Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Street Head Caravan Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.2

Overall rating based on 17 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

76% would recommend this site to a friend.

76% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for joanne_l0

Jewel in the Yorkshire Dales-loved everything about the site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This is a fantastic site, roomy pitches, great on-site facilities. OK so there's no club house, but we didn't want one. The site was quiet, well kept, and a lovely rural retreat. Leyburn, Aysgarth, Hawes etc... are all within a short drive. There's a lovely pub just outside the camp gates, fantastic food and ales, but sadly the staff there weren't as accommodating and obliging as the camp site owners.
  • Disliked: The fact we didn't book for longer!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for ellenstewart5030

Great Site with Good Walks and Scenery

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: What a lovely site Very well drained tent site (we know as torrential rain for nearly 24hrs No problems removing car and motorcycle} Lovely helpful and friendly couple who run it. Surrounding area for walks and drives brilliant. Country pub next door well worth trying Good food at good prices Would certainly recommend to anyone
    Never been to this area of Yorkshire but will certainly return
  • Disliked: Only 1 little niggle toilet block quite a walk from tent pitch (but hey we were on a walking weekend)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Amy2919

Brilliant site with very helpful owner and good location

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite had everything we could have wanted. The facilities were very clean and there was no problem getting a hot shower even when the campsite was very busy. The owner was lovely and will freeze ice packs for you which was very helpful. There is a good pub next door which serves excellent food (main courses priced £10-13).
  • Disliked: The only downside was that there is no water tap in the camping field but there is one just in the next field.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for elninio

good campsite, nice but with a few issues

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the location was very good we walked from the campsite to bolton castle and back over a range of nice country side.

    the pub next door was very friendly and the food we had was vey nice.

    was easy to find and the pitch up booking was very easy

    toilets and showers were clean.

    quite


  • Disliked: we normally camp but had managed to borrow a motorhome for the weekend, if we had camped here the toilet block is a long walk away from the camping fields so for those unexpected toilet trips in the night it would be a treck, especially in the rain.

    while i accept it was the middle of the summer holidays all the pitches were very close together, no real area to sit on grass etc in front of the van so ended up sitting inside :-(

    the site only has 2 showers for men and 2 showers for women, as it was busy these were often full i would recommend having a shower in the afternoon to avoid the wait.lastly beaware you require 20p for the showers.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Kevin_O0

Nice place

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great little site, The fields a little bit hilly but we had the top end so was fine. Great showers with loads of piping hot water, clean toilets but a fair walk from the tent but it helped to wake you after the night before haha. Nice smooth bookin and the owners were very helpful answering any questions. Yeah we will be back to this nice little site soon
  • Disliked: sloping field
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely, picturesque site. Very welcoming.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The views, the peace, the space for the children to play. I liked the idea of the very close by pub, though we did not use it, it was nice to know it was there. We have ideal weather but knowing we could have bought a meal at the pub if we had been reluctant to cook was a bonus
  • Disliked: Would have been nice to have some bins nearer the touring tent section, not just the large bins up near reception.
From the manager...

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. There is actually another large bin half way down the touring field. It possibly isn't obvious so I'll make a mental note to remember to mention it to campers when I give them my usual speil on arrival, thank you for pointing this out to me and also for taking to time to write your review.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Clean and family friendly

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities were very well looked after and clean. The campsite was very well maintained and family friendly. There were lots of other young children so the little one had lots of new friends to pay with. Over all a really nice experience.
  • Disliked: The tent pitch field was slopey but it added to dinner time fun. Some dog owners not picking up after their dog but this was not the campsit owner's fault as they do ask owners to pick up.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

we had agreat time staying at your campsite

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the location the facilities were clean and the staff were pleasant and helpful
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Enjoyed our two days at Street Head Park

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Shower/toilet block was very clean.
    People were really nice and helpful.
    Good tidy quiet campsite.
    Nice pub at entrance
  • Disliked: Tents need to be up top end of the field where drainage is better and field is more level.
    It's a car ride to anywhere of note as campsite is a little isolated.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great setting,quiet ,friendly site but limited washing facilities.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The setting is amazing. It's very dog friendly with lots of places to walk right on the doorstep. The pub next door was really handy for meals and there were other options within walking distance.
  • Disliked: When we arrived the tent pitch area was very quiet, only two tents so the fact that there were only 2 showers available in both toilet blocks didn't really matter. The day we left however there were approximately 40 people camping and having to share 4 showers, and 6 wash hand basins. it would have been very frustrating to have spent a week like that.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

i would recommend this camping site.

