Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Foxdale Campsite

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

9

Overall rating based on 34 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

91% would recommend this site to a friend.

85% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for LESLEY_F

Fisher's Stay at Foxdale Campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: i liked the camping shop onsite and the basic commodities it had.
    I also like how friendly the staff were on site and supportive they were when we did not know which areas to visit.
    I would definitely be back same time next year and experience more fun, there is still alot of places to see around the campsite.
    Brilliant team work
  • Disliked: i did not dislike anything about this campsite at all
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Katy_A

Excellent facilities and beautiful location

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite facilities: shower block, washing up area, toilets, bar, chip van and the lay out of the campsite. Each pitch has an adjacent picnic table, which was a nice touch.

    The location is just a short walk from beautiful marloes beach and many great walking trails.

  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for zombiehood

Would recommend

(Mature couple, 1 review, 4 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly, clean, nice location, plenty of room and the shop was handy.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for pstonell

Small, friendly campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This is a fairly compact camping field with facilities not too far from pitches. We visited at one of the most busy times of the year and so it was pretty full up. We got to know our neighbours and kids can play safely and happily in the central area.
    We also liked having the use of one of the pub garden style benches as an extra outdoor table.
  • Disliked: The showers and toilets are really in need of updating with rotten, exposed wood and broken wall tiles. Not enough ventilation. It looked like a badly converted cow shed. It was very busy when we stayed and having only three showers and loos was inadequate given the number of people there. Needless to say they became very dirty very quickly and not really cleaned much.
    Also had to queue to use sinks to wash dishes on several occasions but everyone was good natured about waiting their turn in the typical English manner!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for lesleyrowan

Nice friendly campsite

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: That it was quite small, well sheltered from the wind & the staff (& the other visitors) were friendly & helpful.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for brooklandsbarn

Perfect size and facilities and super location.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good pitches and nice that could choose spot. Very friendly staff and excellent to have small shop onsite for basics. Vehicules allowed by pitches which helped with wetsuit and boarding gear! Perfect for dogs. Lovely pub and well stocked village shop within walking distance. Local beach, Marloes Sands, stunning! Would definitely stay again.
  • Disliked: A sink specifically for hand washing or for cleaning beach equipment etc would be useful as can't use washing up sinks or showers.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for alison_s0

Site in superb position, close to coast walks and yet close to village

(Family with older children, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Informal nature of smallish site, for example could pitch pretty much where you liked in the field. The owners were wonderfully helpfully and friendly and that really added to the pleasure in staying. The camp shop is extremely useful, again run by welcoming people and the hot drinks are a bonus! The prices are reasonable for such a small outlet. The location is excellent - near to village, near to beach, near to pub and so on. I went on a walk were I saw more species of butterfly on one hedge than I've seen in my life. (My husband would say since he was young as he's more experienced at butterfly spotting than me, but it was worth looking at, either way.) The menu at the pub is worth sampling which is yet another bonus after a long day on the beach or coast path. The pub is less than 10 mins walk away. The waves at Marloes Sands are brilliant and the kids went bodyboarding and had tremendous fun. I enjoyed swimming in them, they were quite strong. Just along the coast is Dale without any waves and the kids enjoyed kayaking there. I found the facilities at the campsite perfectly adequate. Nice clean toilets and lovely hot shower. My daughter appreciated being able to hire straightners as well as a hairdryer.
  • Disliked: There wasn't anything really. The crows and seagulls were annoying at 4/5 o'clock in the morning, but that is hardly the owners fault!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for annette_r

Camping

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very friendly owner, the tent pitches were well kept
  • Disliked: The toilet facilities wasn't very practical as it was unisex and smelled like a urinal, but other than that no complaints
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for George_M

Basic facilities, but a well stocked shop with a great shopkeeper!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nothing beats going back to your tent just after 7am (following a large thunderstorm) with a ready made cup of tea from Neil's little shop! The shop was always well stocked and very reasonably priced (freindly service was a bonus).

    The friendly welcome.

    Hot showers (they actually work).

    Great location - close to Marloes Sands, Martin's Haven, Dale, Little Haven, Broad Haven, etc........

    The Lobster Pot pub in the village was very welcoming with a good selection of real ales (three on at the time of our visit).


  • Disliked: The pigeon that lived in the tree above our tent!

