Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Muirkirk Caravan Site

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

7.5

Overall rating based on 42 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

69% would recommend this site to a friend.

71% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for adrian_t

Brilliant

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The atmosphere
    The site layout
    No silly rules & regs
    Friendly people
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for graeme33

Our first camping experince and a good wee site to start on.

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We got a nice welcome upon arrival and shown to our pitch. The pitch was on a great spot. We were both impressed with the friendliness of others using the site. The bar was pleasant and staff friendly.
  • Disliked: The midgie's and daddy long legs were awful and even in the toilet and shower area was full of them due to open windows which unfortunately made the toilets look unclean. There was no hot water at the sinks.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Coco

If you love Butlins...

(Family with young children, 3 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It was cheap and the tent pitch was relatively spacioys
  • Disliked: If you like Butlins, this is great. We don't, and the swearing, dirty soap in the toilets, bpisterous deunken noise and the , unhelpful attitude of the staff (just read the defensive, passive aggressive replies of the manager to the people who dared to leave a negative review, we should have!) really put us of. Yes, there are people who don't like their children to be exposed to constant, casual swearing! There's also nothing there for smaller children. I guess people just have different expectations, and being surrounded by loudmouths swearing is not for us.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for enzo

had a fantastic time here and met lovely people

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Me & wife and 11 year old son and wife friend and three kids at different ages booked this site as it was very reasonable priced. It was our first camping trip. On arrival we met Annette who was very pleasant she showed our pitch I can honestly say we stayed for three nights and we had a ball we met a lot of lovely people who have caravans on site all year round and was made very welcome. Site had two rope swings but kids will be kids and still find something to do we set up a treasure hunt around the site and the kids loved we defo will be back to this site sooner than we think. Toilets spotless site noise didn't hear anything the club house very reasonable when you look at what you pay you can't complain.
  • Disliked: Absolutely none
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for caroline-_w

Great value, peaceful night!

(Family with young children, 1 review, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Went for our first camping trip ever, decided one night to check it all out was enough to get started!
    Our 2 girls age 8 and 9 had a great time just being on adventure! The site has 2 swings at separate locations both surrounded by tons of space! One tyre swing and one wooden. No other toys as such but they were amused just running wild!
    Toilets and showers functional, think school camp! Basic but all working and as clean as one can reasonably expect on a campsite!
    At £3.75 a head having toilets and a hot shower alone are great value never mind the pitch and swings!
    We went on a Saturday so karaoke in the clubhouse! regulars really welcoming, kids allowed until 11:30 which is great before heading back to toast marshmallows before bed!
    Overall - we would go back. Not a lot for kids but that means they have to use their imagination!!
  • Disliked: Marks not higher due to lack of children's activity park but you know that when you book.
    A climbing frame etc would make it better for longer stays.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for katemckay5

I stayed in the tent pitches which was very clean and tidy

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked the way the park was kept the toilets and showers were cleaned through out the day the owner was pleasant as with most of the other residents there. The shops and play park was only a short walk away.
  • Disliked: There was a lot of midgies
    The park was not child friendly at all my children were singing in the showers at 9.30 at night and I was given a warning for it they were not allowed out or to make any noise at all even laughing I was warned for but the worse 1 was they got blamed for breaking a door that was not fitted with proper screws that I fixed my 4 year old was shouted at by the owner and that angered me.
    We waited all week with it raining and with thunder storms for the wee pub to open for some entertainment and we were made feel very unwelcome so we had no choice but to leave earlier than planned. Would never visit again it was my worse ever camping trip.
    If children are not welcome then it should be advertised.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for nicola_b2

Avoid pitch in the middle

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good area for kids to run about and could watch them from tent
  • Disliked: The pitch we were given in the middle was full of rocks, mangled all our tent pegs, also felt toilets should have been cleaned and replenished earlier in the morning went to toilet at 8am no toilet roll left.
    Been at other sites which were cheaper and more amenities not good value for money
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Awful

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The weather!
  • Disliked: When we arrived, my wife and I actually tossed a coin to decide whether to stay or not, the atmosphere was so bad. We stayed.

