Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Thurston Manor

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.4

Overall rating based on 34 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

76% would recommend this site to a friend.

73% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for kerry_i

Disappointed

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff in the reception was very nice and helpful lovely to see a cheery face. Also the shop was very well stocked but did close early.
  • Disliked: The toilet blocks were disgusting considering that you pay £5 (which is refundable) you would expect it to be a bit cleaner. As we were only there for 1 night we were very disappointed. Also we were there with our 5 kids and yes they do have a park on site but only for under 12yrs as only 2 of our kids are under 12. So they were the only ones that benefited from this. There was nothing for the older kids apart from the arcade which of course costs a fortune.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for stuartlandels

Great site

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Dec 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice pitches great shop bar and pool terrific wifi worked on my pitch
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for mark_g6

Adequate site but not really family friendly.

(Family with young children, 2 reviews, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Opted for a super pitch on this site so we had our own dedicated water supply and drop in drainage connection for grey water. Pitch was a great size and was hard standing. Good fenced off play park for the kids. Swimming pool is indoor, small but pretty good. Shop was good and well stocked.
  • Disliked: Space for the kids to run about and play out with the fenced off play park was not great however. Pitches were too close together and not enough free grass areas. We also found vehicles driving through the Tarmac routes between pitches travelling far too fast and a definite danger to children playing. Not enough speed limit signs throughout park and a number of drivers being very irresponsible.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for lisamcshane108

Great holiday park for young children

(Family with young children, 2 reviews, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Liked the fact that it was more fun for the younger children than a Haven site ( we have been going to Haven sites for years and the children do love it but sometimes I feel that the activities are more for older kids and it is so expensive)
    The touring pitch we were in was right next to the swing park so even my youngest son(6) could go and play safely with his friends.
    Everyone on site was very friendly toward us, staff and other campers alike. My partner also loved the fishing lake although he wasn't able to use his own rods as it is only fly fishing on the lake and he had to hire their own fly fishing rod. The fishing lake is absolutely beautiful and peaceful, the entertainment was quite good for the kids and nowhere near as loud as Haven( which can sometimes put my younger child off going into the club). The swimming pool is quite small but it didn't stop my children having a great time.We all had a fantastic time at Thurston Manor and would defiantly visit again!
  • Disliked: The only bad thing was that , as we were in a tent, the wind on the sat was very strong and made it difficult to sleep but that is out with their control.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for lisamcshane108

Great holiday park for young children

(Family with young children, 2 reviews, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Liked the fact that it was more fun for the younger children than a Haven site ( we have been going to Haven sites for years and the children do love it but sometimes I feel that the activities are more for older kids and it is so expensive)
    The touring pitch we were in was right next to the swing park so even my youngest son(6) could go and play safely with his friends.
    Everyone on site was very friendly toward us, staff and other campers alike. My partner also loved the fishing lake although he wasn't able to use his own rods as it is only fly fishing on the lake and he had to hire their own fly fishing rod. The fishing lake is absolutely beautiful and peaceful, the entertainment was quite good for the kids and nowhere near as loud as Haven( which can sometimes put my younger child off going into the club). The swimming pool is quite small but it didn't stop my children having a great time.We all had a fantastic time at Thurston Manor and would defiantly visit again!
  • Disliked: The only bad thing was that , as we were in a tent, the wind on the sat was very strong and made it difficult to sleep but that is out with their control.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Ian_G3

A very good site. Clean and tidy. Good Clubhouse for food and drink. S

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The touring pitch itself was hardstanding and level. Plenty to see and do in the area, with Edinburgh being half hour drive.
  • Disliked: Showewr block although could hav epaid extra for privavcy showewr block.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for marie_s0

Stayed for 4 nights with husband and two 12 yr. olds

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities we found to be of a very high standard and the park is well laid out and very well maintained Wee will most definitely be going back and will recommend to friends.
  • Disliked: We did not find anything to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

First family trip camping

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We had a great time at Thurston Manor. The staff were all very friendly, wash facilities were clean. family shower areas were great, a wet room for the whole family to get changed/showered.
    Evening entertainment was good for kids aged 4-10 which suited my oldest daughter. The kids entertainment ran from 7:30 through to 9pm which was followed by adults entertainment.
    We made a trip along to the sites sister park, Pease Bay, to spend a day at the beach. T&E staff there were just as friendly when we arranged parking etc.

