Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Birchwood Fishing and Camping

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.8

Overall rating based on 70 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

88% would recommend this site to a friend.

91% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for Kezza

overall a pleasant stay, quiet & made welcome

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Cleanliness, peaceful, out of way of the hustle and bustle of Skegness and Ingoldmells. Toilet/shower block was very clean, the site kept clean and tidy, Only thing, advertised on website as having cafe/restaurant and found out that this was actually the Managers of the site caravan/tent.
  • Disliked: Finding the place, not easy to find.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for charlotte_j0

Fantastic

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very friendly welcome;
    Good advice on the local area and taxis;
    Lovely pitch, flat & well-sheltered;
    Clean, modern, free shower facilities.
    Close to Skegness, 10min drive at most;
    Will definitely use again.
  • Disliked: Nothing at all.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for johncena75

very nice and clean and would go bk there again

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: very clean campsite and very frendly
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for clivecooper

Brilliant - Very friendly, well looked after and would defo stay again

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome. The camping site was perfectly placed and the friendly other campers helps you settle in so quickly. I was very happy with the stay and would come again, i also think my children would agree with this. Thank you Clive
  • Disliked: No comments
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Julie_S5

Father and son camping holiday

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It was really easy to find and get too. Also the site was fantastic green, good facilities and myself and my son aged 14 thoroughly enjoyed it. As a recent one parent family it was just what we needed to spend quality time together on a beautiful site. Everyone on site made us feel welcome and my son has met some new friends. We will be definately booking for 2014.

  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for onlyme2

very well presented nice and quite

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: every thing that i saw and experienced during our stay felt very welcome as soon as entering the site
    thanks alot
  • Disliked: nothing at all
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for martyncwebster

Beautiful

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Just got back from this lovely site

    Stayed here midweek for 2 nights, dad, mum, 7 yr old lad and 10 mth old puppy.

    Such a lovely quiet site, very pretty surroundings, lovely hosts, very close to Skegness, Butlins and Ingoldmells.

    Brilliant value for money, toilets clean and washing up facilities were fine too.

    Best thing I think is that the site office (caravan) is actually one of the pitches so very close if there's any issues, of which for us there were none.

    Even all the other families staying there were very respectful, no loud music, kids calmed down by 9pm ish and it all added up to a great stay for us.

    Will be back at Birchwood again without a moments hesitation. BRILLIANT!!!!
  • Disliked: The only MINOR negative is that (what appears to be) the only nearby footpath where it was possible to walk the dog is currently closed as there is some heaving construction work going on in an adjacent field. Dumper trucks were running from 8.00am ish to 7pm or so but the noise from the was not intrusive and in no way spoilt our stay at all.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Tracey_H1

Good clean site, friendly owners, Very welcoming, Good facilities

(Family with young children, 1 review, 6 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners of the camping site were very welcoming and helpful at all times.
    Nice to know the site is a dog friendly site.
    Everyone who was on the site seemed to be nice.
    My children made some new friends.
    Nice to know there was some where we could have our icepacks frozen so our food could be kept cool such as milk, butter & cheese.
    The children enjoyed feeding the ducks and fish in the middle pond.
    Very good priced at the side of other camp sites what we looked at.
    We stayed Saturday 17th - Saturday 24th August and all the time we was there we enjoyed our stay.
    Will defiantly be returning with the family next year, and will be very happy to spread the word to our friends about this camp site.
    Happy that the site is only 5 minutes from the sea front in the car.
  • Disliked: The only thing I can think of and it's not anything major is that the water in the showers could possible be turned down temperature wise a little bit as it is a little hot for the younger children.
    No local shops walking distant to the site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for john_a

