Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Newberry Valley Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

9.1

Overall rating based on 22 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

95% would recommend this site to a friend.

81% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for Tessa_G

Clean and friendly.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This is our first time back this year. It's the same as last year. The best facility's on any campsite you could wish for. Only a very short walk into the village and the coastal walks are just beautiful. Will be back again very soon. Very helpfull and freindly staff :)
  • Disliked: There is nothing to dislike !!!!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for bstevebarker

fabulous

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the toilets and washrooms are all as one and are excellent the facilities are excellent,the showers are massive ,could accommodate at least 4 people so if you have a family with young children you are well catered for ,the whole site is beautiful and so clean and well maintained,would highly recommend it ,the location is spot on ,just wish it would have been cheaper to visit the wolves,yes there is a wolf compound very close but did not keep us awake at night at all ,you wouldn't even realise they are even there if it wasn't advertised ,will definitely revisit next year H.Barker
  • Disliked: nothing at all
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Brian_O

Best camp site we have stayed at.

(Family with older children, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We were welcomed and made to feel valued from the moment we arrived. We were shown to our pitch which was a nice touch.
    The camp site is in an ideal location. Situated in a beautiful, peaceful spot surrounded by scenic views it is a 5 minute walk away from the local beach, and 5 minute walk away from the local village.
    The facilities, and in particular the shower blocks were second to none.
    Combe Martin itself is a lovely little town with a selection of good, friendly pubs and restaurants, and a small beach ideal for relaxing. Some evenings we would watch the sun set which was incredible to see.
    There are also several fantastic walks from the camp site and Combe Martin in general. Within 30 minutes drive there are also other great beaches and towns to visit.
    We will definitely come back to stay at Newberry Valley Park. It proved to be great value for money. All in all, the best site we have ever been to. Highly recommended.

  • Disliked: Absolutely nothing to dislike.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for richard_l

Fantastic campsite

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely peaceful and clean site.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Really huge pitch so you were not crammed in with noisy neighbours. Grass and hedges and whole site very well maintained. Fantastic bathrooms, laundry room and all you would need if on a long stay. Short walk to village for pubs, shop and beach. Very popular with dog owners which we are although we tend to leave the dog at home and she has her own holiday with friends!
  • Disliked: Quite expensive per night but the facilities are first class.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A clean, quiet site set in an area of outstanding natural beauty.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good size shower room
    quiet camp site
    clean neat pitch
    Clean wash, shower, toilet areas
  • Disliked: Our pitch was at the far end of the site and there was a long walk to carry pots to use pot wash area. Other site uses were using cold water taps and toilet block to wash their pots.
    The site was set in a valley although weather was warm and sunny, the site would become become shaded and cold in the evening.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Shona_W0

It was our first ever camping trip & we would go back, very relaxing .

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The toilet & shower block was clean & warm. The site was really we
    well kept & everyone was friendly.
  • Disliked: There was nothing about the site that
    I personally disliked.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Stunning!

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Camp site was great but the wolves made it special.

    Had a well placed pitch.

    Everyone was very friendly and helpfull.

    The friendly wildlife (blackbirds)!
  • Disliked: .
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for david_l1

Great Location

(Mature couple, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Wonderful location...nice people quiet vibe despite having many kids on site when we were there. Shellfish seller turned up on Sunday evening really nice. Wifi flakey if you need it...I tried to work from there and it does not work.....but if you want it just occasionally for mail or Facebook etc no problem.
  • Disliked: Not much really........
From the manager...

Thank you for your feedback. I just wanted to explain about the WiFi issue.... we received this e-mail from our WiFi suppliers after the bank holiday...

"Since Saturday 25th May, we have seen an unprecedented rise in usage on our networks. We anticipated a twofold increase in network traffic over the May bank holiday period, however this period has seen an increase of over 600% in the amount of sessions coming through our authentication servers. This spike in network traffic has created a fluctuation in the ability of our system to process the high demand in users access on certain park networks."

They have since increased the capacity across all systems.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for david_l1

Great Location

(Mature couple, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very well organised location. Combe Martin is delightful...a step back to the 70's. The site is beautifully maintained the shop could maybe do with a broader stock. The people on the staff could not be more helpful. Wifi "flakey" no 3G available...makes working tricky. Great place...
  • Disliked: Comedy Wifi...
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very relaxing and picturesque.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Facilities and staff.
  • Disliked: Could not find fault.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Hazel_D

Stayed for 5 nights

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was great, very quiet, in a beautiful valley and close to the sea .The facilities were the best we have seen, very clean and modern with piped music and under-floor heating in showers, the staff were friendly and very helpful.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for davehadley77

Brilliant site ... Couldn't ask for better

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Peace and quiet, clean and tidy, five star++++ showers and washing facilities. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Great relaxed atmosphere. Delightfully rural location but only a few minutes walk from the beach, pubs, shops in fact anything you could want whilst on a camping holiday. Generous pitches most with hook ups. Well cut grass. Some hard standings for caravans and /or motor homes.
    Before I stayed here I was a bit anti-camping having experienced a horrible site near Wittering. In the space of one week I was converted to a very interested camper. To the extent that in the last ten months my partner and I have spent something approaching £2K on equipment and tent and all manner of things camping. Guess where we are going this year? ..... No prizes for getting it right sorry. And this time we are bringing most of the clan with us. Five pitches in all.
    If that doesn't say we liked it I guess nothing will
  • Disliked: I've yet to find anything I disliked at this site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Brilliant Site

