Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Riverside Camping

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

9.4

Overall rating based on 77 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

97% would recommend this site to a friend.

96% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for christine_h3

First time in a campervan!!

(Young couple, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The very very clean toilets and showers
    The space given to each plot
    The restaurant/bar

  • Disliked: Nothing!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for lez68

great site, great amenities

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Being pitched next to the river, made very welcome, very clean toilets/showers

    Will be back soon :-)
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for sam_m0

What a fabulous beautifully kept relaxing site!

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed for 3 nights at the start of the Easter holidays as a family with dogs.

    The site was beautiful from the moment you turned onto the drive. It is well maintained and clean and the site is exceptionally well thought out with space for all ages to do as they wish. The care of the plants and trees makes the site all the more beautiful to be in.

    We pitched by the river which overlooked a farmers field where you could sit and watch the cows drinking just across the stream. The kids loved having nets and trying to catch fish and paddling.
    The playground and sports areas were all lovely and our youngest enjoyed going to the playground and we all enjoyed the freedom of the site as there was very few cars about.

    The onsite cafe did lovely breakfasts that we all enjoyed. The showers and toilets were very clean and always had hot water, there was also no charge for showering.
    The staff were kind and friendly and did anything they could to help even towing our caravan up the steep drive as we were not sure our loaned car would make the journey up too well.

    All in all this was the best caravan site we have stayed at and we will definitely be going again. It was so good I am going to re-book after leaving my review.

    The one thing I particularly enjoyed as a Mum was the fact that the children had no O2 phone signal so we really could have a family only holiday without technology interrupting things.

  • Disliked: I found nothing I disliked about this site
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for steve_j2

Lovely

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The set up, the people, the space - beautiful. Brilliant for exploring Snowdonia.
  • Disliked: I think they could improve the wireless but that's a small issue really.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Graham_C1

Favorite site so far

(With friends, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We spent a Saturday and Sunday night at Riverside and must say it was my favorite site of the year. The free wifi that was just within range of our plot was just enough and with the addition of electric it was a good base as the weather was not on our side unfortunately for walking. The river was stunning and although some would say loud, I found it therapeutic. We even had a visit from the resident Heron. The toilets were clean and the showers nice and hot. The site now has a swanky restaurant within the grounds and although it wasn't the usual countryside pub were used to the staff were friendly and it did serve beer, wine etc if you just wanted to have a relaxing drink. All in all i would definitely make the journey again. Oh and thanks to the owners. They were very helpful and welcoming:)
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for katyc

Highly recommended

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We asked for a pitch by the river (we have a labrador!), and were placed exactly there. The campite itself was clean, tidy, very well maintained and the location was great for Snowdonia, the local towns etc. Did not manage to eat in the cafe as the opening times seemed quite restricted, which we found surprising, especially as there is no-where else within walking distance to go and eat.

    Staff very friendly, always seemed to be cleaning and checking things on site.


  • Disliked: Being by the river means that you don't get any sun from about 2pm onwards, so BBQ/cooking tended to be a bit chilly/dark after that time (we asked to be there, am just letting people know for future!). Also - the majority of children on site all want to play in the river, so if you are next to it there tends to be a lot of activity and noise pretty much up to 10pm, so it can be difficult to have a quiet evening! We wouldn't pitch there again, particularly as the parents of said children do not watch them or quieten them down or stop them walking through the area in front of your tent where all your chairs/cooking equipment etc are situated.......

    But overall I would definitely recommend Riverside camping, and will probably go back (to an electric pitch!).
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for WendyRichardSherlock

We enjoyed a two week stay at Riverside.

(Young couple, 1 review, 4 photos)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We had choice of pitch and chose a corner pitch next to the river. The site is very well laid out and well maintained pitches. Two toilet and shower blocks kept spotless clean. Disabled facilities. Freezer for fridge blocks. Laundry facilities and tokens purchased from reception. Large undercover areas so somewhere for kids to play in rain. Large children's play areas but not near all pitches so good for those without children too. Very friendly and helpful staff. Large cafe on site. Facilities very good. Large Tarmac car park and can also park one car next to pitch. Site is quiet location and feels secluded. Caernarfon town centre and Llanberis are just couple miles from site. Site was very easy to find and clearly signposted on main road. Good area on site to walk dogs on lead and dog waste bin. We had good reception on our mobile phone - orange. We really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in September so only handful of other campers on site but would imagine that in high season this site would be full of families which may not suit those without children.
  • Disliked: Wifi although available was not brilliant reception on site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for amanda_c1

Loved it.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite is one of the best we have stayed at. It is situated in a beautiful spot with the river running around it. It is exceptional clean and has good facilities. It was mainly families when we stayed so the campsite was nice and quiet after 10pm (no idiots)....
    Will definately be returning next year.
  • Disliked: Its not a dislike but we feel that the tiny shop lacked esentials and could do with being expanded to accomodate more foods etc.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for malcolm_j

Best campsite in the country !!

