fixing.
    Astronomical prices in bar/restaurant
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for chris_w

One night stay

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pods are excellent. Warm, dry and fun!

    The location is excellent too. Near to some great places.

    Reception was very friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked: All the workmen around. There is some building work taking place on the site at the moment.

    The shower blocks are in need of upgrade. Only two showers worked out of 4 but they were nice and hot.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

excellent stay in camping pods....work still going on with the lodges but dosn't spoil the stay be lovlely when finished.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: very quite.
    staff friendly and helpfull
    area.
    stayed in a pod before and this was a nice size with plenty of head room.
    hendersons bar/resterant on site done very nicely.
  • Disliked: toliet block which is the same as when we use to go in the days it was a campsite,needs updating as some toliets out of use and taps don't turn off.were clean though...
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Camping POD

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pods are quite a good size and with electric+heater ideal for short break. The on site bar/bistro is excellent. They are some easy walks around the area. Staff on site were very friendly.
  • Disliked: Tiolet/shower block dull dated and olny just about working. It was kept clean and showers were free.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Claire_L

We stayed in a Camping pod (not tent pitch) - an excellent way to camp whatever the weather

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The look, style and set-up of the camping pod. It was nice to have warmth and light during bad weather.
    Excellent price for a week's holiday in August during school holidays.
    Pods save the hassle of having to pitch your tent, particularly in bad weather.
    Staff and Management on site were very friendly and helpful, expecially when our car would not start, we received help from the Manager immediately and without any fuss - much appreciated.
    Restaurant on site was a little expensive however it goes to show you get what you pay for as the food quality and service was excellent.
    Our son enjoyed the children's play area.
    Good location for Leyburn, Hawes and Aysgarth Falls, we did some good walks to enjoy the beautiful countryside around these areas.
    Good views from the site.
    Overall an excellent get-away from our busy everyday lives.
  • Disliked: We were not informed prior to our holiday that there would be building work being carried out on site, and this resulted in our pathway to the toilet block being closed off, this caused inconvenience for 1 night especially with having young children in our party. We did inform Management of this and the problem was rectified the following day.
    The toilet and shower block was not as prestigue as the new restaurant, however they were clean and maintained.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Alison_B

Camping Pod

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We had planned on camping, but due to all the rain we decided to stay in a pod for the first time ever! Really enjoyed it - we stayed warm and dry, and it was just like camping, but without all the hassle of putting a tent up and down in the rain. The staff on reception and in 'Hendersons' were lovely - warm, friendly and welcoming.
  • Disliked: The toilet and shower block, although really clean, could do with updating in line with the rest of the site. Also, as the site is still being updated, there was work being done on the site which was a bit noisy at times; but once the work is completed, it will be a lovely tranquil place. It certainly didn't spoil our holiday in any way.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for leenaylor

fantastic

(Family with young children, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: really great idea, safe and friendly, booked another pod as soon as I got home for northumberland, although would go back to westholme estate, maybe when its finished. Food in the restaurant was good too, if a bit slow. Staff were friendly and helpful, and a a woman on my own with two little boys I felt totally safe
  • Disliked: The building work going on all day and as nice as the builders were didnt feel too tranquel while it was going on lol........The shower block was revolting and only one of the two showers worked
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for catatkinson1981

Great Camping Pods

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The recently refurbished site is lovely and modern, the pods are a great idea for fair weather campers like us! The restaurant and bar are great, the sunday lunch was delicious, free wi-fi and comfy sofas and outdoor area. The surrounding area is peaceful and beautiful. The water in the showers is good and hot.
  • Disliked: The showers are hot but the block isn't great and doesnt meet up with the modern facilities elsewhere on the site, but I guess they're gradually refurbishing the whole place. A lot of the taps don't work. The onsite restaurant is nice which is a good job as there isn't much else within walking distance.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Jenna_G

A brilliant holiday staying in the pods. It was our first pod trip and we were very impressed!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved the location. It was very peacful. Our 2 year old son enjoyed himself that much he did not want to leave! We love this part of yorkshire and the location of the pods was ideal for exploring by car or by foot. Cannot wait to pod again!
  • Disliked: my only disike was the hill to the toilet however I am 5 months pregnant and had I not been the hill would not have troubled me!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for doolally

Great Easter stay in the POD's

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Apr 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great restaurant, very pleasant management and staff, clean and tidy facilities, very peaceful at night.
  • Disliked: Didn't meet more campers, but not really an issue.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Kate_D

Pod Camping - it will catch on!

(Extended family, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: My sister and I took 5 kids ranging from ages 6 - 15, Pod Camping at the Westholme Estate. What a great time we had! The pods were fab - very spacious. We booked two 5 "man" pods for 7 of us so plenty of room. Only 5 pods on site here in total. Site is obviously undergoing huge changes so bear with them. Lovely site, very clean, extremely friendly - both staff and other Podders! We realised on making tea that an crucial attachment was missing to our camping stove which meant NO COOKING - but the superb maintenance man took the time to custom build the part we required which meant we could cook! What a superstar - and he wouldn't take any money for his time either! Kids had a ball - and we had the chance to chill over a bottle of wine too! The bar looked like a great place to spend the evening too. Would certainly come again.....
  • Disliked: It will be interesting to return in a year or so to see how the site has developed. Our only "dislike" if you want to call it that, is that the shower block really needs updating - but the site are well aware of that. The good side is that the water was really hot! We had no problems and wouldn't prevent us from returning. We made a couple of suggestions to the site that some hooks in the pods would be useful too, as well as somewhere that a clothes line could be strung inside - as the pods get very warm in the sun and would be ideal for drying towels etc. Can't say we "disliked" anything.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Kate_H0

Spent a couple of nights in one of sites new pods. they come with a power point, light and heater and water supply. The site itself is beautiful, wonderful views and it is immaculately maintained. The clubhouse was stylish and contemporary.

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The setting

    The clubhouse and it's menu. I am vegetarian and they had vegetarian options available. My food was delicious.

    The pods - quirky and different

    most of all I liked the staff, they couldn't have been nicer..they were so warm and friendly I wanted to take them all home!
  • Disliked: Early kickout. Checkout is 10 am
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Rebecca_N

Loved it here, will definatley be coming back!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It Was a lovely place.

    The staff were very helpful and very friendly.

    Camping Pods were amazing!!
  • Disliked: Toilets were ok.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Andrew_C

Excellent Pods - beautiful site - shame about the facilities.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The Pods are brilliant, the site is gorgeous and the area is just beautiful. Friendly staff and lovely and peaceful. One MAJOR problem...
  • Disliked: The toilet / shower block was just awful. Female showers hardly worked at all - cold trickle. The hot taps hardly worked. The cold taps on the sink actually spat out dirt - rendering them unusable for anything. The whole of the gents block looked and smelt like the urinals had backed up.

    Such a pointless shame - the rest of the site was stunning but this actually may put us off coming back. Please, please put some work into making the shower block up to the same standard as the rest of your site!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for emma_b

we stayed in a pod

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: both me and my partner loved the pods so much we will be returning next month with the children this time. also the food at the on site bar and returant was especially beautiful.
  • Disliked: nothing i can think of
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus

<< Go back to Westholme Estate