    Pitches had enough room for the tent and car, however the ground was very very hard. I had taken strong tent pegs after looking at previous reviews but we were caught out trying to put up wind breakers etc.
    We will definitely return to Thurston Manor.
  • Disliked: N/a
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Lorraine_M

Stoney ground spoils holiday experience

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The general facilities were good,incl. spotless area for washing dishes, well maintained toilet blocks, good laundry area, reasonably priced shop, pleasant staff , nice playground and well maintained grounds.
    It was an ideal location to explore. Dunbar is close by along with as Asda supermarket and The Pinemartin Pub.
  • Disliked: The pool area wasn't up to much esp as you have to pay extra. Its better to go to the pool at Dunbar with its water slides and inflatable session on a Thursday evening.
    Disappointing amusement arcade not worth bothering with.

    The worst part about the entire holiday was putting up the tent. Although it was a large family tent it took much longer than normal to errect due to the ground being stoney. The tent pegs could only go in a couple of inches before they hit stones. Everyone we talked to had had a similar problem. We will have to replace the majority of our tent pegs before we venture out again ! This is the only thing that would deter us from returning to the site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

good in parts. terrible in others.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Entertainment for younger children was 1st class and the staff were friendly and helpful. Swimming pool and changing areas were spotless. Good value shop, restaurant and bar.

    Good clean safe and secure play area for younger kids.

    Plenty space for larger tents.

    Entertainment complex is far enough away the noise is not a problem but close enough its not a task to get tired kids back after a fun packed evening.
  • Disliked: Power in the serviced pitches went off on at least 6 occasions over the 4 night stay which was blamed on a clap of thunder, then the rain and then the tents drawing too much power, even though on the last occasion there was only 1 tent left using power as we had all packed up.

    We were not offered a key for the toilet block on arrival which I found odd, but as the door was open for the 1st few days I didn't question until suddenly they were locked and our youngest had an accident.

    Both male and female toilet floors were soaking constantly due to poor drainage, the mens was filthy and a urinal was blocked for almost 24 hrs.

    Showers were inadequate

    Severe lack of activities on offer for our 2 teenage sons which resulted in them feeding the poorly maintained pool table almost all their daily budget.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent site facilities for children

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pitches were spacious with good drainage.
    The swimming pool with Jacuzzi was great fun for all the family.
    Helpful, friendly staff quickly provided a hammer when our rubber mallet broke.
  • Disliked: The hard ground proved difficult for pitching tents/awnings so would definitely recommend the use of steel rock pegs and a strong hammer/mallet. These pegs are available to buy individually on site if caught out but better to go prepared with a box full!

    There was some instances of cars speeding on the site, but this is not the sites fault but thoughtless drivers!

    Toilet block could be maintained/cleaned more often, especially in the morning/evenings when it began to resemble a swimming pool! Perhaps if wooden slatted boards were used in showers, less water would be carried/flow into other areas. A mop would also be useful, as in other sites, where campers were asked to mop their shower cubicle after use.