Tidy, well run camp site with pitches for tents and tourers.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I personally liked the fact that we managed to set up near to the shower and toilet and wash up area without any issues. Electric pitches were available but we were using gas in our big tent.
    I liked the fishing lake and the not too restrictive rules which make most methods and baits usable. The lake is very close and access is very easy. I had 33 carp to 12lb in 7 hours fishing which is too easy for me but really good for any beginners or youngsters/families as the action is pretty hectic!
    Both Skegness and Ingoldmells with the Fantasy Island theme park, are just a short drive from the Winthorpe area, where the camp site is, and this made for a stress free time with very little of it lost stuck in traffic as can be the case when driving further.
    Overall a pleasant stay in a nice accessible area. Recommended.
  • Disliked: We had no issues at all. I can however see that if the site was busier and you had to set up in an area further away from the amenities then it would possibly be a little more difficult.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Rachael_A0

great stay at a great campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location is really good with it being in between ingoldmells and skegness,it was easy to find the owners were very informative and accommodating could do with a play area for the little ones maybe at some point but will definitely be returning
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for fionahyland9

Wonderful weekend in peaceful setting, however hard to find.

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We had great time at Birchwood. the owners were very polite and made sure everyone was happy. The facilities were very clean and easy to use the shower. My partner enjoyed the fishing on the site which was based on a small pond with plenty of fish to catch. The departure time was very reasonably as we were still there at dinner time.


    overall a very peaceful and relaxing location, would go again.
  • Disliked: We had difficulty finding the site as it is down several little lanes. when we was struggling to find it we attempted to phone the site however got no answer for half an hour, when a woman navigated us directly to the site staying on the phone the entire journey.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for jenni_w

Excellent weekend break

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Campsite was excellent, very clean and tidy and well run
  • Disliked: No dislikes
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Kym_S

Nice, quiet clean sight. Good if you like fishing.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The peace and quiet my son liked the fishing. Very good for a cheap restful break.
  • Disliked: There were no gates to stop children getting to the fishing pond so not really suitable for young children
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Connor_C

Very good friendly campsite

(Group-mostly male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite, very nicely situated and had very nice helpful owners.
  • Disliked: The cleanliness, as we arrived a few beer cans or bottle tops could be seen, nothing to cause a major worry though.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

positive feedback

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite was amazing and the site manager and his wife are amazing they never stop keeping the site in order, the showers are spot on lovely and clean. Would stay again we went for 2 days and stayed for 7.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for angiegarb

lovely site

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: very friendly site managers, lovely clean showers, toilets and wash up area. gorgeous setting. very relaxing until the weekend lol.
  • Disliked: the noise from the groups arriving friday night but i suppose you can get that anywhere.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good site but can get extremely busy at weekends!

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The change of Warden since our last visit last Easter was very welcome. Since I last wrote a very favourable review on here following our first visit to Birchwood the standards of the site had slipped - however, the 'new' Warden seems to have things back on the right track. We enjoyed our short stay - 2 nights this time - but from being a quiet and peaceful site the first night (a Thursday) we were shocked upon our return from a day out on the Friday! We had expected new arrivals for the weekend - particularly as the weather was so good but we had never seen it so busy. Not only were tents pitched all around the edge of the field they were also all around the centre lake - we were not sure the sheer number of campers should have been allowed on this type of site. The toilet block really struggled to cope - 3 toilets and 2 basins - and we actually skipped washing on the Saturday morning as we couldn't get near to use the basins! We were a bit worried at the prospect of a noisy night but luckily the volume levels dropped off around 11pm as they should have. On the whole an enjoyable stay but serious consideration should be taken to either increase the facilities or restrict the number of campers allowed on to the site.
  • Disliked: The number of campers allowed on to the site which made it crowded, a little noisy and impossible to properly use the facilities block.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for joshua

I keep returning !

(Solo traveller-male, 4 reviews, 7 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The fact that high hedges surround the campsite .This makes a good wind break and or shade depending on which side of the field you choose .Water stand pipe next to the bins makes sense as does the location of the shower block.Mr & mrs R.sole & family were not here this weekend ,so we all had a quiet time in good weather .Bonus the fish were biting ..
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

great little site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: My son aged 12 and had a short but pleasant stay. Area was well maintained. Host was very good. We will be back
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for joshua

And the Sun shone too!

