Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Hedgehog Corner Exclusive Camping

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

9.3

Overall rating based on 33 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

93% would recommend this site to a friend.

90% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very clean. Well spaced. Great facilities. Very friendly. Picnic bench at each pitch is great idea.
  • Disliked: Nothing. All great
From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely words. This is exactly what I would hope to hear!

Hope to see you again.

Joy

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for sally_g2

Relaxing, peaceful

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Hedgehog Corner is a beautiful place, I had a very relaxing weekend in the peace and quiet of the countryside. This is a small campsite but the pitches are large, there were only 2 tents on site whilst we were there and all respected the peace.
    Facilities are great, you have the use of a fridge to keep your bottle of wine chilled! Toilet and shower room were clean and there was obviously no queues for the shower.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Pmoss

Comfortable and relaxing place to camp

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It is lovely to be on a campsite with only a small number of other campers. As a result there is so much space for everyone and there was a fantastic relaxed atmosphere.

    The facilities at this campsite are really good. The showers are practical, plenty powerful enough and hot. We really appreciated the access to both fridges and freezers which we didn't find on any of the other campsites that we stayed on. This helped us keep food fresh during some warm summer days!

    The ground had been levelled where our pitch was which was nice and having a picnic bench is also practical for preparing meals.

    I've stayed on this campsite twice now and I don't find the traffic noise a problem. There are plenty of trees and birds around which masks traffic noise from the A35 and there was no noise from the road at night. It was actually pretty handy being near the A35 for going places, and we enjoyed being so close to Lyme as well.

    We will definitely be looking to go back.


  • Disliked: That I can't find more campsites like this.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good location to visit Lyme Regis, clean showers & toilet facilities

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice quiet location, with great views of the surrounding countryside. The individual pitches each have a picnic bench and you can park your car nearby. It's possible to walk to Lyme Regis in just over an hour and the route takes you through some beautiful countryside.
  • Disliked: The local pub can only be accessed by walking on a busy main road with no footpath, which felt a bit daring. Not the campsite's fault though!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for siansummers

lovely quiet site, excellent facilities, perfect place to camp

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Adults only so no children running riot therefore peace and quiet guaranteed. Joy was so helpful and lovely. Close to Lyme and axminster, loads of info for visiting local areas. Great showers and toilets and the fridges and freezers were a great idea. As its limited to only 10 pitches it never feels crowded and no queues for showers or toilet, loved every second there.
  • Disliked: nothing!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything, it was very quiet and spacious. Could easily fit 30 tents but Joy obviously knows how to look after her customers and only books out 10 pitches a night. The individual picnic tables and use of fridges are an excellent idea.
    There is even a socket for charging your phone!
  • Disliked: Nothing!
From the manager...

Thank you - not only for this lovely review but for the exceptionally nice letter you have also sent me - I'm just so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, had wonderful weather and found it all quiet and spacious (with a clean lav!).

Pitches are limited and numbers of campers are limited and just adults in couples to ensure a peaceful and relaxing time.

See you again!

Joy

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Fkinnaird

Fantastic time at Hedgehog Corner.

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great campsite as so much room between tents as field is so large and tents limited to a maximum. None of the normal coming back and finding someone camping 5 inches away from you! As it is adults only no problems with kids running riot! I love them I have two of my own but if I'm not going with them it's lovely not to have to put up with other peoples! Facilities are great exceptionally clea toilets and shower, never had to queue due to small number of adults allowed. Great washing up facilities. . 3 fridges/freezers to use so easy to keep food and wine and crabbies nice and cool. Lovely to have a picnic bench and seating supplied makes it's so much easier to cook, and lovely to sit outside. We had exceptional weather which was really the icing on the cake. Some people have commented on road noise which surprised me. You do hear the occasional car but nothing more. There is so much information at the site about car parking, trips, buses etc. Joy is a mine of information and obviously loves making your stay the best it can be. Can't wait to return.
  • Disliked: Coming home!
From the manager...