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: What was there not to like .... pitched by a gentle flowing river with electric hook up.
    The Mill Cafe was a surprise ...... The evening dinners were absolutely superb and not to expensive.
    Altogether a brilliant campsite with excellent facilities.

    10/10
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for angiehughes3194

excellent

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: from the minute we arrived to leaving we found the staff very friendly couldn,t do enough for you. If you wanted anything it was done straight away.The site itself is very clean, shower blocks and toilets are cleaned regularly couldnt find a single fault with the place or the staff. I will definately be going there again and telling all my family and freinds to try it out
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for alan_b2

A pleasant nice site, nice staff, a good holiday.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A great family site, but relaxing with peace of mind the children are safe and having fun. Great cafe/resturant if you did not want to cook.
  • Disliked: needs more toilets, had to wait a few times in the morning, but overall it was not a problem.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for snoopystu

Great place with beautiful scenery on the doorstep

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The scenery and staff were great. The 2 toilet and shower blocks were very clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and very helpful.
    The campsite was only 10mins drive from caernarfon and only about 20mins drive from all the main walks up mount snowdon.
    We only spent 4 nights here but i would love to return and spend longer.
  • Disliked: The river was a bit noisy and i found it hard to sleep but i blame my girlfriend for that because she wanted to be next to the river ;-)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for fhmboy

Fantastic, been coming for 6 or 7 years now and will keep coming.

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Excellent presentation, facilities and friendliness, we have been coming here with another family for a number of years now and cant really find fault with the place.

    We have just done another Bank Holiday here and the site was full, but was also clean, litter free and 'idiot' free. yes the bins were full but were emptied on BH Monday!!! good on Gwynedd Council, yes there were lots of kids in the playpark until the 10pm curfew, but get real peeps its not the Savoy its a campsite!

    Lovely location, loads to do locally, river is safe, shallow and loads of fun, lovely walks around the site and best of all the toilets are immaculately cleaned all day and the showers are free!!


  • Disliked: My only gripe is the 'extra' charges Gazebos being the biggest bugear, I've paid £25.50 as I've got a four year old and a two year old and have got my nice 10X10 large pitch then to be charged £4.50 a night for my shelter (gazebo) which is still in the confines of my pitch surprises me slightly.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for RobynD

Great location but noisy at night

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location is great. 10 minutes from Llanberis, near Caernarfon so loads to do for families. Playpark is great for children and the river is a perfect spot for relaxing and paddling.

    Showers are ok and there is a handy washing machine and dryer on site. Site felt safe and secure and very clean.
  • Disliked: The noise in the evening. It's a small campsite so noise travels far. There were loads of children hanging out in the playpark till 10 being very noisy, running around the tents, screaming and shouting and the parents didn't seem to care. Very hard if you've got small children who are trying to sleep.

    If I come again, I would want a pitch a long way from the playground.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for kevin_g3

This was a perfect site. It was everything we wanted camping to be

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: An excellent reception with games and books
    Friendly and welcoming staff
    Great play area
    Beautiful site
    Proximity to Caernarfon

    Everything really
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for jeangallagher12

Fantastic site, lots of facilities for to keep youngsters busy.

(Extended family, 3 reviews, 3 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities to keep youngsters busy, the river, playground, wood's, badminton court, the grounds are well kept and very colourful.
  • Disliked: Having mixed sex wash facilities and two toilets for one side of the field the queues were bad being august. They need another toilet block so separating sexes and giving more toilets. Wash facilities could be cleaned more often
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Kez12

We had an excellent stay and will definitely recommend to others.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Extremely dog friendly, beautiful location, specific areas for Dog walking, lots of helpful information on site, the little shop in reception was useful too and staff very friendly. The children had hours of fun in the river! Shower blocks were always clean even at such a busy time. Plenty of space between pitches so we didn't feel cramped at all.
  • Disliked: The cafe was quite highly priced and put us off using
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for darren__w

good family site with lots to entertain children

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: being close to the river was excellent and our children spent hours fishing and playing. There was lots of space for older children so they did not take over the playground. There were helpful notices regarding the safety of the water levels and the weather. Staff were friendly and offered a choice of pitch.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for sean_w0

A nice friendly well run park

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: great for kids, the river was no problem.
  • Disliked: Wasps but the site did try and deal with them via Rentakill
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Luke_S

a beautiful campsite perfect for a relaxing break.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff were helpful on arrival. The toilets and showers were always clean. pitch sizes were very good. you did not feel.on top of eachother. The river and scenery were very relaxing. Great places for our little boy to play. The campsite felt safe and friendly.
  • Disliked: The bins were over flowing throughout our stay. This did not effect our stay but felt slightly unhygienic
From the manager...

