Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Bowdens Crest Caravan & Camping Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.8

Overall rating based on 21 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

80% would recommend this site to a friend.

85% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for christopher_j0

First time away touring and this was a perfect start.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was our first time away with a caravan so we were naturally a little nervous, but upon arriving at this site all our concerns disappeared due to the helpful nature of the staff.
    They help all arrivals in locating and positioning there caravans and are hand right through your stay with help and guidance.
    The shop is well stocked and the bar and games room are more than suitable for a site of this size.
    We had a dog with us and they are extremely welcoming to this with a dedicated dog walking field.


  • Disliked: Nothing this site ticked all the boxes.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for alan_c12

2night stay while taking part in a motorcycle event nearby

(Solo traveller-male, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendliness of all the staff. Location. Clean facilities.
  • Disliked: Access road was very narrow with very few passing places.

    Hard standing pitches consisted of a thin strip of gravel which was not even level.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for ciderlass

One of my favorite Sites

(Family with older children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Jan 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Yet another great stay at this top class site.
    nothing is too much trouble, and the toilet/showers are spotlessly clean, they are a credit to everyone working here.
    Murphy's Bar has great food they always manage to feed our fussy children!
    Will be back later in the year yet again!

  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for mike_h3

Beautiful scenery, value for money pitches, friendly staff

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Feb 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Staff are on site and up and about early, keeping the facilities clean and well up to standard. The site is well planned and tent pitches sheltered from wind by a hedge barrier.

    The games room is warm and full of useful information and home to a well stocked library.

    An on-site shop carried all the essentials, including popular makes of gas cartridges.

    Laundry room was clean and tidy.
  • Disliked: N/a
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for simon_g6

Excellent, quiet site, spotless facilities

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good sized pitch
    Excellent shower / toilet block, absolutely spotless
    Location
  • Disliked: Water, only couple of water pipes with no water hook up only negative
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for carol_p2

Excellent camp site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the toilet's and showers were brilliant lovely and clean ,there was all the facilities you would want we have two dogs and there was a place for them to run and the view over the country side was amazing
  • Disliked: unfortunately the is a kennels close by and you could hear a dog howling most of the night and day and across the road the field had horses in and they emptied the manure there every night a bit smelly
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for LovetoCaravan

What a Gem of a Site

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly owners who went out of their way to make us feel welcome
    Lovely Clean Facilities
    Value for money food & bar
    The area has a lot to offer, a great day out at Longleat & Wookey Hole, but it was great to come back in the evening and be able to get something to eat and drink without going off site.
    The small shop is also well stocked for the basic bread / milk etc and they even fetch any papers you want!
    Not only are the owners & staff friendly the other people staying in static caravans and camping all talk to one another it was truly a lovely atmosphere. We hope to back back to see one of the Carnivals but have to check out work commitments before we can book again.
    A big thanks to all at Bowdens
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for anthonyhoskins9081

A GREAT SITE

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: EVERYTHING WAS SO CLEAN, IT WAS THE 1ST TIME WE HAD BEEN TO THIS SITE IN 10 YEARS , WHAT A DIFFERANCE THE SAME OWNERS HAVE DONE SO MUCH WORK ON THIS SITE, WOULD USE AGAIN WE WONT BE WAITING ANOTHER 10 YEARS BEFORE RETURNING
  • Disliked: NONE
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Nicholas_D

Fantastic and friendly

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Booked this site at short notice, what a surprise , it is a real gem of a place . It was super clean with excellent facilities, staff were very helpful, I forgot my frying pan, no problem - one was lent to us ! Food on site was great , all of us enjoyed it ,ate there for two nights, both times excellent. Great site for those with children , plenty of free range play for active little ones. Will be back and would recommend to friends.
  • Disliked: Nothing !!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for nicola_m1

Great value campsite

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very clean toilets and showers. Friendly staff. Great food and bar at great prices. Stunning View from bar. Very children and dog friendly. Camping field great and not far to toilets. Great location. Great area to let the dogs run off the lead. Will stay again.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for stuart_r1

Good clean site with friendly staff.

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: No complaints about anything. Nice to have a bar on site for a small site.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for pool53

Top Class friendly family Park *****

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Loved the site and its facilities.
    Family site with very friendly staff and owners.
    Ideal for what we wanted a really relaxing break.
    Toilets/Shower facilities were spotless and well kept.
    Food in the Bar was lovely, we ate there several times and everything was reasonably priced and very filling.
    Kids liked the pool table which proved a real bonus on the evening that was wet.
    The area has a lot to offer and explore without the long treek into Cornwall.

  • Disliked: Langport town doesn't have a lot to offer, but Somerton & Street are lovely.
    Definitely needed the rock pegs for the awning.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for wil4147

Military camp

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean toilets and showers.
  • Disliked: Staff very grumpy and unhelpful. Will not under any circumstances open the gates before 7.30 am. So be prepared to carry your tent and gear a long way if you have an early start.
From the manager...

