Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Callow Top Holiday Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.6

Overall rating based on 103 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

89% would recommend this site to a friend.

89% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for wendy_b3

Great Place would recommend 100%

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site is very well set up with everything that you could want in walking distance. We have booked to go again next month and I think that my husband will try out the fishing and I am sure that our children will be in the outside pool.
  • Disliked: Liked everything
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for jennithompson90

Fab site and facilities, really enjoyable stay!

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Overall, our stay at Callow Top was brilliant-we really enjoyed ourselves! The site facilities are great and we were close enough to the local town of Ashbourne to not feel too isolated whilst at the same time being far enough away to feel like we were on holiday.
    -The shop was well stocked with nearly everything you could need (the only thing we couldn't get was pillows because we'd forgotten ours!) and wasn't extortionately priced which was great.
    -The on-site facilities were excellent-really grateful for the HEATED toilet blocks and the indoor washing up area which mean faffing with trying to heat up water wasn't necessary. The weather was nice enough that we managed to swim in the outdoor (but heated) swimming pool, as well as making use of the pub, bar/restaurant and arcade.
    -Very nice atmosphere and everyone was friendly and welcoming!
    -Perfect location for a weekend getaway-we didn't have access to a car but still found plenty to do in the surrounding area-lots of countryside nearby that's good for picnicking in!
  • Disliked: -The showers-if I have to pay for them (20p for approx. 4 mins) then I expect to be able to control the temperature and/or be able to remove the shower head from the wall. Would prefer them to have been push button ones (like in swimming pools) rather than charge extra for them.
    -Couldn't get on the wifi all weekend, my boyfriend had to go into a shop in the town to access his bank account and take money out!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for geoffrey_h1

good location for what we wanted to do in the area.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: not too busy. good clean site. and very cheap too with the half price deal.
  • Disliked: we did not dislike anything about the site.. the weather could have been better maybe?????
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for dedavis

Lovely, short family break

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely, campsite. This is the second time we have visited Callow Top this summer. It is an excellent place for all the family. The kids loved riding their bikes on the site and enjoyed the bike ride along Tissington Trail.

    Staff very friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike about this campsite.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for darrengrummitt

Very Good, safe and clean. Children really enjoyed their stay

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lot's of things for the Children, pool, play area etc. Good safe location, well spaced out pitches. Would definatley stay again and recomend to others
  • Disliked: Staff in the shop although very friendly were not very knowlageable about camping needs. Could have done with extra dish washing facilities and more room in the freezer for ice packs.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for luke_b1

Really good venue with plenty to do.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The easy location

    Large pitches

    Swimming pool

    Nice family atmosphere

    Excellent facilities

    Easy reach of dovedale etc
  • Disliked: None
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Stannyblade

Fantastic time

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: All the amenities and the fact the tents were pitched round the edge of the road leaving a big safe area for the kids to play
  • Disliked: The toilet block was a fair way away from our tent pitched at the bottom of field 6. There weren't enough wash basins etc for everyone to wash so you had a wait. Also the grass in the middle of the field could have been a bit shorter but that's just me being picky.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for kevin_g3

This place is atragedy waiting to happen

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Leaving a day early
  • Disliked: I have never in my life experienced a place so unruly and out of control.
    Lets start with the playground, despite the sign saying that all children should be supervised, on may occasions I was the only parent in the place while bold brats bullied smaller kids.

    On to the pool, plenty of safety rules in evidence here, unfortunately not one of them enforced. How somebody hasn't been drowned here is beyond me.

    There is not enough bathroom facilities for the numbers at the site and that meant they were never clean

    And that brings me to the noise, we had to leave and book into a hotel just to get some sleep.

    All that said, if I ask the kids what was the best campsite on the holiday, they will say this one. So maybe it's just me
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for peterburnett

Very well laid out site

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The hedges between the pitches, the excellent food.
  • Disliked: The showers were not cleaned by the previous users and no 'ante room' meant you came out of the shower and had to stand where people had been with their shoes on.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for laurencecarr7

Awful

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: +Great location for walking, biking abd sightseeing.
    + Food served from the cafe bar ok and served quickly
  • Disliked: Stayed here some 5 years ago and enjoyed it. Returned this year and it was terrible

    - Rude unhelpful jobs worth staff
    - Dirty toilets
    - Very noisy with no attempt by the site staff to keep the chavs in check
    - Different information given to different guests or lack of information
    - Dreadful entertainment even for the kids
    - Expensive
    - Dirty unsupervised pool. Two of our children were ill - I suspect from being in the pool
    - insufficient toilets and washing facilities
    - 2 hour wait to be served food at the Callow Top pub

    Shame on you Callow Top. We will never return.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for kenziekidd

Excellent campsite with great facilities!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We recently stayed at Callow Top for the first time and really enjoyed our stay there. The facilities are great and has everything you need when camping away. Our two young girls had a great time and didn't want to leave, which is always a good sign. The showers and toilet blocks were always clean and the the onsite shop was always well stocked and is reasonably priced. The pitches were very roomy and we easily fit 2 cars and a family tent on with plenty of room to spare. I also liked that the pitches are numbered so there is plenty of space between you and your neighbours so you don't feel crammed in like we have done at other sites. We were in field 6 which had all the pitches around the outside with lots of space in the middle where the kids could play. There was a childrens' entertainer and a family disco on when we were there which our girls really enjoyed.
  • Disliked: There was nothing that we disliked at Callow Top and we are looking forward to going back!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for joannecorbett