(Solo traveller-male, 4 reviews, 7 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The ease of booking ...The fact that the site is well maintained ie cut grass, clean toilets / showers etc. Campsite is easy to find & Ideally located if you have a vehicle.
    Fishing is good here.
  • Disliked: The fact that tents are allowed to pitch too close together ,as a lot of people were using disposable BBQ`s. Shower /toilet block could be bigger as many were standing in line as campsite gets busy .A notice board would be handy so that contact information could be displayed etc.Another washing up facility would be useful ,as again many people were waiting to use the only one.The playing of loud music got to be annoying after several hours.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

fantastic family site :)

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: brilliant site lovely people 10/10 defiantly going back soon :)
  • Disliked: there is nothing to dislike about this site :)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good site

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Definitely booked a good week - weatherwise! The site is well sheltered by trees around the sides which is a plus for those of us in tents.

    The couple in the site office were very welcoming, good at advice (where things are etc) and providing weather updates. You could tell when they took a day off and it was looked after by someone else.

    The toilets/showers were kept clean and tidy with a good stock of loo rolls just in case.

    Good location for going to the coast or exploring the countryside but you definitely need a car or a good pair of walking boots.
  • Disliked: The organisation of where people camped, tents need to be a certain distance apart in case of fire - some were too close for comfort.

    We had a nice view until a campervan parked in front of us and we got a lovely view of their telly and not the pond. Luckily that was our last night so not too much missed.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Had a great weekend would like to return again

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A great value for money
    owners were very nice
    fishing was great

  • Disliked: Showers having to press the button all the time
    Noisy guests (which not your fault)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Kevin_M3

Nice place, close to the 3 main places, Skegness, Ingoldmels & Chapel

(Family with older children, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: From arriving I found Birchwood very nice, the site management were helpful the pitch was ample, and it was nice and quiet. The site is well maintained and I would definatly take my family there again.
  • Disliked: There wasn't anything I disliked about the place, any one who says otherwise would be nit picking, the only think was the bins get a bit full.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Alix_T

Nice little place to camp

(With friends, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice quiet place clean showers and facilities
    Friendly staff and close to ingoldmells and Skegness
    But just a little to far to walk , great price would certainly
    Recommend for family's and friends alike
  • Disliked: No bus route nearby, needs a couple more sinks for plate washing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for joshua

Happy days

(Solo traveller-male, 4 reviews, 7 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Showers & Toilet block were as should be ie clean and well maintained.
    Grass pitch was level short and plentiful. It`s a campsite ! what else do ya want ?.
  • Disliked: Mr superman & partner .....Playing Loud music all hours of the day / night .
    Nuff said..
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for joshua

Impossible to fault

(Solo traveller-male, 4 reviews, 7 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything
  • Disliked: The fact that Mr & mrs Inconsiderate Neanderthal ,Played their car stereo full blast from stupid o`clock in the morning till the stars shone.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

great facility

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: great chilled out wkend, made better by a clean and well presented campsite. pitches were flat, grass cut properly and a relaxed attitude by keepers. a must return.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

good site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Its small & pretty quiet
  • Disliked: Small playground for the kids would be good
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

So, so experience.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Quiet location, well maintained pitch, lots of space.
  • Disliked: Too hot water under the showers. Not good if you have to batch a 3 year old or even an 8 year old.
    Should get a cold water tap.
    Attitude was on the lower as well. Like the owners don't really care as long as they get the money.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

excellent

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the site was very clean ,showers and toilet block very clean ,the campsite manager and his wife were the perfect hosts ,very friendly very welcoming they couldn't do enough to make your stay the best ,they supplied tea /coffee/bacon butties and more at very reasonable prices,they even supplied complete fishing tackle to hire, the lake has a good choice of fish for float fishing( roach, bream etc) to nice size 20lb plus carp .
    walking time to skegness about 20 mins steady pace with a very nice large family pub /restaurant about 10 mins away
    i enjoyed my weekend stay and plan to go again
  • Disliked: the only downside is there is only 2 shower cubicles so if its a busy time you may have to queue for a while to have a shower
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