Thank you for such positive comments from a couple who clearly "get" what we do here.

I am now in my 15th year of running this happy little set up for those wanting a peaceful pitch and clean lav!

Joy

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Stephen_D2

Real Gem of a Camp Site

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely campsite with great facilities. I am very fussy when it comes to the bathroom facilities (and have been known to head to the nearest Waitrose rather than use something dodgy). The facilities at Hedgehog Corner were great, very clean and well thought out. As well as the shower block there are fridges and freezers which in the current heatwave were very welcome.

    The site itself is couples only which means it is very peaceful at night (without being oppressive). There is a slight slope on the field but nothing anyone with any common sense couldn't work around. If camping in the heat, as we were, I would recommend the top end of the field as that keeps you out of the sun first thing so you don't awaken to that awful hot tent smell.

    Joy the owner was very welcoming and down to earth. We didn't see too much of her but she ensures there is a lot of information available should you need/want it.
  • Disliked: The only downside is that the site is next to a busy road. During the day it was more background noise than anything but my husband who is a very light sleeper found it disturbing at night.....me I slept through it!
From the manager...

Glad these campers enjoyed their stay and facilities provided.

Just in case readers and future campers fear the camping field is next to a road it is not.

The camping field is surrounded by fields and hedges and set well back from the B3165 at the top of our Private Drive and just to clarify is not immediately next to a road at all. The A35 runs along the top of our B road which is possibly why some traffic hum in the distance can be heard.

This all makes our camp site one of the nearest to both the coast and River Cottage and certainly the only ADULT ONLY site, with no pets, no caravans, no white motor homes and not a child in sight in the entire area, and possibly all of Devon!

We are all enjoying the amazing weather!

Must go and turn the chops on the BBQ.........

Joy - the ever present but invisible camp site owner!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

excellent quiet campsite plenty of space for pitches

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: large site so that you could pitch anywhere, well maintained facilities especially the showers not many campsite have slate tiled showers. no noisy groups, pets or children. close to coast and many other attractions, good pub for food very close only 5 minutes walk. I would definitely return..
  • Disliked: the midges attacked me but no one else so can't really do anything about that other than wear long sleeved top next time but if you are prone to being bitten worth bearing in mind.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for KiwiGav

Lovely spacious campsite with friendly helpful owners

(Young couple, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed for 3 nights in the camping ground last week and wish we were still there. The site was very spacious especially with a maximum of only 10 pitches available - each for two people. We thought it was a great place for couples and having no kids was a bonus. The fellow campers were all friendly and courteous, with a hello and wave but not jammed up right against your tent or area.

    During the sunny weather we had, the campsite was a lovely sun trap - we pitched on the right hand side as we drove up the slope (don't worry lots of flat areas to pitch) which had sun all day from early morning whereas the left hand side had some shade very first thing in the morning. We found our cheap beach umbrella a useful addition. It was nice watching the sun set over the trees in the distance each night and then the stars.

    It was about 5 minutes drive to Lyme Regis, where we used the car park at the top of the hill above the Cobb which was a bargain £1.70 all day - although fills up pretty quickly. Fish and Chips one evening in Lyme Regis on the grassy bank overlooking the beach, sea and harbour was hard to beat.

    The camping facilities were really good. The showers were always hot and very clean as was the kitchen. We really liked being able to use the fridges available to store perishables and keep the water and wine cold! Again these were spotless as were the washing up areas.

    Having a picnic bench for each tent pitch made things a lot more comfortable especially around meal times - it was also great to be able to use our BBQ each night for cooking.

    Joy the owner was friendly and helpful and really knowledgeable on the local area with some great tips on local places to eat and drink, and shop etc.

    We will definitely return pity we had to leave.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike except perhaps coming home.
From the manager...

Thank you for this lovely review.

Please come again!

Joy

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely and relaxing!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A very lovely small campsite which was quiet and tidy. Joy was more than helpful and very polite on arrival and throughout the weekend.