Excellent site. Clean, safe,great facilities, warm pool

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pitches were clearly marked and a decent size. Booking in on arrival was easy and the staff were friendly and happy to provide local information. The shop stocked a good range of food, drinks and camping stuff and was competitively priced. The swimming pool was clean and warm. The bar had a good range of food and drinks and we could watch our children on the play area from inside!!One afternoon the food being seved to other people looked so good we had to have a couple of bowls of chips which were delicious!
    Our children of 7,10 and 12 could roam around and there was a big area in the middle of our field(field 6) which could be used for games.
    There was a very pleasant 20 minute walk into Ashbourne from the campsite.
    There was no noise at night.
    We also visited Buxton and Bakewell which are worth a trip out.
    A lovely site which we will visit again.
  • Disliked: Sometimes the toilets were being cleaned during the day when we wanted to use them and we had to find other toilets.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for PaulaG76

Stayed for 3 nights as we were doing 2 days in Alton Towers

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The park was friendly and toilets and facilities clean.
    The pitch sizes were huge and nicely accommodated my 10 man tent + car!
    Entertainment was good although only on certain nights.
    Excellent value for money.
    Probably better for families with smaller children.
  • Disliked: I stayed in field 7 and unfortunately there were only 4 women's cubicles in the toilet block near there. The only other toilet block is right back at the very start of the park. There was often a queue in the evening which when talking to other guests we all agreed that there were not enough toilets.
    There were also no showers in this end of the park and you had to walk all the way back to the beginning and then there was a fee!! I was disappointed with this.
    Although the pool was lovely there is no lifeguard which is fine as this is their policy and it is clearly signed that children are to be supervised and my children are old enough anyway.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for bexsiboop

great family campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: pitches were nice and spacious, we took our 6year old son and didn't have to leave the campsite for the duration of our stay as there was plenty to do, including a kids disco on the Thursday, a good park and football space, the pool was great nice and clean and the park was well maintained and was clean throughout, we ate at the cafebar once and the food was good and I felt safe and secure there. very happy with this campsite and we will be returning! :-)
  • Disliked: the site is great for people with youngsters but probably bot very relaxing for older people who just want to switch off, it's quite noisy during the day but come bedtime it settles down and our camp at least was wonderfully quiet
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for helennicholls

Fantastic family site

(Extended family, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We really enjoyed our stay at Callow top, it was a great family friendly site, with all the facilities to keep our 5 and 12 year old children entertained. The adventure playground was a big hit, and the pool was warm enough to enjoy even when the whether wasn't great.
    The Callow Inn was a really nice relaxed pub with child friendly areas and a good menu, and the cafe/bar and entertainment good for those wanting a more upbeat atmosphere.
    In all a great campsite which we would definitely use again, and reccommend to friends
  • Disliked: none
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for hayley_b1

Lovely park, friendly helpful staff, would definitely recommend

(Mature couple, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great pitches for motor homes with part grass/part grandstanding

    Clean toilets

    Perfect location for exploring the local area
  • Disliked: Noisy obnoxious kids late at night in the arcade (not the fault of the site of course)

    The endless steep hill from main gate to reception, especially after a long bike ride!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Karen_B2

Great Camping experience

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great campsite that met mine and my 3 children's needs, with games room, pool and play area for them and peace of mind for me knowing that it is a secure site. The bar was lovely, offering affordable drinks and food and entertainment for all of us.
    The shop was well stocked and having forgotten a couple of things, was pleased that I could buy them there. Staff were friendly and helpful and the young lads on the security gate always had a smile no matter what time of day it was.
    The situation is fantastic being right on the edge of the National Park and good for exploring the surrounding towns and villages.
    We had a great stay and would recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting the area.
  • Disliked: Was disappointed to find we had to pay for the showers as I have not experienced that at any other campsite, but as it was only 20p, I was not too upset!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for dedavis

Perfect for families

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very clean, loads to do for young children and adults. Only stayed for two nights already booked our next stay. Kids loved it and can't wait to go again.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for smegginton

In a great location for Peak District and facilities are very good

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: From arrival, the organisation of staff in providing details and whereabouts of pitch along with other helpful documentation on what to do in the surrounding area, was impressive. The campsite layout was simple and the facilities were all easy to locate. Toilets and utilities were very clean.
  • Disliked: Due to the large volume of young families, there was a lot of noise during late evening with some persons disrespectful towards others in terms of failing to minimise their noise levels.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for aaron_t

we stop alot at callow top great location great park very friendly sta

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we liked everything entertainment great kids love it swimming pool a bonus u don't have 2 go out of the camp if u don't want 2 park got everything 2 amuse all of us
  • Disliked: theres nothing we disliked just greatg campsite
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for karlmelson9

Very Busy Site!

(Family with young children, 2 reviews, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Check-in was quick and easy. The pitches were big and well marked out. Every single pitch was being occupied. We were close to the toilet block in 'Field 6' which was ideal.

    There is a large cafe/entertainment room/bar. During our stay (3 days) there was a singer and a bingo night in here. The play area is straight outside so you can keep an eye on the kids while enjoying a drink! The arcade offers a bit more for the kids to do, but it is small. The heated swimming pool is great and very popular!

    The showers were fine, but those with longer hair and bigger bodies may use a few 20 pence pieces! (20p/4mins).
  • Disliked: Perhaps the toilets could do with a bit more monitoring, as they were sometimes dirtier than they should have been. Saying that, there could be more blocks for the size of the site, so all things considered they were OK. There were sometimes queues for them at peak times. The hand dryers are useless! Toilet roll was always well stocked though.