(Group-mostly male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Really good campsite. very clean and tidy. showers were spot on. owners were really nice couple. in good location we walked to skeggy and only took 30 min. will defintely be visiting again.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

well kept & friendly

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site itself, the grass was nice & short, the toilets/showers were clean & it was lovely watching the fish & ducks around the pond.
  • Disliked: The noise, i don't know if we were just unlucky but there were several large groups on site and the noise from the music, shouting & cars made it impossible to sleep into the early hours of the morning. Having said this the site itself is really nice & i would be happy to stay again just maybe not at a weekend.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good facilities in quiet area

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very helpful staff, reasonable pitch prices, clean facilities, coffee, tea and refreshments available. Plenty of space for many tents, caravans and motor homes.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Okay but too many single groups and drunk teens

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location was good

  • Disliked: Noise
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for daisy89

awful do not stay here if you want any sleep

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: showers and toilets were clean
  • Disliked: we stayed here on a saturday night - arrived back to the campsite about 11.30pm - the whole campsite was quiet except a group of about 10 lads and 3 girls camping next to us - we gave it a few hours to settle down as it was a saturday night, but they just got louder and louder. they were drinking and taking drugs and using offensive language it was actually disgusting, there were many families camping close by also. eventually it got quiet at SIX AM and this was only because one of the lads got in his car and drove off (drunk and on drugs and next to our tent) we were very scared, in the morning we informed the site manager and he laughed about the situation. disappointed and the worst night's sleep i've ever had - the attitude of the manager in the morning was disgusting, and he gave the whole group their deposit back. ive stayed at a lot of campsites and never encountered behaviour like this. i'd suggest if you have family or want any sleep don't stay here.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great place

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners were friendly, pretty countryside surroundings 10 mins drive to Skegness. The traffic into skegness was heavy so we decided to pitch a tent overnight...best decision ever! We were up and at the beach before everyone else the next day and enioyed a full day.

    The toilet block.was very clean, nice showers and a socket for a hairdryer. Highly recomended .
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Lyndsey_E

BRILLIANT!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: i came to birchwood with ny two young daughters and we absolutely loved it ! the site was clean and maintained well, the shower / toilet cubicles were sparkling clean , we was made to feel welcome and was offered plenty of help with putting the tent up as we are new to camping , 5 minute drive to the sea front and 20 mins to ingoldmells , would highly reccomend and we are already planning our next stay here .
  • Disliked: the only thing i could mention was there wasnt alot of signs so to a novice like me i was unsure which tap was drinking water etc
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for karen_c5

a lovely place quiet clean and pleasant ideal place as a base for vis

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: how level and well cared for the site was. how clean and well presented the bathroom is thank you for a lovely stay
  • Disliked: nothing it was just right
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for ERIC101160

a nice peaceful site, good location, site managers very helpful

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The whole experience, the fishing was excellent with good carp caught by everyone. the site is very tidy, the toilets and showers are always clean, both the manager and his wife are very pleasant and made you feel very welcome.
  • Disliked: leaving
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good site

(Group-mostly male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Tidy site, quiet, good toilet and shower block
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Tara_R

Great site. Well maintained and clean facilities

(With friends, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Walking distance to Skegness. Really well looked after site with great facilities.

    It was easy to get to and the owners were helpful.

    Highly recommended.
  • Disliked: The bird scarers in the neighbouring field sound like gunfire and went off sporadically during the night which was a bit annoying but we got used to it soon enough.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

nice and quite campsite with fishing

(Group-mostly male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Fishing (as I'm a fisherman) nice hot showers
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for holly_h

Great value for money campsite ideal for short break.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stayed her for bank holiday weekend with my partner, it was great value for money and a ideal location for visiting Skegness, Winthorpe and Ingoldmells, although transportation is needed as its down a few long country roads. Nice relaxed atmosphere with laidback owners in a quiet location. Simple but thats all you need, great weekend.
  • Disliked: The toilets and showers were clean and tidy but the water temperature is temperamental. Too hot for me an the cubicle was so small you couldn't get out the way of the water, an your cloths get soaked. I would not recommend for a child.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for kevin_n

great time

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything about it was good
  • Disliked: the cafe was the only thing as it was very limited to what you could pay for.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for julian_a

v quiet

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The peace and quiet - I was only person there except for staff
  • Disliked: Very little a short drive or long walk to pub was bad tho. But not there fault
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Small, friendly and well-placed campsite, easy to find, near to town-centre and Butlins