We are very sorry about the bin situation. We have had extra bins on order from the council for weeks now and are continuously chasing them.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for kucao

Too close for comfort

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed here in August 2013, two young couples. The campsite itself is picturesque and the location is good if you have a car with you (short drive into Caernarfon). Toilet and shower facilities were also good.

  • Disliked:
    Before booking we asked to be pitched away from families with children, and were told this would be ok. Upon arrival we discovered our pitch was the closest possible to the playground! We also found it difficult to get much sleep as a few children in the pitches next to us were very noisy throughout the night (despite the supposed 10pm - 8am noise restrictions, and wardens patrolling.) On our second day we went out for the evening and came back to find, to our surprise, a tent had been put up on our pitch, almost touching one of our tents. A warden was close by and we asked what the tent was doing there. As it transpired the tent had not actually been paid for, but rather than ask the people staying there to move, who had quite obviously sneaked in once it had gotten dark, the warden told us she would be back at 7am to move them, so we were left to camp next to strangers for the night. The next morning, no sign of any warden at 7am, and by 9 o'clock there was no change. The inhabitants of the tent were left to relax in our pitch, which they had not paid for. We left the campsite around 10.30am, and they still had not been moved off. We did get a refund for that night, however, we felt let down that the supposed 'patrols' had not spotted this tent, and that the people inside who had not paid a penny by this point had been left to do as they please.
    Overall, we were unlucky with the situation as I assume it doesn't happen often, but we were disappointed by the service we received. As young couples we would not stay here again, although the site seemed suitable for families with young children.
From the manager...

When the couples arrived at the campsite , their request to be away from the play area was acknowledged. The site was busy and an upgrade was offered to a larger, superior pitch which was across a roadway, opposite the play area, set back amongst trees. The couples chose the upgrade.
On the second evening, a tent was discovered pitched next to the couples tent, after 11pm at night when the couples returned from a night out. The warden ascertained that the occupants were a mother and daughter, who both spoke limited English. With the agreement of the couples the occupants were left where they were for the night, as it was now approaching 11.30pm. The warden kept an eye on the pitch but did not wake the mother and daughter to move at 7am because all the occupants on the pitch were asleep and thought that this would create a disturbance. As soon as the occupants were up and about, the warden explained to the mother that they had camped on a 'private' pitch and the mother was very apologetic. She woke her daughter up and they packed up and paid what they owed for their nights stay. The couples were offered a refund for the inconvenience of the shared pitch, which they accepted.
We are sorry that the tent was not spotted being put up, and that our response to the situation caused disappointment to the couples in question. It was a very unusual situation and we will ask the wardens to be more vigilant when patrolling at night.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for OKFamily

We loved this campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The camp site was very clean,with good wash room facilities. The managers were very helpful, they arranged a group camp site booking for us and reserved us a large area for 3 families. They also organised someone straight away to come and deal with a wasps nest near our pitch..

    The site had excellent facilities with a playground, a volley ball court, table tennis and a great restaurant and bar on site.

    The location was great, we had a site next to the playground which was perfect for the kids, as they could play safely and we could still keep an eye on them.

    This campsite is situated in a perfect riverside location with good access to the local area. We will definitely return.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Rachael_A

Fab camp site will deffinatley visit again

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Loved the site, very friendly and clean, perfect for a holiday.
  • Disliked: None
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Rebecca_D

Great weekend

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite staff where very friendly and welcoming on our arrival and informed us off facilities they had on offer, the site was very well maintained and clean with a friendly relaxing atmosphere. There was a river through the sight which can be heard during the night and is very relaxing.
    There where several toilets and showers to be used when required and drinking water points. The campsite is in a great location and driving distance from several attractions.
  • Disliked: There was several children on the sight which could be difficult when attempting to get an afternoon nap or sleep in.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great family campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very friendly staff and good facilities. Not too crowded
  • Disliked: sometimes children out playing till well after 22:00 and difficult to get younder children to sleep. Also older children running between tents pulling guy ropes out
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely campsite - great facilities to offer

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The toilet and shower blocks were very clean and good for size.
    The pitch size was excellent and had lots of space around once everything was put up.
    Very friendly staff who were very accomodating for us.
  • Disliked: Sometimes being pitched right next to the river made it quite difficult to sleep at night but soon get used to it after a couple of nights.
    Hours reception and cafe were open were quite restricting.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

nice place

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The place was well-kept. Showers, toilets, etc. were clean. The location was perfect for us - quiet place, a little on the side, but still not that far to the shops and to The National Park.
  • Disliked: Could be more activities for teenager
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Thomas_B2

Great location and very good facilities

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Just spent a weekend at Riverside and very impressed with the site and facilities available. The 3 children spent many hours in the river playing and fishing. The toilets and wash facilities were kept clean and the staff I encountered were always polite and checking everything was ok. We were located by the play area which was great having an adventorous 3 year old and the staff ensured that all children returned to their tents at 10am. Didn't use the cafe so I have no comment to make on that.
  • Disliked: The bins were a little overflowing, although I appreciate it was a very busy weekend.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great little find, perfect location.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good size tent pitches without restriction.
    I was offered a choice of riverside location or away from river due to young children.
    Owners always available and helpful.
    Clean toilets/showers.
    Ideallic location.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for LCarte24

