Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Loch Tay Highland Lodges

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.2

Overall rating based on 16 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

87% would recommend this site to a friend.

87% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for veronique_g

woodland cabin

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The space and comfort of the cabin.
    Quilt and pillows are provided, also a couple of blankets on the sofa make the cabin cosy.
    There is a complimentary log basket to start the wood stove, and a £5 electric card. They were sufficient to cover our 3 nights stay.
    The bathroom is a decent size, with plenty very hot water for a shower. Bath mat was provided.
    The kitchen had all the essentials: kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge, electric cooker.
    Some effort was put into making the cabin comfortable and it is much appreciated.
    The Bistro has a reasonable menu and a limited take away menu, great if you don't want to do any cooking.
  • Disliked: A couple of bits and pieces in the cabin needed attention, no plug for the bathroom sink and the wood stove handle was loose.
    The cabins are quite close to each other, we could hear the loud music from the nearby cabin one night.
    Our cabin was on the entry road to the cabins and camping pods so when it gets busy there is a fair bit of traffic.
    The speed limit was not observed and dogs were left wandering, despite the camping strict rules.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for veronique_g

woodland cabin

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The space and comfort of the cabin.
    Quilt and pillows are provided, also a couple of blankets on the sofa make the cabin cosy.
    There is a complimentary log basket to start the wood stove, and a £5 electric card. They were sufficient to cover our 3 nights stay.
    The bathroom is a decent size, with plenty very hot water for a shower. Bath mat was provided.
    The kitchen had all the essentials: kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge, electric cooker.
    Some effort was put into making the cabin comfortable and it is much appreciated.
    The Bistro has a reasonable menu and a limited take away menu, great if you don't want to do any cooking.
  • Disliked: A couple of bits and pieces in the cabin needed attention, no plug for the bathroom sink and the wood stove handle was loose.
    The cabins are quite close to each other, we could hear the loud music from the nearby cabin one night.
    Our cabin was on the entry road to the cabins and camping pods so when it gets busy there is a fair bit of traffic.
    The speed limit was not observed and dogs were left wandering, despite the camping strict rules.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for michael_m19

Excellent setting and good facilities at a very reasonable price.

(Young couple, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The relatively newly installed shower and toilet facilities were excellent, warm showers were much appreciated after long days of activity. Kitchen was also very nice.
  • Disliked: Fire alarm went off when we used the toaster... I was really scraping the barrel to try and think of something negative to say, overall the standard was excellent!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for anne_h0

excellent location with lovely views

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: clean basic value for money and able to bring our dog
  • Disliked: the weather but this could not be helped
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for thomas_n

Stayed in Yurt with my girlfriend and our son for his 2nd birthday

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The yurt was great fun, the wee man couldn't wait to get in his bed on the first night when we got there. The yurt was toasty warm when keeping the fire stoked properly. I liked that it smelt like a yurt should :-)
  • Disliked: The weather was pretty wet on the Saturday night. Could do with some better walkway/paths to the yurt, it was a bit muddy, not a problem as we all had adequate foot wear.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for mark_a5

Fantastic

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I loved my stay in the Teepee, they were warm, comfortable, clean, they were also close by the very clean shower block. A few minor little niggles, but overall they were great, i loved the site and will look forward to my next stay.
  • Disliked: No pillows, despite being told to bring pillow cases, no TV remote, and no brush for the dust pan. As i was late arriving and away all the next day, we were unable to gain access to the wireless network pass code, this should have been on the details inside the envelope with the key to the Teepee's, but these are minor niggles.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Tracywhyte