    The laundry facilities were not very good with only 3 dryers for the whole site - when they were working!






Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for rob_d

not much to do especially for young children

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: pitches are nice with plenty of space, site is clean & tidy
  • Disliked: the callow top inn only opens after 7pm, the pool was full so unable to use, food quality not so good, there was no entertainment on site, amusement arcade holds about 6 people then it would be overcrowded, booked two nights only stayed one, probably one of the worst places I have stayed,
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent location with access to open country, friendly staff.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean site - friendly staff - play area for children - good location - nature reserve local to site - information leaflets at reception. Restaurant very friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked: Not enough toilets
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic park can't wait to visit again sometime

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We were visiting Alton towers for a few days so it was perfect for us, only 20 mins drive to the park in the morning, the campsite itself was great aswell, the heated pool was great for the kids and the cafe and bar were great for the whole family, already recommended it to friends and family and would definately go back again
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

First tent stop!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Most facilities were good, all were clean . Pool was a great addition, and our pitch was plenty big enough. Check in was quick, brilliant spot to use tissington trail.
  • Disliked: Site would definitely benefit from showers which you can thermostatically control as we struggled with water too hot for our 2/1yrs old And making them inbuilt with pitch price would be better, as costs mount up and we hadn't always the correct change.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Tia_B

Fab family friendly site

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Just returned from our very first camping holiday with two 3 year olds. Fantastic, family friendly site. Not overpriced at the bar or restaurant. Pitches were level and spacious. Toilet blocks were clean and showers were hot. Excellent childrens park which kept our girls happy for hours. On-site shop sells most essentials. People were so friendly, our children made friends with others around and were safe running around in the field. Campsite is divided up into 7 camping fields, some are purely for caravans and others just for tents. Lots of kids on bikes and scooters and car drivers were all very cautious and drove very slowly around the site making it really safe. Easy to check in and out. Site does not allow visitors making it feel much more safe too. No rowdy people there, everyone was just having a lovely time. Wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely be returning.
  • Disliked: We cannot find anything to dislike I would have preferred an electric hookup but these were all booked but that is not the campsite's fault. Also, the shop ran out of ice which was a little inconvenient but the drive to town was only 5 minutes so we managed to get some.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for janet_c

brilliant value for money, brilliant holiday

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location of the park was ideal for visiting many places of interest. We stayed an extra 3 nights more than planned- through thunder and lightening storm too!Brilliant time, will come again, kids loved their holiday.
    amenities for kids very good. Play park very safe and clean. Swimming pool very enjoyable-clean and well sign posted for safety.
    showers cost 20p-very good value for money
    The shop well stocked and not too expensive.
  • Disliked: The only negative points is the access to the park has a very steep hill so when you go on a bike ride you have to dismount and walk up a very steep hill on return-we actually put the bikes on the car rack and travelled out to avoid this after the first time as the boys found this a hill to far!
    We hired a bike daily for my grandsons friend and it was a shame it had to be returned daily at 5pm, would have liked to hire for the week so we had no limit on return time.
    This would not put us off returning though as all the positives far out way these points
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

loved it

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

great place very clean and good entertainment

(Extended family, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: very clean friendly staff booking in was very easy and they were very helpfull found the pitch easily which was ideal near to toilets and water. Pool was excellent and the cafe bar really friendly bar staff and the disco they put on outside was great and everyone was friendly and joined in .The toilets were spotless and the showers great plenty of hot water and it was brilliant where you could go and wash all your dishes and pans really had a great time and are going back soon coudnt fault the place.
  • Disliked: The only dislike was a bit of dust coming up when cars went past but it was no big deal apart from that could not fault the place highly recommended.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

an amazing family experience, cant wait to go back!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the friendly atmosphere. the fellow campers were helpful, kind and sociable. I loved the family orientated feel to the place, it was really buzzing. I loved how it was organised to have the pub and then a big open green space as a central area next to the park. It has been really well thought out. the pool is spectacular and very secure, my kids had so much fun it was like being abroad having the pool there. the park facilities are the best I have ever encountered , lovely wooden frames with so much variety for all ages. the pool was open till 7.30 and the park 9.30 so the kids had so much fun and we had a really lovely family experience all together. I would recommend this place to everyone and truly cant wait to go back . I had gone on my own with 3 children and everyone was so kind helping me blow up my camp bed and lending me a hammer! the staff are really friendly and helpful too. the people drove slowly and were mindful about the children playing . It was immaculately tidy and clean.
  • Disliked: only staying for one night! I really cant fault anything
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

the grounds were lovely.. spacious and tent pitch

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The surroundings were lovely well kept and tidy. Our pitch was amazing nice spacious area which felt like you had a bit more privacy. Nice heated pool which was kept clean and was big.
    We loved the park as it was nice and quiet and also there was easy access to the toilet and shower facilities which there was a lot of.
    I liked having the shop on site so close as it was a real life saver with the hot heat anything you needed could be found which meant not having to trek about to a shop.
    staff were lovely and friendly very accommodating as we chose to stay another night with no problem what so ever.
    Also the site is very close to Alton towers which is where we spent one day easy to reach.
    great experience would definitely go again and recommend this to anyway
    family's couples great for everyone.