    We were handed a sheet of camp rules and I was glad to see that swearing and noise after midnight are frowned upon. One of the reasons we picked the campsite was because although it stated on the website that there are only 2 swings for children, there is a playpark within walking distance. When I asked about that the owner showed my in the distance where it was stating that `they`re always putting stuff on that website.`

    As it was a gorgeous day we set out to look for this lovely playpark - I had seen one of the swings which were nothing more than a piece of wood (fairly rotten) attached to a rope - it took 40 minutes to get there and when we saw it, we wished we hadn`t bothered. I was very run down, rusty, overgrown and I felt unsafe in certain areas.
    We stayed there a little while and headed back soon after. When we arrived back at the site, there were a few members of what appeared to be the same family shouting loudly, and then after a while and after much alcohol, shouting, swearing and playing loud music. The rules state that swearing will not be tolerated and loud music is frowned upon after midnight, but it had gone 1am, before the noise settled.

    To be honest, when the time came for us to leave, I couldn`t away fast enough.

    The day after, I sent the owner an e-mail explaining the problems that we encountered, and she apologised, but she didn`t sound like she had any authority to act upon any of the rules, simply saying that as far as language goes, when people see her approaching them, they stop swearing!! She even said (and I find this VERY alarming) when I mentioned that there was a couple next to us who had a bonfire INSIDE their tent, that her groundsman had seen it, but done nothing!!!!

    As far as cleanliness went, I`m sure even the most basic of campsites could improve on bits of broken soap in the toilets.

    Needless to say we will never return.
From the manager...

In response to your review. A small fire in a gazebo was mistaken for a barbecue. Complaints can not be dealt with efficiently after the event. If bad language had been reported and from which pitch it is coming action would have been taken. Pitches are booked over the telephone or via the internet camp sites do not ask for references! Unfortunately we do have problems with guests from time to time.There is a new play park in Muirkirk to which it only takes 10 mins. to walk. I wonder where you went or if you stayed at the same place as the person who wrote the previous review?

.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

really really good park

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I thought the camp site was fantastic, my 2 kids age 5 & 8 had a great time....there was a rope swing for them to play on also cross the field to see the sheep. The facilities were really good standard clean and tidy and nice hot water for showering, an added bonus for us was that there was entertainment in the bar and we all had a really good evening. The park its self was overall good a mixture of caravans, tents, motorhomes it wasn't to noisy I would definitely recommend to family and friends....
  • Disliked: Not much to dislike apart from toilets were a short walk but not to far.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Carol_B1

Would not recommend for families

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nothing
  • Disliked: We booked a grass pitch on a site that was advertised as scenic and quiet. We arrived and were allocated a hard standing pitch, which we couldn't put the awning on and the dog couldn't sit on due to the stones. There was nothing for kids to do (one rope swing which had nettles in the grass around it). There was also a car drag race or something going on nearby and the noise was awful. We ended up leaving 30 mins after arriving and looked for somewhere else to stay.

    In fairness to the owner, we never asked to be moved pitch or for our money back, as we didn't want to stay on the site due to the noise, so can't comment on the customer service as she may have offered to move us?

    I can't comment on the cleanliness as we didn't use any of the facilities.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for geomclay

great night had by all

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very friendly staff and guests. Lovely clean toilets and shower rooms. Kids had a great time really enjoyed our stay :) will definitely be back
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Gary_B3

Lovely compact campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved everything but especially lovelly friendly owners, excellent pitches, great facilities and wonderful clubhouse. Clean toilets and showers. Quietness of campsite.
  • Disliked: None
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

weekend break

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was lovely , friendly staff , bar prices very reasonable, the toilets nice and clean..
  • Disliked: The midges !!!!!!!!!!! not bein able to sit outside tent at night, been camping quite alot never been that bad.
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Well kept and clean

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site is well kept, very clean and tidy. I found both the guests who I met and the staff to be friendly.
  • Disliked: I found nothing to dislike, the only suggestion that I would make would be to make a freezer available to allow the "re-chilling" of ice blocks.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Ann_B

Weekend stay

(Young couple, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly welcome with relaxed atmosphere, clean facilities and well tenders site.
    Will go back for sure.
  • Disliked: The midges !!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

small friendly siteo

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice park, very compact. Easy booking in, left to enjoy our stay. Nice clean toilets and shower area, facility for washing dishes outside in open. Friendly regulars, deffo return
  • Disliked: Next to a ralley track, spoiled the tranquility
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A relaxing break and made to feel very welcome!