I am sorry we were unable to open the gates earlier for you to go to work, but as our paperwork states inner gates are locked between 1130pm & 7am - this is so that people here on holiday can enjoy the peace and quiet and not have vehicles driving around the caravans/tents during the early hours. It appears you were working in the area - which wasn't not declared to us, if it had of been we would have made sure you were aware of the gates opening/closing times. The camping field to the car park is approx. 50 metres.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Clean facilities. Nice location. Quiet

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean free toilet facilities, family bathroom. Fridge freezer available free use. Was concerned to find kennels and cattery next door - thought might be noisy. I could hear the dogs in the background but didn't find it intrusive. Generally a quiet site. Rules in camp site were very reasonable and appropriate
  • Disliked: Would have liked a warm welcome and interest in us - maybe ask about our journey or how far we have come - would have made us feel more welcome
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Rich866322

Absolutely spot on!!!!

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything from cracking views to great beer! The park has a great layout and all the facilities you would expect from a good countryside site (I've been to a few). Bar, the "mad hatters" offers local and common largers, ales, and of course the well known Somerset ciders, add that in with the absolutely stunning views that spans as far as the eye can see covering the Quantocks to the Mendips. The caravans are smart, fully functional, well equipped and overall tidy. Great park for dog walking and in the perfect location for visiting the local towns and surroundings.

    I took the other half away for the weekend and it without a doubt earned me brownie points, brilliant weekend, wish I'd booked longer - next time we will!!!!
  • Disliked: The length of time I booked wasn't long enough!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for becciputt

CHILLED WEEKEND

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Enjoyed the quietness and traquility away from the Rat Race. Liked the fact the owners were always on hand and able to help us non experienced campers! Toilet block was always clean and tidy (big fear of mine)! and Bar had a great veritile menu which was great for catering for dietry needs
  • Disliked: Erm, cant think of anything....
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for rachaelwichard

clean and quiet site, suited to quiet families or more nature couples

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Site was really clean and friendly. Quite small with amazing views. The owners were very friendly and always on hand.
  • Disliked: I thought for us with two children there were too many rules! Not allowed a hard football, not allowed a water gun, not allowed to drink near childrens play area even on a bench near by!. For us it was a little but strict and for that reason we wouldnt go again.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for jamie73

excellent site highly recommended

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we have been using this site for the past 10 years sometimes we stay between 2 and 5 times a year.it is a fantastic site with excellent facilities which are all clean and spotless.staying on this site is like staying with a second family we have made so many friends here over the years. The food is excellent with a good selection of food on the menu and 'Ken' the chef is always happy to mix and match the children's meals if you like us have fussy children And the prices are very reasonable too. It is very safe for children and is a well run family site. There is a small shop on site which stock's a good range of essential items. There is lots to do in the area or just enjoy the place and quiet of the site as even with children here this site never gets rowdy or over noisy. I would thoroughly recommend this site to anyone. Keep up the excellent work Bowdens.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for ciderlass

Excellent Site with top class clean facilities

(Family with older children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Loved the fact that this is a family owned site. Bar & Food were great value for money, and nothing was too much trouble - our son is fussy but we were able to order just what he wanted without any fuss. Prices are very reasonable and the quality was top class.
    The very clean toilet block has showers (no coins needed a bonus), plus a bathroom which was great after a weekend of walking/cycling.
    Bit out of the way, but that suited us.
  • Disliked: Cannt fault anything - wish more sites were like this one!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for keef

Brilliant cant fault

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site is very well equipped with shop,bar & restaurant,games room, laundry facilities & shower block.
    Staff are very friendly & will do anything to make your stay more enjoyable.

    Our static caravan was very modern & homely & we were very pleased.
    Location is fantastic, very quiet & peaceful even with children on site. Great to come & escape our hectic lifestyle.

    Plenty of walks through the countryside & also through the local town Langport.
    Nicely situated between Taunton & Yeovil so easy to reach for days out.
    This is our 2nd visit & we love it. Will definately recommend & will be coming back :) :)
  • Disliked: Nothing!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for carl

RUBBISH - AVOID THIS CAMPSITE

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The very best thing WAS LEAVING THE CAMP SITE !!!
  • Disliked: :( :( :( AVOID THIS SITE :( :( :( I stayed on one of their static caravans - advertised as Modern well equipped - this was OLD and DANGERIOUS - No Smoke Alarm - Exposed Electric Consumer Unit - Floor broke through. - I have reported the site to both the TRADING STANDARDS, as well as the holiday star rating people. I was asked to move my car onto a grass verge - where other vehicles could easily have backed into my car!! The 16 Acre site seems a stretch of the truth. DO NOT RENT A STATIC CARAVAN FROM THEM - would be my advice :( :(
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus

<< Go back to Bowdens Crest Caravan & Camping Park