  • Disliked: I was not too keen on the cleanliness of some of the shower cubicles but other than that all was great . Could of been as it was later in the day and not re cleaned untill the evening
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent facilities. Great for couples, families and children!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The swimming pool was excellent. Good showers and really lovely fishing lake.
  • Disliked: Toilets always looked clean but didn't smell very fresh.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely campsite.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The way the hardstanding sites were separated by tall hedges on three sides giving good privacy for the campers.
  • Disliked: Having to walk to the toilets for water. Would have been nice having a water tap somewhere on the campsite itself although it wasn't a massive problem to us. As it was our first camp there, we searched for water in the beginning and then had many other people ask us where the water tap was too. We didn't realise the water tap was marked on the leaflet until later on.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Best site I've ever stayed at

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything about the site!!
    The layout and location was fantastic giving plenty of room and privacy!
    The site was immaculate including all facilities toilets were always cleaned!
    The staff were friendly and helpful!
    The facilities available were so much more than usual campsites I stay at the pool was a god send as it was extremely hot!! This was clean also and a great bonus!
    The food in the cafe was beautiful and fairly priced.

    I wish I could have stayed longer and would recommend this site to anyone I will deff ineptly visit again
  • Disliked: There was absolutely nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great place

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the facilities were very clean well looked after. The food was great from Arnolds Cafe and at very reasonable prices too. All staff were very pleasant and helped out when asked. The location was fab four touring about. We spent one day at Go Ape in Buxton then two days at Alton Towers.
  • Disliked: the fact that the entertainment and pub were only open at the weekend. The site was quite busy when we were there early/mid July (as it is Scottish School holidays) but the entertainment was only on at the weekend.
    The shop closed a bit too early. We arrived around tea time on a Sunday but couldnt get any food supplies. We walked in to Ashbourne but everything there was shut as well! We couldnt even get a pint of milk after 5pm at night!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

EXCELLENT WELL RUN FAMILY CAMPSITE !

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 2ND VISIT TO CALLOW TOP AND AS WE RECOMMENDED TO SOME FRIENDS THEY DECIDED TO JOIN US THIS TIME AROUND ! THEY LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT THE SITE, ESPECIALLY HAVING 3 DAUGHTERS THEY LOVED THE PLAYGROUND, ARCADES, PLENTY OF FIELDS TO PLAY IN AND AS IT WAS A LOVELY HOT WEEKEND THE 2 SWIMMING POOLS !
    UPON ARRIVAL WE ASKED VIA EMAIL IF WE COULD BE SITUATED NEXT DOOR TO OUR FRIENDS AND RECIEVED A LOVELY EMAIL BACK FROM ELI ADVISING WE HAD BEEN PITCHED NEXT TO EACH OTHER WHICH WAS A BLESSING ! EVERYONE ON THE CAMPSITE FRIENDLY AND CHATTY AND STAFF EFFICIENT AND POLITE ! WILL BE RETURNING AGAIN NEXT YEAR NO DOUBT !
  • Disliked: NOTHING EVERYTHING SPOT ON !
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Bryony_P

Not for me

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The reception stayed open till 9pm, so we were able to arrive after work on Friday night without worrying about breaking speed limits to get there.
    The staff were very friendly. When I asked about walking routes to a pub I had seen in the Good Pub Guide the staff member went out of his way to find out for me (I do recommend the Coach and Horses at Fenny Bentley). Overall, the staff could not seem to do enough for the holidaymakers.
    I liked the fact that there was a swimming pool, my children were delighted to spend a whole morning playing in the water.
    The children's play area was very nice with a good variety of equipment.
    I liked the fact that the pitches were quite large, I didn't feel 'pressed up against' the next tent as I have done in previous sites.
    The shop was good and the surrounding area was lovely. The walk that we did took us through a wildflower meadow that was quite stunning.
    We also had bats flying around our tent at night, which we thought was brilliant.
  • Disliked: The reason that this campsite was not for me, although my chidren did love it, was twofold.
    Firstly our pitch was a long walk from the nearest toilet. We literally had to walk across two whole fields when we wanted to use the bathroom - not ideal with two little ones and certainly not great for me.
    Secondly I found the atmosphere too much of a 'holiday camp', which may very much suit others, but I didn't like the fact that I came out of the bathroom into the cloud of cigarette smoke that barriered the bar entrance, I had a problem with the behaviour of certain teenagers who had little consideration for small children, particularly when using the swimming pool and I did not like the noise that went on till 11pm (at other campsites it stopped at 10pm). My children were absolutely exhausted after being kept awake so late by less than considerate 'partying' campers.
    These issues are not really the fault of the site, perhaps I would enjoy it more 'off season', but as I am not an experienced camper I am just beginning to learn what sort of site suits me.
    Perhaps a camp site with arcade, rugby playing bar, disco, bingo etc is not for me. Fab for teenagers though.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Nice park !!!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We thought the staff were very helpful on our arrival, the shop was great and the park was well laid out for tourers.
    My children loved the play park although this was really busy and noisy on the friday night.
    My husband also told me the pub was great and the food looked lovely they were serving.

    Its really close to Alton towers , and a little pretty town close by.
  • Disliked: I really liked this park , but wouldnt stay for longer than a weekend as the area wouldnt have enough to keep us going ! .
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Sarah_F0

Fantastic clean site

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The outdoor heated swimming pool
    Well stocked shop
    Very friendly and helpful staff
    Very clean site

  • Disliked: Nothing. All was well
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Maridoth

Great for kids lots of facilities

(Extended family, 3 reviews)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This is a great campsite, we stayed on the first May bank holiday.