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very clean site, Staff nice and friendly, Toilet blocks amazing.
  • Disliked: Didnt sell camping gas
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for jacquelineroberts752

a great May bank holiday weekend at Newberry Valley

(Mature couple, 4 reviews, 24 photos)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything, the site was in a great setting, brilliant walks, sights, facilities were fantastically clean and tidy. pitches were spacious people and dog friendly a fantastic place to stay and will return for more visits. We loved the sound of the wolves it was out of this world and The Royal Marine pub, fantastic, thanks to you all at Newberry Valley x
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for jacquelineroberts752

Great weekend

(Mature couple, 4 reviews, 24 photos)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: walks,
    views,
    very friendly.
    clean, good facilities
    wifi
    shop
    the weather
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

What a find

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly greeting on arrival. Guided to are spot. Couldn't believe how few people where there. The toilet/shower block is out of this world. Heated tiled floor piped music. Surgical clean. The campsite is in a valley. It's a real sun trap. We didnt bother with the beach just sat and enjoyed the valley view. Nice lake as well I am almost wanted to take up fishing.
    Well done to all concerned you will see us again nick vak
  • Disliked: My wife coming in at 7 am singing morning campers, because she loved the shower block so much
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

excellent site, as the other reviews its well worth it

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the fact that after reading other peoples reviews, when we got there it was just as described. Already recommending to family and friends. Staff were great, place was well organised and very clean. The shower block was wow
    will return to use this place again
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for val

one of the best

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: what a really friendly site we were made to feel welcome right from the word go we have a rottie and she was made very welcome both on site and around combe martin the showers and aminaties were kept very clean with plenty of hot water we would come and stay again and bring friends in fact we did just that in sept pitichs were very large and a pinic bench was a nice touch
  • Disliked: there was nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for fiandjules

A perfect holiday.

(Young couple, 1 review, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Didn't arrive here till after 6pm due to a nightmare journey but staff were very understanding, and a friendly warden showed us to our pitch which was located near its own small toilet block and close to the wolf centre. We were pleased to find pitch was level and no problems with getting tent pegs in. After settling in for the night we were treated to the experience of the wolves howling under the full moon, absolutely surreal! Fortunately this did not go on all night, infact we only heard them about 3 times the whole week much to my disappointment!
    The best thing about this site is its location, only a short walk to 2 small beaches, ideal for rock pooling. Plenty of pubs within walking distance, the Pack of Cards pub is a slighly longer walk but did us a fantastic Sunday lunch (as recommended by lady in site reception)and there was a quiz night on Tuesday. A variety of shops in the village for groceries and gifts and the essential bottle of chilled wine!
    There are some lovely walks from Combe Martin and I'd recommend getting a plan from the tourist info office and talking the cliff walk up the hills (if you're feeling fit!)- great for wildlife watching, we saw buzzards, ravens, lizards and lots of butterflies.
    The site itself is also great for wildlife watching and most evenings we were content to sit with a bottle of wine watching and listening for the buzzards and owls. With the exception of the odd car visiting the wolf centre, the site was peaceful. There is also a pleasant woodland walk on site.
    Modern shower block was spotless and we never had to queue for shower or toilet. Plently of hot water.
    Warden regularly greeted us while driving about in his buggy to check we were ok. On the morning of leaving, we were slightly late packing up (as usual!) but were not made to feel hurried.
    All in all a relaxing holiday in a lovely location and we have been hard-pressed to find a site for this year in another part of the country which lives up to the standard as set by Newberry Valley. Well done guys! Perhaps we'll visit you in the future with our new caravan.
  • Disliked: Having to come home...

    one small thing- the water pressure in the shower wasn't great so took a long time to wash my long hair. Pleased water was unlimited and not set to 5 mins!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for paulrobinson108889

Fantastic site. Have stayed many times before and will continue to.

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Apr 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: They now have a brand new shower block and cleaning facilities. Beautiful location for beaches and touring North Devon. Pitches vary in size but all generous. We plan to stay here for many years to come
  • Disliked: None all brilliant
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for louisefigges

i would never stay at this camp site again.

(Solo traveller-female, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: i would never stay at this camp site again.
    very expensive, but the grass surfaces are not flat enough (tilted, like sleeping
    on a hill!!!) so was an uncomfortable nights sleep. Also there were loud animals noises all night, apparently from the wolf farm that they keep...
    also cars just drive straight past your tent, which i found worrying.

    the toilet facilities you would expect to be amazing because of the new build facilities they have had put in. but there were no shampoo or soap dispensers provided, and the same applied to the laundry room, there were no dispensers for washing powers, etc. so although nice looking facilities, they were chocka block full of people, so be prepared to queue, and then be rushed out like a production line.

    i also found the staff to be very miserable and militant! not relaxed at all.

    when they want you out, you better go (after they get your money)!

    also the only view you have from this site is of other tents, cars and caravans,

    nothing glamorous like cliffs and rolling hills as the website suggests! don't

    expect a sea view!

    and boring as hell to, there are no provisions for socializing whatsoever!

    so this campsite is good if you like a militant army regimented feel, with no

    soap dispensers anywhere, a warden who is meant to be on at night but is not, and

    having cars driving past your tent...

    horrible experience, and never again.

    there are plenty campsites a 2 min walk further from coombe martin, that i shall

    visit next time!

    :(

  • Disliked: nearly eveything
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus

<< Go back to Newberry Valley Park