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Heated Shower/toilet Block.
    Dog Friendly with many walks.
    Close to Skegness Stadium.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike about the site for our party! (except weather)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for christinegoescamping

This was our first time camping. we found this site on here and based on the reviews we booked. we originally booked 2 nights nut stayed for 4 in the end. The site is 'perfect' the toilets are very clean and modern there are plug sockets in there too.

(Family with older children, 1 review, 7 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very clean modern toilets. Free showers
    Pretty site, units are pitched around a centeral pond which is fenced off for safety.
    Location to skegness and ingoldmells. this site feels very rural and is quiet and tranquil. however it takes only minutes to get to both Skegness and ingoldmells
    Friendliness of staff. they even took my daughter to feed the fish.
    This was a great first experience with camping and I am definately returning.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for thomas_c

really good

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: liked the fishing lake and the amenities were ok
  • Disliked: that it seemed a little cramped by the time it got to sunday and that I had taken certain baits with me for fishing and then when i got there found that couldnt use them. would be an idea that if they are going to put stipulations on baits to be used for the fishing to have them on website as I didnt see it.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We were 2 young couples staying at the campsite for 2 nights over the bank holiday. We found the campsite very friendly and welcoming. The facilities were very basic but are exactly what you need!

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: how friendly the campsite was. when we arrived other campers were offering to help us and lend us their equipment.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

lovely hoilday

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: i liked the fishing as the kids all catched large fish the showers was clean and warm sometimes a bit to hot every1 was friendly the campsite was clean.
  • Disliked: it was to far away from anything as there is no way you could walk on them lanes with children and it was to dark at night.a taxi into ingoldmells was £10.00 each way at nyt.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for paul_b7

Nice small site

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Size, not too big
    Sheltered site
    Clean
  • Disliked: No marked out pitches
    No clear signs to show you where to check in
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Jeanette_A

Good Site

(With friends, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stayed here August Bank Holiday, nice level well draining site. Toilet/Shower block and site kept very clean and tidy. Good small fishing lake. Easy to find and not far from Skegness.
  • Disliked: Generator used by fellow camper as its a small site I don't think this should be allowed.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

it was ok

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was really nice and the people was friendly
  • Disliked: The pond in the middle constently watched the children and also there was a few young people drinkin and making noise right next to our family tent which led to some violence apart from that on the first night it was ok
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

good

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: yes
  • Disliked: no
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Nice campsite, very quiet.

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Close to skegness and ingoldmells, bout 5 mins driving, but away from the noisey tourist areas.
  • Disliked: no problems
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Sarah8481

Fantastic site will go again

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was well maintained the owner and site manager were very friendly. Very clean kids loved it. Will certainly go again made to feel very welcome and one of the most enjoyable camping holidays this year
  • Disliked: Coming home
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very pleasant stay at birchwood, lovely setting and everyone was very friendly. The fishing was good too. Shower block was very clean. Would definately go here again and would recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful camping trip

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: cleanliness, freiendliness and surroundings
  • Disliked: nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

lovely

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Well I liked everything about this place! A quiet campsite with clean toilets and showers, which were cleaned regularly.

    The site managers were a lovely couple, they wouldn't tolerate any rowdy all male/female campers, which was good.

    If you like fishing there are two lakes which you can sit at all day and fish from dawn to dusk.

    Skegness is about 1-2 mile away so a walk in the evening to the pub is quite pleasant to say the least.

    If your looking for a cheap low key weekend break well this is the place for you.

    Enjoy!!