    The facilities were great and clean at all times. The use of the washing up room and fridges/freezers was particularly helpful.

    Overall a great campsite which I would happily recommend to couples looking for a relaxing break.
  • Disliked: The campsite is on a slight hill so do make use of the areas which have been levelled out as otherwise this can be a little irritating during the night!

    Despite the pub on the corner being very friendly it is a dangerous walk back at night and anything to help make you visible is definitely advisable.
From the manager...

Thank you for these lovely lines.

I concur, use the flat cut aways that have been levelled out for pitching your tent or on the flat parts at the top and bottom of the field.

Quiet agree, if goint to the pub just 3 minutes walk up the road, then please bring (as we recommend) something bright to wear and a torch for walking along the road in the dark so that you can be seen.

Happy Camping. Joy

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for normanm

Exceptionally friendly and helpful owners

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very large field with good pitches. Wonderful night sky and country sounds. Owners were nice and understanding even though first booking went wrong do to my vehicle breakdown. Had a lovely night with dreams which made me think of back home as a kid sleeping out in the back yard.
  • Disliked: I had to leave too soon.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Kiat_H

Spacious pitches, very clean, road noise and limited showers

(Young couple, 2 reviews, 3 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location
    Was good for us, between Lyme Regis and Axminster

    Spacious pitches
    A lot of space between pitches. I think there were 7 tents but not all were on the prepared flat areas. Could imagine more than the stated 10 tent limit would be fitted in.

    Cleanliness
    The main facilities shower/toilet block was very clean and tidy. The kitchen which we did not use but walked past (the door was open in the daytime) looked clean and tidy too.

    Helpfulness
    The owner/manager was away that day but the man manning the reception was very helpful and offered us a map and an easy way how to get to our restaurant that evening
  • Disliked: * Road noise *
    The site is very close to an A road and there is consistent road noise day and night as some reviewers have mentioned. I did notice that the owner said in answer to a reviewer that she thinks its not that bad, but I wonder if she has spent a night out there to see and hear for herself? Anyone camping in a tent, especially in the top left quadrant of the field, will notice it when awake. We stayed two nights and the traffic noise was very noticeable up to midnight or so. When I woke up around 4am there was hardly any noise, but you could make out individual vehicles driving by. For us, we were able to sleep no problem, but the noise was a constant reminder of civilisation that broke the feeling of a peaceful idyll. For anyone sensitive to traffic noise I'd suggest they use ear plugs.

    * Limited showers *
    There was only one male shower available, which would be a problem with full occupation. Luckily I showered early in the morning and so didn't have to queue up. If there was a queue of two or more I wouldn't have bothered. I must say the showers themselves were very good quality, plenty of hot water, well laid out and with a stool to sit down etc.

    * Value *
    £20 for our small tent was pretty expensive, given the discovered shortcomings of the site. If it was perfectly quiet with sufficient showers then £20 for that quality would be acceptable.





From the manager...

Delighted to read that this reviewer slept well and had ease of use of the showers and thought it all clean here.

Just to point out: The tariff (based on 2 people per tent in June is £10 per person per night):

- restricted numbers of tents (10) and campers (20) in 2.5 acres of natural field environment
- spacious pitches
- any size tent pitched where you like and well away from other campers
- use of a solid wooden picnic bench,
- use of fridge freezers,
- unlimited hot water for washing up, washing up liquid,
- shower facilities, soap, hot air hand driers,
- charging points for phone and hair drier

*many of the above being extra charges at other campsites*

Extensive local information with personal welcome and expert inside knowledge on the area if required.

There is a shower block with one gents and one ladies shower room with sink and loo and one separate loo - which with a maximum of 10 ladies and 10 gents on site at any one time and with it being available 24/7 should not present any problem of queuing at all.

We are set well back from the B3165 road - which takes us straight in to the centre of Lyme Regis in 3 minutes by car, to River Cottage HQ just 1.5 miles away, 3 minutes walk to the bus stop, pub that serves food and shop.