    The toilet/shower facilities were quite dated, but were kept very clean (can't really complain).
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Enjoyable experience.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The unspoilt nature of the surrounding country side.
    The campsite is small and therefore the amenities are close to the tent.
    There was a small bar on the site.
    Dogs were welcome.
    The staff were very friendly.
    Pitch fees were very reasonable.
  • Disliked: The toilet block was out dated. The bolts on the toilet doors were stiff and ill fitting, risking injury to your fingers every time you used them.
    The tents were located very close to each other even though there was plenty of room to space them further apart. There was barely room to move between them.
    The speed hump entering the site was high and scraped the underside of the car
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for tom_h1

with family of 5 and two small dogs i found it tobe great

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Fast service, helpful staff, simple lay out for camping, A hot shower,there fish and chips, beach at marlow
    sands a mile away, with parking close to beach. Also not too far from beach at broad haven, and top theme park Oakwood. All in all a top three nights stay.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great little campsite

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Welcoming owner and a bar and access to breakfast! Shop was well stocked, showers clean and well maintained. Fantastic location.
  • Disliked: Too few toilets for the number of guests - as more people arrived they needed to be cleaned more!

    Small campsite ment that noisey neighbours are very close
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for TravellingTam

Great first camping experience!

(Young couple, 3 reviews, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite owners are friendly, as are all the staff,and do whatever they can to help.
    The campsite has everything you need for your stay,something's do need updating,-showers and toilets,.and maintaining a little better.The Saturday night fish and chip van is a lovely touch too! We found that the campsite hospitality was far better than the local pub!!!
  • Disliked: We arrived later than planned, after getting stuck in traffic, and when we did get to the campsite it was dark, and there were no spaces left where we had been told to pitch. We thought that other campers could have pitched a bit more 'sensibly' with a bit more thought as to other people who were also booked in. A good suggestion would be allocated spaces, and cars should be parked next to tents, etc. Not just randomly all over the site. We were a little disappointed by this, as several of us who arrived late had to then move our tents the following morning, as they were 'in the way'. Why not have spaces marked out like there are for caravans,for example at other sites?..
From the manager...

Hi and thanks for the review, sorry you felt there was no space, its difficult when you turn up after 10 at night to see and we are not there to guide you. There was about 5 spaces left along the middle but some people don't feel like they want to go there without permission. We cant do planned out pitches as our regulars like it the way it is, they like the fact that you can all get together and make a circle with the tents so the whole family can be together, when you go to a sight with planned out pitches this cant happen. We did think about it very carefully a few years ago but after feed back from the people that come back every year we decided to leave it how they liked it. you have to look after the people that fill the sight year after year. Hopefully see you again anyway. x

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for TravellingTam

Great first camping experience!

(Young couple, 3 reviews, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite owners are friendly, as are all the staff,and do whatever they can to help.
    The campsite has everything you need for your stay,something's do need updating,-showers and toilets,.and maintaining a little better.The Saturday night fish and chip van is a lovely touch too! We found that the campsite hospitality was far better than the local pub!!!
  • Disliked: We arrived later than planned, after getting stuck in traffic, and when we did get to the campsite it was dark, and there were no spaces left where we had been told to pitch. We thought that other campers could have pitched a bit more 'sensibly' with a bit more thought as to other people who were also booked in. A good suggestion would be allocated spaces, and cars should be parked next to tents, etc. Not just randomly all over the site. We were a little disappointed by this, as several of us who arrived late had to then move our tents the following morning, as they were 'in the way'. Why not have spaces marked out like there are for caravans,for example at other sites?..
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Everything you could need but manages to keep quiet/rural feel

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely friendly people, good facilities. Fridge/freezer access was very useful and the shop was open at useful times and had good, well priced supplies. Fish and chip shop van ran by an owner was delicious :D Nice beach and pub nearby, plus a cafe and village shop if anything extra was needed.
  • Disliked: It's a bit of a drive to the nearest town, not always a bad thing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for caroline_s

we can't wait to go again

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We thoroughly enjoyed our stay,the facilities are all you could want,down to the hairdrier and straighteners.The owners are welcoming and helpful, as is the landlord at the "lobster pot".The food at the latter is a must .All in all we had a great three days.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for bryan_g

Great location & site for a few days

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Site was beuatifully maintained, quiet and clean . Great location and facilities, a friendly welcome (you don't always get that when you arrive on a bike)
  • Disliked: Nothing at all
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Jacinta_H

Great family run campsite

(With friends, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners were very friendly and welcoming. They also run a fish 'n' chip van out the front of the campsite which filled the spot! They even found us sauce sachets which weren't on the menu.
    The campsite is basic but has everything which is needed.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good facilities and right on the coastal path

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Access to coastal path. Clean and modern shower and toilet facility. great sea
    views.