Fantastic site, everyone was very helpful and friendly

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: There was nothing not to like about the site
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely for first timers

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The camp site as a whole was very nice for our first time camping. The pitches were spacious and not too close together so you had your privacy. Being right next to the river was lovely, but be warned it can get a little loud if it has been raining and it's flow is fast. The facilities are close by, and the toilets and showers were kept clean. The cafe serves wonderful food for breakfast and lunches and I would definitely recommend a visit there whilst you stay. As there aren't many activities on site, it's nice that Caernarfon is only a 10 minute drive away and there are lots of activities nearby to enjoy. We went to the Sea Zoo in Anglesey and also Pili Palas Nature World in Conwy, two great attractions that are cheap and a nice way to pass the time.
  • Disliked: The arrival time for the camp site says from 1pm. We arrived at half 1 and it was pouring down with rain, the reception was locked and no staff were around. We waited for a long time before we found a number to call and someone came down. They said they were on their lunch break from half 1 to half 2, but with arrivals from 1pm this doesn't seem like a good time as we were not the only people who had to wait in the rain for someone to come to reception.
    Also, the toilet block had a few spider webs and spiders on the ceiling which should have been cleaned away.
    Apart from these two things, everything else was lovely :)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Brilliant would definatly stay here again.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Having camped many time all over Britain this is without doubt the best camp site we have ever stayed at. The site was brilliant, lots of space and all of the staff were friendly. The toilets and showers were clean and the breakfast we has in the cafe was very nice.
    The grounds are well maintained and there is a big play area for children.
  • Disliked: There was nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for andrewbaldwin79025

Really good campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly staff, great location, great price, good play area for children, bonus of being next to river, clean facilities, staff walk round after 10 to tell guests to keep noise down.
  • Disliked: Overpriced cafe, short opening hours of shop and lack of local produce being sold
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Brilliant

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Site with mature planting, tidy .. no rubbish anywhere, excellent child's playground in centre of site, nice restaurant .. though we only used once for a breakfast treat, clean toilet/ shower block. Friendly staff, great central location. Will definitely be going back.
  • Disliked: Absolutely Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Dutchie

Picturesque, friendly campsite with good, clean facilities

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Coming from Holland, we found this site randomly on the internet and were amazed at our good luck when we arrived!

    The site surpasses expectations and it is hard to say what stood out, because everything was to an excellent standard. It is a small, secluded site with beautiful surroundings and a lovely babbling river. The river is great for paddling and our son spent many happy hours trying to catch fish.

    The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. They make the effort to ensure your stay is a good one.

    The facilities are clean, modern and the showers are hot! There is also a restaurant on the property which is in a lovely old building and which provides a great atmosphere and excellent food.

    The site has a nice playground, some sports facilities and is very friendly for kids.

    We had a great visit and look forward to returning soon.
  • Disliked: Public transport in the area is erratic and the main road is not very safe to walk on, due to lack of verge.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Rikki_D

Brilliant nights sleep by the riverside and very picturesque

(Extended family, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The customer service while we stayed was superb and also great atmosphere among fellow campers not far away from Snowdon mountain and local shops
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Jeff_G

First class in every way

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly staff who were very helpful in respect of our late arrival and throughout the stay.

    The location is beautiful, the facilities were spotless and the pitches are nice and roomy. There are plenty of water points etc and even a nice stream to dip hot tired feet in after a day's hill walking!

    Even in very hot weather the geography of the site makes it pleasantly cool at night time which was an unexpected bonus.

    Caernarfon is only about ten minutes walk away, though there is no path for about 200 yards and the road is quite busy.

    I can't recommend this site too highly - definitely on my list for the future.




  • Disliked: Small niggle is that the sign post for the chemical toilet disposal point did appear to confuse a couple of people!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Gary_B2

excellent site, highly recomended.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site is well laid out and all the facilities are clean, tidy and easily accessible. The staff were pleasant and although they were available at all times were not in your face. As dog owners the camp has catered for us by having prepared 'dog walks' which were great. The riverside setting is fantastic, both my son and the dog were in the river every day. Cant say how much we enjoyed the site, its just a great place in a great location.