    Great facilities, pub onsite, children's play park, cafe and heated swimming pool.

    Very friendly, would recommend, even allowed us to extend our departure time which meant we didn't need to rush in the morning.

    Ashbourne is also nice.
  • Disliked: No electric hook ups available for tents- minor point.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent site with good camping fields and facilities,great for young

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Spacious camping fields, play areas, pub with disco. Amazing surrounding scenery and walks for all ages on the Tissington Trail.
  • Disliked: Smelly toilets, young boys congregating on roads with scooters.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

First camping holiday.` And a perfect way to start!

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Hmmm, where to start? I liked the layout of the fields, where it was as if people were put together based on the ages of their kids I think. There was a massive open grassy area in the middle of the field we were in (field 6) and all the kids could play in there safely and be seen by everyone. As they seemed to be sorted according to ages, there was always a communal game of some description going on, which was a great way of meeting your neighbours!

    Now, where's the best place on a campsite to advertise fishing, bike hire, and the on-site evening entertainment? Back of the toilet doors! Altho if you're a `choose a cubicle and stick to it' type, most of these might pass you by :)

    The toilets and showers were excellently clean at all times, as was the swimming pool. We never once needed to leave the site for anything (granted we only stopped fri-sun) because everything we needed was available there, and not ridiculously priced either, even the drinks in the pub.

    Overall a brilliant weekend, for not much money at this time of year (£60 ish, 2 nights, 2 adults, 2 kids, 2 dogs, 2 cars. Bargain)

    We'll DEFINITELY be coming back lots!
  • Disliked: Coming home! Oh, and dog owners who DON'T keep their dogs on leads and don't clean up after them. Hardly the fault of the site though, these things just annoy me.

    Oh and if you were to push me to be picky, I'd have a few night-lights on the road in field six maybe? After tripping over 3 guy ropes, a swingball and a chihuahua on one journey to the toilet at 3am, I wasn't the most popular guy in field 6 at that moment. Aah well, they all fell back to sleep again eventually. That's what I tell myself anyway.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Weekend last minute booking - fab site!

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Check in is really easy and staff were pleasant and helpful.
    The site was clean and the facilities are great for young and old.
    Food in the bar was really nice as staff were accommodating when I asked for something that wasn't on the menu as a set meal.
    Toilet facilities were clean.

  • Disliked: Walked up the driveway around 10.30pm after walking into Ashbourne and its very dark and I felt very uneasy.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

very good

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: well maintained site
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent stay

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Having decided to stay at Callow Top and having never camped anywhere before, we were novice campers. The camp seemed to be very clean with the bin areas removed frequently. The showers were clean, lovely and warm and the toilet area was also kept very clean. My boys really enjoyed the pool area and the pool tables as well. We really enjoyed our stay and would definatley stay again.
  • Disliked: However there wasn't much for two 14 year olds to do at night although for younger children the saturday night disco seemed to be a hit. There isn't much to complain about as 14 year old boys are hard to please and we will be returning in the future.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

This site is perfect for my 10 year old son and I.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: All the facilities a camper could want. Clean site, efficient and polite staff. Lots of choices of well priced food, well stocked shop, great location; quiet and private. Good prices all round.
  • Disliked: Having to leave!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for sharonadkin71

very clean and tidy

(Family with young children, 1 review, 3 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the position and helpfulness of being able to be near toilet blocks with having young children and the other facilities
  • Disliked: the weather, but that couldnt be helped
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for lrturner

Great family site, lots of facilities but busy

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The layout was great. They'd clearly thought about who to put with who (they have seven fields, so lots of space). Having young children the field we were in was perfect. We were surrounded by other families with similar-aged kids and there was a small village green arrangement n the middle which meant the kids had freedom to play but we could still see them.

    The easy access to nearby Ashbourne was also good. If you're into cycling it's just a few minuts to the Tissington Trail and you could hire bikes at the site or from a hut on the trail itself just 10 mins walk from the site.

    The addition of a pub was good. Although it wasn't our style to spend evenings there we did have a drink outside one afternoon while the kids had ice creams. The play area close to the washing up facilities would also be good if your kids are a but older than ours who can,t really play unsupervised at the moment.
  • Disliked: This is a VERY large site and rather commercial for our tastes. That said, it wasn't overly noisy at night, partly I think because of the well thought-out arrangement.

    There also weren't enough showers or sinks for the number of people there.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Kathryn_M

Fantastic

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was clean the staff were really friendly and great football cricket and volleyball pitches
  • Disliked: Absolutely nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for scarysrystuffens

Great for a weekend away with the kids!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff greeted me with a very friendly welcome, everything was explained very clearly and booking in was really quick and efficient. We were put in field 4 which was great, not too big and all the pitches are round the outside which meant more privacy and room and where our two children could run, explore and play ball games and still be in our view at all times. It also made it very social without invading any of your own privacy in your own tent. Our two children made friends within 10 minutes!!. The site has a great little park which our two loved. The onsite shop stocked everything you could possibly need. great selection of food, drinks, camping equipment, and games. they even sold hot water bottles!! They really do think of everything. lots of toilets and showers although were 20p for 4 minutes!! were hot and clean at all times. We didn't actually go into the café or the pub but both seemed to offer a great selection of drinks and food and the café even offered takeaway of anything on the menu. Very handy if you can't be bothered to light up the gas stove or BBQ. They allow campfires and BBQ's as long as they are raised so it was lovely sat out at night with a glass of wine while everyone had campfires burning.
  • Disliked: I don't think I could have stayed longer than a weekend as it is a very small park and with two very young children there wasn't a great deal for us to do, other than visit the play area and enjoy the camping experience. There is an outdoor swimming pool and a very small arcade so the older children seemed to be having great fun but for us and our children ages 3 and 6 the boredom would have set in if we had stayed any longer.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Donna_C0

Good park for kids

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good pitches
    Some good on site facilities
  • Disliked: Not enough showers - the park was extremely full due to a half price offer
    Friends came to visit for an afternoon but were not allowed on site
    Kids everywhere without parents - dangerous when trying to drive out of the park
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very good site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Overall very good
  • Disliked: Too far to walk to empty waste containers
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for JoyB

Absolutely brilliant site!