A closer look at the map and satellite images available on my advert on this page should give enough clarification for an informed choice of campsite in the first instance.

There are no children here (so no chance of children playing football at 7am) , no caravans, no mobile homes, no groups and no pets - *all of which are available at other camp sites at a similar or larger tariff*

I look forward to welcoming campers this evening to our quiet rural camp site (which you can reach via the B3165).

As I write this we are currently experiencing a heat wave! It's at least 80 degrees and we have our full quota of happy campers arriving for a great weekend (I can smell BBQs already) here on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast.

I feel just so lucky to have lived here all my life, in a designated area of Outstanding Natural Beauty minutes from the coast and River Cottage.

Joy

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Vikki_T

Great campsite

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lots of space between pitches and a picnic table per tent!
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Andy_B

Fantastic site!

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great welcome, clean, tidy facilities and so quiet (apart from a bit of traffic noise from the A35).
    Good pitches, albeit on a slight slope, with short grass.
    Showers and toilets - spotless and more than adequate, with push button hot water in the showers.
    Great kitchen area with fridges and freezers and plenty of hot water for dishes etc.
    Loads of information around - very helpful.
    About 4.5 miles into Lyme Regis to walk through quiet country lanes, and about 15 minutes of the 31 bus route (£2.00 single adult fare).
    Taxi from Lyme to site is about £14.00 exc. tip
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike, the site was perfect for our needs, and we couldn't fault a thing!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for irena

Highly recommended!

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely owners
    Great location
    Limited number of tents (10 maximum)
    Quiet
    Clean facilities
    Very affordable price


  • Disliked: Leaving...
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Popacork

Fabulous Site Do Not Miss Out On This Gem

(Mature couple, 1 review, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Without a doubt the most peacefully & relaxing camp site we have ever been too.

    The facilities available for £20 per tent a night are fantastic. Sparkling clean shower & tolilets along with 2 fridges with plenty of room for all campers food & wine etc.

    Amazing information available for all the local buses takeaways restaurants tourist attactions etc etc you can most definitely tell the owner of this site knows her stuff and the needs of a camper as she has it bang on the nail.

    The site only has 10 pitches so you get the feeling of it being exclusive which is a rare treat to the normal pile them in and stack them high attitude that we regulary experience.

    We used the picnic bench everyday and found it a great little extra, I would advise anyone looking for a relaxing break to give this place a whirl.

    I was greeted several times by a cheerful good morning by Joy the owner, I would just like we are looking forward to saying hello again soon.
  • Disliked: Having to pack up but I guess that's camping :)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for moiragaskell

A clean, well situated quiet site. Helpful but non intrusive owner

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Site position close to many Jurassic coast walks.
    Freedom of pitch choice with roaming wildlife (rabbits!) in bluebells..
    Availability of Fridges, Good washing facilities and showers.
    Lots of information about the local area.
    Flexibility to allow us to stay an extra night.
  • Disliked: Occasional noise from A35
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Really couldn't have been happier...

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site is simple and quiet, on an incline, but the tent pitches have all been levelled to ensure a lovely flat pitching space. The field is surrounded by trees (and there are resident bunnies, always a lovely thing!)

    The toilets and kitchen were super super clean and simple, and exactly what was needed was available (I forgot my washing up sponge, but there was a new one availble for use). I can not rate this camp site highly enough... so very happy to have found it and can see that another visit will definately happen in the future.

    This is a campsite for grown-ups, no kids, no groups, just couples wanting a quiet get away. In my opinion, there should be more sites like this that are more selective about who they choose to allow in. It's not the cheepest site (but nor is it the most expensive) but you get quaranteed quiet and no antisocial behavour guaranteed!