Disappointed

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The area and beautiful scenery .
  • Disliked: That we had booked accommodation for for 4 -6 people on arrival the acclimation was unsuitable for 4 people. On complaining were informed we would have to pay a further £300-600 to upgrade. After working hard for this holiday that we expected to be just that , we were awoken early each morning by bulldozers ploughing the land outside which made the whole wigwam shake , constant sawing and hammering due to ongoing landscaping. Work. Couldn't wait to get home to peace and quite would not recommend this as a holiday to friends or family.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

great family holiday

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The view and location. The Wigwam was new and clean. We had a nice view of the Ben Lawer Hill. Some wigwams had views over the loch. We went to the boat house bistro for tea on arrival on the first night, lovely location. The holiday park is quite big but not crowded. The Campers kitchen is quite modern with a TV sitting room. The washhouse is very new and clean.
  • Disliked: The food at the Bistro was OK but not great considering the price. The view compensates though. A coat hook or two would be handy in the washhouse for hanging towels or coats on whilst your are brushing your teeth. The play park could be bigger but did look to be a work in progress.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Wigwam heaven

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The setting was fabulous with handily situated toilets and showering facilities. Accommodation clean and comfortable and all the staff were friendly and very helpful
  • Disliked: Nothing (except the midgies)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

An excellent, clean, holiday site for everyone. Highly recommended!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This campsite is a fantastic concept, in a stunning location, and caters for everbodys needs. From tents, wigwams, Mongolian yurts to log cabins and executive log lodges. I was extremely impressed with my stay at one of the octagonal log cabins, which, although compact, was furnished and equipped to a very high standard with everything you would need, and more. A particularly nice feature was the central log burner which provided more than enough heat even in the coldest weather and the first bag of logs are complimentary. The electricity was operated by a power card meter and the £5 complimentary card was more than enough to cover my 3 day stay. The nearby town of Killen is only a couple of miles away should you need to stock up on groceries and has a camping/outdoors shop offering everything you need for the outdoor experience. The Falls of Dochart run through the town and are definitely worth a visit during your stay. I have already been showing friends and family pictures of my stay and all have been impressed by the original concept, facilities, layout and location of this site. Many have commented that should a similar site be in their country that it would be a huge success so i'm proud to have somewhere like this in my home country. Well done to Loch Tay Highland Lodges for creating a quality site for all to enjoy - and no, i'm not staff or on commission!! ;)
  • Disliked: Not much to not enjoy about this place.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Carrie_W

Location, location, location. Oh, and value for money!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location is superb and tonnes to do in the area, price was very reasonable, staff were very friendly and accommodating.
  • Disliked: Nothing really.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Teepee Plus - really cosy, surprisingly roomy, cheap

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we were able to take our dog
    heating & electricity for extra comfort
    private bathroom, kitchen with cooker / hob etc. & decent sized fridge
    comfy & cosy
    beautiful scenery
    nice food & drink at The Boathouse
  • Disliked: nothing!!
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Jean_G

Lovely setting by the side of Loch Tay

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We liked the situation by the Loch.
  • Disliked: The only criticism was the car park, not easy to use if full. this is only a small criticism as I am obliged to make some comment.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Laura_A

OK, Not good value though

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location is ok, the Belle Tent that we stayed in was comfortable and we didn't get eaten by midges as it was far enough away from the loch. Campers kitchen was clean and tidy and well equipped. Staff in the Harbor Restaurant were friendly as were the reception staff.
  • Disliked: Not enough information available. No where to buy any milk or anything for about 4 miles, we walked it. Dont! Dangerous. Tolilet block is shocking. Showers cost you a pound for 10 mins. And its grotty. I expected something a bit more clean for 100 for 2 night stay in a tent.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely stay in a wigwam!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities-campers kitchen and communal areas were great.
    Clean hot showers
    Location
    Fire pit
    Wigwam itself-lovely!
    Friendly service
    Views

  • Disliked: Maybe wigwam floor could have been swept a little better
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We stayed in the very plush wigwams, they even had a tv.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I loved the view across the loch and watching the beautiful sunset over the mountains. Very good facilities for cooking and excellent lounge with a real log fire.
  • Disliked: I disliked the shared male and female temporary toilets. They were very clean and always well stocked, but would like split toilets please.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus

<< Go back to Loch Tay Highland Lodges