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities,
    staff,
    Field 5,
    Location,
    The shop.......

    The park itself!
  • Disliked: The toilet block in field 6 not being open during stay! (Understandable)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Scott_D

Defo coming again!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Welcoming site, friendly staff and campers alike. Clean tidy and the hot choccy from Arnolds rocks.
  • Disliked: Coming home
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for bradley_w

Too cold to camp here this time of year

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The play area,fishing lake and eating/drinking facilities
  • Disliked: the toilets were a bit far from the tent,especially with my 5 year old daughter.She also couldnt reach the wash basins,toilet roll or soap dispenser so i had to lift her up or help her.We only stayed one night instead of three.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for APowell

What a wonderful place

(Extended family, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Oct 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: staff fantastic, great for children Lovely swimming pool bar/cafe and a pub that serves real ales
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent site and would definetly stay here again!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely clean campsite with everything needed. Perfect camping accommodation at great value! A*
  • Disliked: We arrived on the Thursday evening and no activities were available or showers open. But we also understand this was because of the time of year it was!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for kirsty_r

excellent

(Family with young children, 1 review, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the entertainment.
    the costs were reasonable from the onsite shop and pub / cafe lunches.
    clean site and the recycling area a very good idea.

  • Disliked: felt slightly unnerved that there was no life guard / park member observing the pool area although rules do state there is no lifeguard. even though i did not stay in peak season/summer it was hot when i stayed and would have felt more comfortable knowing there was a lifeguard. i myself as a parent unfortunatly cannot swim and have a small child - my responsibility is even more observant knowing this but genuine accidents can happen.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Jeanette_A

Loo and Shower block too far away.

(With friends, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The area was nice and the site very clean, facilities were also very clean.
  • Disliked: Avoid fields 6 and 7 unless you have your own portaloo the toilets are too far away, and no heating on, and the shower block was even further. The grass could have done with being cut too.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for pauline_d

Excellent family site.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Excellent location perfect for walking and cycling. good fishing lake on site. Good facilities for children. Heated pool even though it was closed due to it being september. Recommended it to our family who have just been this weekend.
  • Disliked: No heating in showers, also the doors were left open so it was too cold to have a shower. Disapointed to find my disabled brother and family were unable to visit us they live in ashbourne and I would have liked them to come visit us and have a coffee with us or a drink and meal in the pub. Perhaps a visitors day pass would be a good idea even if they make a small charge to park the car on site. Other sites allow day visitors.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for John_F0

Very good birthday weekend

(Extended family, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: General high standard and cleanliness of site & facilities -pub excellent
  • Disliked: Unhelpful manner I was dealt with in arranging visit for my family. They obviously hate groups and made sure we were all in different fields. Having said this the staff on the visit were helpful and courteous.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

last minute camping trip with 2 young boys

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: family friendly site, staff really helpful.

    facilities excellent
  • Disliked: pricey food
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A very good campsite, in beautiful countryside.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly staff, clean and well layed out site.
    Gorgeous countryside and more room per pitch than some other sites I've stayed on.
  • Disliked: Some rowdy campers staying up late, and then noisey early in the morning. But you can't please everybody all the time!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent site,reasonable rates Clean and tidy

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice location ,clean and tidy friendly staff.
    had a few dislkes but had a good time
  • Disliked: not enough Toilets for size of site and in showers your clothes get wet nodry hanging place.
    the weekend we were there it was fully booked but the callow top inn (pub) only opened at nite at !900 hrsand on the sunday !930, which i think lost them revenue on food and drink.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for cozscfc

Nice holiday park. Ideal if you have kids. Very busy. Great facilities.

(Young couple, 3 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Facilities were very good - the shop and pub were good and very reasonably priced. The pub brews its own beer. Superb location for walking and cycling. Staff very helpful and friendly. Site was clean.
  • Disliked: Wait for food in pub can be long at busy times.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A nice clean site in a great location in the heart of the scenic Peak District

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The real ale pub on site with a nice large beer garden. The nice walks that started from the campsite and most importantly the allocated pitches that are well numbered and spaced out leaving enough open space at the front of your tent for a game of bowls, tennis or cricket. Our pitch on field 7 had a scenic west facing view ideal for watching the sun set in the hillside. The onsite shop was very convenient and the heated pool and adventure park look ideal for anyone taking kids. I will take my grandkids there one day.
  • Disliked: Not enough lighting in the tent fields.
    Too many tall trees around the perimeter of some of the tent fields. I like trees and I can understand why the trees have been planted in such fashion but it seems a shame to block out all the surrounding scenery. I wonder if they could be managed in a way that combats the harsh north/easterly winds around the pitches but create gaps to reveal more of the scenic views to the west of the campsite.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for garymercer11