  • Disliked: Some of the 'guests' decided to not comply with the rules regarding kids and noise but these were only a minority. Maybe the staff should do a late night walk about to check on this.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Riverside Camping is an Excellent site

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We booked last minute as a spur of the moment thing as I had never been camping before and fancied trying it out. We could not have chosen a better site for my first time under canvas. The staff were friendly and helpful, the facilities were clean and well maintained, and to top it off we were able to switch a 'riverside' pitch, so my first night in a tent was spent listening to the water peacefully flowing over the rocks. Such an lovely site, would love to go back there.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike about Riverside Camping.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely site - not overally croweded like i imagined it might be lovely amount of space between tents.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for victoria_w

stayed for 4 night on an electric pitch.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we stayed on pitch 28 a fabulous pitch right on the river side, so could sit and relax while the children played with there fishing nets, built dams and played in there little boat. My children are age 3 and 6 and both loved it. we could also see the childrens play park from our pitch which made life alot easier, the children had lots of fun while the adults could sit and relax while also keeping a watch full eye on them. would highly recommend this site very well keep. Reception staff were always about to help and the reception shop stocked essentals, especially ice creams. they also sold pocket money toys which was very reasonable. My only complaint was the showers were too powerful and hot for te kids, but when mentioned to the staff they pointed out a disabled shower which was perfect, you could alter the temp and remove it from the wall.so all in all no complaints at all. I would give this site 9/10.
  • Disliked: No dislikes.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Brilliant!!!!!!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities were great, very children friendly and relaxed. With the river so close and the temperature being about 30 it was very welcome. The park and games areas were brilliant and the staff went out of their way to be helpful and polite. The campsite is a good size with enough pitches without it being too big and busy. The kids had a brilliant weekend and we as parents could relax knowing they were happy and safe.
    The site fees were very reasonable and the location was great. The campsite was clean and the facilities (toilet and showers) were in good condition and cleaned on a regular basis.

    We will be back again and recommend it to everyone we speak too.
  • Disliked: Nothing!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Perfect family site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Super-friendly owners
    Extremely clean toilet & showers, even after a very busy Saturday. Showers were nice and hot and free! Always a bonus!
    Pretty cafe on site, with really good breakfast food (easier than cooking when camping with our 5-month-old)
    The river - perfect for paddling, lovely temperature and great for tiring out the dog!
    A good balance between a well-managed site without feeling 'checked up on' all the time
    Didn't try it, but liked that they had wifi! Would need it for a longer stay as I'm a bit addicted to my smartphone & had no signal at all on site. Quite liked that too though - a proper break from it all!
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Hazel_C

Overall, a very clean and relaxed campsite.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked the fact that the campsite was very clean, the shower block and toilets are extremely well maintained. There was plenty of on-site activities and games including table-tennis and voleyball as well as a good-size outside park for the children.
    The flowers and shrubbery are well-kept and the overall feel in the campsite was one of relaxation.
    Good size pitches.
    Quiet and peaceful at night.
  • Disliked: I would have appreciated to be told about the hair dryers in the shower block. I wasn't aware that they need a token to operate until I came out of the shower with wet hair. Would have been helpful if this information was provided during check in.
    The shop looked sparce and although the Spar was a short car journey away I would have liked to have seen more stock i.e nappies, baby wipes.
    Some of the residents in the tents had more than one car and at one point there were so many cars on the pitch it felt like I was sleeping in a car park! Also, with having small children, I would have prefered if the amount of cars allowed on the pitch was limited. There was always a car reversing or coming onto the pitch. Surely an accident waiting to happen.
    Felt that check out at 12 is a little too early.
From the manager...

Yes, we were concerned by the number of extra cars during this time which were not booked in upon arrival. We do limit to 1 per pitch, the rest are to be parked in the car park. The site is far more pleasant when everyone complies to this rule, we apologise if it caused concern.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent campsite, good flat pitches and friendly service.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The friendly atmosphere of the campsite - made to feel welcome from arrival to departure.
    Clean and tidy shower/toilet blocks - regularly cleaned.
    ideally situated for visiting Snowdonia and surrounding towns and cities.
    We enjoyed it so much, we have already booked a return visit in August!
    Absolutely no issues with the camping side of things.

  • Disliked: The onsite restaurant was well furnished but slightly overpriced (we had a breakfast on our last day).
    Some items on breakfast were not available but we were not informed and therefore were served a reduced breakfast - I had to ask about the missing items (lava bread) and received a 10p discount per meal...considering toast is £1.95 per serving the "discount" was rather insulting.
    Did not inspire us to use again...

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for aine_casey

Home from Home

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Hiya Catherine &Michele just wanted to say a big Thankyou to you for everything during our stay the site is fantastic so clean and picturesque! Our childern loved it and the 4 year old didn't want to come home.
    I'd like to say a special Thankyou to Catherines son, Micheles husband, daughter, son in law & grandchildren for making my sons holiday more fun, he loved playing in the river with the dinghy and they all treated him like one of their own, as they did all the children on the site!
    THANKYOU for a perfect camping holiday xxxxx
    P.s has the new baby arrived?
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for mickbroth

Fantastic place for couples, groups & families

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: From the moment we checked in the to the moment we left we loved everything about this place. A friendly and accommodating check-in with a choice of pitches being given despite being quite busy. We pitched next to the river (not too close as we had an 23 month old child with us). The pitches were large enough for the biggest of tents with plenty of space between neighbours. Its a great place for children of all ages with plenty to keep them occupied, Very quiet at night. A few people have mentioned the prices at the Mill. It should be noted that it's more of a restaurant than a café and you are paying for restaurant quality food. We had an evening meal and a breakfast there and the food was excellent on both occasions.
    Showers and toilets very clean. Despite being quite busy there was never a wait for the showers.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Andrew_G0

Fantastic stay, thank you!