    Toilets also often had a urine smell about them but this could be down to careless campers!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Family friendly

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: My kids (5&3) loved the play park. The facilities were great. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is also a fantastic location with good beaches nearby and close to Edinburgh too.
  • Disliked: Our pitch was right next to the play park which was great for my kids but a bit noisy in the evening for me.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

something for everyone, just not us

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: it was in a picturesque location, the site catered for children and adults alike.
    toilets were clean and well kept. the shop onsite had a good variety of goods at decent prices. the swimming had attendants at all times. did not eat on the site but alcohol was fairly priced. the staff were courteous and helpful. nice play park good indoor facilities for kids, ie arcade, club with dance floor and stage, swimming.
  • Disliked: this is only our 2nd time camping but we knew that it was too busy and close to other pitches for us. the tent pitch ruined 90 % of our pegs as the ground was solid with barely a layer of grass over the rock. i felt that the entertainment was on too late at night. we had older kids playing some kind of hide and seek around our tent after 11pm. the site had lots of good things going for it but in our opinion it was too busy and we were packed in like sardines. i would recommend to others with young children who like lively and busy, and late nights.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for davewintle

Fantastic staff

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Thurston Manor had great facilities, a well stocked and very reasonable shop, entertainment for the kids (which we only used once), a comfy bar/lounge and a spotless heated swimming pool (costs extra but not excessive). Every single member of staff met was a true pleasure to meet and took time to help when a couple of neighbours had a dispute with playground spates. The atmosphere was of a family business and people who enjoy their job. I would not hesitate to return again. The whole site (it's huge when you wander it) is spotless and the toilets/showers were cleaned twice in a morning that I saw.
  • Disliked: Unfortunately the gravel /stones placed under the soil to aid with drainage were just not deep enough and I had to send 7 metal tent pegs to their death. The grass was good and level, no big bumps but the pegs were so hard to get in it took me an extra 45 mins to setup a 20 minute tent. I was really frustrated when setting up but the rest of the site calmed me down over the next couple of days. There were more dogs there than I would have liked but they were all well behaved and no mess was seen, so not a problem.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Emma33

Fine for a wee break

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Visited this site as our inaugural camping trip and was pleasantly surprised. We paid £51 for two nights plus who knows what extra on all the other essential wee things we discovered we needed(but that was our learning curve and nothing to do with the site! Ground was a bit soft though so our tent pegs struggled a bit. Shower/toilet block ok - what we would expect. By 9 o'clock the floors were soaked after the morning influx. One of the cubicles had vomit in it in the male block one morning that remained until the evening. Some of the toilets in the female weren't that great by night time either. Again, its what we would expect with what we paid. Children's play park very close so my children got to go on their own, and by the time we were leaving my 6-year-old was pretty much trusted with the run of the place, Entertainment ok, we never really used it as my kids didn't really take to it, but that is their personae rather that a criticism of the guy who done it. Overall very friendly people and a nice introduction.
  • Disliked: The swimming pool - don't bother, we drove into Dunbar and at the moment kids go free so it cost us £7.60 for two hours in a far bigger superior.pool with a wave machine and flume which the kids loved.
    The food in the restaurant - don't bother. We ate in there on the first night and my lasagne which was £8 was a two minute microwave meal that had been covered with bechamel sauce and sprinkled with cheddar cheese! Likewise my daughter's pizza was also a micro pizza which she didn't like. The following night we bbq'd and we all enjoyed it a lot more and ate more!
    Upon arrival we were asked for £5 deposit for a key for the shower block but we spent the entire time finding that the block was always open. It wasn't made clear to us on arrival that this was for a separate block at the back! Staff maybe assumed we would know this but as I established upon check in that we hadn't visited before it was unlikely and therefore unprofessional of the lady at reception.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Nice campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We just visited thurston manor in July, it was a lovely clean site ,we had an electric pitch next to the play park. The toilets and showers are spotless and swimming and the leisure suite was good . Would visit again
  • Disliked: The noise at night with the kids out late in the play park. Would ask next time for a pitch away from the park .
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Was amazing !!! Really clean great facilities and really nice ppl ;))