  • Disliked: There was a pub not far from the site, The Charning hotel or something like that, well the barman there, around 60 yrs old wasn't very welcoming to say the least.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for lee_p

excellent

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Well kept site with good clean facilities. Excellent fishing. Only a few miles from town and beach. Very friendly site managment. My children didnt want to leave. Would definatley book again
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for lizzybetty

Lovely quiet site - mangaed by a laid-back couple with a sense of humour.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I haven't camped since my children were teenagers (about 20 years ago). Four years ago I gave my frame tent away and bought a smaller tent - and it's taken me that long to pluck up courage to go camping again. I chose well. I loved this site and I will definitely return (I did warn you Mick!). I booked for 3 nights and, once there, asked to stay for another.... and another.... and another. I didn't want to come home.

    The site manager, Mick (with his wife Ann), is a real 'wind up merchant'. I loved his sense of humour, and gave as good as I got once I 'sussed' him..

    The site is green and well kept. I don't know about the men's facilities, but the womens' include 2 showers and 3 toilets which didn't seem a lot but, even at the weekend, it was ample for the size of the site. Somehow it worked that I never had to wait for a shower or the loo. I liked the fact that hot water and toilet rolls were free and plentiful. Plus there was always a hand towel, liquid soap, and shampoo in the shower block.... plus two power sockets (I'd have taken my hair dryer if I'd realised)if only I'd taken my hair dryer!). There was o extra cost for this, either.

    Campers came and went during our 6 nights stay, some only staying for one or two nights - others for much longer. Like us, many asked to stay longer once there, promising to return.

    Dogs are very welcome - my dog needed a holiday when she got home (from all the children on site taking it in turns to walk her in relays around the lovely fish pond full of enormous colourful carp).

    There are more pitches without mains hook-ups than there are with them, and there were more tents than vans - which I liked. I was worried that I might feel inferior being in a tent without mains electric. Not so. It was brilliant fun.

    With our battery lamps from Poundland, disposable BBQs (which we later used to make a camp fire in), and our mobile phones, we didn't need electricity.

    Some tents were so tiny I wondered how the occupants fitted inside them; and some 6, 8 or 10 person tents were set up like a 'ranch' - with two or three families in two or three tents all set up close together.

    This site is a couple of miles inland at the point of a triangle between Skegess and Ingoldmells. It is beautiful, quiet and peaceful, yet the noise and bright lights with their hustle and bustle are not too far away.

    There is a quiet sandy beach at Winthorpe (2 miles away), between Skegness and Ingoldmellsand, with ice cream, cafes, and a few amusements - dogs are allowed on the beach all year round on the Skegness side.


  • Disliked: Nothing.

    Some people might find the local aircraft a bit noisy from time to time..... and the flocks of flying geese can be noisy (also the pigeons in the trees, if they pitch under them on the left hand side. But all these things were added entertainment for us.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Clean flat well

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice flat site, high conifer, trees, screening
    Helpfull on site warden, who offered
    tea coffee bacon rolls very good price.
    He also showed us shower block, loo
    also where to get water.
    Plus sinks for washing up with hot water included
  • Disliked: no dislikes
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for annemarie

Fantastic!

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Tidy, well kept site. Lovely and quiet yet close to Skegness and Ingoldmells. Lots to do in the local area making it an ideal place to stay. Would definitely recommend.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great friendly site

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything.Owner and manager were friendly and helpful and made you feel v welcome.Showers were lovely and hot site was friendly and clean.Had a great vibe have booked to go back already.
  • Disliked: NOTHING.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great little campsite,everyone very friendly and in an ideal place!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The cleanliness of the park was great, freshly cut grass and tidy fishing lakes. Also i good place to stay if travelling into Skegness or Ingoldmells, only 1.5 miles frm skeg! Quite site,where everyone got on well. First time camping for me and it couldnt have been much better!
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Me, My husband, 16 yr old nephew and 2 yr old son.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: That there was lots of space for my son to play on his scooter and with his football. That all the people on the campsite were really friendly, especially the owner as she spent 10/15 mins on the phone directing us in. Also they advised of an all boys group and Scooter club and pitched us away from these with having a small child. I also liked that the pond on the main camp site was fenced off so that children couldn't fall in.
  • Disliked: Coming home.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for anneeta_s

Fantastic!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely site, beautifully maintained and preseted. Clean shower/toilet blocks - highly recommended!
  • Disliked: N/A
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Dan_C

Very nice and quiet [if you like it that way -like us!]