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location, facilities, staff, peace & quiet
  • Disliked: Absolutely nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

me and my cousin stayed 15th till 17th July.

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Had a fantastic time...made even more amazing with
    Weather.
    Site imaculate. Everything you need is at hand.
    Stay near the river....amazing.
    Lots of fish...even got to see a kingfisher...wow.
    Great locatiin for nearby site seeing.
    Will definately go back.
    Deb&mand manchester.
  • Disliked: Nothing at all.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic Family Site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very friendly and well run, immaculately kept, great clean plentiful facilities and a fantastic location bordered by woods and a babbling brook. The fantastic breakfast at the cafe deserves a special mention.
  • Disliked: Not much!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Dicko

very good site

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: i have just come back from a weeks holiday i enjoyed the camp site and everything about it the people on site work hard
  • Disliked: i did not dislike anything about this site
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for TinaBu

Fantastic site ...

(Family with older children, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A great family site, a great location, lovely play park and very clean
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Amazing, friendly site, perfect weekend away, we all loved it!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location is great, with no traffic noise, and a short drive to some lovely parts of north Wales. The site is clean and tidy, lovely park, river to play in and space to play games. It's simply perfect! Very friendly staff, and well managed
  • Disliked: Nothing, we will be back again very soon.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent Campsite, Lovely and friendly staff. Will be returning!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite itself was lovely. This was our 1st time camping and on booking it i made a mistake with the dates by selecting the wrong weekend. On speaking to Catherine the next day she managed to sort out the issue for us and gave us a pitch right opposite the play area and toilet block which was ideal as we had 2 young children and a baby.
    We also had a problem with our gas bottle / stove which we needed to boil water for the baby's bottles. We went over to the cafe and again they couldn't be more helpful giving us boiling water whenever we required it which was a massive help.
    At night time the staff patrol the site and get the kids to go back to their tents which makes it peaceful and easy to get to sleep.
    The showers and wash facilites are kept clean as is the lovely cafe.
    I highly recommened this campsite.

  • Disliked: Nothing, but as an improvement suggestion it would be nice if the shop sold some local produce sausages, burgers, bacon etc for the barbecues. This would also help the local businesses rather than the big supermarkets. Just a thought.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for The_Wilsons

Would recommend highly

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was our first camping experience with our young children aged 12, 8 and 4. We also went with other family members and can't speak highly enough of the site. It took a while to find but the facilities were first class and we had endless laughs and fun in the River Seiont which surrounds the site. Amenities are clean and we were allowed to have a raised BBQ and fire late into the night. Would recommend highly.
  • Disliked: Nothing
From the manager...

Thank you for your fab review! Just to clarify for future new visitors, campfires are not allowed at Riverside or burning of wood. Barbecues are allowed for the burning of charcoal or duraflame spark free logs, so a spark free fire into the night was enjoyed by the Wilsons!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

I night

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The whole campsite
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for REBECCA_P

Clean, friendly & beautiful location

(Young couple, 1 review, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We liked the fact that we could bring all 4 dogs without any issues. We had a pitch by the river which was lovely. The toilets & showers are very clean & tidy. The location for us was great as not far from Llanberis for walks up Snowdon & only a few miles from Caernarfon.
    A well looked after, clean & well kept site. Want to go back......
    Lovely Cafe on site with outside decking although we did not try it as we didn't check if that was dog friendly.

  • Disliked: No dislikes
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for tomsarah0151

Lovely!

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Had a lovely trip to this campsite with my partner and daughter. She has lots of fun playing in the lake and sand pit. The campsite was very well kept and clean, and receptionist very friendly :) Although we didn't bring our dog on this occasion the site was very dog friendly and will be bringing him in the future.
    Thank you for our lovely stay!
  • Disliked: There was nothing at all the dislike!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very good

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Pitches a bit cozy but other than that very good ! Good staff resteraunt lfor a breakfast well worth a visit . Best cooked breakfast in ages ! A bit moe child control from parents would be good but other than that 9/10 !

