Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Whitehall Farm

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.7

Overall rating based on 23 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

95% would recommend this site to a friend.

91% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for alan_c3

Excellent base to explore Nth Norfolk and it's magnificent coast line!

(Mature couple, 1 review, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked the simplicity of the site and the basic facilities i.e. showers, toilets and wash basins. There were freezers and fridges too - to freeze your freezer packs and a hair dryer. Everything was tidy and regularly cleaned!

    I liked the field space where we stayed, surrounded by beautiful Norfolk countryside - so quiet and tranquil.
    I liked watching the horses, grazing in the adjacent paddock and hearing the cows mooing, over on the opposite side of the lane, in another field!

    However, above all else, I liked the friendlyness of the owners of Whitehall Farm - Valerie and Barry Southerland and Sara their daughter-in-law, who greeted us and made us feel valued and welcome, when we first arrived - this is most important and will make us want to return again and again for future camping holidays at Whitehall Farm!

    The infomation cabin is well stocked with the latest information - leaflets etc and is regularly updated!

    Altogether, my wife and I had a wonderful and relaxing holiday and we will returning to Whitehall Fam very soon! Full credit goes to Valerie, Barry and Sara who have pitched the level of facilities just right!
  • Disliked: No dislikes and nothing to dislike!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Gina_H

stayed for 3 nights

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lots of space, pitches not crowded. Toilet and shower facilities good. Friendly staff. All in a lovely area.
  • Disliked: I disliked nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent venue, good facilities

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: being able to pick our own pitch and set up our safari gear - tent, gazebo, fire pit & wind breakers. We had no problem with the limited amount of toilets(2) and the showers(2) easily allow 2 adults together of a young family to shower together. The fridges and the freezer were a godsend, as was the spotless washing up area. This is a well kept and well run campsite that we will definitely use again to visit this beautiful part of the country


  • Disliked: One small gripe was the inconsiderate toffs (3 parties banded together) who stayed up (& kept us awake) drinking and braying loudly until past 11pm. Inconsiderate to their own children, other young families and the scout group present at the time. Their attempts at a quiet end to carousing was torchlight being sprayed in all directions, including our sleeping area. As we left the next morning (thankfully) I hope they were taken to task over their boorish behaviour.

    Luckily, they didnt spoil a great holiday - well done Whitehall Farm!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Adam_H0

Great few days in North Norfolk

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed in the pods which were great fun. Clean and comfy and very close to amenities. Toilets and showers etc kept very clean even at busy times. A well run site and perfectly located for walks and bike rides.
  • Disliked: Pods get a little stuffy and warm on sunny days but throw open the doors and window and it soon freshens up.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Justin_O

Quiet, clean and friendly place.

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Plenty of space and on the edge of a charming village.
  • Disliked: '
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Mother and 12 year old daughter

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The hosts at the campsite were so friendly, helpful and relaxed. Site was spacious but didn't have too many campers. Pitches are large and level.
    We liked the close proximity of the Lord Nelson Pub and the beautiful country side. Public Footpath across the fields in the village, this took us to a stream and we picked fresh water cress to eat with the lovely fresh crab we bought in Wells Next the Sea during our morning visit. Site is in good location to visit lots of places and you don't have to drive for miles.
    Also liked the fridges and freezer available for campers!
    Thank you for a lovely time very relaxing location. Nice to hear and see all the wildlife and the horses getting up in the morning.
  • Disliked: Although the showers and toilets were clean, I think they may need refurbishing in the near future.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent location, beautiful setting.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location and the setting. Nice and quiet with loads of space for the kids. Grest to have the horses for the kids to look at and pet.
  • Disliked: The toilet and shower areas are in need of a good make over and the general cleaning of these areas left a lot to be disired especially with young children.
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Neilandmarie