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The shower block in the main toilet was that clean I didn't bother with the private block and the facilities for washing up etc laundry were immaculate the entertainment was good for the kids and not too loud like haven lol Connor came in at breakfast and dinner kids absolutely loved it ;)) the play area for kids was enclosed and u could easily see then from our pitch which gave them lots of freedom there was a swimming pool which we were too busy having fun to get to but looked clean from what I saw ;)) asda is less than a ten min drive away as is Dunbar great wee place with a beach entrance down the side of lad brokers ;)) it has plenty if takeaway places if u don't fancy cooking and the food in the dining section on site was lovely too ;)) the key store on site was not over priced like u would find in haven from the kids toys to the alcoholic drinks being average price all round a fabulous time had by all and we can't wait to go back ;)))) xxxxx the jamieson family t64 ;)))
  • Disliked: Nothing ;) great wee place really clean xxx
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Graeme_S

Overall very good.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities.
    Pricing, as it was a bank holiday weekend.
    The weather was scorchio.
  • Disliked: Needed hard ground pegs, lol. Things weren't perfect, but it would be unfair to moan about wee things.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Sarah_B4

Very nice, would recommend

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Reception are very welcoming on arrival, It's a reasonably priced pitch for the facilities on site, the shop and takeaway are a decent price (we didnt eat in) and Asda is very close, you have to pay to get into entertainment, which we didn't as we had 2 dogs, dogs were welcomed and there is some nice walks.
    A lovely lake which has loads of wildlife including a Swan family which was just beautiful, we also saw deer, squirrels rabbits and plenty different birds, a great time had by all.

    The ladies loo was kept clean and it's nice to have decent quality toilet roll (not sheets!!)

    The bins were emptied regularly

    The lake was very nice the fishing rod was cheap to hire but the line was the wrong type for fly fishing and you have to go into Dunbar for flies, miraculously on a Sunday the shop was open!

    The swimming pool we had to ourselves the changing rooms had loads of hanging and great showers.

    The play park is great for the kids.

  • Disliked: We paid for a large pitch and were given t44, we then had to pitch sideways to fit in upsetting the parking of next door, which caused tension and the staff didn't seem to care, we asked them to come look twice but they didn't, on arrival the receptionist had tried to relocate us so I believe she knew we were in too small a pitch, however I've read other reviews about the ground and we found it better than others we had been too.

    I'm pretty sure I saw no mention of the extra charge for entertainment.

    The lake is fly fishing only, which I don't remember seeing on the website, so our son (6) was very excited to then be disappointed.

    The men's toilet somebody had smeared snot in between the urinals, and it wasn't cleaned off, (3 days) unpleasant.

    The showers in the toilets are very condensed, and the curtain doesn't reach the bottom so anything on the floor gets wet. A few more hooks would be very helpful
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for pauline_y

weekend camping one adult 2 children lovely weather had a fab time

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Pretty much everything. The site is lovely. Its very clean and the toilets especially the family block is very impressive.
  • Disliked: The really hard ground was hard to pitch on but noted for next time (need better pegs)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for anndave

not great

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The touring pitches are large and flat but you really need hard standing pegs, even on the grass pitches as there only appears to be about three inches of soil.
    The swimming pool is a nice touch but pricey and gets crowded. The pool in Dunbar is much better value.
  • Disliked: The toilets and showers. The water is lukewarm at best and the drains continually block and flood into the shower areas. The shower cubicles are very small and the whole block needed a good clean. When I told staff at reception that the shower was flooded He told me that it happened every day and there was nothing he could do and it was caused by people pushing the buttons for water too much. I can't understand how you are meant to get a shower without pushing the button for water.
    The club house entertainment for kids was a joke but I don't think it was meant to be.
    Beware the "crane grab a fluffy toy" machines which cost £1 for three goes as the toys are jammed in so tight you would need a crowbar to get them out and the crane grab is totally ineffective it would not have the strength to hold a feather.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

it was great

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: great touring pitches nice location great all round.
  • Disliked: no dislikes at all.very happy.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great staff

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff, very friendly and can't do enough to accommodate you.
    Daryl childrens entertainer even entertained my child as I was trying to check in, them remembered her name at the evening entertainment.