  • Disliked: Pitches a bit cozy !
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic site that is beautifully kept.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything. The way the site is layed out lends itself ideally to each individuals needs. The cafe is fantasticly kept to a very high standard and is not expensive. The balcony that surounds it looks over the site. Sitting here you can appreciate the beauty of where you are staying. We had a pitch along side the river which was very nice. Showers, toilets etc are also kept to a high standard. We enjoyed our stay so much , we booked for the following weekend as soon as we got home.
  • Disliked: The only thing to which i dont like that the River Side does, is charge extra for everything, as in Extra adult £6.50 or child £3.00, dogs £2.50, awnings £4.50 etc. This on top of the pitch fee can become expensive. However this is a quality site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Thebrennans

First time camping and now obsessed thanks to this campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything!! the toilet block is a huge deal for me a little bit of grunge and id of hated camping thinking thats what every site is like but it was spotless everything about this site is clean and very well looked after, we could tell even from entering we choose well! We was pitched up right next to the river and facing the park were my 3 year old could go off an play by her self it was clean tidy and child friendly and i can still watch her! it was nice to let her have that freedom as im abit of a panic mum. The weather was out of this world my daughter enjoyed playing in the river and trying to catch fish. The ladies that run the site must be very fit because i seen them walking around the site quite a lot making sure everybody is happy and everything is going smoothly but didn't interrupt your personal holiday we booked for 3 nights so we could have a full day on the sunday as it was my birthday i had the best birthday weekend ever the site is quite an peaceful and surrounded buy trees so you feel safe and in the wilderness. 100% booking again! The only thing i can say is we took to much food and it went abit funny there is a asda, morrisions mcdonalds all a 5 min drive away so we wont be taki g food with us next time just buying when we need it.
  • Disliked: Overall perfect weekend apart from sunday when some little boys who belong to othe owners stamped all over my 3 year olds sunglasses an through sand in her hair and eyes out of the sand pit which i was upset over as it nocked my daughters confidence to return but she didnt tell me untill they had left so but im sure she will get back into the swing of enjoying herself when we come back . Cafes quite expensive £3 for and ice cream and £4 for a bottle of bulmers but the ice cream was hand made an so worth every penny thanks for a fantastic weekend
From the manager...

Thank you for the great review, as we have been in contact with you over the sandpit issue to apologise I would just like to clarify that it was neither my children or Michele's grandchildren but a cousin of her family for whom she takes full responsibility on this occasion. But we want to reassure you that this was the first & only time they have ever been to our site to play so this is not a normal occurence here at Riverside. See you next time.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for lynn_l

brilliant well recommend ...future dates already booked

(Family with young children, 1 review, 3 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we loved everything, last minute booking, never been to riverside before and was I impressed. Kids loved it. beautiful setting with the river, friendly site too. great restaurant, fab breakfast, great value for money. showers and toilets etc... very clean indeed. The owners look after all your needs and are very friendly and welcoming... we have booked to go back in august and we cannot wait. very central to everything only a few minutes drive into Caernarfon
  • Disliked: no dislikes it was fab
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for magroves

What an amazing site the best!

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We arrived quite late on a rainy Friday evening and we were met by very friendly owners who were more than happy to explain everything to us. We found our pitch and OMG the pitch was perfect! Right in front of the river so amazing view and sound. The rest of the site was perfect. A playground for our 8 and 3 year olds, a café with lovely food, we only had the breakfast (on both days!) but going off that taste and quality we are sure the rest of the food would be gorgeous also and the best latte ever hot and creamy yum.
    The boys in our group, two grown men and our two boys, spent around 1 hour in the River on Saturday after having a great morning going round Caernarfon Castle. The River was great and much fun was had.
    I can't say anymore other than it's the best and hope this comes through with this short summary. See for yourselves (but not the weekends we go or there will be no availability for us!!!!)
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike in our opinion.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

our first time out camping,the site was excellent.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: being next to a river on a hot day.
  • Disliked: n/a
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

excellent!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The lovely scenery
    Very clean toilets and showers
    Location
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Andrew_S5

Excellent site with excellent facitilities

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Firstly we were welcomed by a beautiful tree lined drive way with flowering shrubs - this set the tone for the weekend. The site was well kept, grass cut, no obvious signs of previous users. This place felt really fresh. With a river meandering behind us, we could do nothing but listen to it and be relaxed all weekend. The facilities were clean, the hot water was hot, the showers were on a par with domestic showers, plenty of sinks & toilets. We did not use the cafe so cannot pass comment on that. The managers checked the site over between 10-11pm each night to ensure that everyone was ok and there was no excessive noise.
    Overall we were taken aback by the condition of the site (we've been to some horrible places!) as it was immaculate & we would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone.
  • Disliked: The only issue we had was with some bad manners from the young, over-energetic children that were on site. We can't fault the site for that though.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for sarahjaynebishop16

Beautiful site lots to do and friendly owners :)

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Riverside Camping is an absolutely wonderful site, very picturesque in its surroundings especially the river that run all the way around the camp.

    I have just returned from a weeks stay with my 2 children and my friends who have 3 children and I have to say they weren't bored a single bit. We were lucky enough to get pitched opposite the park where hours of endless fun was had as well as in the river round the site.