Excellent stay in a lovely setting

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We have stayed at a number of sites in north Norfolk and Whitehall compares well with the best of them. It's a family run site and the owners are very nice. I'm not sure how it happened but we managed to turn up a week earlier than we had actually booked online. (must have booked it after one too many wines one night !) i was quite distraught, however the owners took it all in their stride and made us feel really comfortable. The area the site is in is excellent. Particularly if you enjoy short to medium distance walks as we do. You are right in the middle of the burnham area and all the burnham villages are in within a few miles of the site. Burnham Thorpe is a very historic village and has a great pub that does an excellent steak, a very nice ale and has a lovely garden.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A quiet site with plenty of space and excellent value.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The amount of space you had and freedom to pitch your tent where it suited you. The washing area despite being a porter cabin was spacious and had plenty of facilities so you were never waiting around or queuing. May be a bit busier in the next few weeks but there were other facilities that you could use on the farm. Lovely historical village as well. Very nice pub near by that served great food.
  • Disliked: There wasn't anything we disliked.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic site

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The lovely welcome we received... the clean and tidy facilities... the beautiful location... we had an electric hook up and were against a fence with a huge wood behind it, which was fantastic. We'll definitely stay here again.
  • Disliked: The only think is that the ground is so hard... like other reviewers have said, just remember to take really tough tent pegs.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Lloyd_S

Great site!!!

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very friendly, on arrival we were shown a large field,as we had hook up our pitch was reserved for us otherwise you can just find your own space of which there is plenty.
    Facilities were really clean and they had thought of everything,from the mop in the shower block to hand wash soap in the loo's.
    Great location pub a few minutes walk away and a great beach 10mins away in the beach,the dog came home worn out so that's a good sign!!
  • Disliked: Absolutely nothing!!!!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

good but not great

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: friendly not over crowded, plenty of room, relaxed.
  • Disliked: only two showers and one of them didn't work properly partially blocked drain and shower was either scalding hot or freezing cold
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

very nice site, people and location. will be visiting again.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we liked everything about our stay there, very enjoyable.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good weekend of sunny camping

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice location. Quiet campsite.
  • Disliked: Showers and toilets need updating, and there are not enough for the number of campers on the site.

    Beware of hornets at 9pm each night as the field is in their flightpath back to their trees. Also, in the flightpath of a local private flying club taking off and landing throughout the day.

    No nearby shops for basics. We were directed to Fakenham Tesco's 11 miles away.
From the manager...

We appreciate all comments good and bad and also the opportunity to respond. In this instance 2 of our showers/toilets are brand new for this season. The other 2 shower/toilets are due for upgrade this winter.

With reference to "Hornets" these relate to the insect Phyllophaga commonly referred to as the June Bugs and are active for 5-10 days at some point during the summer, around most grassland and neither bite or sting and are definitely not Hornets.

There is no local flying club. The nearby air strip is our own and during the second weekend of July each year, we have our annual fly-in where we take friends and family for short local flights, which 99% of our customers find both interesting and entertaining. Outside this weekend there are occasional movements, but nevermore than a couple of departures/arrivals in any given day.

Nearby Burnham Market (2 miles away) is home to very good butcher/baker/garage (fuel station)/General Convenience Store where all basic supplies of fruit and veg are readily available and many more shops and suppliers. There is also a selection of pubs, a Hotel and Tea Rooms for you to enjoy.

If asked for direction to a major supermarket,ie, Tescos etc we do indeed have to direct people to Fakenham as we are not an urban campsite!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

No owners? Where to pitch up?

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The bats and birds. Space around the site. Horses playing opposite. Information shed.
  • Disliked: No one present when we arrived. Tried 2 emergency numbers. Eventually got hold of someone who knew nothing of the booking. Was told this wasn't unusual! Nearly pitched on caravan site. 2 Toilets and 2 showers adequate but wouldn't be if it had been busier.
From the manager...

Thank you for your comment. Always readily received good or bad.

The nature of our business makes it impossible to be on site at all times, but we always make sure we are contactable (subject to mobile signal being adequate) as both our mobile numbers are made available and on occasion when we are both off site the landline is transferred to us. On this occasion, we had an extraordinary situation whereby we had to get to Gatwick airport, but I did receive a call from this guest and he seemed satisfied that I was able to direct him to his pitch.