    One small piece of advise, pitch on the right of the field (as you look up), you'll get more sun... :D
  • Disliked: Nothing at all to dislike. I like my camping simple and quiet, and this is exactly it....
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for RosemaryW

We returned for a second stay after enjoying our time here last year

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good, clean showers & toilets with lots of hot water at all times.
    Plenty of 'fridge space & good washing up facilities.
    Reasonable sized field with pitches well spaced out, each with their own bench.
    Quiet, with views over the adjacent valley tree tops.
  • Disliked: You can hear some noise from the A road, but it is not obtrusive. The dawn chorus drowns it out!
    Access to Wi-Fi would be a useful addition.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Shane_M

Exclusive, expensive and next to a main road

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The use of fridge and freezer and power point is a real luxury as a camper.
    Free use of shower (i.e. no meter) and the condition of the shower room.
    Picnic table next to each pitch. Reminiscent of camping in the States (no-one does camp sites better than the States!)
  • Disliked: This is someones back yard essentially. The main house is a B and B called 'The Retreat'. This feels like some easy cash for the owner - who is really quiet rude and made us feel like we were a hassle. £20 a night is way too much considering it is someones back garden. Added to which we didn't appreciate the lecture about supporting independent businesses. We were told that Pitch Up takes its commission and leaves the owner with less. Considering we wouldn't know about the site were it not for Pitch Up, she is lucky to have the money in the first place.

    Also, the site is right next to the A35. No where on the site doesn it mention the dull roar of the road constantly. There is no peace. You do hear the noise constantly.

    If you want to go anywhere you have to drive. There is a walk into Lyme Regis off road but it is very poorly marked.

From the manager...

Dear Readers,

Delighted this couple thought the facilities of the free fridge/freezers and large wooden picnic tables were good and that it is clean here. All most important.

As can be clearly seen on our web site and on the Pitch Up web site, we are in fact set well back from the B3165 and well away from the A35, which is the main road at the top of our road and does not pass directly past our property.

Many reviewers comment on how peaceful it here and only being some 2.5 miles from Lyme Regis and conveniently located for River Cottage - the nearest recommended accommodation in fact.

This couple arrived outside of the clearly set out arrival time but this did not faze me.

I was surprised to see anyone arrive at 1pm and I stopped cleaning our holiday cottage ("The Retreat") and walked over our garden to greet them coming down the drive to welcome their arrival before they even got to the front door.

For those who book via Pitch Up I can only take cash payments at the door, as clearly set out on the booking form.

When coming to the front door these campers asked for a receipt, in addition to the emailed one from Pitch up, and I was more than happy to present them one on headed paper - I am VAT registered and am completely transparent in my financial dealings - although cash does still remain legal tender.

It does help if guests have the correct money on arrival too, as clearly requested on the booking form, to save campers time whilst I find some. We are a rural camp site.

Whilst drawing up their receipt I thought I was engaging in sociable chit chat - they said they saw I only had 2 pitches on Pitch Up and assumed they were the only 2 left - I explained this was not the case and they were fortunate that in the 2.5 acres of camping field there were only 4 pitches taken - plenty of space for all. We only take 10 tents/pitches in full to ensure this is a peaceful site.

Whilst writing their receipt I thought I was having pleasant chit chat rather than "being rude". Why I would wish to be rude to any paying campers?

Our camp site is just off the B3165 and set well back from the road. The A35 is the main road at the top of our road and noise hasn't been a problem to any other campers in some 15 years in business. Many reviewers comment on how wonderfully peaceful it is here.

We do recommend guests use the back lanes if they walk into Lyme Regis and not the B3165 which doesn't have any pavement. There is a map with road names provided for campers information as a suggestion on how to walk to Lyme Regis, but it is probably best if guests bring their own maps if they like walking.

On our quiet spacious 2.5 acre camp field for 10 tents, we charge from £20 a night for 2 guests per tent, free parking by your tent or in the car park for 1 car, you can bring any sized tent, even a bell tent, plus a gazebo, pup tent and wind break, all included in the tariff - many sites charge for all these additions.

Also included as mentioned is a solid wooden picnic bench per pitch, free use of the fridge/freezers and free showers with unlimited hot water.

Other camp sites at the same or more tariff may also have lots of children and lots of caravans and lots of groups - we have none of these.