    The toilet block opposite us was very handy and had everything you need, was cleaned morning noon and night so was never dirty. The showers all though not power shower powerful they were plenty good enough and not the push button kind either so was fab for washing the children down and never ran out of hot water.

    The owners Catherine and Michele were very helpful and make you feel right at home as soon as you get there and during your stay and sorted any problems you had near enough straight away.

    Overall riverside camping is lovely and one of the best ones I have been to, you are very much relaxed from the moment of arrival to the moment of leaving. I shall hopefully be returning in the future.

    Perfect :-)


  • Disliked: Only downside but not a major point was that there was no family bathroom, hence no bath but my daughter got used to it no problem and was soon under the shower.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Wonderful setting, helpful staff and super clean

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The picturesque setting beside the meandering river. There was hot water whatever time you wanted a shower and no queuing. Walking our dogs was easy with a well laid out dog path. a most pleasant stay.
  • Disliked: The fact that the nearest pub within walking distance was approx 2 miles away.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for paula_m

fabulous campsite couldn't fault at all perfect for the children

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It was great to be able to give the children a bit of freedom if the played in the playground or little woods you could still watch them from the tent.

    Shower, toilet, washing facilities immaculate.

    The pocket money toys in the shop were a huge hit.

    Will be booking to go again soon.
  • Disliked: No dislikes
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for traceyportbury

Fantastic site, very clean and tidy, excellent facilities

(Family with older children, 1 review, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked the location and setting, we camped on the riverbank which was lovely, obviously the river can be heard day and night but didn't keep us awake, my son (aged 12) loved playing in the river and exploring the grounds both of which he could do quite safely. Staff very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We booked last minute but they did their best to find us a suitable pitch near the riverbank. A short drive to some good supermarkets to stock up, Caernarfon great for a day out, sightseeing, crabbing in harbour and walking, also a good range of shops. A real haven of peace and tranquility and a get away from it all feel, just a lovely site with nice families all having a great time. A lovely cafe on site which we didn't use this time. Willl definitely be returning as soon as we can!
  • Disliked: Nothing much to dislike really! May be nice to have a football playing area somewhere among the grounds if possible or perhaps a tennis court? Also my son took his own table tennis bats but thought the £1 per half hour to use the tables was a bit expensive, but we do realise there are costs to cover to provide the equipment, so maybe this is reasonable.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for paulkemp5473

Excellent relaxing family site

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: If you want a nice peaceful and tranquil site where you can feel safe about your children playing on the park. If you like loud music, clubs and leaving your children to run wild this is not the place for you. It's a complete get away from it all site. Very clean site with dogs being kept on leads at all times and no mess. Shower and toilet blocks where spotless. Staff very friendly and welcoming.
  • Disliked: The cafe was very nice but a bit pricey. Sausage or Bacon sandwich was £4, breakfast £6.95
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very good location, and facilties, highly recommended.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location is perfect by the river and still close to caernarfon. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. There are good facilities, which are kept to a good standard. The on site cafe is lovely and the food is also really nice.
  • Disliked: The reception was open for quite limited hours, however we stayed in low season so it may be open more in high season. It was however open every day we were there, We would still highly recommend it as a place to stay.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Jonathan_L0

Wet Week In Wales

(Family with young children, 2 reviews, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was very clean. The lady who ran the site was very nice, very helpfull and a good laugh.
    Showers are nice and clean.
    The park was good for our little monster
    The sound of the river behind you while you relax.
    All in all a wonderful site

    I got 8 nights for the price of 1. (£19.00)
  • Disliked: Signal issues ( already knew of these says on website)
    At low season only 1 shower block/toilet open (you get get used to the walk)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Brilliant campsite for the kids

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This campsite was perfect for us. Me and my partner and 4 year old son came to stay at riverside, we were able to choose where we wanted to pitch so we set up right by the river which runs all around the campsite. There was a park straight facing so we could sit by the tent and still keep an eye on our son. Friendly staff too would defo recommend this campsite :)
  • Disliked: Only downfall really was the shop onsite closed quite early and the cafe was very over priced
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A well kept a site in a picturesque location

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We had a grass pitch right next to the river.
    It makes a refreshing change to go to a campsite a be allocated a pitch-area and then be allowed to set up anywhere in that area, in any orientation.
    Toilet facilities are no-frills but spotlessly clean.

  • Disliked: Pricing structure seems a little excessive when you have added extras over above a basic unit.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Blodyn

Lovely site, very green and lots of space for children to play. The showers and toilets were immaculately clean and the staff wonderful. I can't really find any fault with this site. I'll be staying again.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Whats not to like?
  • Disliked: Nothing, beautiful place.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for LyonsCamping

Great site for Everyone!

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely scenery, nice play area, toilets/showers clean, nice helpful staff.
  • Disliked: There is nothing that I dislike about Riverside, I have returned to this site many times.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Riverside Camping