We have a total of 4 toilets and showers on site for busier periods and our people to toilet/shower ratio would appear to be inline with other local campsites.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for John_H5

Excellent

(Mature couple, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything! The field where tents & motorhomes pitched up was very good. Lovely atmosphere, not overcrowded. Toilet facilities and showers excellent as were the wash up facilities. Fridge, freezer and microwave available to all.
    Owners very nice.
    We had a lovely few days. The Lord Nelson pub is only 10 mins walk away, it is children and dog friendly, lovely atmosphere and the meals are beautiful.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for John_H5

Excellent

(Mature couple, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything! The field where tents & motorhomes pitched up was very good. Lovely atmosphere, not overcrowded. Toilet facilities and showers excellent as were the wash up facilities. Fridge, freezer and microwave available to all.
    Owners very nice.
    We had a lovely few days. The Lord Nelson pub is only 10 mins walk away, it is children and dog friendly, lovely atmosphere and the meals are beautiful.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Damien_C

Very Good Location, Pleasant Owners, Peaceful

(Young couple, 1 review, 3 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The Farm was a great location for walking and a short drive to the beach. It was a welcome reprieve from the hustle and bustle of other campsites that are more commercial and packed.

    It was quiet and back to nature with great surroundings. The facilities were adequate enough to accommodate 20 campers, with still a lot of space left in the field.

    Having the use of a fridge was handy especially with a non-electric hook up.

    The local pub is also withing a five minute walking distance and serves great food and spicy Nelsons Blood Rum!


  • Disliked: Flint in the soil !!!! this cant be helped but word of advice is to bring a good mallet and have patience !

    My dog constantly trying to chase rabbits!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Christopher_B0

First 'glamping' experience.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: My ptopwife and I stayed in one of the Camping Pods for a long weekend and loved it. We normally camp but didnt want the hassle of the tent and this was ideal. The pods are warm dry and comfortable, all you need is a sleeping bag and pillow for a good nights sleep (whatever the weather). As a bonus you can take your electircal creature comforts too (i.e. laptop & mobile phone charger).

    The farm is in a nice location and the owners are very friendly. When the sun shines (it does sometimes - honestly!), there is nothing better than sitting on your little verandah with a glass of cider from the local supplier at Wells and drinking in the view.

    Highly recommended.
  • Disliked: As others have said, the fact that there are only two toilets and showers on site can get a little tricky when its busy but it's a very minor point.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely weekend break at Whitehall Farm

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Only 4 miles to Wells, beautiful countryside location on Holkham estate, very good value for money, great communication (arrived at 8:30pm this was no problem ), great facilities for campers and clean! (Very important) will defiantly stay here again! Thank you
  • Disliked: Forgetting the air bed plug! Needless to say a new air bed was purchased! Happy camping
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Best camp trip

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved this campsite, a massive field and facilities were clean and tidy, was very handy having fridge's and freezers that we could use. the owners were very kind and helpful.
  • Disliked: No dislikes
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic! Well recommended

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Pretty much everything about our visit here was fantastic.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Little Gem of a site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Fantastic large field with no limitations on the size of the tent. We had an electrical hookup, which was perfect and were situated close to the toilets/ showers so not much of a trek.

    Welcoming at the farm was very friendly, very helpful and perfectly smooth.

    Fees are very good especially for peak dates.

    Toilets and showers were regularly cleaned, there is a handy microwave and fridges/freezers in the waiting area.

    The Nelson Pub in the village is excellent, very friendly, great ales and food at very reasonable prices.

    Site was very busy over the bank holiday, but was quiet enough and there was still plenty of space.
  • Disliked: Only thing is that with only 2 toilets and only 2 showers it gets very congested when the site is busy, but of you're not in a rush it's no problem timing it until after the early rush.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Whitehall Farm