Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Greenway Touring Site

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

9.2

Overall rating based on 17 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

94% would recommend this site to a friend.

88% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for principessapips

Lovely stay!

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Feb 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very picturesque site, New owners Jane and Brian were very friendly.

    The shower block was brand new and smelt of lovely pine wood and was extremely clean. There was only one toilet for use (but Jane told us that in the future they hope to install more). There is also dishwashing area with hot and cold water which was very handy – as well as cold water to top up our supplies.

    It was very quiet at night, however during the day you could hear some road noise as the site is quite near the B4368, but it didn’t bother us much.

    There are also little pods you can hire which Jane let us have a nosey in – they are really cute with a fold down bed, fridge, cutlery and kettle. Perfect if you are on a cycle or motorbike and are travelling light.

    All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Greenway very much and having the honour of being Jane and Brian’s first guests and we wish them every success in the future!!


  • Disliked: Nothing!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for zara_w

Great site. Lovely owners. Great stay

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked. The fact it was local to a small town. They accepted dogs. They were building shower facilities and it was a well kept site with lovely owners
  • Disliked: I disliked nothing but could do with having maybe another toilet.
From the manager...

We have now completed the first shower/washroom, which is now available for guests and we are now starting work on another toilet/washroom this week.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for lucy311

A great place to stay, when travelling light.

(Solo traveller-female, 1 review, 3 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Not having to pitch a tent in the rain. As I was arriving by bike the owner even put some milk in the fridge for me, so that I could have a cuppa as soon as I got there. A great nights sleep with the road very quiet at night with only the sound of owls calling in the distance. Surprised to see red kites and buzzards around and was told by Sue that there is soon to be a red kite feeding station in Craven Arms at the discovery centre. I also like the look of the new shower block being fitted out, it's looking fab.
  • Disliked: Not being able to stay longer as I had already booked my next stop off.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for WestWood

Get away from it all break

(Family with older children, 4 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely site. Adults only so suited me and my adult daughter. Amazing views and so peaceful. Owls hooting at night and birds to wake you at dawn - heavenly.
    The owner was so kind and helpful, she charged my daughters phone and showed us around. Nothing was too much trouble. The new shower facilities look like it will be a great site to stay longer and so we will be back very soon.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for daisymae

Limited facilities

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owner of the site was very friendly and welcoming. The site was incredibly quiet - in fact, we were the only tent for the 3 days we stayed here, although there were 4 caravans and one of the pods was occupied. Lovely views, lush grass, convenient location, peaceful (apart from noise from the road).
  • Disliked: There is only one toilet on the site. It's very basic, lacking even a shelf on which to put a wash bag. There's only cold water (from an amazingly noisy tap!) and a small sink, so washing isn't comfortable...and unfortunately, someone on the site was smoking in there frequently, which made it very smelly.
    No showers. No washing up area. No hot water. If you're happy with that, then the site is fine: perhaps in the future, the facilities will be upgraded, but until then, we'd be reluctant to stay there again.
From the manager...

We are currently spending thousands on the park to include a brand new shower and toilet building with washing up area, which is now close to completion ( the 28ft x 14ft building by the current toilet ). The current toilet facility has a standard size sink with shelving, mirror, information point and had we been made aware of anyone smoking in there, ( no smoking signs are displayed ) it would have been stopped immediately. As we live on site we are available / very approachable to our guests and have always been happy to provide hot water from our house for washing purposes on request.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for jennifer_l0

a little gem of a campsite perfect for visiting shropshire!

(Young couple, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owner of the campsite was extremely welcoming upon arrival and was around the site over the few days we stayed, but we didn't need anything!
    The campsite is immaculately kept... But most importantly it's pretty! The views are excellent of the surrounding hills and we libbed waking up to them.
    This campsite was so ideally located too! We managed to spend 3 days exploring shropshire and all it had to offer. Right on it's doorstep the campsite is close to a castle, a discovery centre, a museum and plenty of walks.
    We loved it...and i was camping pregnant!
  • Disliked: Nothing, we absolutely loved it here and would love to go back. A new shower/toilet block is being put further and this would make it absolutely perfect.
From the manager...

We are very pleased to announce that from 23rd September 2013 we now have free hot showers and washing up facilities available to our guests.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our park, as it is very much appreciated.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for flicketyflick

Quiet and clean campsite

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This is a small and very friendly site near craven arms. We were staying in a tent and could choose anywhere on the field. The campsite was very clean and the owner was very friendly.

    We bought our dog for his first camping trip and think he loved it.

    Big shame we only stayed one night and it rained most of the time.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely Owners

(Solo traveller-female, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I was ill and unable to make the journey but the owner was amazing.
    She was not only sympathetic and understanding but said that I was free to rebook at any time and pay then.
    Excellent
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Paul_C10

This site is a hidden gem. It is a lucky find for us.