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Although a small site with few amenities Muirkirk was one of the friendliest sites iv stayed at. Regulars to the site could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Will definitely visit again when in need of a break from town.
  • Disliked: Not many amenities but this wasn't a problem. Other than a tree swing there's nothing for kids.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very nice wee place!

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Site in general, friendliness of staff, views
  • Disliked: No major supermarket local, toilets were rancid
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good site, very clean toilets.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly welcome, clean toilets
  • Disliked: No where in town to go to eat
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Janet_C

Good

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything was fine,site was good and lovely to watch the rabbits playing.
    .Just be warned that the midges were really bad there,for June.
  • Disliked: I would like to see handles on the wall in showers to help you in.out of showers as steps rather high.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for johnhunter104855

Superb site at a reasonable price

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Site is well maintained, quiet and peaceful. Friendly staff. clean toilets and showers with plenty of hot water. Everyone on site seemed quite friendlly and a lot of the people come regularly to Muirkirk. There is a club on site with reasonably priced drinks, and entertainment. In the village just half a mile away there are shops, Co-op, cafe, chip shop, Chinese and garage, post office and bank, so everything is close at hand. There are loads of walks and the river Ayr runs by side of site.
    Above the site there is a race track, and a nine hole golf course.
    Kilmarnock and Ayr are quite close as well if you fancy a bit of sightseeing.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Brian__R

I travelled alone but was meeting a friend.

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It had lovely clean toilets good showers and was all well maintained.
  • Disliked: N/a
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

would no stay here again sorry

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: staff friendly and helpful
  • Disliked: club house very run down nothing to do on site,needs a shop or somthing.shower room run down and dish washing facilities needing updated and cleaned. sorry not for us.
From the manager...

The price of a 2 night stay for 2 adults and 1 teenager with electric hook up and free showers with hot water is £34.00 surely this is value for money.
Our Shower block and toilets are cleaned regularly as pointed out in other reviews.
The caravan site is only 500 meters from the village shops and is for campers who enjoy walking, fishing Golf and other outdoor activities Please read the information before booking. Thank you.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for Wendy_F

A lovely week at Muirkirk Caravan Site

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was lovely,with beautiful views of the moors. It was quite busy with tents,tourers and people in static caravans over the weekend but it had a nice atmosphere about it everybody was really friendly. After the weekend it went really quiet we felt like we had the site to ourselves. The toilet block was kept clean and tidy, showers were hot,not very powerful but adequate.A five minute walk from the site is a walkers car park with several walks over the moors starting and finishing from it,handy with having our dog with us. It is a 45 minute drive into Ayr which is quite a nice town with good shops and a lovely seafront. There is a well stocked co op supermarket on the main road in Muirkirk just a 5 minute walk from the site or a big Tesco in Ayr for supplies! A good base to discover the area, Culzean Castle,Alloway,we even visited the Isle of Arran for the day.The site fees are realistic too!
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very quiet site, lovely and peaceful

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The total peace and quiet, but clubhouse available if you like it a little livelier
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike, but don't expect posh
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Irene_B

First time using my camper van.

(Young couple, 2 reviews, 3 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location was great. Not too far from home as a first time user of my new van. It was easy to find and in a part of the country I hadn't stopped before. It was great value for money at only £17 per night including electricity hook up. The toilet facilities were very clean and maintained. There was also a lounge bar on site and good walks all around for the dogs.
  • Disliked: A shop would have been good for necessities.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Enjoyed the quiet location.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners were very friendly and helpful. The clubhouse onsite is nice and cosy and spacious, although quiet when we were there. Facilities where very clean and well looked after. Overall a very nice site with some good local walks an very peaceful. We would certainly go back to this Caravan site.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very pleasant site.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Kids liked the rope swing, very clean and tidy, well cared for pitches.The site was quiet at night.
  • Disliked: The only thing we can comment on being a problem was the lights in the mens toilets/showers could do with being adjusted as. They only stay on for around a minute before switching off.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Quiet & clean campsite

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The overall cleanliness of the site was really good and the toilets and showers were cleaned daily. The overall site was clean and at night there were loads of rabbits in the fields. Very peaceful site with not much noise although we had our own field.