Looking forward to more chats with campers - if you talk to me or ask me questions I am polite enough to reply.

Joy (or to use my nick name, Joyful).

I look forward to meeting more campers.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for nichola_d

lovely relaxing stay at hedgehog corner

(Mature couple, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: nice clean quiet site, well located for local attractions, lyme regis, beer etc.
    nice having fridges we could use as we actually had some sunshine and it kept our local cider nice and cold ;-)
    lovely not having loads of kids charging around.
  • Disliked: we pitched at the top of the field and quite a walk to the toilets/showers/kitchen so pitch at the bottom if yr unable to walk back up !
From the manager...

Thank you for this review highlighting what we think are our benefits too: free fridge freezers to use, lots of camping pitch space, nice and clean, quiet and no kids around!

Campers can pitch where they like on arrival so as suggested pitch nearer the facilities if you don't like walking - it is only a minute or so's walk to the top of the field for those who prefer a view of the lovely wooded valley opposite us.

We have recently painted through the campers kitchen and shower room so it is all sparkly clean for this summer's campers!

Cheers, Joy

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely spot

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice quiet site with good facilities and as much local information as you could possibly need!
  • Disliked: The ground was a bit stoney in places which meant a bit of a struggle with some of the tent pegs but not a big deal.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very nice site, very quiet and peaceful. Facilities very nice and clean especially the showers which were better than expected for a campsite. Helpful advice posted around the site was also very beneficial.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Showers
    Hairdryer points
    Helpful advice slips
    Picnic bench for every pitch

  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

very warm welcome, perfect for a peaceful get away

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: very generous pitch size and use of a full sized picnic table which was very useful, also use of fridge freezers which was a first for us no more gone of milk etc !!. nice and quiet as no children or pets allowed, look forward to our next visit.
  • Disliked: no complaimts really only that when it was wet it was difficult to get car up to the top of the site as was slippery.
From the manager...

Thank you for this review as it points out what we advise for safety on the field for cars when it has been raining.

We strongly advise in writing with a notice in the facilities, verbally on arrival and on our web site that when the field could be slippery if its been raining and the sensible thing is for campers to USE THE CAMPERS CAR PARK and walk up the field.

We also retain the right in T&Cs to close the track if conditions are back and request campers use the car park throughout their stay - fortunately this doesn't happen often!

Its not a tremendously long walk even to the top of the field and it saves the track and field being chewed up if conditions are wet.

Fortunately because we are on a slight slope (with cut outs and flat areas top and bottom for tents) and as we have a large drain across the field underground, the field dries out quickly and we are always able to stay open.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to reieterate our safety policy when its wet!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for foulowl

Ignore the haters, this place is tremendous!

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Five happy days spent camping here.
    The amount of space is superb. Confused as to how some people think that the tents were too close together.
    Having a picnic bench for each pitch is a lovely feature.
    Super amounts of tips around the site on places to visit and places to eat (our fave was River Cottage Canteen, which was delicious and great value for money).
    Lovely sunsets in the evening.
    For all that the field is on a slope, each pitch has a levelled off tent space.
    Joy is very knowledgeable and noticeable - I've no doubt that if we had had any concerns, they would have been dealt with.
  • Disliked: Very little. An extra toilet would have helped, but with only 20 people on the site, there was only ever a minute or two wait. Small price to pay for a very quiet and relaxing stay!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Sally_B2

Lovely camp site, exactly as advertised. Very quiet, level pitches, facilities lovely and clean.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The fact that is was adults only and no large groups.

    The peace and quiet.
  • Disliked: Nothing!
From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely words. I am particularly pleased you found the site "exactly as advertised".

Many thanks.