(Mature couple, 2 reviews, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location is ideal with superb views. It is a quiet well maintained site well suited to a relaxing break from the stress of normal life. During our most recent weekend visit we were fortunate to see a red kite flying overhead looking for it's next meal in the surrounding fields no doubt. This was a most unexpected and thrilling climax to our visit.
    Progress is being made with the new recently installed shower block which the owner was proud to show off to me. It is sympathetic to the flavour of the rest of the park as it is constructed of half-round timbers rather like a log cabin and looks much nicer than the "normal" brick or cinder-block buildings that so often adorn sites these days. Full marks from us on this! Provision is also being made for a motorhome waste water dumping point which will also be a bonus for us.
  • Disliked: Nothing really, especially now the new shower-block project is well under way and should be available once the fixtures and fittings are installed.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

adult only site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: friendly owner well looked after site a new toilet/shower block been built will be great ,hope to return again in the near future,
  • Disliked: not really a dislike but could do with a doggie waste bin by dog walk area.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Paul_C10

Clean and very tidy site with superb views over open countryside.

(Mature couple, 2 reviews, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I loved the views out over open fields to the hills beyond. Landscaping of the park with young and more established trees is done creating a very attractive park. The owners were very welcoming and friendly allowing us to select the pitch we wanted. On the day we left there was no pressure on us to leave at a pre-determined time and it was a very nice change to be allowed to leave at our choosing. This obviously may not be always the case as the park gets busy, but was a refreshing change to the normal practice at other sites we have stayed on.
  • Disliked: Slight intrusion of traffic noise from the adjacent quite busy road. It may be that because the weather was so good during our stay at the site that everyone was out for a drive! The site however was very peaceful at night with little to disturb even the lightest sleeper. The toilet block was rather basic (though adequate and spotlessly maintained), but there are plans to build new facilities ( base already in place) along with a dedicated motorhome waste point.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for towey2

Long Weekend Break Bliss

(Young couple, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Greenway touring site is a roomy site with large pitches very peaceful settings, hills all around with a well hidden road and very friendly owners. There is currently a new shower and toilet block being prepared and am looking forward to returning when operational. A fantastic break was had and Ludlow town was just a 10 min drive away with plenty of parking and supermarkets.
  • Disliked: the main road for walking as vehicles are blinded from either direction and the public footpath is on the opposite side directly into a none dog friendly style to join the public footpath through a sheep field
From the manager...

The public footpath that runs past the site up the Shawbank lane to the north, has now been redirected away from the properties, so that walkers no longer need to go through their gardens. The north footpath is a better route for dog walkers, as it joins up with the hills and dales walk which goes past founders folly and also avoids having to cross the road on the south footpath. You can also walk to Craven Arms via Lower Dinchope and Halford on quieter roads.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Jennifer_P1

Meeting up with my friend for the weekend with my newly acquired dog!

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A fantastic place to stay! Very welcoming and dog friendly. Lovely and peaceful and very private. Real glamping experience with electric kettle, plug sockets and mirror! Lots of other things - including a bbq - were provided. I loved it and felt very relaxed! Extremely good value for money.
  • Disliked: The lack of shower....but I knew that and there was evidence of it being built!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great glamping pod in a great location, well worth a visit.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Camping pod was really well equipped with sofa bed, fridge, kettle and a heater. They are very well insulated though so we didn't need the heater. Luxury camping without the hassle of pitching a tent and trying not to touch the sides all night! Plenty of room even with 2 adults and a medium size dog. Great view of the hills and forests from your bed. Lovely area for walking with walks available from the site. Very welcoming owners who respect your privacy but are on hand if you need any help. We'll definitely be back soon.
  • Disliked: Having to pack up and leave.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Idyllic Location, friendly owners, peaceful stay

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location. Beautiful campsite, small enough to feel like you were really at one with nature whilst being less than 2 miles from the nearby town with a Spar, pubs and a handy train station into Ludlow.

    The Pod was well equipped, better than most seem to be from the write ups, providing us with a mirror, fridge, kettle, cutlery and washing up equipment meaning the amount of things that needed to be taken was minimal. The site really does not sell itself enough as we were surprised to find it so well catered. Worth every penny.

    The prospect of a sofa bed added a further touch of glamour to an already good value stay. Unfortunately it wasn't quite as comfy as our usual camping airbed, but then we have got used to our camping comforts.
  • Disliked: There was no shower block when we stayed but we were unaware of this only due to our own inability to read a website.

    Not a negative point for the campsite itself but a notice to any city folk out there, you cannot turn up lateish in the evening and expect to be able to buy your weekend's food supply. But then you dont get views and tranquility like this if you're overlooking Tesco's car park. A more than acceptable trade off.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

beautiful quiet site, stunning country views for miles.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: peaceful and quiet, plenty of room on large pitches and open fields surrounding site. Craven arms within 5 minutes with shops and takeaways with ludlow 15 mins down road.
  • Disliked: none, was aware shower block was still being constructed but otherwise no complaints.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for bezmondo

Carry On Glamping

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I stayed at Greenway at the end of April 2013. It was too cold for a tent and my wallet was running on empty so no chance for a b&b or hotel. The solution was to try glamping at Greenway... and it was perfect. The cabin had everything I wanted: a new click-lock sofa bed, a fridge,a kettle, electric lights and a fan heater, which I was grateful for when the temperature started to drop. Apart from a great place to stay (surrounded by the Shropshire hills) the owners were brilliant and went out of there way to make my stay perfect. I will definitely stay there again. Thank you.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Greenway Touring Site