    Good food in the restraunt bar .
  • Disliked: Having to pay to go in the entertainment, not expensive but just you aren't told till you arrive
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Ian_R1

A great site with plenty of places to visit within a short disctance.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It's a nice clean site with excellent facilities in pristine condition. Nice walks locally and Dunbar, and the seafront, close at hand.
    Friendly and helpful staff always make a visit even better!
  • Disliked: I can't think of anything negative about the site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Linda_A0

Lovely clean site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Super pitch with hardstanding with lots of space around.
    Helpful, friendly staff.
    Swimming pool/jacuzzi.
    Close to beach and town.
    Child friendly bar/restaurant.
    Games room.
    Entertainment was on offer but did nor use so can't rate it.
    Good TV reception.
    Clean toilets /showers and heated family showers available.
  • Disliked: Hard standing (gravel) for awning made pegging out awning very difficult. Definitely would recommend steel pegs as all super pitches are totally hard standing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Thom_V

MR & MRS VEITCH

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: pool, club, restaurant,friendly staff
    very clean site.
  • Disliked: clean site except for some dog poo close to pitch which was there for the three days that we stayed there, also key to shower block did not unlock anything.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Carol-Anne_B

Overall enjoyed our 2 nights away.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site is good with everything we needed.
  • Disliked: All the spiders that appeared in our tent and that the ground was so hard.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for NICK_R

Very friendly clean site

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: On arrival at check in the staff were very friendly, the site looked clean and well presented and the pitches were a fair size.
    There is a swimming pool, the toilets and showers and disheashing area were very clean and close to the pitches.
    Overall a good family site in a quiet area.
  • Disliked: There was not much going in for our two older children... The eight year old loved just playing on the park. But the swimming pool is fairly small and not much of an arcade.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

staff where great

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The set up and thought the camp site was kept clean
  • Disliked: Nothing apart from the weather
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

2nd visit and enjoyed it

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: this is the Second visit we made with 2 kids and our tent, we were more prepared this time which made it a great stay away, these items were a proper hammer as putting the tent pegs in can be a problem, and second a bucket for carrying the crockery for washing
    The kids play park is great and right on your doorstep
    We will be visiting again, the local pool is small but very nice indeed
  • Disliked: there are only a few areas where there is shelter from strong winds and it is pot luck whether you get it or not, it may be better asking for a sheltered area as there was a windy day which broke a few tent poles

    service can be a bit relaxed at reception
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for sharon_m

first class camp site great site very friendly and hel[pfull would highly recomend. there was2 adults and 5 kids in our party 2of them being 13 and two being 4and 5 and one 8

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we loved the fact that were we were situated at the top of the site it was well within walking distance to every were. Toilets were exellent clean and the family shower room was great as the whole family could shower at once. evening entertainment was good in the family room didnt go to the swimming pool as the weatherv was realy good and kids were at the park and entertaing there selves out side all of the time. also helped that the people on either side of us were great aswell love the fact of every one getting on and having a great time together. staff were exellent and very helpful especialy when oiur electrics wouldnt work they came up and fixed them even though it was our hook up that was not working
    couldnt of been more grateful to them. over all exellent time had by all would highly recomend
  • Disliked: cant say i disliked any thing apart from the midges
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for STEPHANIE_R

stayed here for 5 days very relaxing time

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: very quite site. well looked after and well maintained.
    bus stop right outside for easy access to surrounding area.

  • Disliked: payment for use of gym & leisure facilities should be advertised.
    £5.50 for both or £2.60 for pool only per person.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for jim_s

what more does anyone want!

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: perfect family site play area for kids play area for adults in the complex lounges and bars. very reasonable restaurant on site and a relaxing pool and spa pool to flutter the days aches away. for an on site store the prices were very guid and competitive .toilets good none this 20p for a hairdryer or 50p to have a shower all free and included in camp fee's. overhall great family site thank you for an enjoyable stay.
    jim.S
  • Disliked: tent pitches are on haed core standing ive now got bent at 45 degree tent pegs. for next visit in october ive purchased hard rock tent pegs
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

easily booked , supper location, site really nice

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: quiet, scenery, helpfull staff
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Thurston Manor