Joy

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Hedgehog corner

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very friendly welcome Lots of advice about were to eat and go , very clean facilities . Very peaceful location . Loved the picnic benches .liked the fact there were fridges and indoor washing up facilities . Nice warm showers .
  • Disliked: The very slopeing hill we had to pitch on ! Bit steep to be honest to sleep on . The loos and showers didn't like the fact men / women's next to each other in same space a degree of separation would be nice . A mop or squeegee would have been good a floor very wet unsafe so guests could mop after each shower keep it safe . We had very noisy neighbours across from us drinking and loud and urinating outside there tents at night not sure what the policy on noise and complaint was ????
From the manager...

As always, what a shame this camper did not choose to say anything to me during the 5 days they were here!!! I could have addressed any concerns in an instant.

First of all we limit tents in a 2.5 acre field to 10 and we only accept couples (max 2 people per tent) and no groups.

There are "cut aways" around the field to pitch on and it is flatter at the top and bottom.

The field is a gentle slope and it is disingenous to describe it as a "hill". However, being a slope is convenient when it rains as it dries out quickly and campers are not camping in a soggy field.

Campers can pitch where they like and am only sorry this camper didn't find a more comfortable spot. There were only 7 tents here when they arrived so there was plenty of choice available.

Many camp sites only have plastic doors with gaps top and bottom. Here there is a top to bottom thick brick wall between the mens and ladies and a good lock on the door!

Had this camper something to me at the time we carry a spare shower room at the rear of our house which we could have opened up especially and other ladies should remember this if camping here. Please just ask on arrival.

We take safety very seriously here at Hedgehog Corner and reading my home website information page should make that quite clear to everyone. We have information on everything from Fire Safety, to BBQ Safety to Walking at Night Safely.

We clearly describe the shower/wet room and recommend guests wear flip flops or similar.

We clearly describe there is a gents shower room and a ladies shower room and another loo.

I have left a mop in the shower room but it either never gets used, except by me. I personally check the shower room and facilities every time I pass which can be up to 10 + times a day. The floor tiles were specially chosen for their non slippiness.

There is also have a yellow hazard notice at the entrance to the shower block too (to the right side of the entrance door, chained to the rail so no one can remove it) indicating there is a wet floor in the shower/wet rooms.

Our complaints procedure is very clear that loud noise late at night will not be tolerated in any shape or form and again a word with me would have soon sorted it out.

Fortunately this is the first complaint we have had about noisy fellow campers as we restrict numbers.

I can't stop people drinking - nor would wish too unless there is a problem (we had hoped by restricting our site to 10 tents and couples there would not be such problems - we don't allow groups either for these very reasons).

I can always ask other campers either to pipe down late at night or ask them to leave its is really bad and also to stop other activities that would upset fellow campers.

My mobile number is written up everywhere on the site so you can phone me at 3am and I will appear if summoned!

Proprietors are only too happy to deal with problems on the spot when we have a chance to rectify any problem if humanly possible.

I hope my explanation answers some of the concerns raised. Its just such a shame these campers didn't say anything when they were here over the 5 days as I could have addressed them instantly.

I am only sorry that as we enjoyed such lovely weather during this campers visit they didn't enjoy it to the full.

Regards,

Joy

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for kimchicloud

Great peaceful site, lovely location, great foodie places in the area

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: level pitches for each tent
    Each pitch has it's own picnic table and bench too.
    The owner is very helpful and friendly, without being intrusive
    numerous laminated information sheets in the toilet block and campers kitchen with recommendations for places to eat and see including amazing cream teas, great fish and chips and fantastic food in a bistro on the beach.
    facilities are very good, always clean and perfectly adequate for the site at full capacity which is still only 20 people, as the site limits each pitch to two people and there are ten in total.
    The water was always hot and I love the decor in the shower/wc block which has been painted with a delicious vanilla ice cream colour and has dark slate tiles in the shower cubicles. It makes a change for a site to not just go for the cheapest white tiles everywhere!
    Great sunset views over an evergreen woodland valley
    Fridge and freezer to use
    Very near Lyme Regis, River Cottage H.Q, Hix Seafood and Oyster restaurant
  • Disliked: leaving
From the manager...

Delighted this couple enjoyed their stay and they enjoyed being near Lyme Regis and River Cottage HQ.