  • Disliked: No personal welcome. Overpriced. Hard standing not level. Motor vans mixed in with static caravans.WiFi very weak or non existent. No designated dog exercise area.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Terry_S0

Lovely site with great management.

(With friends, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location was very close to the Welsh coastal path. Excellent for walkers. Great facilities, very well run, managers were brilliant. Really nice pub nearby, and manager had a fish and chip van which was a real treat.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for shirleybrazier3

first time campers

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the friendly atmoshere,scenery was outstanding.
  • Disliked: the
    rain
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

great site friendly owners

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: hot showers
    washing up facilities
    lots of space
    flat pitches
    picnic tables
  • Disliked: soggy underfoot due to weather
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for caroleyates33

We had a fantastic holidayand would recommend Foxdale to all campers. Martin and Vicky were brilliant hosts

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location was excellent, central for all our plans.
    The hospitable, friendly and helpful campsite owners, nothing was too much trouble always available, they spoke to everyone on site everyday
    Loved the fish and chip van that Martin has on site on Friday and Saturday nights providing an excellent variety of food.
    The facilities were always cleaned regularly and well stocked.
    If Martin and Vicky could have controlled the weather i am positive it would have been wall to wall sunshine.
    We will definitely return to this campsite
  • Disliked: No dislikes



Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

altogether a very successful holiday for all inspite of some rain

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: peaceful pleasant surroundings
    good organisation
    very welcoming and helpful
    all facilities in good order and clean
    flexible catering facility

  • Disliked: tents being crammed close together for bank holiday but we had planned to leave anyway
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great location, really helpful and friendly owners. Overall lovely and would use again!

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The reception by the owner was really friendly and couldn't do enough. The facilities are good with plenty of hot water in the showers and kitchen areas. There's access to a coin operated washing machine and tumble drier if you need and the site even has wi-fi. There's a small bar on site and a great local pub nearby. Very handy for cliff walking and boat trips to Skomer.
  • Disliked: I can't really think of anything. It had a really homely atmosphere.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for jackiedavidbignellbeanbell

Excellent relaxed friendly campsite

(Extended family, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Facilities, small bar and Pooky's fish and chips, were all excellent and great value for money.
    We had 3 large tents and 2 hook ups, the owners Vicky and Martin were very helpful and more than happy to let us arrange the pitches as we wanted.
    definitely going back next year.
  • Disliked: We had absolutely no problems or dislikes at all.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

First camping trip

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities were great, all you could ask for, clean toilets, fridges, freezers,washing machine and even hair straighteners !! Wasn't sure what to expect being our first time camping but loved it. The owner was really friendly, the pitch was well sheltered, the whole set up was great, will definitely be going camping again.
  • Disliked: Place was a little secluded for us but that is our personal opinion. There was a pub and a cafe near by but we just took off for the day. Marloe sands was amazing, quite a walk to get to but the dog loved it!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic holiday

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The site was small and in a fantastic position to allow easy access to lots of different places in Pembrokeshire
  • Disliked:
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely holiday

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely beach close by. Staff were really helpful and very polite. Everywhere was clean toilets and washing up area. Good facilities as fridge and freezer. Grass area well kept.
  • Disliked: The lovely weather on the last day !
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Camper van + awning/plenty of room/ nice surroundings

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: As above
  • Disliked: Rain
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great campsite in great location :)

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely little campsite, excellent facilities (not sure how well they'd cope if the campsite was full, but fine for our stay) the option of breakfast in the morning is fab (and reasonably priced) and a 5 minute walk to a dog friendly pub, can't go wrong! Showers great and very private too.
  • Disliked: Didn't get to explore much of the area by foot due to the weather... no ones fault there!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Had a weekend away for the Jubilee!!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The friendly staff and great atmoshpere on the site. Prices were very reasonable..would highly recommend. Easy access to the village and the beach was only a small walk away!
  • Disliked: nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for sarah-eaton

Really nice Site, Friendly Staff

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Peaceful Location, lovely well kept Camping Field and all amenities, Martin the owner made us feel really welcome.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic stay only tent on the site!!

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Loved the fact that the place was so quiet, Fantastic facilities that amazed the wife, real nice friendly staff. Lovely well looked after grounds. Wished we could have stayed a lot longer and fully intend to go back and stay. I would recommend foxdales to all campers!!
  • Disliked: It rained whilst we put up the tent! and it was windy, can i please have total sunshine next time. My wife kept asking it the tent was going to blow away.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Foxdale Campsite