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: As with other reviews, there is very little to dislike about this site. It's far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Ingoldmells ans Skegness, but conveniently close enough to the action - should you want it. On average it takea about 6 minutes to the centre of Ingoldmells and 10 minutes to Skegness. If you like carp fishing - you'll love the size of the fish in the two ponds on site. The warden on site was friendly and helpful. We're there again in August...!
  • Disliked: As with most campsites, one of the main areas under scrutiny will be the 'communals'. Both showers and toilets were kept relativley clean. There are two showers and two toilets for each sex. The showers never failed in the hotwater stakes, but water 'jets' out of the stalls under the doors and 'pools' on the main floor - not nice if you paddling about in others' shower water - especially when leaving the shower area. Could do with at least shelves or something in the shower area for toiletries etc... or a plastic chair outside each stall [we were sharing one] because there's nowhere to put things whilst showering - could you please sort this?
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Brilliant Little Campsite

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owner was very accommodating and helpful the facilities were clean and well maintained and the site was only a short drive from the beach. Everything was perfect.
  • Disliked: The was nothing wrong with this campsite, really enjoyed our brief stay.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for wittymacs

Immaculate, relaxing and friendly small site

(Family with young children, 4 reviews, 11 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We booked to stay at Birchwood at short notice after my husband managed to book 2 days off work and the weather for once in the poor Summer of 2011 looked set fair. We loaded our tiny Citroen C1 with our small 3 man tent, airbed and bare essentials and the three of us - husband, myself and our 8 year old daughter headed for the Lincolnshire coast. We usually have holidays in our touring caravan but for this last minute break fancied getting even closer to nature and daughter Olivia was excited at the prospect of sleeping in the tent. We had never stayed at Birchwood before and didn't know quite what to expect. We had discovered the site online and looked at an aerial view using Google Maps prior to our visit. When we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised.

    Once up a short driveway we saw that the site was flat, well landscaped with a fenced fishpond in the middle and had perfectly manicured hedges and conifers for screening. The grass was very green considering it was August and did not show signs of wear which can often be apparent on sites. We discovered from a fellow camper that the site Warden lived in a caravan on the site and to go and see him to ask where we should pitch our tent. The Warden, an elderly gentleman, was very helpful and relaxed. He said it was pretty much up to us where we pitched along the section allocated to tents. So hospitable is the Warden that he will happily brew a mug of tea/coffee and rustle up a bacon butty for a small charge. He is also in charge of the adjoining fishing lake which campers are allowed to use upon request. Guest may also feed the fish on site any suitable 'scraps' they may have which amused our daughter greatly!

    There is a modern brick built toilet block with showers which is kept very clean. There are washing up facilities and a chemical disposal point. The site is suitable for tents and touring caravans - there are electric hook up points and it is also dog friendly.

    We would highly recommend this site for a peaceful relaxing break in a well kept, clean environment. It is a small site but big enough to have a nice, friendly atmosphere. It is ideally located for visits to Skegness (2.2 miles away), Ingoldmells (2.2 miles away) and Chapel St Leonards (3.9 miles away) but without the hustle and noise which can be associated with the larger commercial sites. We have booked to go again - this time with our caravan and my elderly parents - at Easter this year.
  • Disliked: There is very little to dislike about this site. The most discerning of campers/caravanners would find it hard to fault. The only thing to bear in mind, if travelling with toddlers, is that there are 2 lakes on the site. The smaller one actually on the site where the tents and caravans pitch and the larger fishing lake adjacent. In the interests of their safety it would be essential to watch them at all times in case they wandered towards the water. There are also no play facilities - but with a little imagination this should not pose a problem as you can take your own bats, balls etc to entertain them and visits to the seaside should suffice!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Birchwood Fishing and Camping