Really good for the family

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for barbara_w

Husband stayed with 3 grandchildren 13-6

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The space, the services and facilities being in a compact area ,heated pool and sports field.
  • Disliked: Felt shop and cafe prices were a bit expensive - compared to other sites visited. The no visitors rule was a disappointment - other camps have allowed paying day visitors and the grandchildren really enjoyed this facility
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great location, average site.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly staff, willing to help.
  • Disliked: Didn't think the toilet and shower facilities were adequate for the fields with tent pitches. This area needs some investment and a bit more thought.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

camping

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the camp site was lovely for the kids and the swimming pool was warm on a cold day .
    the shower was hot and clean.
    a alround excellent camp site for the family,
    staff was friendy too.
  • Disliked: need light's on the tent picth's so you can see at night when going to the toilet.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We needed to be near Alton towers

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: How close it was to Alton towers. Staff
    Very friendly.
  • Disliked: Not enough toilets and fresh water taps.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

was a good site with very convenient facilities. We especially liked the location as it was just a small walk in to ashbourne.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It's location was good, and facilities were clean and useful. The pool was a nice change but the website says there was an indoor pool, which we couldn't find.
  • Disliked: The pitch we were staying on was spacious but when it rained it was very difficult to move the car through the mud. Good weekend but spent a good 2 hours at home washing dirt off the side of the car
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for paul_s1

excellent

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: very polite staff in reception, very clean site and shower/toilet blocks.
    Fast repair done when I reported a loose sanitary fitting.
  • Disliked: The english habit of not providing toilet brushes (why!!!).
    Speed bumps on the way up when a lot are towing vans or driving motorhomes.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

camping fun, well organised site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the many facilities, we had breakfast at the cafe, went in the pool, and the shop has everything! The children loved the play area
  • Disliked: a big site, so we were a bit away from the toilet blocks.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Simon_E0

Great location, well maintained & good value.

(Family with young children, 1 review, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I chose this site to introduce my wife & 9 r old daughter to camping and howgreat it can be, and it didn't dissapoint! Despite not being the most exotic, the location is supurb with great walks & views of the Derbyshire countryside. The site is superbly maintained and has a great family atmosphere with plenty of facilities to keep the family occupied.
  • Disliked: Not a lot to dislike on this site although a few more water points around fileds 6 & 7 would be good.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Craig__H

Great family campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great facilities with evening activities. Generous pitch space and lots of room for children to burn off energy. Food quality very good and prices reasonable, although some more vegetarian options would be welcome. Service quick and courteous. Friendly and helpful staff. Piping hot showers!
  • Disliked: "Dislike" is too strong a term, but a little more maintenance in the arcade would have kept more machines working, although we appreciate that it was peak season. The most "popular" toilets could perhaps have been cleaned more frequently, given the wet weather and the number of people on site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for matthew_o

A nice site and very friendly.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Helpful staff and a very pleasant atmosphere.The bar and shop was not as expensive as you would think too.
  • Disliked: The Callow Inn was only open at night,although there was another bar for food and drink.I didn't like having to pay for the showers all be it only 20p for 4min.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent facilities excellent site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Pool, facilites, pub and staff
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

very good would visit again

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: very clean
  • Disliked: unable to choose pitch
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Nicola_L

Excellent facilities

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice site clean and tidy and plenty going on. Good facilities easy access to everyrning
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for sarah-smith

OUR 1ST FAMILY CAMPING HOLIDAY.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I loved this site so much. So much so as soon as we got home we booked again for august. The site had everything we needed & was very clean & well kept with very friendly staff.
  • Disliked: I didnt mind paying for the showers but having to pay 20p for about 4 minutes use of the plug socket to straighen my hair worked out a little expensive with mine & my daughters long hair.
    Also the fact that there were so many dogs on site. My little kids were afraid to move at times & could also be annoying when they all start barking & whining at each other when trying to have a quite drink in the pub garden.
    Could also do with someone to watch over the pool & park as some of the older children spoilt it for the smaller ones at times.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Visiting alton towers.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the locality was excellent for our purpose, added bonus was all the amenities on site. Having visited many camping sites i found this to one to be exactly what we have come to expect of a well run site.
  • Disliked: No dislikes.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for cheekymonkey23

A very pleasant stay

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything about the place was clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful, without being too in your face. We have been coming to this site for as long as I can remember, and the site has vastly improved it's facilities over the years. It is a lovely base for some beautiful walks
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Sarah_D0

Fantastic site !!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: What a fantastic campsite !! great staff , great facilities and all round great camping experience ! The best site we have stayed on !
  • Disliked: THERE IS NOT ANYTHING TO DISLIKE ABOUT THIS SITE.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We Enjoyed our 2 night stay

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pool, entertainment, pitch sizes, shop and toilet/wash facilities.
  • Disliked: Cafe bar was a little expensive for the type of food. The road runs through the middle of the site, right next to the park and pub lawns. Drainage grids raised outside main toilets causing sharp trip hazards.
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great site for families

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This campsite is fantastic - great location and facilities. The children loved the playground and outdoor pool. My husband liked the onsite micro brewery. The toilets and showers were kept very clean. Registration on arrival was efficient and all the staff were very courteous. There was plenty of empty space on the tent fields for ball games. Well done Callow Top!
  • Disliked: The pool was very busy and numbers were not restricted. It wasn't helped that the pool got very steep very quickly so I was squeezed into a corner in the shallow end with my children.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Wet but nice break for the kids