    Overall the stay was good but not for anyone wanting some lively action.
  • Disliked: The toilets and showers were on timer switches for lighting and this was somewhat annoying especially in the shower. The site was what i felt remote and a good half hours drive to the nearest large town although as it was our first time in Scotland this could be the norm.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for blowfish1302

Great little campsite and excellent value!

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The park was very quiet and peaceful and we weren't disturbed at all. Toilets and showers were great but if using at night, I would recommend taking a torch as the timer doesn't really give enough time. Plenty of wild rabbits were jumping about which was lovely.
  • Disliked: Timer on toilets - well, not that I disliked it, it was a mere annoyance!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

kids first time camping, they loved it

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Really enjoyed the friendly atmsphere, the pitch was flat, loads of space.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for john_n

brilliant

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the peace and tranquility,and every thing about the place,in fact we have taken a seasonal pitch.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for allison_b

nice friendly site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: even though we were late in arriving the owner was friendly polite and very helpful.
    We were told we could take any pitch we liked.
    The toilet and shower block were clean.
    We did not go into the club as we only used the campsite as a base for a quick family visit,

  • Disliked: nothing to dislike we stayed for only 2 nights and were out all the day
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for jocko

my holiday

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: there is lknow place we have stayed that was so frendly. free range eggs . nice liittle town pub was brill.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for dcbellcard

best little campsite in scotland

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: friendly owners and bar staff/regulars toilet block clean showers great, pitches superb with great drainage nice views, great walks nearby, golf course and rally course next door village a short walk away with a few pubs,shops and a cafe also chip shop and chinese takeaway although club on site does great bar food breakfasts and lunch to eat in or takeaway peacefull site with very friendly staff would highly recommend.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

nice friendly site with onsite bar/food. small site with lovelly walks near by.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: small freindly site, lovelly walks from outside main gate, 5min walk to local shops and bars.
  • Disliked: poor showers. water hot but only a trickle of water. toilet lights on timer that went off in middle of night when i was still in toilet block. (scary)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for jim-tominey

muirkirk caravan park

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Mar 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: my wife and i love this site,its so quite and everybody is freindly,we go there every weekend,annette and her husband have done really well with this site,is clean and alot of space,the tiolets and shower room is spottless and warm,and the shops are only a 10min walk.the club is open at weekends and is cheap for food and a drink.
  • Disliked: we dont have any dislikes for this site,
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

muirkirk

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: peace and quiet lovely place shower and toilet blocks within easy reach and clean plenty hot water people were very friendly and helpful in village everyone we passed said hello club was not on weekend we stayed but had look around it would go back again
  • Disliked: only thing can say is went into ayr by bus and had to get two buses to get there and on way back from ayr had to wait one hour for bus
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Catherine_F

Great weekend getaway!!!!

(Extended family, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly site - Annette and all the others make you feel welcome.

    As two couples one in tent and one in caravan this was great as we could be close to each other.

    There is no play park on the site but a 15 -20 min walk into the village and there is a large play park.

    Will keep an eye on the web page for the up and coming events and will be back, although booked to go back beginning of October.




  • Disliked: No plug socket in the ladies for a hairdryer!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Sandy_S

excellent weekend

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the managers attitude was excellent,the site was well kept and i could see improvements being made.i would recommend this site to anyone who asked advice on where to go,for caravan or tent camping
  • Disliked: found nothing that i dislikedi
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Enjoyed our stay very much and the owners couldnt have been more helpful, would definately visit again.

(Extended family, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very friendly , helpful owners. Lovely peaceful site and we got to choose our pitch, which was great, as we were in 2 groups with young children. Only 5 minute walk to shops and cafes etc. Would definately reccommend it to friends and family.
  • Disliked: Toilets and showers could have been cleaner and didnt like the bars of soap instead of soap dispensers.
    Website stated there was a club and games room for children but on arrival wasnt the case, which upset the children.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Samantha_H

Lovely campsite with a friendly owner and great facilities but location was further away from things than expected

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Toilet blocks were clean and always heated.
    The showers were always hot
  • Disliked: The weather but hardly the fault of the campsite. Not a lot to dislike about the site other than The location could have been clearer on website as was a bit of a drive to get anywhere.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus

<< Go back to Muirkirk Caravan Site