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The landlord and his wife are friendly and very helpful. we were only meant to stay one night as i had never been camping but i had so much fun we stayed another night.
    The landlord and his wife were also helpful as i had mixed up some information whilst booking which implied that i paid less for the 2 couples, when we decided to stay an extra night they honoured the price that i had paid initially.

    The toilets and shower rooms are also reasonably clean given that this is a camping site with different people using these facilities. dirty places make me literally sick but i will camp here again.

    Although we didn't have any children. it was good to see that the site was very family orientated, children playing and having fun.
  • Disliked: I liked everything about the site. There is nothing i disliked.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Pleasant Site, Nice location, Shame it's a bit sloping

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location
    Friendly staff
  • Disliked: Sloping site
    One noisy party singing and arguing into early hours. Eventually sorted out, by other campers I think, but a strict policy of quiet after say 12pm with staff coming round at that time to shut everyone up might be a good idea
From the manager...

I'm sorry you experienced this disruption during your holiday, we do try to discourage customers who are more likely to be rowdy from staying with us such as stag/hen parties or large groups of young adults. However, some family groups can be just as noisy and inconsiderate at times. I am aware of the night mentioned, I was contacted by a customer at 11.45pm and I believe my husband was talking to the offending group within 20 minutes. They hadn't realised that their music and talking was causing so much disruption and by the time my husband checked round a short while later he said all was quiet. We wouldn't want any of our customers to suffer in silence and we're grateful that this situation was brought to our attention. My husband and I live on site and contact numbers for the house and mobile are displayed for anyone to use at anytime for emergancies or for situations such as this. With regard to the 'sloping site' this is something we can't avoid, the beautiful hills of the Yorkshire Dales have been here a lot longer than me and will be here long after I'm gone, and I'm sure our National Parks would have something to say if we tried to do anything about it!!! For that reason this is clearly mentioned in the 'Pitch Description' as we would not wish to mislead anyone. We do prefer that all our customers leave with a positive impression of our campsite, we are sincerely sorry that it wasn't the case for your family.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for lesley_r

Great weekend

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location of this site really lovely, there are some lovely pubs within driving distance. The owners are very friendly and make you feel really welcome, the facilities are very basic but clean and there is a lovely little pub at the entrance,we have enjoyed our stay so much we have just booked to go back
  • Disliked: Where the tents are located is on a slope but if ypu set your tent up so u are facing downwards you wont have an issue when sleeping, bit of a walk to toilets but you soon get used to it
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for justin_j

Friendly, nice scenery and kids loved it!

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very friendly and helpful site manager, helped us with out search for castles. Well serviced site, great surroundings.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Beautiful views and friendly staff

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It was a real chilled out campsite and not busy at all. The lady who runs the place was really nice and helpful, she also gave us tips to where to go for a walk, pubs, etc. The landscape was stunning and I loved waking up looking at the hills around us.
  • Disliked: If you have a tent be prepared that the walk to the shower/toilets is a good warm up (up the hill) for your walks. Unfortunately the pitches for the tent are at the far end of the site and the pitches for the tents are not leveled at all. If the camp site is not busy you can stil pick a good place, but in busy periods you might be sleeping on green ski slope...
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Charlotte_B1

Excellent camp site. Would visit again. Beautiful views.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The fact this was a small campsite so facilities were sufficient but not ott. It was very clean and very friendly helpful owner. There's a pub next door which welcomed kids and dogs. Stunning views.
  • Disliked: Showers were a bit small if you have very, very young children but more than sufficient for toddlers +. Only downside was rain first night and our 4 yr old who got up at 4.30am!!
From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I'm sorry I couldn't hold back the rain for one more day, and as for 4 year olds waking in the night - I have one too so I totally sympathise, rain on canvas isn't great for a good nights sleep!!!
After such a lovely review I'm confused why you wouldn't visit us again or recommend us to your friends. I'm hoping you just ticked the wrong box, but if not, is it just because of our showers?
Best Wishes, Mel.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great site, fantastic views from pitch and good sized pitches.

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Views out of this world. Location was perfect, really close to lots of good walking and tourist attractions. Very friendly owners, made to feel extremely welcome.
  • Disliked: Only 2 showers meant the odd sue if you didn't go early enough and 2nd day it fluctuated in temperature.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus

<< Go back to Street Head Caravan Park