There is a regular bus service from the pub at the top of our road to Lyme and either a Taxi Share we have organised for visitors to TVs River Cottage HQ or you can walk (bring luminous jacket and torch if walking to the HQ!) as country roads with little pavement and street lighting!

We keep it peaceful here and just 2 to a tent and adult only.

Hope to see you again one day!

Best wishes and thank you for the lovely review,

Joy

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for pralinehalo

Absolutely fabulous

(Young couple, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It was lovely and quiet and Joy (the owner) was great, she was really friendly and has loads of recommendations for where to go and what to see and they're absolutely spot-on. I asked for a suggestion for where we could go horse riding and she was back with a list within 5 minutes. We went where she suggested and they were brilliant. There are also suggestions for where to eat and what to see and they're all worth paying attention to.
    The campsite is beautifully maintained and we found it very private and it had all the facilities we needed - hot clean showers, clean toilets, fridges, freezers and a good sized washing up area.
    Overall it was great and we would strongly recommend it to anyone!
  • Disliked: These are only very minor things but:

    The women's shower seemed to be a little bit erratic temperature wise.
    It would be great if a facility to charge mobile phones/cameras was offered for a small fee.
    Some of the cut-away pitching areas are slightly closer to each other than I would ideally like.
From the manager...

Delighted this couple enjoyed their visit. There is a socket available on the shower room shelf and in the campers kitchen free of charge to recharge mobile. Surprised the water was erratic but a quick word with me would have sorted it - it always starts off cold and has to run for a few seconds to warm up. The field is 2.5 acres which for 10 tents should give all campers plenty of room to pitch well away from anyone else even when full.

Glad the info was helpful.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for simon

Absolutely Perfect-Couldn't ask or find better!

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location. Just minutes away from Lyme Regis, Axminster and the breath-taking scenery of the Marshwood Vale and Jurassic coast.
    Shower and kitchen facilities kept squeaky clean, and because there are limited spaces there was not a hoard of people waiting to use the facilities. We pitched in the lower corner and had a blissful time. Meaning no ffence to those with children, but because this was a child-free zone it was wonderfully quiet. We'll certainly be back!
  • Disliked: Nothing at all.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for liamhollis

Just got back from a fabulous long weekend at Hedgehog Corner. Situated just 5 mins drive from Lyme Regis, its the perfect location for exploring the surrounding Area

(Extended family, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Just got back from a fabulous long weekend at Hedgehog Corner. Situated just 5 mins drive from Lyme Regis, its the perfect location for exploring the surrounding area.

    On our arrival we were greeted by Joy who immediately made us feel welcome and explained a little on where to pitch and where the facilities were etc. A lovely sized field for an exclusive and personal camping experience. We pitched up at the bottom of the hill (nearer to the kitchen and showers) and found the provided picnic bench extremely useful.

    The facilities were spotless, a great washup room with sinks, fridges and freezers to keep your stuff cold, and re-freeze any ice packs.

    The showers were clean and modern wet-room style and had complete privacy, and again very clean.

    We enjoyed our stay at Hedgehog corner and will certainly be back.

    Note: Didnt think much to the Hunters lodge Pub, but maybe that was just us.

    Wifi access would have made it perfection as there was no mobile signal or 3G (Joy if you want me to come set it up for you let me know!!) I know if were camping we should be free of technology :)
  • Disliked: Absolutely Nothing - Was Perfect
    (Wifi Would have been good for me!)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for mollycamper

A fantastic campsite without children and superbly sited

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2010
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The fact that children are not allowed to camp at this site and that the number of pitches are kept at a minimum. There is so much room and you never feel that you are cramped in next to other campers. The field is secluded and sheltered. I liked the fact that there was no queuing for the shower in the morning and no rowdy campers to contend with at night.
  • Disliked: I was on a slight gradient which made me slide down my airbed at night, but this was due to not choosing a flatter terrace to pitch on and not a fault of the field.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Hedgehog Corner Exclusive Camping