Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Pondwell Camp Site

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

7.4

Overall rating based on 13 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

69% would recommend this site to a friend.

76% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for gayna

We stayed for 2 weekend breaks. The first being Scooter rally weekend

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: When we first booked Pondwell we didn't realise it was the Scooter Rally weekend (even though we are Islanders). Although the site was very busy, we had a fab weekend. The staff were very helpful and the site had a buz of excitment. It was kept clean at all times and added with the great entertainment at the Wishingwell pub a made the weekend memorable.
    So good in fact we booked for the following weekend, This time with the added luxury of electric hook up.
    We had a smashing meal on the Friday to celebrate my husbands birthday, with friends again at the wishing well. The following day we were visited by our family who all agreed the facilities were really good.
    We were blessed with the weather, and enjoyed a lovely walk into Seaview along the beach.
    We set our clock by the arrival in the mornings of the Flock of geese that live on the reserve. Then their return to roost in the evenings.
    All in all 2 great weekends camping. Can't wait for the spring when we will make a habit of weekend breaks to Pondwell.
  • Disliked: The only slight problem was the availabilty of the site shop. But that was more due to my lack of reading the opening times. It would be usful if the opening hours were a little longer.
    However to add a like to the dilike..I forgot to pack a tin opener..the staff were very helpful in lending us one for the whole weekend.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for imeadd

Great site and facilities

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very clean showers and toilets, and right next door to the pub which serves great food
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for garywest16121

Smashing!

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A great camp site, easy to find with very friendly staff, good facilities on site ie shower blocks etc and also a pub :) Lovely location with lots of wildlife and a short walk from Seaview where you can get a good meal right on the seafront and watch the boats race.
  • Disliked: Having to leave
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for lonerangers

went to this camp site and regretted it never had hot water once

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: sorry to say there was nothing really good to say about this site as when we got there we pitched up and within about an hour our 10 x 10 space was reduced to 6 x 6 because of the scooter swarm that arrived 30 minutes later,

    getting out of camp and seeing the beautiful isle of wight and anyone with kids should go and visit it ( but get a diffrent camp site ) or go when the scooters are not over there
  • Disliked: everyday we went for showers we were greeted with cold water this was due to the camp being full to the brim with scooters as they had beat us to them.
    and we were up early at 0730
    we continually had foul mouthed language every second word or so that the scooter people would use and continually non stop drinking all of this in front of my 5 and 8 year old
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good Campsite, good location

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Staff were extremely helpful if we had.any problems. I also liked the relaxed atmosphere of the campsite, virtually no check in or out times. Showers were decent and never went cold.on us, as we had heard from previous reviews.
  • Disliked: Didnt like the fact that virtually all the non-electric hookup pitcjes were on the slope as this meant we had to pitch on the hill. Tumble dryer in the laundrette needed updating because it was extremely old and not working at all. Nearest shop (as far as we could tell) was not in walking distance at all and we did think the opening hours of.the camping.office was a little short and meant that if we needed help we had to walk completely across the site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

The campsite was good value for money but facilities need improving.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The friendly staff members;
    The size of the camping field;
    The local pub (friendly staff and good, cheap food)
    Distance to the beach;
    Bus stop right next to the campsite.

  • Disliked: The campsite showers (either too hot, too cold or too dirty!);
    The noise from the pub on live band nights (Saturday nights);
    The campsite shop was NEVER open;
    Didn't have a clear map to the site (bus stops weren't marked for on foot campers [this would have saved us a 45 minute walk!], distances were incorrect [eg. tesco is just down the road; an hour later still not there!);
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Helena_B

Clean and Pleasant with a nice relaxed atmosphere

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Flexibility with regards to choosing the location of your pitch.
    Drinking water taps close to all pitches.
    Enough space for everybody without feeling at all cramped.
    5 minute walk to the beach, then another 5 minutes on to Seaview.
    Wildlife reserve close by.
    Bus stop from Ryde Esplanade is located just outside the entrance to the park.
  • Disliked: The showers/loo block could do with a bit of attention, but not in appalling condition by any means.
    The Hovercraft could be heard during the night, not too intrusive but slightly irritating if you woke up during the night.
    The shop at the office didn't sell milk/gas canisters etc. However, we didn't travel in high season so I suspect they would stock this during busier times.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Charlie_P

Lovely campsite

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great location near Ryde. We arrived on the hovercraft at Ryde and the campsite was a short ten minute bus ride away. It's a 10 minute walk down to the waterfront.
  • Disliked: It was really hot and the tent pitch area was really exposed. Might be nice to plant a few more trees.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Run down operators clearly now focused on selling holiday homes

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location was brilliant but...
  • Disliked: Everything was run down, we were told not to pitch our tents near the hook ups for caravans even though the place was empty and they were the flat pitches. So we pitched under some trees by the side of the car park which was OK apart from the hoard of crows that descended on the site at about four thirty in the morning.

    It was doubly frustrating to find out that none of the hook ups that we had to avoid were even activated.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for n0badhany1yan

(Young couple, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everthing is nice
  • Disliked: some bathroom is locked
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Tatty and a bit bleak at this time of year (April)

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Wishing Well pub was pleasant, with good menu and nice food, however outside was very tatty looking when we were there (it was early in season though, so hopefully this would get better later in year!)
  • Disliked: overall layout of campsite was quite sloping. Toilets were adequate, but not overly clean. Didn't like the close vicinity of huts and cabins - felt a bit oppressive. Close to a bird sanctuary, which could be a plus or minus depending on whether you don't mind early morning wakeup from geese!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for paul_n0

Excellent

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Quiet atmosphere,
    Friendly local pub
    Good shower/toilet facilities.
    Close to sea front.

  • Disliked: Difficult to find in the dark.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Pam_M

We had a great time at Pondwell!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the clean and tidy site and the stunning views;
    the facilities for children;
    the clean toilets, bathrooms and washing up points;
    the very friendly, helpful and flexible staff;
    the many stand pipes on site;
  • Disliked: the fact that the showers were at the other end of the site, need one at either end much lie you do with the toilet blocks;k
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus

<< Go back to Pondwell Camp Site