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Despite the incessant rain from pitching up to pitching off, it was still an overall enjoyable holiday especially for the kids. It was easy to pitch up on the soft ground, spacious everywhere and the facilities were accessible and appropriate.
  • Disliked: Obviously not having enough sun was the main disappointment [which has nothing to do with the site!]. But the reception being shut on arrival at 7pm on the Monday was slightly disconcerting.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Nice site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Swimming pool
  • Disliked: Paying for showers
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Susan_A

Great site, Loads of amenities, good pitches with well planned access.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely Pool, good hard standing pitches and a nice friendly pub. Also a very pleasent 'family bar' Friendly staff who were happy to help. In fact we have booked again this weekend!
  • Disliked: Lack of toilets near pool (you have to walk around to the site toilets)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We only stayed one night but found the site family friendly. A clean site and good amenities. We would definately recommend it and will be using the site again.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location near town
    family friendly
    good amenities
    clean
    sky sports available
    nice club house
    Good childrens playarea
  • Disliked: attended childrens disco and club seemed to small to accomodate, struggled to get a seat
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

one night first time camping, 2 boys 3 and 4

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: good campsite, friendly staff, good facilities
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A wonderful site with excellent facilities. Have already booked our next visit.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff in particular are excellent. This is a friendly family sight with lovely surroundings. It is well situated for local attractions. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.
  • Disliked: We were pitched closely to a large group with four dogs. We would prefer that they would not be allowed to let them run around as it scared our young daughter. It was a hot weekend and we had no shade but the staff are most accommodating and we have requested a specific pitch for our next stay so this is a negative and a positive. The toilet facilities were lovely and clean in the morning but by the night time not so good - an evening clean would make them better I feel.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for mark_s1

we really enjoyed this camp site 10/10

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything on the site, the cleanliness of the whole site toilets,showers where outstanding, and there was a toilet block on most of the fields so not far to walk and there is cctv around the site definitely be going back
  • Disliked: there is nothing to dislike about this camp site
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We stayed her for 2 nights,the campsite and facilities were excellent,very clean and tidy.The staff were very helpful and pleasant.I would recommend this site to anyone camping or caravaning,5*

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: facilities,location,cleanliness,friendliness of the staff,not far from ashbourne town.
  • Disliked: weather hahaha
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fab site.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Plenty of room. Very friendly staff. On site shop, bar and food area good value for money and clean. Dog walks around the field made it a nice late evening/early morning walk. Showers clean and hot water.
  • Disliked: Could do with another shower block near 5/6 feilds. Kids running, playing and biking all over the road areas when you are driving very slowly. Maybe a poster for the parents to state the safety aspects of the site instead of the running loose. (This is only a little point) I didnt see anything about where the walks are from the camsite to the surrounding areas. Maybe I missed this if you did have them !
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for SALLY_T

Excellant

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This is not the first time at Callow top so obviously we enjoy the site. I think it's because the site has a layed back atmosphere, it's very well maintained and the on site pub is excellant and freindly. The food is good too. The facilities, toliet showers etc are always clean and they're plentiful. A good site for both young and old. One of the main benefits though is it's location. Close to Ashbourne, right on the Tissington trial and very close to the lovely Dovedale.

    An all round top site!!
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Had a great time!

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The surrounding countryside and locality for great walks in Dovedales. Our teenagers loved the site and the younger child enjoyed the playground. all loved the pool and sports field.
  • Disliked: Very large campsite and lots of noise and kids, okay for two nights but wouldn't have wanted to be there longer!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Overall a decent site with lots if facilities for those who want them

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Pool

  • Disliked: Very tight pitch difficult to manoeuvre into and nit much space between pitches so felt a bit crowded. Very hilly appoach to the site. Great facilities but felt a but commercialised and a bit busy for me personally
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for jean_b

Family Friendly

(Family with young children, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for jean_b

Family friendly Site

(Family with young children, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was our first ever family camping holiday and we couldn't have picked a better spot. The facilities were great, the cleanliness (the one area that has stopped me from camping before) was of a very high standard throughout the camp. The staff were friendly and very customer focussed.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for amy246

Great Campsite, friendly with everything you could want on site or nearby!

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This is a great campiste in a great area, lots to do on site, the staff are friendly and helpful, the site is always clean and tidy. Stayed mid-week term time so it was quieter (which is what we wanted) but there were still plenty of people camping and not all squished into one of the fields which is good! Didn't get to use all the facilities (too cold for the pool, and never used the cafe) however they looked good! Pitches were a good size and the layout of the site was good too!
  • Disliked: Nothing!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for elliott

best holiday ever!!! clean, great pitches, very helpful and friendly staff.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything about callow top is well thought out, we stayed in field 6 which has a vast green in the middle so kids can play but still be in full view. showers were lovely and warm an cleaned regularly. we went to the 2 outdoor discos which our daughter really enjoyed, arnolds bar is a fab way to have a drink and keep an eye on your kids whilst they play in the play park. shop stocks really good and not expensive lines, we had there locally sourced bbq packs which couldnt be beaten! all in all execellent!
  • Disliked: nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Sue_S

Overall a nice little break if a bit expensive for camping in a field!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pool, choice of pubs, the cleanliness of the site, friendliness of fellow campers, the area in general.
  • Disliked: You have to pay 20p for showers and electric, we were pitched a long way off from the toilet block that we could see for the whole site. May go again, if we do, we'll ask to be nearer the loos and to be pitched in the sun
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus

<< Go back to Callow Top Holiday Park